Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment Reviews

44 | Ball Ground, GA
See photos, pricing and details

44 Reviews for Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment

Recommended by 100%

44
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
44 Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    J Wynne · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the BEST choice!

    What a fantastic decision to book Shimmer for our wedding. We were on the dance floor the entire night, as was almost every other guest! They were so friendly and read the crowd brilliantly. The vocalists were so talented and everything was extremely professional. Amazing.

    Sent on 11/14/2018

    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment's reply:

    Thank you very much, it was our great pleasure to perform at your wedding reception! We enjoyed you guys so much!!!
  • L

    Libby Bierman · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everybody was dancing!

    The Shimmer was a fantastic band that took our ideas and made them better than we could have planned. They learned the father/daughter song specifically for our wedding and nailed the other special dance songs. By the end of the evening, they had everyone up and dancing to a great mix of tunes - everything from Whitney Houston to Bruno Mars to Garth Brooks. We couldn't have been happier with their energy, selection and professionalism.

  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay and the Shimmer Band are AMAZING! Leading up to the event, Jay was such a pleasure to work with. They made our daughter and son-in-laws reception! All of our guests commented to us how great the band was. The dance floor was packed all night long. Their enthusiasm and energy were contagious! We loved every minute of their performance!!! The Shimmer Band ROCKS!

  • E

    Eilidh · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer made our wedding so much fun! They got everyone up and dancing, and were super flexible with all of our requests to incorporate different Scottish traditions. We had a blast! So many people came up to us to tell us how great the band was. Jay was very professional and easy to work with in the lead up of the big day and made sure that everything ran smoothly on the day. Would highly recommend Shimmer!

  • D

    David · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Shimmer play at our wedding reception at the Grove Park Inn a couple of weeks ago. They did an awesome job and we all loved the music. Shimmer did a great job of getting everyone on the dance floor, especially because our crowd had a lot of people that don’t normally dance. Our guests are still talking about how great the band played. The band leader Jay is great to work with before hand and he was very helpful in getting a perfect playlist. I would highly recommend this band. They are very talented and we love the fact that they play such a wide variety of music.

  • S

    Schira · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for making the Benson-Smith wedding such an amazing event! Shimmer band is truly everything and then even more. Every guest was in awe of your talent. We are so grateful for you bringing your magic and getting everyone out on the dance floor... How could they not? Shimmer Band... We Love You❣️So glad we had you to celebrate one of the happiest days of our lives❤️

  • W

    Wes · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "BEST BAND EVER" - it's true what they say about Shimmer. Every one of our 150 wedding guests we've talked to afterward has said exactly that. Shimmer passes all the requirements for a great wedding band with flying colors. For us, that mainly meant keeping the dance floor going all night long, which they DID. However, there were a few other things that stood out to us that truly make them the best band ever.

    PROFESSIONALISM
    These guys are the real deal. No matter what package you choose, you will be presented with a unified front of top-notch musicians dressed for the occasion. For our black-tie wedding at 6pm, they arrived no later than 12pm for setup. They were clearly committed to making sure their sound and space was just right to make for a fantastic evening.

    On the same note, their band manager was extremely responsive. We exchanged many emails and his responses were always thorough and beyond punctual.

    MUSIC
    We knew Shimmer would be great, but had no idea they would so thoroughly exceed our expectations. We went for the 8-piece package which included a two-horn section (sax and trumpet). All the hits were executed to perfection. The horns especially shone in songs like "Try a Little Tenderness" by Otis Redding. Both of their vocalists were engaging and sounded great.

    Finally, one thing that stood out to me and several other guests was their total command of the volume of the performance. Shimmer absolutely mastered the mix from start to finish, setting a quiet backdrop for dinner and raising the roof towards the end of the night.

    ACCOMODATIONS
    I'm a musician, and Shimmer went out of the way to arrange for me to join them for a serenade for my bride. They worked with me at length to have a guitar and a microphone waiting for me on stage. They even set the guitar up in an alternate tuning! Shimmer will clearly go above and beyond to make sure you and your guests are happy.

