Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center Reviews

112 | Smiths Creek, MI
See photos, pricing and details

112 Reviews for Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center

Recommended by 98%

112
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

32 User photos

Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 1
Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 2
Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 3
Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 4
Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 5
Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 6
Solitude Links Golf Course & Banquet Center 7
+ 26
Sort by:
  • M

    Marita · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception here about 2 months ago and people cannot stop raving about how amazing it was. The venue is to die for and now everyone wants to have their weddings (or their daughters weddings) there. Since we got married in the fall we had the most beautiful backdrop. All of the leaves on the trees were changing and because the venue has windows all over, it looked stunning. And just in case you wanted to get a closer look at the view, you could relax on the deck with multiple fire pits, inviting seating, and just in case you wanted to play a game there was even corn hole, Also, the food was incredible (do yourself a favor and have the white fish because it was best fish I've ever had!). Honestly, the best part about this venue were the people that work there. When you get this place, you basically get a free wedding coordinator along with it. Jenn was amazing! Our reception went along smoothly because of her. She helped me find basically all my vendors which was super helpful since we aren't from the area. And since a lot of our family wasn't from the area we wanted to provide them with a shuttle and Solitude just so happens to have a shuttle! So much cheaper than going to an outside vendor for it. Honestly, I cannot say enough great things about this place. It truly was everything I envisioned our wedding to be and more.

    Sent on 12/29/2016
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were the absolute best! Such a beautiful location and they were BEYOND flexible with us. They seriously went above and beyond what we expected. It was such a lovely experience working with Solitude Links Golf Course. We wished we would of had our whole event here instead of just the ceremony! I would highly recommend them!!!

    Sent on 06/01/2017
  • R

    Robin · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with the service at Solitude. The staff made sure my wedding party had drinks once they got to their seats and that everyone was happy with their meals. The food was absolutely delicious. Our guests are still telling us how good everything was. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have our reception. Everything went perfectly.

    Sent on 11/22/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not express how much I appreciate the services of Jenn and Kristan!!! They have been so helpful in the planning process that made my decision to have my special day at Solitude Links a no-brainer. Every email I sent received a response within an hour. Throughout my day of planning process, they allowed me to change little details that I was on the fence about without feeling overwhelmed or inconvenienced.
    The option of having the shuttle that provides transportation to hotels in the area makes it so convenient for out of town guest and those who have been drinking.
    The outside deck is a site in it self. It almost makes it easier to decorate the banquet area because the natural beauty is enough. The reception hall has windows all around which allows you to continue appreciating the natural beauty of the golf course while the night goes on. Having two bars within the grande hall allows for guest to having better bar service.
    I really fell in love with the venue during our visit. The ladies were comforting and took care of all of my concerns and even offered options that I had not considered.
    I would recommend Solitude Links to any one with an upcoming wedding!

    Sent on 10/25/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen is awesome! Our wedding was perfect!

    Sent on 12/14/2016
  • S

    Stefanie · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better venue for my wedding! The landscaping, scenery, and the ballroom was beautiful. Jen was amazing to work with, very professional and helped make my wedding day as special as possible.

    Sent on 12/06/2016
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Solitude links was above and beyond what we expected. The service was excellent, and Jennifer the coordinator was so helpful and patient with us. I love the remodel and rustic, yet elegant feel to this venue.

    Sent on 11/29/2016
  • User5276460 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Solitude Links is a great place to have your ceremony and reception. The venue has a huge outdoor deck with beautiful views of the golf course. The gazebo on the water is adorable and a perfect back drop for a ceremony. Working with the staff at Solitude has been excellent. They are very responsive to questions and helpful in the planning process. Planning my wedding from the east coast has been a lot easier with their help. I highly recommend this venue to perspective couples.

    Sent on 05/13/2016
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen has been amazing! She is on top of all the details, is super nice and makes you feel reassured that it's all going to turn out great. I know my fiancé and me are in great hands. I am so happy I get to use this venue! It's a beauitful location.

