She-N-He Photography and Design Reviews

22 | Round Rock, TX
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for She-N-He Photography and Design

Recommended by 98%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie was fantastic, she gave us exactly what we were looking for and was so incredibly flexible ... wouldn't have gone with anyone else!

    Sent on 10/18/2010
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie and her assistant (James) absolutely without a doubt made our day fantastic. We seriously could not have made our pick for photographer any better. From our first phone conversation I was convinced she was going to be amazing, but I didn't realize how much not only I would love her, but that all of the guests at the wedding would love her so much too!

    We first met her to do engagement photos, we did those at the Blanton, and they were great! Ben nor I are super into photos, yet somehow she managed to get some great ones of us and I just loved interacting with her.

    Our wedding day Melanie and James (first time they've worked together) were such a great addition to our day! They managed to interact with everyone in friendly fun ways, that all the guests and bridal party were coming up to use talking about how fun they were! Seriously! I've had so many compliments just on their amazing attitudes and personalities!

    Then! We get the photos back and I'm so totally blown away by them! We are NOT photogenic model people who want our pictures taken all the time, seriously no selfies, but those pictures of our day?! I don't even know how she did it!! She has such great shots of us and all the people there, I've had so much fun looking at them. I can't even decide which is my favorite, because that's like literally all of them. Everyone who has seen the pictures, cannot believe how amazing they are, she captured everything and in a totally real and beautiful way. Her eye and style worked wonders capturing our day. The photos are not staged, they're real and it's like looking at memories, it's just beautiful.

    We absolutely would recommend Melanie for any important photographs you want, but I would highly recommend having her at your wedding in particular, because of her especially amazing personality (and her and James were too perfect working together!), that is just the right fit for a big important event.

    Sent on 06/05/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't recommend Melanie enough! I've gotten so many compliments on how amazing my wedding photos are and I couldn't agree more. She made the process extremely stress free and easy. She was also super easy to communicate with and create a custom photography package that was right for us. 5 stars hands down.

    Sent on 09/17/2015
  • T

    Thao · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh how do I count the ways?! Mel can do no wrong in my eyes. While still awaiting my wedding pictures, I have NO RESERVATIONS about recommending her over and over and over again (and in fact, already spread her gospel amongst my newly engaged friends). Why? Because she is talent incarnate. And a lot of fun. But her talent and fun are only icing on a massive, moist cake of professionalism. Her work is absolutely incredible--our engagement pictures were fun, unique, and vibrant with life and love. She was flexible, yet inspired throughout, and took our ideas and made it her own. I LOVED our engagement pictures and the three wedding shots I've seen--especially because I was a bit camera-shy with some self-doubt. She made it all go away with a few camera flashes, and has the uncanny ability of seeing (and capturing) the beauty in anyone, regardless of how long she's known you. She's willing to try new ideas and methods, yet experienced enough to know what looks best. She is reliable, timely and responsive. She guides without being overbearing--hell, she even talked me down during my one bridezilla moment when the family was pulling me here and there during family photo time in a cathedral veil under the Texan sun (think Hatfields and McCoys, except both factions come from my side of the family). She is truly a gem--while everyone else makes you feel like you're just another bride-cog in the wedding-machine, Mel actually made me feel beautiful on the most important day to feel beautiful. And for that memory and keepsake? I'm forever grateful...

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie is so talented and a pleasure to work with! She did a fantastic job with my bridal shots and our wedding pictures. I am so pleased with the result and happy we chose She-N-He to capture these important moments! If you are looking for a photographer definitely schedule a meeting to talk with Melanie about her options/packages/business/availability etc- and I'm sure you will walk away happy just like we did!
    And can I add- her artistic eye is out of this world! Truly gifted with a camera!

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE MEL & STEVE!!!! I just wanted to start off with that, because it's the truth! If somebody just wants to read the beginning of this review, then that is all they need to know!! Mel and Steve are seriously the BEST photographers/team and they captured our engagement session and wedding perfectly!!

    She is so incredibly talented and welcoming! My husband and I were a bit nervous about taking our engagement pictures but after the first picture was shot we were fine and had such a fun time!! It didn't feel pushed or forced at all - it was actually a ton of fun!! AND THE PICTURES -- they are so incredible!!

