Small Hour Films Reviews

19 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Small Hour Films

Recommended by 100%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

Small Hour Films 1
Small Hour Films 2
Small Hour Films 3
Small Hour Films 4
Sort by:
  • M

    Monelia · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kualoa Ranch7/20/18

    Jonah and Marlene are such talented people. They are very professional and flexible. They captured our wedding perfectly and the highlight video was the most amazing compilation of the day. They have amazing technology that won’t disappoint. They were very easy to work with and allowed my ideas to be incorporated. I would recommend them to any couple looking for professional videography.

  • L

    Lynn · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most amazing people ever. Honestly I don’t even know where to start. They deserve all the praise in the world.
    Jonah actually went to school with my husband and so my husband was pretty insistent that we use them. He couldn’t stop talking about how nice Jonah was in high school and would take all these photos of him for the year book. Being the crazy, neurotic person I am, I was like hmm let me just take a look at what else is out there. So I did my research, looked around at other options, pricing differences and watched like 50 wedding videos tearing up after every one of them. We decided to send out emails to a couple of different vendors just to see who was available.
    Small hour films responded almost immediately with the nicest, sweetest email ever that they were available and I was like ok fine - Let’s do this. I am so unbelievably happy that we did.
    After meeting Jonah and Marlene on the wedding day I immediately felt the kindness, patience and warmth from them. They made everything so fun and easy and you could just feel how much they loved what they do.
    We had last minute adjustments to the time needed for the day as we needed an extra 2 hours in the morning and Jonah and Marlene were so amazingly accommodating.
    I didn’t actually realize how much work it takes the day of, running around in the sun and to different locations to capture the whole wedding but they did it, with a smile on their face. They honestly deserved every dollar we spent and more.
    They are professional, creative, enthusiastic and mostly importantly kind.
    BEST VIDEOGRAPHERS/ PEOPLE EVER.
    You should book them now. Like right now.

  • S

    Susan · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On the day of our wedding, Jonah and Marlene arrived and started doing their thing. In our package, we had the SAME DAY EDIT and the DRONE. It was a GREAT wedding. They took us outside to do some sunset drone shots on the beach and peninsula and OMG, IT WAS ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!! When we played the same day edit, all you could hear in the ballroom was "omg!" "oooooOhhh!" and "ahhhh!!" Everyone was AMAAAAAZED at their video!! It's only been 3 weeks since our big day but we have gotten dozens and dozens and dozens of feedback from our guests and one thing seems constant....YOUR VIDEO WAS AMAAAAAAAAZING!!!!!! I kid you not when I say that EVERYONE LOVED THE VIDEO!!!!! I seriously watch the video at least 2x a day haha! It sounds silly but the video is THAT good! We all can't wait until the FULL VIDEO comes out!!!!! Thank you so much Jonah & Marlene! You guys are seriously THE BEST In the whole industry!!!! We are sooooo happy with your work!! :) You guys should seriously book them before their prices start to go up!!! NO JOKE!!! You won't regret it!

    Small Hour Films 5
    Small Hour Films 6
    Small Hour Films 7
    Small Hour Films 8
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't know where to begin, but I guess I should start off with the fact that if you're reading this post, then go ahead and already book Small Hour Films!!! Jonah and Marlene are THAT GOOD! They are super nice, laid back, always check in with you, and they make video magic. They make it a point to "blend in" and it never feels like they are in your way on the big day (sometime I didn't even know they were filming!).
    Pricing is very reasonable; a same day edit was not a "must" for us, but after seeing it at the reception we were blown away. I can't wait to see our day-long edits as well!! If you want to see a sample of their work, check out our same day edit:
    https://vimeo.com/smallhourfilms/ashleyandrew