    Sent on 05/13/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 07/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Solitude Links was the best place to have our wedding ceremony and reception! Guests all complimented the venue and everyone raved about the food! Our service with Jenn was beyond exceptional. Jenn was responsive, understanding, helpful, flexible, and was the best helping hands that I ever could have imagined having on our wedding day. She made sure that everything was right during the entire process. All of the staff that night made my husband and I feel like royalty. They were respectful, and very attentive to all of our needs. I would recommend Solitude Links to all brides for so many reasons!

    Sent on 08/05/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at solitude links. I have been to over 30 weddings at this point in my lifeet and although as the bride I may be biased, this was my absolute favorite venue. The staff from day one was so professional and easy to work with, and it continued to the day of the wedding which they made so special and smooth. The venue is beautiful, the outdoor patio has a perfect view of the course and lake, and the sun sets right over that! The food was amazing, pretzel encrusted chicken is a must. Five stars all around for sure!

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best venue ever! Jen is the best event planner to work with. She is always ready and willing to help and provide advice and tips at anytime! The moment we walked into the front doors we knew this venue was the one. It is clean, beautiful and so wide open - the pictures don't do it justice. We are getting married in a month and I absolutely cannot wait to see everything come together, I am so confident our day will be perfect thanks to Jen and the team at Solitude Links!

    Sent on 04/16/2016
  • D

    Donna · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a beautiful venue! My husband and I just got married here on 5/21/16. They were very professional and helpful in the planning. The food was great! The guests loved the venue and the outdoor deck was great for a beautiful day. Everyone enjoyed the day!

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had planned this wedding all the way from North Dakota and couldn't have done this without Jennifer and the staff. Everything went beyond our expectations from how caring the staff was, to how great the food was, to even how beautiful the venue was in person as well as pictures. We very much appreciated how well Jennifer was able to coordinate with us long distance and provide us with quick helpful responses through e-mail and phone calls. It ended up snowing on the day of our wedding (4/2/2016), however it turned out to be great because we were able to take the absolute most gorgeous pictures that only this venue could have provided. Everything went very smoothly on the day of the event, thank you to the Solitude Links Golf Course staff!

    Sent on 04/24/2016
  • User4895503 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give more than 5 stars I would. The staff at Solitude Links was absolutely amazing to work with and so professional. They made our wedding reception perfect down to the very last detail! We couldn't have asked for anything more!

    Sent on 03/19/2017
  • User6133073 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff were amazing in the planning and the night of the wedding. The most perfect wedding in the perfect setting. The food was great and the chef worked with us to accommodate a special food allergy. Jennifer was exceptional in helping us design and find the perfect DJ for the receptions. She helped us by answering questions, showing us around, making suggestions when we asked, and really helped us with all the details. The shuttle service was excellent add on for us to make sure our guests could enjoy the event without the worry of driving after. Solitude Links worked with us to make a New Years Eve wedding possible in a 6 week timeframe. All our guests agreed that it was perfect in every way!

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • B

    Brandon · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While looking around Southeast Michigan for wedding venues, we kept going back to the recommendations of friends who had been married at Solitude Links (who had been married there when the venue was still Fore Lakes). We knew from attending said weddings that the location and facilities were great... but what everyone continued to rave about was the wedding coordinator, Jennifer, and how she made the wedding planning easy and was extremely detailed and flexible.

    We decided on Solitude Links and the reputation has lived up to everything we could possibly had hoped. In addition to the great work Jennifer and staff have done, we were surprised and happy to see that much of the facility has upgrading (ie... landscaping to open up the gazebo area & nice changes to the downstairs/bar area), and looks better than ever.

    This has always been a favorite for our love of golf, but now has turned into a special place that my fiance and I will look back on favorably.

    tl;dr: Gorgeous views, helpful staff (cannot stress enough how great Jennifer has been to work with), cannot wait to our big day with Solitude Links in October!

