Sound Decision DJ Service Reviews

23 | Culpeper, VA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Sound Decision DJ Service

Recommended by 96%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was absolutely fantastic. He answered every single one of my crazy-bride questions and requests! He truly helped to make our night magical from surprising my groom with the song I walked down the aisle to, to making sure my papa and I danced to Country Roads before the night ended. David will work with you to make sure your night is everything you've imagined!!

    Sent on 07/05/2018
  • C

    Connor · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was extremely nervous about choosing a DJ for our wedding, because my husband and I wanted to have a great dance party at the reception--David exceeded EVERY expectation I had! He did a site visit with us to familiarize himself with our venue, was extremely responsive to emails, provided speakers for the guitarist playing during our ceremony, and was so kind and fantastic to work with. We filled out his detailed questionnaires to explain what we were looking for in our music, and basically told him to play oldies during dinner and then read the crowd and play whatever would make people dance afterwards! He did exactly that--our friends and family were dancing all night long and David remembered every tiny detail we asked for--fade outs during first dances, specific group dances, etc. One example of how amazing he is: at the last second my grandfather wasn't able to make the wedding, and we asked David via email to play a specific song to honor him about 3 days before the wedding. He remembered to do so even when I forgot during the craziness of the reception! I guarantee that no matter what you are looking for in a DJ, David will provide it. If you have any questions or would like to hear more about how fantastic he was, please contact me at ctf4d@virginia.edu. He made our reception a party to remember!!

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • I

    Isadora · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We own a wedding venue so we see A LOT of DJ's. Many of them drive us crazy, they don't relate to what the guests want, and appear disinterested in if the party actually every gets started. Not the case here, everyone was up and dancing from the first song. He did a professional job, got all the names right, the songs we wanted played were played, he read the crowd and from start to finish, and was everything you would want in a professional wedding DJ. Great job and we are very thankful he was there for us on the big day.

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • Angela

    Angela · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad I booked David as the DJ for our wedding! From the beginning he was very professional and responsive. His wedding planner was super helpful to help us outline exactly what we wanted. We chose to have him pick most of the music (feeling the crowd out) and he did a great job. There was not one minute during our reception (except during dinner) when people were not dancing! Just like I wanted!

    David acted as our master of ceremony as well keeping everything running and on time.

    I have to say one of my favorite things about David is that during the audience participation songs he came out into the crowd and taught everyone the moves, my guests loved it!

    I would highly recommend booking David as your DJ for your wedding!

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • T

    Terri Michelle · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THIS GUY WAS AWESOME! This DJ did our ceremony and reception. He is a PRO! He even came out on the dance floor and danced with everyone. Everyone had a great time and loved allllll his songs and dances!!!! WE HIGHLY Recommend him!!!!

    Sent on 04/30/2014
  • User3533305 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David with Sound Decision was AMAZING! I work with him regularly on a professional basis and have seen his impeccable work time and time again so there was no question who my DJ was when I got engaged. :)

    David did a PERFECT job at my wedding and the music was amazing. He worked off of my Must Play list but also read the crowd and played what he knew would keep people dancing. He even lead line dances to help the crowd. I have heard so many of my guests say that they have never been to a more fun wedding and that is in HUGE part thanks to David!! Thank you for making my wedding a dream come true!

    Sent on 04/04/2014
  • K

    Kim · Married on 04/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Myers was wonderful at our reception. He did such a great job with announcements and all the music. I think he played everything we asked for and what the guests asked for also. He was so nice.... I would love to have him as a DJ at any event. Thank you David! Jesse & Kim, April 13, 2013

    Sent on 04/17/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David is an excellent DJ. He really helped to make sure we stayed on track with our timeline. Even during our ceremony when he wasn't playing, he was working with us to make sure our day went smoothly. He is very professional and has a wonderful template timeline to give you exactly what you want. Most of my guests were more of the non-dancing type, but for those of us who did dance, we had a WONDERFUL time. He actually was able to get some of the non-dancers out on the floor. I highly recommend him!!!

    Sent on 07/27/2011
  • T

    Tamara · Married on 04/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was amazing. He kept the party going until the last minute. Excellent with keeping the guests on their feet and enjoying the celebration. He even played the Hot Dog Dance song (Mickey Mouse Clubhouse) for out 7.5 month old daughter. Fantastic! He took charge of everything and I didn't have to worry about a thing all night.