    She is definitely not your average photographer - she is happy to try different things and stay clear of the cliche engagement and wedding pictures. Your photos will definitely be different than all of your friends. She has a talent to bring out your true personalities and let them shine in the photos - which makes each couples shots unique and amazing!

    As for the wedding, she ventured to Big Sur, Cali for our wedding and her and Steve were SO incredible! They were able to capture the best shots! And they were so much fun!! Our wedding would not have been the same with out them!! Not to mention, our pictures are to die for - she captured our day perfectly. Her and Steve and seriously incredible and I couldn't imagine EVER choosing a different photographer for our engagement and wedding!

    I just adore them both and they are the real deal!!!

    Sent on 07/03/2015
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 04/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I dont even know where to begin. Melanie Grizzle is an amazing woman. I knew that she was the photographer for my wedding almost 4 years ago when she photographed my best friends wedding. My little family loved our engagement/family photo session. It is easy to work with mel because she truely cared about me and what i wanted. She got to know me and my family. Its also a treat to work with someone that is so passionate about images and taking photos. I have not seen our wedding photos yet but I already know they will knock my socks off. when your photographer and her assistant are rolling around outside on the ground to take pics you know it will be stellar. I cant wait to re-live our day with the amazing photos she has taken.

    Melanie was the perfect pick for our wedding day!
    If your not sure go with the best! She-n-He photography is the best!

    Sent on 04/21/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 01/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie and Steve are hands down the most wonderful people we worked with in all of our wedding planning.
    I first met Melanie at the Bridal Expo in Austin and I knew as soon as I saw her photos that I wanted her to shoot our wedding. We had a long engagement, and Melanie was great - she stayed in touch throughout the engagement and every time I talked with her it reaffirmed my decision to book them for our wedding. She is so fun and wonderful to be around, and she was the perfect person to have by my side throughout the wedding day.

    On our wedding day, we had several guests comment on how sweet and funny Melanie was, and she and Steve struck the perfect mix of interacting with the guests/being in the action and staying off to the sidelines. When we got our photos, I saw many close-ups of various things and I couldn't remember either of them being there at the time!

    Our photos turned our absolutely beautiful, and I am completely in love with them. They captured a lot of the "typical" shots that you see in weddings in completely new ways, and none of the shots feel cliche or like I've seen them a million times in other weddings. I wholeheartedly recommend She-N-He - they are an absolutely fabulous photography team, and my husband and I have every intention of continuing to use them for any photos we want in the future!

    Sent on 05/08/2011
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Melanie was a delight to work with and the quality of her work exceeded our expectations in every way. We are IN LOVE with our wedding photos!

    Sent on 01/13/2011
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING!!!! I can't say it enough :) I love walking into our place and seeing those photos all over our walls. Melanie made us feel so comfortable and relaxed, and she knew exactly what I wanted for our wedding day. We've been getting tons of compliments on the photos already. Everyone keeps saying " i love how different they are from 'regular' wedding photos" and I keep saying, that is EXACTLY why we hired her. She was so flexible and understanding and patient. The photos are my favorite thing about our wedding. They hold all the memories that are so so so dear to us.

    Sent on 10/19/2010
  • A

    Aileen · Married on 07/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mel of Sh-N-He Photography was amazing to work with! We met via video chat since I don't live in Austin, and knew instantly that she was the photographer for us. We were not disappointed. She was flexible, adding extra hours the week before the wedding. And, again since we're not in Austin and couldn't be there for an engagement or bridal shoot, she made a package that suited our needs. Really appreciated! On the day of, Mel was everywhere. She *literally* ran around getting all the shots. She was calm and professional and made even my photo-shy husband comfortable in front of the camera. Best of all, we have the most amazing photos to remember our perfect day! We've gotten so many compliments on them. And I highly recommend getting the photobooth! So much fun! Mel truly is amazing! Any bride would be lucky to have She-N-He! :)

    Sent on 10/28/2010
  • H

    Hanh · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She-N-He Photography were so easy to work with! Mel was very flexible in communicating with me (being an out-of-town bride) and the planning process could not have been more smooth. We did not have to worry at all about photography on our wedding day and the images came out...gorgeous!!!!!!!!! Thank you Mel & Steve :)

    Sent on 09/13/2010
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 02/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Why I LOVE She-n-He . . . . .
    I found info about She-n-He while searching online for local photographers. I looked at several different websites and called/emailed a couple of people. Then there was Melanie. I called her and we talked for about an hour, about not only pictures, but all things wedding. I knew after talking to her that I wanted to meet this quirky lady. After meeting with her and seeing her work and realizing how passionate she was, Lee and I knew they were the ones.