    Sent on 06/15/2015
  • B

    BRIDGET · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Solitude Links (fka Fore Lakes) was the perfect place for a reception. I worked with Jen who must have answered a million questions for me and made the entire experience stress free and simple. I especially like Solitude Links because they have everything you need for a wedding: the tables, tableware, table cloths, chairs, great food, dance floor, bar, and a beautiful view. They even have things you don't realize you need like a bridal party powder room, no cake cutting fee, short term storage where you can pick up left over decorations, and high chairs/booster seats/dj table/cake and gift tables. For my wedding I had cupcakes and they even set them up on the cake tiers and put individual doilies on each of the 250! They are really willing to go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect for the wedding day. The pricing is super easy to follow since everything mentioned is included and then you can pay incremental per person for extras. The wedding reception was a wonderful and seamless event at Solitude Links. My only complaint is that it was so fun that it went by too quickly.

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome, awesome, awesome from start to finish!! Our son and daughter-in-law were married and had reception @ Solitude Links and I highly recommend sitting down with Jennifer Hollenbeck and letting her take over some of the tasks at hand while planning your future wedding. From the professionalism, food and bar service, wait staff, logistics of venue, serene setting, I could go on and on!! It was all spot on. If there were any issues we did not know about them. We also had many from out of state (us included) and could not have asked for a better wedding site for our children. We liked it so much that another son and his soon to be bride also picked Solitude Links for their wedding and venue set for September, 2016!! Cannot wait!! Thank you to the owners and ALL of the staff at Solitude Links for making our day perfect from start to finish!

    Sent on 08/03/2015
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I honestly cannot believe how absolutely perfect our wedding reception was with Solitude Links. It was everything I thought it would be and more. Jen was so helpful, patient and willing to do just about anything I needed to make the day go smoothly. I'll be honest, when we went to taste testing I was a little nervous because the food wasn't as good as I thought it would be, but the meal at our wedding was out of this world. We did beef tenderloin and chicken marsala and it was absolutely amazing. I have gotten nonstop compliments about how beautiful our venue was and how awesome the food was.

    Sent on 06/23/2015
  • M

    Melena · Married on 06/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding could not have gone more smoothly thanks to Jennifer. She was so great! My entire day went off without a hitch! The food was amazing and I was so happy. My guests had nothing but good things to say!

    Sent on 06/29/2015
  • T

    Thomas · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, where to start, I am the Groom and and I helped my Wife plan our wedding of 95 people with Jennifer and Carol, (I can't imagine how someone could do all this by themselves) what an amazing experience. From the time that Michele and I decided to have our wedding at Fore Lakes we found that Jennifer and Carol were amazing. They literally showed excitement about our big event and helped with anything that we asked for. One of the best things that Jen did for us, was to introduce us to our Minister. Pastor Max is incredible, He was was excited to marry us and worked with us to make sure that all of dreams became a reality. The venue for our Ceremony was beautiful, the reception room was stunning (thanks to my bride) the food was delicious and the night was magical. I cant begin to compliment the staff enough for the top shelf professionalism all evening long. If you are thinking of having your event at Fore Lakes I would say do it in a minute. Top shelf everything

    Sent on 08/12/2014
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fore Lakes did a wonderful job with my wedding. They are extremely organized and professional and will not let you down ! Kathy and Jenn were caring and went above and beyond to meet any special requests I had. I would highly recommend Fore Lakes as top venue choice for weddings held in Michigan.

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • User4272815 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Fore Lakes Golf Club, on July 4, 2014. The wedding coordinators were very helpful, throughout the whole planning process. We got all of our questions answered in a timely manner. They were all very flexible and really took care of our event. The food was good, and the place is beautiful for any event. We were able to taste our food weeks before and decorate the day before the wedding. We would also recommend renting the cabin house located in the golf course for any one that has a large family coming from another state. It is an absolutely beautiful house with many things that makes is so convenient . Over all our, wedding was everything we planned for. We were very happy we chose Fore Lakes!

    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The planning process and the day went very well! Jen was very helpful and answered all of our questions and concerns throughout the entire process and the day of! We received many compliments about the plated dinner (chicken and beef) from guests who appreciated not having a buffet or family-style arrangement. Food service went well in all aspects! We received many compliments on the room and the facility from those who had never been there before and heard from an engaged couple that this location moved up on their list since they were able to experience a wedding there before their own. Thank you all for everything!

    Sent on 07/02/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review