Weddings

Sherman Chu Photographer Reviews

Sherman Chu Photographer

Sherman Chu Photographer

Danville, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
Sort by:
  • Alison
    Alison Married on 11/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have nothing but positive things to say about Sherman! He was efficient, funny, and so laid back. His pictures are amazing and everybody at the wedding couldn't stop talking about how great he was. As someone who doesn't like having pictures of myself taken, he made me feel comfortable, relaxed, and just so happy. He was able to catch some amazing moments that I wouldn't have been able to catch myself. Plus he was super quick about getting the photos to me after the event. I have no clue how he was able to do it all himself, but he was amazing!
  • C
    Chelsea Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sherman was absolutely incredible for our May 2016 wedding. We first met Sherman about one year before our wedding for our engagement shoot and we knew we were in great hands for our wedding day. Sherman typically works solo, which made us a little nervous, but he assured us he would be able to get all of the amazing shots we wanted for our wedding. Turns out, we had no reason to be nervous. Sherman captured every angle, reaction, emotion, and amazing moment. So many people commented how beautiful the photos turned out. Sherman is such a pleasure to work with - he made the entire process fun and kept us and the entire bridal party laughing. We will be definitely using Sherman for all future photography needs. Thank you for capturing our special day, Sherman!
  • Mem
    Mem Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Selecting Sherman Chu as our photographer was probably THE best choice we made in planning our wedding. He was an absolute pleasure to work with: friendly, funny, so easy going, and completely unobtrusive. By the end of the day, we loved Sherman so much, we felt like he was one of our guests! His gorgeous photos manage to capture both the raw emotion and details of the day - he didn't miss a thing. And he did it all so quickly, with no standing around for hours posing for pics! My new husband and I were amazed, looking at the over 450 captures, wondering how he managed to get so many different angles and special moments without us even noticing him darting around. He has this magic touch where every picture is flattering: we along with our friends and family look beautiful and joyous in every shot, and the light and color are incredible. Sherman's pictures somehow made our intimate and inexpensive backyard wedding look like a million bucks. We will treasure his photographs for the rest of our lives and we couldn't be more grateful to have found him!
  • H
    Henry Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sherman was the perfect photographer for our wedding! He moved around very efficiently without anyone having to worry about him, or what he was doing, capturing every important moment. It was also amazing that he could constantly carry around 3 cameras, so he would be able effectively capture every moment, no matter what the lighting conditions were. He also tried very hard for everyone to have fun during the posed photographs, making the photos not only look good, but fun also!
  • K
    Kate Married on 02/17/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sherman was great to work with and he takes beautiful photos. He is a master at capturing great lighting and he works very efficiently. He works in the photo-journalistic style and does a great job of capturing the emotion of the moment and whomever he is photographing. We had our wedding on a Sunday in February and he gave us a great price for the quality of photos we received. Based on the body of work on his website, we expected to pay significantly more. He explained to us that he does his pricing like hotels, there’s a busy season and an off-season. We were trying to stay on a reasonable budget (hence the Sunday in February) so this worked out really well for us. He is like a photo ninja. He works alone but seems to be everywhere at once when looking at the photos. When looking at our photos in chronological order we can’t figure out he was able to capture all of the angles by while working alone. I believe he can bring an assistant when requested, but I don’t think it’s necessary. Our wedding had about 110 people and we got hundreds of great shots from him. Even better, while he’s running around getting different angles, he’s very inconspicuous. During our ceremony and reception I don’t even remember seeing him. He has a great sense of humor and that makes him enjoyable to work with. We did our engagement photos with him as well and were very pleased with the results. For the posed pictures with family members at the wedding, he was very good at getting people in and out so we didn’t have to spend an hour taking photos. While his style is more photojournalistic, he still did a great job of arranging us for the posed pictures.

