Silver Lake Country Club Reviews

17 | Stow, OH
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Silver Lake Country Club

Recommended by 91%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue!

    We had such an amazing experience working with SLCC. Carly was great- she took over from our prior event coordinator and we were extremely pleased with her professionalism and service. The country club was so beautiful! We hung string lights from the dance floor and everything was just like i imagined! They even made my wedding dream come true- they allowed me to serve Pumking at my wedding! We even got a special bottle of wine at our head table! The price we paid for everything was very fair and the club does a great job of working with you to stay in budget without sacrificing what you want for your wedding vision. The food was fantastic and all guests complimented us on how tasty everything was!
    It also unfortunately rained on our wedding night and Carly let us come back to shoot extra footage on the grounds when it was nice Out! Overall would highly recommend. Would do it all over again if I could! Thank you SLCC for giving me the wedding of my dreams!

    Sent on 11/05/2018
  • S

    Suzy · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with the ladies at Silver Lake! They made everything easy and thought of things that I had not yet thought of. I would definitely pick them again! Food was amazing!!! My guests did not stop talking about the appetizers!! Yummy. Our pictures turned out amazing especially rose taken at night by the gazebo <3

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • S

    Stacy · Married on 08/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding value! These have to be the nicest people in the industry! EVERYONE was friendly, yet professional! The staff was exceptionally accommodating to any and all requests for our intimate wedding reception. The pictures do not do this reception hall justice! The large windows with the view to the lovely golf course and many, many large floral arrangements made the need for additional decorations minimal. Our guests raved about the quality of the food (buffet style with a plated salad)!! We could not have been more over joyed with the overall experience!

    Sent on 08/19/2015
  • User5385753 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue provided the perfect combination of ceremony and reception at one location. Gorgeous outdoor setting for the ceremony and a beautiful backdrop/view for the reception. The ballroom area of the country club created a wonderful atmosphere for our guests to enjoy cocktails, dinner, dancing and dessert. Silver Lake Country Club met and exceeded our expectations for our wedding. We were so pleased and can't say enough good things about this venue.

    Sent on 08/27/2015
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Silver Lake for my wedding was the best decision I could have made! All of the employees involved with my wedding went above and beyond my wildest expectations. They truly made my day perfect! Melanie stepped up and handled unexpected issues that arose without me even knowing about it (she handled a seating issue and supplied unexpected kids meals without batting an eye). Not to mention the fact that she took time to interact with my guests even giving one of the children a golf-cart ride! After all the time planning I can honestly say that not only do you have a top-notch staff but I honestly feel as though they have become family. I cannot express enough how happy I am!!!

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Silver Lake Country Club was just beautiful! It was the perfect spot for our wedding. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a venue. It was just remodeled and looks beautiful. Our guests and us loved having the capabilities of being inside or outside on the balcony which overlooks the golf course. Melanie is the wedding coordinator and she was just fabulous. Always on top of things and very attentive to my emails and questions.

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • User4540611 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at silver lake country club was amazing! From the delicious food to the accommodating staff and elegant decor we couldn't of had a better reception! It was the best night of our life!

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • G

    Gretchen · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Over a month later, I am still hearing from guests about how beautiful this venue is and especially about how wonderful the food was! The staff was a joy to work with. We did not feel a need for a wedding planner because they had all the details down. I would very highly recommend Silver Lake Country Club. Thank you to them for making my daughter's reception the perfect party!

    Sent on 11/07/2014
  • User2789813 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have has the pleasure of attending many many events at Silver Lake Country Club over the course of several years, I have heard only glowing compliments about the food, service, atmosphere, staff, and Lorelie. Silver Lake is a great place to host an event. I recommend Silver Lake CC every chance I get.

    Sent on 11/21/2012
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Silver Lake Country Club is PERFECT for any wedding or corporate event!! I am a highly satisfied bride.. Lorelei Olzinger-Nelson was extremely involved in planning out every detail, and our wedding went off AMAZING! We still have family members raving about how beautiful it was, how wonderful the dinners tasted, and what a fabulous time they had! Carolyn, who works with Lorelei, was there that day also and was wonderful at keeping everything moving smoothly. We were SO THANKFUL to have such a wonderful Country Club for our Spring wedding. The view of the golf course is unbelievable!! Our company has also had holiday parties there for MANY years with A+ service! Exceptional!!

    Sent on 01/19/2013
  • User2781660 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lorelei Olzinger-Nelson was terrific to work with; from day one meeting her to the wedding reception. She was prompt in answering e-mail questions, available for quick meetings, calm, courteous, spirited throughout. Truly a joy to work with... I had no doubts the reception would go well with her at the helm. She's obviously professional and yet shows warmth and concern in a personal way. Unfortunately I don't know other servers/staff names- however, everything went smoothly,and moved in good time. A friend of mine who was in a wheelchair that night (or a walker) e-mailed me later saying the staff had delivered her plate of food to her (it was a buffet) and she was very pleased. Book your wedding at Silver Lake Country Club... you won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 11/21/2012
  • R

