Smile Often Events Reviews

8 | Saint Louis, MO
See photos, pricing and details

8 Reviews for Smile Often Events

Recommended by 93% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

8
Order by:
  • H

    Heather Hussey · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very Detail Oriented and Professional

    Absolutely loved working with Sheena. She was very responsive, had a very detailed spreadsheet to follow and at the event thought of all the little details. Thank you!!

    Sent on 12/07/2018

    Smile Often Events's reply:

    Hi Heather,
    We appreciate your feedback and hope to work constructively with you in the future.
    Smile Often Events - Client Relations
  • L

    LaKisha · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was very impressed with the level of commitment from Smile Often Events. We had given the vendor permission to leave early and she stayed throughout the duration of the event.

    Sent on 05/31/2017
  • M

    megan · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Charlie is amazing - met for my consult and I know my wedding is going to be amazing. She's professional, affordable and top notch!

    Sent on 07/24/2016
  • User4903903 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we started planning we had no idea that it was not as simple as DIY on pinterest. With our wedding drawing closer and closer we started to go into a panic and even thought that we would have to cancel altogether.
    An aunt of my husband actually referred us to Sheena and we were skeptical because you always hear about planners being so expensive. This was not the case however because when we finally broke down and called we found that each consultation call was free which meant that every time we needed to call again and ask about what would be in the contract and what we could save on, she provided the information with no charge to us for using her time. We found that for every vendor we had already booked ourselves, a charge was deducted from the package we chose.
    We had no DJ, no photographer, no caterer, and no cake. This was taken out of our hands because Smile Often Events can actually provide these services in-house which when we compared the charges with outside vendors, we ended up saving exactly $2678 by staying with in-house services.
    We also needed help with invitations which Sheena and her services provided as well because the charge per invitation was significantly lower than going to another company. There was so much stress alleviated in less than a month and we still had 4 months left before the wedding.
    They also planned all of our celebrations before hand; the bachelor & bachelorette parties, the engagement party, bridal shower and a family dinner separate from the rehearsal. They even included agendas for each mini-event that had games and such listed.
    I like how for every single cost we were given 2-3 options at a time and if we like one of the three it we were finished, if we didn't like any options we were given another set of choices.
    I have reffered Sheena and her staff for everything and we plan to use her services in the future for our baby!

    Sent on 03/23/2015
  • N

    Nicole · event on: 01/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smile Often Events did a fantastic job for my daughter's 3rd birthday Princess party. They helped decorate and even created a few custom decorations for me. The princess that came to the party was fantastic and all of my daughter's friends loved her!

    Sent on 11/12/2014

    Smile Often Events's reply:

    Thank you so much!
  • J

    Jeanette · Married on 06/15/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I will be working with Smile Often Events. We are still discussing my requirements in detail to determine actual contract amount. I have found that Sheena is very good to work with, very knowledgeable with great ideas, and makes my event sound wonderful and exciting.

    Sent on 03/30/2018
  • User3058185 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Charlie is so accommodating! And worth every penny! When it comes to top notch vendors for the price, look no further!

    Sent on 09/24/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/01/2018

    2.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Would not Recommend

    Good
    She found a linen vendor and secured linens, and ensured set up and take down- guest book table/place card table linen requested was missing though.
    Found a florist that fulfilled my order within budget.
    Officiant was fantastic.
    Made suggestions for pizza reception which is what I thought I originally wanted.
    Sent me a few messages with items she thought would fit my theme.
    Her team served champagne at reception without being asked to.
    She placed flowers on my cake without me having to ask.
    She did transport the gifts well and organized all the centerpieces, etc after the wedding.

    Needs Improvement
    Didn't visit my wedding venue until day of the wedding.
    Asked many times for contact info for vendors which I had already provided and she could have found with very little effort- I sent her screen shots of emails I had already sent.
    At rehearsal, huddled with her helpers in the back and didn't take the lead in getting everyone together.
    Didn't consult me about changing the way the place cards would be handled- I was told she would ask me before changing anything. She acted annoyed because one of my bridesmaids suggested something different and I didn't know about it.
    Pulled me and my husband aside at the wedding to complain about one of my bridesmaids. When I asked which one and what exactly happened, she didn't know. She didn't seem to know how to handle issues.
    Made remarks about how the officiant "had to take pics for the guestbook"- we had talked about this a month before and she assured me that it would be handled.
    Texted me a few times after 11pm with what I took as panicked messages. After I responded she would be like "no big deal". If it's no big deal, text me at a reasonable hour.

    This is just what I remember now. A little time has passed since the wedding so I am not as upset as I once was. She seemed to be very stressed out at my wedding and took out her frustration on me. I thought a wedding planner should be much more professional. Maybe she just doesn't have enough experience yet or my expectations were too high. From the reviews I read, I expected more. I thought she also charged a crazy amount of money for a custom guestbook (almost $300). The cost was never discussed and I was shocked at the amount. Again, that is my fault for not asking. The book was nice but she had said it would include pictures from the photographer. Instead, it was post-it notes with suggestions for pictures. I paid the invoice without argument because I didn't want to have to deal with a conflict. I will admit that I didn't communicate my displeasure to her, even before posting this. I am not confrontational but not once did she ask me if I was happy with her services or thank me for my business unless it was at the bottom of invoices.

    I considered not posting this but I thought it would be helpful to others planning a wedding. When I look back on my wedding everything turned out fine but the stresses related to dealing with my planner are the negative things I remember.

    Sent on 01/03/2019

    Smile Often Events's reply:

    Hi Sarah,
    We are very sorry to hear this. Someone will contact you at your convenience.
    Thank you,
    Smile Often Events

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review