    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 1
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 2
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 3
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 4
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 5
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 6
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 7
    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 8
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer is an outstanding band loaded with talent. They performed for our daughter's wedding reception and the dance floor was never empty. We even had people who never dance out on the dance floor. Jay was so easy to work with and very accommodating. Thank you Shimmer for fantastic evening!!

    Sent on 06/11/2018

    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks for including us Barbara, we had a blast :-)
  • C

    Christine · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THIS BAND IS LIT! They totally brought the house down all night, and we received so many compliments. They also followed my OCD rankings of their play list to a tee with no questions asked.

    The only suggestion I would make would be to ask them to announce the last song of the night :) Thank you, Shimmer, for a fantastic wedding reception!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer played at our wedding reception in St. Petersburg and I cannot say enough amazing things about this band. Not only are they incredible performers, but also great at communication and easy to work with. We heard from many of our guests this was the best band they'd ever heard at a wedding. The dance floor was packed the entire night! Everyone had a blast and no one wanted the evening to end. If you are looking for a band to play at your reception, look no further. Thank you Shimmer for playing such a huge role in making our big day everything we could've asked for and more!!

    Sent on 05/16/2018

    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks Sarah. We had a blast!
  • S

    shelly · Married on 04/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SHIMMER exceeded our expectations in every way. They are excellent musicians...they KNOW how to work a crowd...the playlist is extensive.....they have FUN with the guests as well as the bride groom and attendants...They LOOK good, sound good and will make you feel good. Jay the director makes the organizational process easy and timely. Our guests told me they almost felt like they were at a concert. April the female lead singer literally became Beyonce during Crazy in Love. We did not want a local new orleans band for our wedding. we wanted a kick ass rockstar band that would stand above what everyone had been seeing there and this is exactly what we got. No one remembers the cake, the flowers and the other stuff....but they do remember the party. this band will be the best decision you make.

  • S

    Susan · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the Shimmer Band! They were awesome! We (husband, daughter, her fiancee, myself) reviewed many bands' videos through East Coast Entertainment and chose them based on their video. The dance floor was packed ALL night. Their song choice was so fun and lively. What talented musicians (and VERY nice people) - they obviously love what they do! I highly recommend them - book them and you will have NO worries about keeping the party going! Thank you, Shimmer Band, for adding to a most memorable wedding reception for our daughter!!!! Ya'll were a HIT!

  • C

    chuck · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Band! very responsive from the first phone call until last follow up e-mail. The dance floor was packed from the first song until the last and they did not take a break all night!

  • B

    Becca · Married on 01/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every guest cannot stop talking about how much fun they had with Shimmer! They kept the party going all night and we LOVE the wide range of music they played throughout the evening. They were such a blast!!

  • P

    Phillip · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer met all of our needs for our daughter’s wedding reception for 200 people. They shortened the special dances as requested and later charged up the crowd. Our guests did not want to leave the dance floor. My suggestion—spring for a stage to enhance the experience. Shimmer made the party.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking to book live music for your wedding reception (or any event really), stop your search and book Shimmer now! My husband and I were married on 10.21.17 and Shimmer truly made our reception - they are AWESOME! They are phenomenally talented performers, and they know how to seamlessly work a crowd. They put up with all of our off the beaten path requests, and kept the party going from the moment the reception started until the very end. They are incredibly well priced, so you get more than the proverbial bang for your buck with them. We have fielded so many compliments from our family and friends about them, and we can't thank them enough for making our reception such an amazing time. Thank you for everything, Shimmer, and keep rocking!!

  • A

    Ansley · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer made our wedding amazing! All night people were dancing and having a fantastic time. Shimmer was the best band that we have ever seen at a wedding and I am so happy it was at my wedding!