    Ron · Married on 10/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After touring countless reception facilities in NE Ohio, my then wife to be and I chose Silver Lake CC as the venue for both wedding and wedding reception and we are so happy we did so. Thank you to the SLCC ownership, members, staff, and most importantly, events coordinator Lorelei Olzinger for making my wife and my friends and family feel welcome and sharing your facility with us. You don’t have to open your club to non-members, and we appreciate it. Despite not being club members, Lorelei made us feel like family. I can’t tell you how many times Lorelei told us she was there to make our day special. Mission accomplished. We had dreamed of a beautiful fall outdoor wedding with an indoor reception to follow. The weather didn’t cooperate, however instead of letting us get down, Lorelei immediately offered plan B. An adjustable sized room was setup to provide an amazingly intimate wedding room. Despite the cold temperature outside, the massive wall of windows provided a glowing back drop of fall colors to our houpa in the wedding room, as well as in the oversized reception hall. Additionally, we have since heard from many of our guests that the food served at our reception was the best wedding food they’ve ever had. If you spend five minutes with Lorelei, it is obvious she is a dedicated foodie and would never allow anything but the best food to be served. Everything was outstanding.

    Sent on 11/26/2012
  • User5022057 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This club is THE PLACE TO HAVE A WEDDING RECEPTION! The food was amazing! The new carpet & hard wood floors are gorgeous! They were very accommodating & the staff were all friendly & fun to work with! We will continue to celebrate other events at this venue for years to come! Special Thanks to Melanie! She is terrific!!

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • A

    Alyssa · Getting married on 10/24/2020

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!!!!

    I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for an affordable venue. Love the venue!

    Sent on 09/12/2019
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/13/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our wedding at Silver Lake in August of 2016. Melanie worked with us, and she was amazing. She truly made the whole experience less stressful. She did everything from have a backup florist on call because ours sucked, to getting me a glass of wine from the bar when I had a meltdown in the bathroom during the reception. The food was great, the service was great, the venue is stunning, it was all great. No complaints.

    Sent on 11/11/2016
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 06/12/2010

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I do not recommend having your reception at Silver Lake Country Club. Where do I start? When we first sat down with the reception coordinator, she told us certain things were included, gave us prices, etc.. well later on in the year when the reception came closer, she said that certain things were not included and then was charging us for additional services and changed the pricing on the drinks.
    The day of the reception, we get there and there are no flowers out back like she said there would be, to have pictures taken. So, we walk down the way to take some pictures that have some kind of greenery in the background, and here I see our reception coordinator running down to get us. She explains that the members are complaining and that we could not take pictures back here but have to leave (which she never told us before).
    So, we finally get inside and I was having issues with my bussle, so my sister my matron of honor asked the reception coordinator for a safety pin, anything. Her response was to ask any of the floor staff and they will be able to help you. My sister said she is asking her and would like some help. So, she goes to "find" a safety pin, comes back and says that there is not one.
    Well, so we finally sit down to have dinner and enjoy the evening, and I ask my new husband for some punch from the punch fountain that I had rented, paid for and was special touch. He brings it back and it's completely warm. We had to find someone to go and put ice in it or something. The service was bad, as the head sweetheart table and bride and groom, we were waited on once!!! My husband had to go find someone to take away his plate!!! unbelievable. Later on during the night we ran out of water at the drink station, nothing was restocked. The ice was floating, my husband had to ask someone to refill the ice. We paid $5.95 per person for this "drink station" and they could not keep it stocked?! Oh yeah, and my husband and I tried to find the reception coordinator at the start of the evening after the punch incident, and she was no where to be found. She left already, and didn't even ask us if everything was good, she just left.
    The only wonderful thing there was the food. The food was absolutely fabulous.
    Overall the experience was poor, we felt absolutely abandoned at our wedding reception. I do not recommend this place nor will I ever. I'm sorry to be so negative, but I was disappointed and I don't want anyone else to go through this either.

    Sent on 07/01/2010
  • User2422943 · 2+ years ago

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    WORST PLACE TO HAVE A PRIVATE EVENT!!! READ: WEDDING! Please Brides, Grooms, and Families save yourself money and heartache and book your event with a more reputable venue. We had a total breach of contract in regard to anything Silver Lake was responsible for the night of our reception. The management is terrible and the only thing they excel at is taking your money and then doing absolutely nothing to earn it. I was promised a private event and instead had a homecoming event planned the same night as my reception booked a year out in advance. I had teenage girls half naked invading my meticulously planned incredibly intimate wedding reception. They didn't bother to tell me this when I made my final payment 3 days before my wedding. My reception was the exact opposite of the description touted on their website. All Silver Lake Country Club did was collect my money --a deposit at the beginning and a collection of basic information 1 month prior to my wedding. There was no other assistance....the private event coordinator Lorelei Olzinger-Nelson couldn't be bothered with me a non-member that was bringing such meager business to their establishment. I can't tell you how many times I heard "this is a business" and believe me that is all it is--and a poor one at that. Silver Lake didn't meet my basic expectations let alone exceed them like they claim. They did NOTHING to customize my event--they provide the 4 walls and that is it. My family and I choose the floral arrangements, the cake design, the upgrade in chairs and linens (what they have to offer is outdated and bland), and other special decor and intimate details that made the night memorable. All I paid Silver Lake to do was provide Ivory napkins and hot food. This was a bridge too far. I had a small reception of 85 people and I choose buffet so that food would be warm. Our food was lukewarm and overdone. Service was terrible, when things weren't delivered as contracted it sent the staff into a frenzy and they ha

    Sent on 10/22/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review