    Let me just say, I really dislike taking pictures so I really didn't want to have an engagement session, but ended up doing it because I wanted to get comfortable being photographed. When I told Melanie, she was so excited. I originally knew that we wanted to do something unlike all of the typical engagement pictures. Lee and I came up with an idea to have a cake decorating lesson of me teaching him at our house, because we are both chefs and met at culinary school 7 years ago. Melanie loved it, but then had a request of her own. She wanted us to do the second half of our shoot right below a bridge at dusk. We were game! The day came for our shoot and I starting out nervous but ended up not wanting to stop. We had an amazing time with Melanie. She loved our ideas (what a confidence booster!) and really made the day special. She is one of those rare people who are so passionate about what she does that it is not a job but an extension of her life. She makes you want to not waste a second doing anything that you don't absolutely love! When we got the pictures of the decorating in our kitchen and under the bridge, we lost it. They were phenomenal. We made The Knot's website under the engagement pictures!!! Check them out at http://wedding.theknot.com/getting-engaged/engagement-photo-ideas/articles/engagement-photos-brandi-lee.aspx

    Melanie and I kept in touch throughout the whole engagement. I used her to bounce ideas off of for the wedding when my new husband needed a break from all of it. Lee and I spent a lot of time and effort on our details and knew that it would be perfectly captured in their hands.

    The wedding day came and everything was perfect. I know that sounds crazy, but seriously we could re-live that day over and over again. Steve and Melanie arrived early and made sure to get it all! Melanie was so giddy ooohhhing and aahhhhing over everything that she just couldn't wait to photograph. She made everyone around her smile and feel at ease. All of our guests loved both of them and their energy. We were in Barcelona when the first picture was posted on Facebook, and the emails poured in, everyone was so excited. We got all of them shortly after and have shown many people (those who did and didn't attend) and everyone says they are honestly the best wedding pictures they have seen. We know several people who are getting married and recommend She-n-He to all of the couples, especially for the price. She-n-He rock and I can't wait for something else to come along that I will need pics of! Check out a preview at http://she-n-he-blog.blogspot.com/2010/03/22810-brandi-lee-married.html, and http://www.facebook.com/pages/Austin-TX/She-n-He-Photography-and-Design/73283542720?ref=ts

    Sent on 03/29/2010
  • R

    Ruth · Married on 02/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met Melanie at a Bridal expo and totally fell in love with their pictures. She was the only vendor I contacted from that expo and I am so glad I did! Our wedding photos are just lovely and really unique. She-N-He photography love what they do and it shows!

    Sent on 02/25/2010
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 02/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met Melanie and Steve at my sister-in-law's wedding where they proceeded to get my fiance (now husband) hooked on photography! They are friendly, down-to-earth and FUN!

    Between that first impression as guests and seeing the resulting photos of that wedding, when we became engaged, we knew they absolutely were the only photographers for our engagement and wedding photos!

    Melanie encouraged us to shoot our engagement pictures in an unconventional place... the below comment from one of our friends says it all:

    "Here’s what’s cool about the engagement pics: they were taken in a very utilitarian place, industrial, but there is a warmth that radiates from you guys so the lasting impressions of the photos are of calmness, comfortable familiarity, love. I think that is the coolest."

    The arrived at our wedding well before the ceremony to ensure they got every moment, detail and most importantly EVERY EMOTION! We didn't even realize they were taking photos all around us at the ceremony.... until we saw the proofs.. and all I can say is WOW!!! They succeeded in capturing the tenderest moments as well as the craziest moments of the dinner/reception.

    I would recommend She-n-He to anyone in need of a professional photographer for not only engagements / weddings, but family pictures, senior pictures, babies... you name it, they will provide beautiful memories you will cherish for a lifetime!