  • E

    Elisha · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my goodness, if anyone deserves a 5 star review it's Small Hour Films! I wish I could give them 100 stars! We purchased their same day edit package and added on a Love Story interview. For what we got, the prices are more than reasonable for a videographer. We wanted something special for the love story, and Jonah and Marlene were able to accommodate, meeting up with us several times to get the perfect shots.For the interviews, I along with the other interviewees were very nervous in front of the camera, but Jonah and Marlene's easy-going personalities made it so easy to just "talk story" instead of it feeling like being interviewed.
    By the time the wedding came around, seeing them again was like seeing old friends. During the reception, we finally got to watch the love story interview and the same day edit and I could not wait! As a person who plans things out and always knows exactly what she wants and has an exact vision in my head about how things should look or go, both videos EXCEEDED my expectations by far.
    After the wedding, Jonah and Marlene quickly sent a link of the two videos. It was great because my grandpa unfortunately was unable to make it so I was able to show him the videos. Jonah mentioned they wanted to fix a small audio issue in the love story interview. I nor any of my guests saw (or heard) anything wrong with the video, but that just shows that Small Hour Films strives for perfection in everything they do, even when the issue is not noticeable to the normal human eye (or ear). We also ran into some problems with the final payment (that was completely my fault), but they were so patient and understanding about it.
    Overall one of the best decisions I made for the wedding was hiring Small Hour Films.Overall I hope that my review can help you decide to hire them, they really are the best!

  • K

    Kacie · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you only read this first part of my review, I have two things you must know… 1) Jonah and Marlene and the SHF crew are literally THE BEST EVER!!! 2) If you’re on the fence about whether or not to pay the extra money for the same-day-edit, PAY IT! Cause it’s totally worth it!
    From the very beginning, we absolutely LOVED how responsive Jonah and Marlene were via email. In less than 24 hours, we had a response. It’s amazing to think that they’re able to make that happen… let alone sleep. Wedding planning can be stressful by itself so when you add vendors that don’t respond it makes things even worse. But fret no more, because this crew has to be the most responsive vendors we worked with throughout our wedding planning process!
    After our first meeting with them we knew they were the videographers for us because not only were they professional beyond their years, but their easy-going energy and friendly smiles put us at ease. That's exactly what we were looking for and boy were we happy we made this decision.
    On the day of our wedding day, the SHF team arrived early to our venue with smiles on and ready to work. And boy did they work. I’ve never seen a team work harder. They were doing everything and anything to get that perfect shot. And I think the icing on the cake was that you could tell they weren’t working hard because it was just “their job”, but that it came from a genuine place. They are passionate about what they do and love doing it. And did I mention the same day edit...AMAZING. Marlene is an editing genius and spent the wedding day working on it. I had at least 10 different guests come up to me and tell me it was the best same day edit they've ever seen. Long story short, if you’re looking for a videographer team that is easy to work with, friendly, professional, talented and hard-working, then look no further. I can confidently refer this team to anyone and everyone as the best videographer team here in Hawaii. LOVE YOU GUYS!

  • D

    David · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Where to start? We came across Jonah and Marlene when searching for videographers on the Big Island; however, bringing them over from Oahu was one of our best decisions! They're work speaks for itself. They're geniuses with cameras and they do a great job of capturing the day in an easy/relaxed/almost don't realize they're there sort of way. Yet, they still manage to capture every aspect you would want. We would recommend them to anyone!

  • G

    Germaine · Married on 08/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring Small Hour Films was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We were crunch for time as we decided to get married last minute. With only one month to plan our intimate beach wedding with just us two, we knew we wanted to capture our Big day to share with our family and friends back home in San Francisco.

    They were informative, professionally and simply had the warm Hawaiian touch. From their prompt email responses, professional recommendations and details we couldn't help but get excited for our vision to come to life.

    On our Wedding day they were such a delight to work with. They were on time, prepared for every scenario, professional and warm. My husband and I felt at ease the entire day. Since it was just my Husband and I they were so kind to assist him with his boutonniere and Marlene helped me get into my dress. They went above and beyond to make sure we felt comfortable and were on schedule with our timeline.

    When we received our highlight video we couldn't help but cry tears of joy of how beautifully they captured our intimate wedding. The video exceeded our expectations, they are masters of editing. Jonah and Marlene are AMAZING filmmakers who are passionate about their artistry. Their creativity and vision will not disappoint. Even our 3 year old daughter cried when she watched it and said, “Mommy this makes me so happy,

  • A

    Anne · Married on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are extremely happy with our wedding videography by Small Hour Films! Jonah and Marlene captured our favorite moments from our wedding. Our videos were all carefully edited and creatively captured and well exceeded our expectations. Small Hour Films was our favorite vendor to work with by far: they are so kind, very accommodating and they deliver top quality services for a very affordable price. We would choose them again without hesitation and give our highest recommendation to anyone looking for a videographer.