    He was incredibly quick in getting us the photos. In both instances, it was under a week. He gives you all of the original photos and there is no extra fee for that. I would definitely recommend him to a friend.
  • S
    Sha S. Married on 02/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sherman photographed our wedding this past weekend and we couldn't have been happier! We were never sure how vendors would react being asked to provide services for a same-sex wedding, but it was never an issue with Sherman, and he even brought photos from another same-sex wedding he had shot to our first meeting. From that first day to the day of our wedding, Sherman was responsive and professional, and made us feel comfortable. As many other reviewers have said, he is most definitely a wedding ninja; I don't remember seeing him anywhere, but the photos show that he was everywhere. It only took him 4 days to get all of the photos online, and they look fantastic. And this was all for an extremely affordable price. Thank you, Sherman!
  • A
    Adriana Married on 01/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Photos are stunning!! Sherman truly captured our special day and all the moments in it. He is flexible and worked with us to figure out our best game plan. Of course all of the posed pictures are amazing, but especially the candid photos of everyone interacting – the kisses, the looks, the laughs. The backdrops, angles, lighting... all of it is first class. At the end of our wedding day, we were getting a lot of compliments on our photographer. How that happens, I am not sure since no one had seen the photos.. but I am sure it has everything to do with Sherman doing his job so well. Honestly, in the beginning, the idea of only one photographer scared me a little, natural bride fears of will all the events and moments be able to be captured by one person? Needless to say, Sherman has obviously figured out the secret to being in a million places at one time, and if I could do everything all over again, I would do it exactly the same.
  • E
    Erin Married on 06/25/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sherman is amazing! He really is the ninja that others mentioned. I really don't know how he got some of his pictured from one angle one moment, then the opposite angle less than a second later...he's amazing! Not to mention, he has a wonderful, fun, energetic, and comforting personality. Everyone at our wedding raved about him! And he was never up close blocking anyone's view, you didn't even know he was there most of the time. I would recommend him without resercvation!!!
  • R
    Robin Married on 05/01/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Oh what can we say....the 'Ninja Photographer' is the best!........He can sleuth around and almost never be seen.........He captured the personalities of the bride and groom and the feeling of the whole party. The problem is he is so much fun you want him to party with you! Thanks to Sherman, I relived the party in photos and now I know why I had so much fun. Sherman, thank you!
  • Lyn
    Carolyn Married on 08/29/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Words cannot express how awesome Sherman Chu is, not just with the quality of work that he provides but also his personality. During the planning stages of my wedding, I came across his webpage and the moment I looked at his work I knew he was the one to take our wedding photos. His work is amazing! The pictures that he takes not only captures the moment but it tells the story of what happened during the event. Sherman is also so easy to work with. He has a great sense of humor and made the process, from beginning to end, such a wonderful experience.

    You want to see for yourself? Check out a short slide show of our wedding on his website -- www.shermanchu.com, then go to his Blog (Latest Work and News). Our slide show is titled "Carolyn and Jerry's Slide Show (Regency Building)".
  • D
    Dewey Married on 11/15/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hands down the perfect guy for our wedding. The story he tells through the images and moments that he captures alone were enough...meeting him in person cemented the deal. He's the best and he knows it. And if you have 30 minutes, he'll tell you what photojournalism is all about. Not because he's trying to sell you...but because he wants to make sure you know what you want out of a wedding photographer. Christine and I loved his style. And the fact that he loves taco trucks. I'm not afraid to admit it...I have a man crush on Sherman. The dude ROCKS!

    Thanks Sherman! Can't wait to see the pics!

    Dewey & Christine
  • D
    Deanna Married on 08/06/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sherman is amazing!! I highly recommend him to anyone and everyone. We hired Sherman to photograph our wedding and we found that Sherman is great at finding the perfect spots, the best lighting, and catching all the wonderful moments. He is creative and passionate about his job. We are so pleased with the photos and recieved so many compliments (from family and the wedding party) not only about his photo's but about how kind and hard working Sherman was on our Wedding Day ...which we fully agree with!!!
  • G
    Gina Married on 10/27/2012
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Love Sherman! I was a junior bridesmaid in a wedding 15 years ago and when I saw the pictures from that wedding I said when I get married I want him to photograph it, and lo and behold, 15 years later, Sherman was the photographer at my dream wedding! His pictures still amaze me as he is able to capture the moment like no one can. His pictures are timeless and pricess and I am so glad we choose Sherman to capture the most special day in our lives. Thank you Sherman!