    Sent on 04/17/2011
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful. Everything went so smoothly with David. I know it woould have been hetic without him helping every step of the way and making the day wonderful!

    Sent on 10/20/2010
  • C

    Cara · Married on 05/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was an excellent DJ at our wedding. He was very easy to work with and really kept things on track throughout the Reception. He made sure to check with my husband and I before starting the Best Man/Maid of Honor Toasts, which was nice becuase we needed a little extra time. He also took the time to come upstairs to the cocktail hour before dinner to make sure we were ready and lined up for the grand entrance, which was a big help!

    Everyone had a great time dancing - which attests to David's excellent music selection. I think the DJ can really make or break a Reception and David was great.

    Sent on 05/26/2010
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I had the ability to give David and Sound Decision more stars, I would. David provided us with a reception that was professional, elegant, memorable, and as unique as my groom and I are! I so appreciate all the extra little things you did for us, including replying promptly to my frequent emails, explaning to me why it was best for me to have our songs chosen 6-8 weeks in advance of our wedding, and taking the time to do some extra hand holding when this bride got a little crazy about whether people would enjoy the music and dance. All night our guests were commenting on how they'd never enjoyed a reception as much, and we know we owe it all to you. Thank you so, so much for tailoring our reception to our specific tastes, at such reasonable costs. We will highly recommend you, and can't wait to have you dj for us again!

    Sent on 11/16/2009
  • D

    Debi · Married on 07/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave is a master at what he does! He selected tunes and sequenced them in a way that kept people on the dance floor the entire night. Initially, we filled out paperwork with a long list of must plays. He asked that we cut it back to 15 songs and put the rest on a "B" list so he could "play the crowd" His choices were better, but he still played all of the songs that we had ranked highly. Trust him, he knows his business. In addition, to playing music, Dave served as Master of Ceremony at the reception. The forms he sent us ahead of time were excellent for planning purposes, but he was very responsive to our needs for flexibility as the evening unfolded. Dave was involved, but not the center of attention.
    We have had many people tell us that it was the most fun reception they've ever been to. Dave had a lot to do with that. I highly recommend him.

    Sent on 08/26/2009
  • awhittle2fast

    Amy · Married on 07/18/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really an awesome DJ, and I knew it even before the wedding day. He sent out a a packet for me to fill out what I expected for the wedding, and all sorts of ways to choose music. Originally I had picked out all of the music for the night and David strongly recommended I let him feel the crowd. I am so glad I did! He still played some songs on my list, but added other songs I hadn't thought of! He was the perfect MC with knowledge of the wedding traditions and when things usually happen, but flexible on letting me choose when I wanted them to happen. Overall extremely pleased with his professionalism and service.

    Sent on 11/19/2009
  • B

    Caroline · Married on 05/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David did an excellent job as DJ at my wedding! He even took time to meet with my husband and I before hand to go over our timeline and music requests. He was great at getting people on the dance floor. Although we did not select many dancing songs before hand, David read the crowd and got us moving. He was also wonderful at showing the moves for all those cheesy group dances (ie electric slide, etc). He was very flexible and even worked with us on changing the the wedding timeline just days before the wedding.


    Sent on 06/10/2009
  • R

    Rada · Married on 08/05/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sound Decision DJ Service - was wonderful. I have known the family since 1987 and would not have chosen anyone else. They are very close to my family and the service was a wedding gift for my son. That's not to say that's the only reason that was used them. David interacts with the group and doesn't just sit back and spin tunes. He does wonderful childrens parties also that I have been to and he will get out there and dress and play games with the children. He make the whole events run like clockwork and I'm so pleased that he's business is doing so well. He very much deserves it. David has worked hard to get where he is today and with the support of his family behind him , he can only keep going UP........Best of luck with your future with Sound Decision DJ Service !!!!!! Rada McCawley

    Sent on 08/01/2007
  • N

    NICKI · Married on 04/26/1997

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very impressed with your professionalism during the preparation of our reception plans and during the reception itself. Your rates are not only reasonable but well worth the money spent for such a high quality job. Thank you for taking time to prepare our reception to our specifications. we were very pleased with how smoothly the activities flowed and our guests had a great time. Thank you also for the solo performance, it was very special and will always remain in my mind as the most memorable event of that day. Your talent is overwhelming as was your ability to make our day even more special. We will definitely be calling on you again when planning events in the future!

