Skip to main content
Weddings

Shooting Star Photography Reviews

Shooting Star Photography

Shooting Star Photography

Sarasota, FL
4.8 out of 5 rating, 46 Reviews
View more information

46 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

46
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

3 User photos

  • K
    Krista G. Married on 06/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic!

    From the first moment we decided to use Shooting Star Photography to receiving our photos, we have had a wonderful experience with Shooting Star. Communication was great from Sally and Alek. The prices were very good. Above all, Sally was wonderful. She has a great eye and photographed my daughter’s beach wedding beautifully! I would highly recommend them to anyone!
  • E
    Erica Married on 04/25/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    In a vendor's perspective, working with Alek was a dream. He was so welcoming throughout the process and approachable the whole wedding day. Alek communicated with me during all transitional times and more importantly, was adamant on giving the couple a few moments to themselves during the busy day to be with each other. I was so fortunate to be able to work with him. I cannot recommend Alek enough--he filled in all the time provided to get some amazing shots of the wedding day. Thank you for being so professional and easy to be around. I hope to work with you again!

    Shooting Star Photography's reply:

    Nothing Sketchy Sir, is actually very clear. All packages are posted on the website for everyone to see. You want to book our 1 Hour Package at The Sandbar or less than $395.00 but l can not offer the services for professional photography for less than $395.00. If that is out of your price range l am very sorry that l can’t help you but wish you well and hope other photographer can help you.
    Thank you, Alek
  • R
    Robin Married on 12/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alec and Sally are a awesome husband and wife team. They were on time, very friendly, answer email questions quickly and affordable. Our album and pics are beautiful. Alec and Sally never got in our way when taking pics. They did everything we asked them to do. Alec and Sally are wondering people and would recommend them to all our friends and family. If you are on a budget this is the photographer you want to hire. I want to say thank you again Alec and Sally for an awesome job. You all deserve a score of high 10!
    Tufan and Robin Sahin

    Shooting Star Photography's reply:

    Thank you Robin, makes us very happy to hear you love your wedding album. Sally and l have done wedding photography for over 20 years now but still treat every wedding and every single customer like our first one. Customer Service before, during and after the wedding is top priority for us and we take a great deal of pride in providing Professional Photography services at a reasonable price. Thank you again.
    Alek
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Marie Married on 10/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    WOW! Alek and Sally did a fantastic job on our Wedding day. The husband and wife team did a great job capturing the special moments of our day. Their experience with beach weddings put my fiancee and me at ease. In following their Facebook page in the months leading up to our wedding day we were confident and comfortable with our choice. They felt like part of the family!!! Thank you Shooting Star Photography.
  • C
    Cat Married on 10/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Did a fantastic job at our wedding and the turn around for photos was so fast!! we absolutely loved using Shooting Star Photography!!
  • M
    Matthew Married on 08/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek and Sally came very highly recommended, we were excited to have the opportunity to work with them. They are not only extremely professional but they are both wonderful people to be around. We not only enjoyed their company but really enjoyed how well they work together and with other vendors like the DJ and wedding planner. We were truly honored to have them work our wedding and would highly recommend them for any event you are planning. Thank you Alek and Sally for capturing our fondest memories of our wedding!
  • Dawn
    Dawn P. Married on 08/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photographer has captured memories that will last a lifetime.

    He came out to do my wedding photos on Anna Maria island, very nice man, friendly, patient and the photos were amazing.
    I made a great choice with this company and now have amazing photos to remember the day.
  • C
    Chad Married on 06/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek and Sally did an amazing job at our wedding. They took so many beautiful photos and did it so smoothly that it allowed us to really enjoy our day. We highly recommend them!
  • M
    Madelyne Married on 11/24/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shooting Star Photography did a wonderful job on our wedding photos!! I am so glad that I got to work with Alek and Sally. They were such a pleasure to work with and provided GREAT quality work on the photos and album! I appreciate all of their business and really enjoyed working with them.
  • B
    Beth Married on 04/12/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek was great! We were married at the BeachHouse Restaurant in Bradenton Beach, FL. Very professional and made sure we got all the pictures we needed without missing the reception. He took pictures of my friends and family during the sunset too. I would definitely recommend him.
  • S
    Stacy Married on 03/28/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek and Sally were outstanding! Not only did they take the most beautiful photo's of our wedding, they captured us. They were a blast to work with and really listened to what we wanted. Love them
  • H
    Heather Married on 03/03/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek was so prompt at getting back to my emails and following up! He was flexible with our photography package which helped us capture the things that mattered the most! I was more confident with his services when I met him at the Anna Maria wedding show and saw he was recommend by the sandbar. Overall Alek felt like a guest at my wedding who thought I looked really good and took the most romantic photos of my husband and i. what more could a bride ask for!
  • Lori
    Lori Married on 01/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Alek to take our family photos at Anna Maria and we could not have been happier with the results! Right from the start he was very responsive with providing detailed responses to my emails, and very friendly! He was also very professional and great with a large group with toddlers. Finally, the value is just unbelievable! Not only do you get great service but so many beautiful images. I looked at other photographers as well but I was by far the most impressed with everything Shooting Star had to offer. Alek did an amazing job capturing our family memories and we couldn't be happier. Thank you Alek!
  • K
    Katie Married on 10/19/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I were so very impressed by Alek at Shooting Star Photography. While we haven't received our disc yet (as we were just married one week ago), our photos were online for viewing THE NEXT DAY. When my husband and I looked, we were so very pleased. The photographs came out amazing. Apart from the beautiful photos, what really pleased my husband and I the most was Alek's professionalism, flexibility, and personality. He was able to get all the posed shots we wanted QUICKLY, which was very important to us. We were not the couple who wanted to spend an hour taking photos--and we didn't nor did we have to to have the same result. Alek was quick at directing us and patient (wrangling our families can be a challenge). He was also very creative and got some great shots of us at our reception venue on the water. At the reception, Alek also followed us around, while not getting in our way and got pictures of me with my guests. That was really special as our wedding was on the smaller side (60 or so guests), everyone who was there was very important to us. Alek was also very patient and understanding of our guests and relatives who were taking pictures. Even though several other people were taking photos of us at important moments, Alek respected their space and still got amazing shots. Beyond the quality and professionalism, Shooting Star Photography is an amazing value. Our budget was on the smaller side and I was searching for an affordable, but quality photographer. When a friend recommended Shooting Star to me and sent me to their website, I could not believe the prices. I had researched several other photographers, not only were their quotes exponentially higher than Shooting Star's, but their websites did not list prices, which frustrated me as I planned my wedding from out of state.