    Sent on 02/14/2010
  • A

    Anna · Married on 03/30/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You want Mel (and Steve) to shoot your wedding. Mel is the kind of funny and down to earth professional you want working on your wedding stuff (and she's cool enough as a person to still be on my fb feed months later). She's got a great eye and will press hard for the shots you think aren't necessary at the time but appreciate later. She'll even calmly but firmly direct your official portraits through the exact moment you decide the bar is more fun than smiling for pictures. Our wedding guests had a blast with her and many mentioned later how fun she was/is. She did our engagement session and she (+he) did the wedding and came up with some awesome shots. I suggested a bunch of ideas pre-wedding and she researched ahead of time to make sure she understood what I wanted, then brought up the ideas at the wedding even after I'd forgotten. I give 4.5/5 for quality because the wedding photo booth option (run by an assistant, not Mel) wasn't quite what we hoped for. Direction and quality control were a bit lacking, resulting in some glaring face overlap and framing problems that could have been avoided. Still worth it overall. If you're considering a photo booth, get a clear idea of what it'll look like and the shots it will produce so the end results match your expectations. A bag of fake glasses and mustaches from Etsy is also a good idea. Right, back to Mel. Seriously consider She-n-He. They're worth it.

    Sent on 07/18/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mel was fantastic! I HATE having my picture taken, but she made us feel so relaxed and comfortable taking our engagement photos, even in 100 degree heat! We were completely blown away by our engagement and wedding pictures. They're stunning and it feels like they should be in a magazine. We'll treasure them forever!

    Sent on 07/22/2018
  • R

    Casey · Married on 02/12/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After looking through several photographers and calling a handful asking about fees, process, and finished product, we decided on "She-n-He Photography". We were very pleased with the entire process. Although my husband was opposed to having pictures taken, Melanie was able to relax him and make the entire shoot easy on both of us. She created a calm atmosphere and allowed us to guide her based on what we wanted the end result to be. After we completed the photography portion, the pictures were uploaded and the DVD was mailed on time with no problems. The picture quality was excellent on all photos, and every one is picture-frame worthy.‎

    Sent on 10/10/2010
  • K

    Kim · Married on 08/16/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend She n He Photography, Melanie was great. We just got the proofs (faster than we expected!) and they are STUNNING. She captured the beauty of the ceremony, the fun of the reception and the stunning view of the venue. Everyone looks beautiful in her photos, somehow, she made everyone's eyes so bright and gorgeous. Even the candid photos artistic and interesting. The photos really capture the stories and spirit of the evening. We cant wait to see the book!!! In addition to her talent as a photographer, she was very responsive and accommodating to our wishes and concerns.

    Sent on 09/02/2009
  • K

    K · Married on 09/15/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I loved working with Melanie and her husband Steve. They have a way of making you feel so relaxed (which makes for great pictures!) but at the same time are really good at rounding up family members to take all those group photos. I also did a boudoir session with Mel. That was so fun and exciting, something I never thought I would do. But the pictures came out great and I couldn't have been happier that I did it! I cannot wait to get our wedding photos back!

    Sent on 09/30/2013
  • T

    Tricia · Married on 03/12/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Melanie, the She of She-N-He Photography and Design, was the perfect addition to our engagement and wedding. Her outgoing personality attracted us to her and the glowing client referrals sealed the deal. Our guests hardly noticed she was there and yet I have fabulous pictures of them laughing, dining and dancing. Her photographs allow my husband and I to enjoy all of the moments we just couldn't catch as bride and groom. We could not be happier with our photographs and I am looking forward to working with her again.

    Sent on 04/06/2010
  • Juanita

    Juanita · Married on 04/17/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    She n He were awesome partners from the get-go. We met with "She" early on and knew we had found the right photographer to capture all those special moments that happen on our big day - the ones we don't necessarily get to see first hand. We talked through what we wanted to make sure to get - and left the rest to them. Because they're so easy going and personable, it makes your guests feel more at ease resulting in more natural photos. People loosen up - you get good photos! (There is talk that "She" actually followed the guys into the bathroom to get photos!)
    We had several comments from family and friends on how fantastic they were at the actual event and when we saw roughly 2 dozen photos just a few weeks out - all shareable online (their blog / our facebook). It was great that we could share a glimpse of the day so quickly. THEN we end up with nearly 600 photos to call our own - all fabulous. And just the other day - our photobook arrived! We couldn't be more pleased with our results and recommend them to anyone with a big event coming up.

    Sent on 10/10/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review