    Sent on 08/01/2007
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 02/25/1995

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David sang a solo at our wedding reception and there was not a dry eye in the house!! His delivery is confident and professional.
    I have had him to DJ several events since our wedding in 1995. We have had him entertain at our personal Holiday events as well as several black tie affairs in the area. He even did a charity event for our daughter. We will continue to hire him for every event possible as he is the best available.

    Sent on 08/01/2007
  • T

    Nancy · Married on 04/24/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so glad we chose David to be our wedding DJ. He was the perfect complement to our reception. He blends in so well and played a great mix of songs that even got my parents and other older relatives dancing, as well as the young people. Also very important, when he announced our wedding party, he pronounced everyone's name correctly!! :) He was very particular about making sure he had the correct pronunciations, and I really appreciated that. I've been to quite a few weddings where the DJ mangled the family members' or wedding party's names, which I find unprofessional and, frankly, disrespectful.

    David is very personable and easy to talk to. He came fully prepared to the venue and I didn't have to worry about a thing at the reception. He just knew what to do. And our reception was a blast. I guess that is the highest compliment - everyone had so much fun. :)

    Sent on 05/06/2010
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 03/29/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David was so easy to work with - from beginning to end, he guided us through the steps - and did a great job the day of the wedding. He engaged our guests and made sure everybody was having a great time. He'll even customize his "DJ-style" to your preference - which was great - no off-the-wall stunts or shouting if it's not what you want.

    Sent on 10/07/2008
  • User6293130 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    David Myers is the man! My wife and I got his name from our venue (Fauquier Springs) when we signed up. We did not look for any other DJ's and took a chance on David. We knew he was our man right after meeting with him. He seemed very knowledgable and very proud of his work. Being a DJ is not his primary job, but he makes sure that he stays in contact with you as best as he can either by phone or via email. We also spent a little more than we budgeted for the service, but we have a dancing family and really wanted it to be a party. David did not disappoint! He had us fill out some forms beforehand that allowed him to see what kinds of music we wanted to play. He was flexible and offered us the option to pick our own music, but he recommended against it so he could play music that catered to how the night was going. With that sheet he did an amazing job. Ive never been to a wedding where guests were packing the dance floor the entire night! He took our genres to heart and really played the best music. He was also a great MC! One of his services is that he will be your MC throughout the night and he did an awesome job keeping everyone organized and on the same page. Our day would not have been perfect if it hadn't been for David. Look no further because you have found your DJ!

    Sent on 02/17/2016
  • S

    samantha · Married on 10/24/2009

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I was rather disappointed with David. I appreciated that he wasn't overly pushy about being in touch too far before the wedding, but it was rather difficult to get a hold of him the week before. I sent him a list of play/not play songs. Only after one of my bridesmaids asked him to play my college fight song at the end of the night did he mention to her that he never received the document after he said he had. (I also don't understand why the forms he has people fill out aren't electronic.) I understand that he needs to play to the crowd and I will say he did a rather good job of that, but I'm stunned that he wasn't as on top of things. He also had trouble pronouncing my last name (now maiden name) and mispronounced it when trying to find my parents and my brother - not something you should do for the person who hired you.

    Sent on 11/15/2009

    Sound Decision DJ Service's reply:

    The bride and groom personally expressed that they were highly satisfied with my services at the wedding. I accomodated a soloist that was a last minute decision as well as making last minute changes to her agenda for the day without delay! The families were a pleasure to work with.
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/22/2011

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    i had a very detailed playlist for my ceremony and reception, and many important songs (like songs between me and lifelong friends that i promised we would dance to together) that i had said i needed during the dance part of the reception were not played... i was SOOOOOOOOO disappointed... and during the ceremony there was feedback from my pastors microphone the ENTIRE time, HE NEVER FIXED IT!!!!!!!! my pastor even made a joke about getting some feedback, and it still wasn't fixed..... and he stumbled through introductions of the mother/son/father/daughter dance announcements... he needed a better script to read from... not pleased at all.... at least my processional music and first dance song were right....

    Sent on 08/16/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review