  • User5629934 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough words to say how awesome Marlene and Jonah are, watching our wedding videos on a daily basis, well that says enough! Marlene and Jonah were just great to work with, easy going and very down to earth, fun, and professional. They captured our true selves together in our love story and I am filled with laughter everytime I watch it. The Same Day Edit captured magical moments of our wedding day, moments that we had missed on the actually day but now are able to see everything through their eyes. I loved the way everything was put together, how they incorporated our vision perfectly! You know they did great work when not just the couple loves it, but when the guest repeatedly tells you "that was the best video" they've ever seen!

    Thank you again Marlene and Jonah, it was a pleasure working with you! Thank you for capturing moments that we will cherish for a lifetime. We look forward to working with you again one day!

    the De Leons

  • T

    Tony · Married on 10/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did a lot of research when it came to choosing a videographer in Hawaii, and Small Hour Films - the team of Jonah and Marlene - was our pick. And they did not disappoint. They worked flawlessly with our photographer and made several great calls for scenes to capture. And we got back not just the video of our wedding ceremony but also a wonderful highlight video seamlessly weaving all the small pieces of our day together into a great depiction of our special day. It really was amazing, much better than we even could have anticipated. You cannot go wrong with using these two wonderful, professional, accommodating, and visually and artistically creative people for your video.

  • C

    Cindy · Married on 09/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hiring small hour films was the BEST decision I made in planning my wedding. I live in FL and wanted to elope to Oahu. Of course planning a destination wedding and not knowing anyone or anything about the island caused me so much stress.

    I researched almost every videography place in Oahu and decided I would go with small hour films. Jonah and Marlene always responded to any of my questions or concerns promptly through email.

    The day of my wedding they arrived exactly on time. They were so personable and professional. Throughout the wedding they made me feel so comfortable and I felt like I was among friends.

    Throughout the making of the video Jonah and Marlene worked with me and captured exactly what I imagined. When I watched the video I cried because it was so perfect. I fell in love all over again.

    Small hour films are the best!
    Thank you for creating such a beautiful and wonderful MASTERPIECE!

  • L

    Liezl · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All the reviews that have said here are absolutely true! Jonah and Marlene and staff of Small Hour Films are just absolutely incredible! I don't usually write reviews but these guys are just exceptional, I would even give them a hundred stars! Look no further if you want to have the best videography service- they are the best! They made our wedding video worth a treasure to us, we couldn't be so grateful!

  • S

    Sachi · Married on 07/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just 1 word... THE BEST!
    Their video is absolutely beautiful as you can see on their website, but they're great to work with! Jonah and Marelene are professtional and friendly. We are so happy to had the right decision of hiring them!
    Some story... we had a small destination wedding just with family and close friends, so we wanted to have the video so we can show it at our reception in Seattle. At the reception, oh my god, we got SO MANY compliments! Everyone asked us this company because the video is so beautiful.

    From the moment of the first time we contacted them, we knew we love them. When I was getting a quote from many other companies, we're a little sad because many companies tried to make a contrace even before consulting the detail. However, Jonah explained us every detail we want to know even before making a contract with them, so we had no concern for hiring them. It meant a lot to us! They are so reliable, flexible, and having a great taste.
    And the important part, their price is really reasonable :) You can just get a quote and compare it, it was almost half price of average I got. Even with reasonable price, they sure do great work. They stayed with us all the day long from the preparation to the reception and caught every great moment of our best day. We think it's really worth spending money for their high queality video and work!
    We advice you that the video is a great way to keep your memory of your wedding day. The wedding day was really fun, but passed too quick. I honestly thought the photo is more important to keep memory, but after getting our video, we watched it again and again and it helps us to keep vivid memory of our great day.
    Jonah and Marlene, thank you very much for amazing work! We are so grateful to work with you and the video will be our treasure in our life! :)

  • User5306364 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    High quality filmmakers at cost-effective prices! Stop your search here!

    *Jonah & Marlene of Small Hour Films were referred to my fiancé & me by our wedding photographer Frank Amodo. From the first contact, Jonah & Marlene have been nothing less than professional, kind, fun, & creative. Small Hour embodies the Spirit of Aloha--so if you are having a wedding in Hawaii (or anywhere else!), they are your peeps! The staff were always attentive to any ideas & questions we had. They met with us in-person & inquired about our vision for our videos. They helped us build upon that vision & ACTUALIZE it. We wanted videos that showed love, family, & had a hip vibe. They captured that COMPLETELY. We ended up with 4 videos: 8 minute day highlight video; full ceremony; full reception; &, an artsy "What is Love?" video that showed interviews with our guests sharing their wisdom on love. Small Hour did this all with no problems in a timely manner beyond our wildest expectations! About 2 weeks before our wedding, we added a drone through Small Hour to capture the Ko'olau mountains in the backdrop of our outdoor wedding & our whole wedding party from an aerial view.