    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment 9
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay and the Shimmer Band are amazing. Not only are they an incredible band but they are highly professional and great to work with. Thank you Shimmer Band for helping to make my daughter’s wedding so memorable.

    Sent on 05/09/2018

    Shimmer Band aka Shimmer Entertainment's reply:

    Thank you, it was out great pleasure.
  • M

    Madison · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING!!!! Shimmer band made our wedding reception one for the books! Our family and friends had a blast and that is an understatement. Our guests could not wait to get on the dance floor. Shimmer Band is the best band I have ever seen in action. On top of the amazing show they put on, Jay answered my emails back within minutes. I really can't say enough nice things. CAN WE DO THE NIGHT OVER AGAIN??

  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer was AMAZING!!!!!! Throughout our booking and music selection process, Jay Hardie was so easy to work with and super flexible with meeting the noise ordinances of our venue. Shimmer is everything we hoped they would be and then some. They are crazy talented musicians and singers, they are engaging and interactive, and we are STILL getting compliments on the group. My husband and I highly recommend Shimmer - they made our wedding reception so fun and memorable!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The description is spot-on – BEST BAND EVER!! Shimmer totally made our reception! We can’t say enough about how awesome this band is and how easy and professional they were to work with. They played through dinner and then got the party started. Everyone (even the “non-dancers”) was up and on the dance floor! Even though it was really hot at our reception, they played it cool and kept everyone in a great mood. They emcee’d wonderfully and totally read the crowd at every single turn. Shimmer is top-of-the-line – the talent going on here is unreal! My husband is a musician and he and his musician friends were in absolute awe. We have gotten so many compliments on them…and more than one request for Shimmer in Concert!

  • C

    Christina · Married on 05/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing band - we had a Sunday night wedding and these guys and gals kept the party raging until the very last song of the night! My husband is a professional classical musician and he was blown away by the band's skill and incredible energy. He also almost never dances and was not looking forward to the dancing part of the night....but could not resist the pull of Shimmer! He was on the dance floor for HOURS, as were most of our guests. If you're looking for a band that will get everyone onto the dance floor and create an incredible party atmosphere at your event, these are the guys!

    I also want to say that working with Jay in the months leading up to the wedding was such a pleasure. He was so communicative and flexible and clearly extremely knowledgeable. Cannot say enough good things about Shimmer!!

  • S

    steva · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shimmer is a FABULOUS party and dance band! We could not have been happier with them! WOW! We danced all night long - the dance floor was packed! Our guest loved the band, too and they mentioned Shimmer by name in notes, calls and texts after the wedding! My college roommate said how much fun it was to "Shimmer" all night long! It was a terrific party, so much joy and love and you all just pulled it all together in such a big way! Great vocals, great horns, great play list - your energy and enthusiasm was contagious - THANK YOU!! I wish we could do it all over again.

  • C

    Chris · Married on 03/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I just got married and used Shimmer for our reception. We had heard them once before at a friend's wedding. You are absolutely crazy not to book them for your event! We had a blast and so did all of our guests. This is the best wedding band I have ever seen. They are more than just a band. They are true entertainers. If you want a band that will jump start the party, Shimmer is it.

    Jay was great to work with and was always available via cell for questions, song adjustments, logistics, etc. I can't say enough positive things about this whole group.

    -Chris and Ashley

  • M

    Maxi · Married on 03/31/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can truly check all of these as 5's for the band because the quality of service was a 6 on a scale of 5, but the remaining items apply too: they helped with song list, chose our first songs, etc., sent me examples of all of their recent weddings and which songs were great and which ones may be a little hard to dance to... they were INCREDIBLY helpful. As for actual night of, they were an amazing band but the highlight was their interaction with the crowd, getting off stage and dancing with guests, and just always playing the right songs for what the crowd was looking for. The band was our toughest decision because we've been to some extremely high end weddings with concert type bands, and had a really fun dancing crowd at our wedding, and we truly could not be happier with the quality and experience with shimmer.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review