Something Wonderful Reviews

6 | Indianapolis, IN
See photos, pricing and details

6 Reviews for Something Wonderful

Recommended by 87% of couples

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

6

8 User photos

Order by:
  • Ryann

    Ryann G. · Married on 08/29/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such an awesome experience!

    I cannot say enough good things about Sarah and Something Wonderful! Sarah is so sweet and was upfront about everything: cost, what would be done, etc. Being a covid bride, there were many things that felt out of my control or constantly changing and causing me worry and stress, but the one thing I never worried about was my dress because I knew it was in such good hands. Sarah was so helpful and doesn't rest until your dress is perfect for you. I would highly recommend Sarah and Something Wonderful!

    Sent on 08/12/2020
  • Lauren

    Lauren M. · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Your wedding dress girl!

    I would definitely recommend Sarah for all your wedding alterations. She was so sweet, easy to communicate with for schedule alteration sessions, and exceeded my expectations! And she made me feel beautiful! I had a built in belt on my dress and wanted to replace it with another belt I bought. She had the wonderful idea of taking those appliqués and putting them on my veil. It was so pretty!

    Sent on 08/19/2019
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Dress Alteration

    Sarah is absolutely wonderful. She’s friendly, easy to work with and great at what she does. My dress needed taken in quite a bit and it came out absolutely beautiful. I took it home and decided I wanted it taken in a bit more around the hips. I called Sarah and she had me in within a few days and had it the way I wanted it within a week or two with no extra charge. She also added a bustle for my long train that was exactly what I wanted. She’s the best!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah at Something Wonderful took my dream wedding dress and made it fit like a glove on my wedding day. She is an expert working with the complex design details on wedding dresses, and it is clear she loves what she does. She had to take my all-lace Pronovias gown with a 6 1/2 foot train in a couple of inches on both sides (I lost quite a bit of weight between buying the dress and it coming in, and even after my first appointment), hemmed it, added cups, and created the most beautiful French bustle. She even steamed out my veil so I could pick it up looking perfect two days before my wedding! She is a dream to work with, and was up front about costs and carefully walked me through what to expect throughout the process. If you're still searching for where to get your wedding dress altered, stop your search and hire Sarah!

    Sent on 05/11/2018
  • Kaitlyn

    Kaitlyn · Married on 06/22/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend for Wedding Gowns, Mother of the Bride, and More!

    We were referred to Sarah by our wedding planner. She is an exceptionally talented seamstress! She did alterations for both my wedding gown and my mother's dress. For my dress, she made alterations to the shoulder straps, bust, hips, and did an elaborate bustle to have my train adequately secured (and still looking beautiful!) for dancing at the reception. She took the time to have multiple fittings with me until both of us were satisfied with the look and fit of the dress. My mom was also so pleased with her dress alterations! After the wedding, she was able to answer my questions regarding the wedding preservation process. I would highly recommend Sarah and Something Wonderful!

    Sent on 07/27/2019
  • Paige

    Paige A. · Married on 06/01/2020

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Unprofessional and overrated

    I want to preface this review by saying customer service is PARAMOUNT, in the wedding industry. If you are a bride looking for someone to make your dress fitting an experience, to make you feel good or to make the dress altered to fit your body, just go somewhere else. There are literally TONS of other people who are happy to do your alterations and make you feel heard and important; the ways a bride should feel! The lack of professionalism and frank rudeness I encountered from the owner is something I have never experienced in a professional environment. My second fitting was mid-June and I arrived with my friend, masks in hand. I was told that only I could come inside with a mask (which is fine), but my friend asked if she could open the blinds on the door so she could see from outside the closed door. She was told rudely, "The blinds are open;" neither friendly nor accommodating. When I got inside, she told me "that's why I sent you a text message regarding visitors." I never received such text message and had no idea about visitation policies; if I had, I most certainly would have come alone. During the fitting, I was told, "that's not the way the dress is made, we would have to restructure the entire dress" for a minor bust adjustment. When I asked why the top looked the same and nothing had been done after three months she replied, “Well let me pin it! (Although it had already been pinned at the bust three months ago).” Being a bride during COVID, a lot of us have had stressful times trying to reschedule and postpone things. After three months of not seeing my dress at the second fitting, the only thing that had been done was a minor hem to the inner lining and the skinny boning/breast padding (the simple kind that goes in your average swimsuit top) was removed; that's it. This is after our first fitting when we discussed what the top needed to look like and how excited I was to see the dress at the second fitting with the top reconstructed. During an email correspondence to reschedule my second fitting, she even remarked, "Your dress is coming along great." Ultimately, I chose to pull my dress from her service due to the lack of professionalism, lack of progress to my dress and utter rudeness I experienced throughout my two fittings. I paid for the minor work that was done, was refunded the rest of the money that I paid in advance and charged a cancellation fee. I was quoted $650 dollars for my dress (I ending up paying $250 for another seamstress to alter it). When my friend went to pick the dress up for me in her sunroom, the dress was in its bag, draped over a chair (come on, at least hang it on something), and not one foot away from the dress was a bag of dog poop! I mean you really can't make this stuff up. It was disgusting and just goes to show how unprofessional this owner presents herself, especially during this global pandemic when cleanliness is so important. My ultimate advice; go to someone who makes you feel good any happy with your dress! Life is too short to have your dress done be someone who makes you uncomfortable and makes you feel as if you are putting them out for providing a service for you. Side note: I went to another seamstress the next day, and a few minor adjustments were made during my 30 min fitting and the dress already fits like a glove; the way it should be! Long story short: overrated, expensive; spend your time and energy elsewhere.

    Sent on 06/30/2020