    Overall: This company is very professional & accessible--easy to talk to, fun to work with! When you meet Jonah & Marlene, you feel like you are meeting new friends who really want to make your wedding special & capture the tiny nuances that only trained observers pick up. You won't find arrogant filmmakers here, only awesome, positive people! They are prompt communicators over email, phone, & text. Specialized attention to all our creative needs. Arrived early on wedding day AND stayed late (beyond the call of duty) to shoot some post-reception lovey-dovey shots in the botanical garden. Hand delivered final DVD + blu-ray disc + thumb drive in LOVELY personalized CD case.

    I would hire Small Hour Films again in a heartbeat! I recommend them to all my friends and family. You won't regret choosing this company!

  • S

    Shelley · Married on 03/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jonah, Marlene & crew from Small Hour Films are top notch! First of all, they are extremely nice & easy to work with! Planning a wedding can be nerve wracking so working with people who make you feel at ease is key!
    They were the ones who calmed my nerves when I was falling behind schedule.
    They worked tirelessly to complete a same day edit on late notice & with such little time to do so. However, not only were they able to deliver but it was far beyond our expectations!! Many of our guests kept talking about it & wanted to know how we found them. In fact my relatives are hounding us to watch it again . They want to host a get together at their home just to see our video! We highly recommend hiring them for your special day. Thank you Small Hour Films!

  • D

    Darlene · Married on 10/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had prioritized photography as a must-have for our wedding, but a couple of friends who also recently got married really recommended getting a videographer. (The photos are of course priceless memories, but video takes it a step further and really lets you re-live the day, especially when it goes by in a blur for the bride and groom!)

    So anyway, our request for Jonah and Marlene's services happened very last minute. I think we had less than 2 months left before the wedding, and since we live in Washington state, all the planning had to be done over email and phone. Jonah was extremely responsive to all our communication. He was happy to answer all of my questions with a positive attitude, and really made me feel like his team would do everything they could do capture every detail without getting in the way.

    On the wedding day, he and his team were extremely professional. They brought a ton of equipment, but I don't really remember them being there except for a few key moments. As a bride, my concern was that I would feel like they were everywhere and I wouldn't be able to really be in the moment, but they must have got what they needed because the end result was AMAZING! I cried when they sent me our highlight video because I got to see the entire wedding from beginning to end with all the details. It was perfect. We shared the video with all our friends and family who were impressed with the quality of the video and their way of telling the story of our wedding day. I do not regret making the decision to spend the extra money on hiring Jonah and Marlene. They are both very great individuals to work with and would hire them again if I could.

  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Small Hour Films provides the highest caliber of service; for professional, friendly, quality service, look no further. My wife and I could not be happier that we booked them to capture our big day.

    Small Hour Films is not just a wedding video service; they are trained film makers that specialize in creating a unique statement. My wife and I went with them after sampling their other works, namely a captivating short-film and several wedding videos. They pay special attention to detail and are truly masters of their craft.

    We have seen other highlight reels, and the difference is quite obvious; Small Hour Films stands head-and-shoulders above other companies. Not only do they lack the rushed audio syncing, occasional camera shake, and premature cutaway, they work with you to create a film.

    My wife has worked with other companies (not locally) that add additional pressure and stress; they disregard the bridal party's feelings, rush through shots, and unapologetically block other guests. Small Hour is the exact opposite; from day one they provided us with the support we needed to get on track. When we had questions about wedding flow, they were able to help us out (they've filmed dozens, if not hundreds of weddings, so they've seen everything). They were professional, helpful, courteous, and above all, friendly. The price for stellar service won't break the bank; they are VERY competitive! My wife and I would have paid double, or even triple the price for their services...my advice is to book them immediately.

    Small Hour Films provides the best service for a competitive cost. Other companies document an event; they work with you to create a truly unique work of art. Thank you, Small Hour Films, for turning our wedding into a masterpiece!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review