    You will be missing out big time if you don't hire Shooting Star Photography. They exceed expectations!
  • L
    Linda Married on 09/19/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shooting Star Photography was absolutely fantastic! Our wedding pictures are beautiful and we couldn't be more pleased with how wonderful they turned out. Not only did the photographer patiently wait for the rain to stop to have our wedding on the beach, he captured the ceremony and sunset in such a special way that we will always treasure these photos and the memories they bring to mind every time we look at them. We proudly have many of them displayed throughout our home. (You will be able to get as many copies made as you want from the disc they give you.) The comments we received about the photos from friends and family have all been glowing. I highly recommend their services if you are getting married in the Sarasota area.
  • S
    Stacy Married on 04/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek photographed our 20 year vow renewal on the beach on Anna Maria Island. He was amazing and our pictures are unbelievable! Things we loved about Alek... 1. He was on time. 2. His prices are very reasonable. 3. He was dressed appropriately and professionally. 4. He didn't intrude on our ceremony but got amazing pictures of the whole thing. 5. He had great ideas for pictures and he was more than willing to do poses and things we wanted to do as well. 6. He sends us a CD of the pix so we can do what we want with them. 7. He was super friendly to us, our family and guests. 8. Even though we weren't getting married for the first time, he made me feel like a bride. I would highly recommend Shooting Star photography. Alek was the best!
  • User1124941 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sally and Alex were wonderful to work with.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 12/15/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek and Sally are amazing people with amazing talent. If you want all of your beautiful moments captured call them. They are worth it!!!!
  • M
    Marimily Married on 10/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding photos were of excellent quality. We really liked all the candid photos (as we requested). We felt very comfortable around Alek - he is very approachable and flexible. Overall we were very pleased to have worked with him.
  • W
    Wendy Married on 08/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Super professional and amazing people. Thank you
  • M
    Michelle Married on 11/11/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great flexibility with me not being local. Delivered the dvd with photos straight away so we could take them home with us.
    Thanks!
  • H
    Courtney Married on 10/01/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek provided a great service at a great price. Planning a wedding on a small budget doesn't mean you have to sacrifice good quality photos. We are extremely happy with the photos we have from our Anna Maria Island wedding and I highly recommend using Shooting Star Photography to any bride.
  • T
    Tracy Married on 09/30/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Alek and Sally are a wonderful couple and great photographers! They were very accomodating and had great ideas for photos. It was great to have the two of them at different spots to get really good different views for photos. I would recommend them to anyone looking to have a great time taking pictures and a lot of fun candids.. Those were my favorite!
  • J
    Judy Married on 11/19/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our daughter was trying to keep photo costs low. She asked if they could come for 2 and 1/2 hours; enough time for the dressing part, the ceremony, pictures after on the beach, family pics and about 1/2 hour of random shots of the group. He was terrific and so unobtrusive!! I never even knew he was there, but he captured everything! He even had them do a "fake" cake cutting (which took place after he left) so that it would be a part of the pictures. THEN...we had the proofs two days later!! And they are beautiful! Talk about professional. They are a terrific husband and wife team who worked hard to meet our requirements, not theirs. I recommend them highly!
  • W
    Victoria Married on 11/07/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were so amazing...on the day of our wedding I let Alek know of certain things that we were going to do and certain pictures that I would like him to take and he had no problem with that. We live in Lakeland, FL so I could not talk to him face to face so we did all our communicating by email and phone. He and his wife were always very professional and extremely nice and did everything they could to make sure we were 100% satisfied. Oh and the wedding album..WOW I have never seen anything like this it was better than I imagined it being...I knew it would be good but I never expected this!!! The next time I need a photographer I am definitely going to call them and if I know of anyone getting married I will definitely tell them to call Shooting Star!! They are amazing and I couldn't have asked for better people to work with or a better album!! THANK YOU!!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message