Skip to main content
Weddings

Shady Wagon Farm Reviews

Shady Wagon Farm

Shady Wagon Farm

New Hill, NC
4.7 out of 5 rating, 59 Reviews
View more information

59 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 59
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

31 User photos

  • N
    Nisa O. Married on 05/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Review

    Monica and Paul were amazing to work with! They made sure every detail was taken care of leading up to our wedding and on the day of. The venue was absolutely perfect and our wedding day could not have gone any smoother. 12/10 recommend Shady Wagon Farm for any event!
  • Aaron
    Aaron M. Married on 10/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and amazing couple running it!

    Our experience with Monica and Paul at the Shady Wagon Farm was so incredible. We got so lucky that they had an opening (grabbed one of the last 3 spots) in 2021 as there were so many reschedules. They made everything so painless and stress free.

    It was affordable and, more than anything, just the perfect venue for us.

    Monica really knew her stuff and helped with every aspect of the night by helping us piece together our style, the timeline, and even helped set it all up the day of (big help)!!

    The venue was so gorgeous for our wedding day. Perfect weather (thank you, Lord!), well kept land/facility (thank you, Paul), and a smooth order of events (thank you, Monica)!!!
  • J
    Jennifer H. Married on 08/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue!

    I recently photographed a wedding at Shady Wagon Farm and can not say enough great things about this beautiful venue and the super sweet staff here!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Liv
    Liv W. Married on 05/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Perfect Day!

    Our day could not have been better be at Shady Wagon! Monica, the venue manager, was so accommodating and everything went perfectly. The venue is so beautiful and requires very little extra decor. We love the rustic/country vibe!

    They are super professional and had everything set up for us perfectly. The property has the best spots for photos and we could not have been happier.
  • AStamp
    Amy S. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing!

    What a beautiful place!! The owners could not be nicer or more helpful! And what a great value for the money! It's exactly what I was looking for and all the extra touches makes it absolutely perfect!

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Thank you so much, Amy. It is an honor and a privilege to be chosen as the location for your wedding. Thank you for the trust you have placed in us.

    Cindy
  • Kristen
    Kristen K. Married on 09/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day and overall experience

    I have so many positive things that I could write in this review regarding our special day here. First of all, the venue is beyond beautiful and comes with deep values that we aligned closely with. The price was extremely fair and it included just about everything we needed in regards to decorations. We worked with Monica (and her husband) and she was beyond insightful and helpful. My now husband and I were planning and paying for our wedding ourselves and were a bit clueless when it comes down to what we needed done. She helped us plan things we didn’t think of, and even helped us find some of our vendors. She knows what is needed for a wedding to run smoothly and is there every step of the way! We would 100% do this all over again and recommend to any couple!!!
  • Brianna
    Brianna M. Married on 05/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Take Me Back!

    Shady Wagon Farm made everything about my wedding day something to remember. The staff was professional and friendly. The owner, Cindy, and her whole family own and operate it. Everyone there is passionate and treats it like their baby. I am so incredibly grateful for everything that came from Shady Wagon Farm. If you are questioning your venue, SWF is, without a doubt, the place to choose! It was everything I wanted in my dream venue and then some. The only thing I wish I could change was the weather. It started to DOWNPOUR thirty minutes before the ceremony was due to start. (This is out of everyone’s control) But they were so professional and quickly and efficiently reset everything up and moved the guests to have the ceremony under the pavilion behind the barn. Choose Shady Wagon Farm. I promise, you will NOT regret it.
  • Emily
    Emily S. Married on 04/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue

    Working with Shady Wagon was a great experience. We felt like we were with family from our first tour. The whole Shady Wagon family went out of their way to make our day perfect and were super flexible with times for our rehearsal and dropping off things. Our guests kept commenting on how gorgeous the farm was, and it was the perfect backdrop for all our pictures. I would highly recommend Shady Wagon!
  • S
    Samantha S. Married on 04/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect location

    This was the most amazing location for our wedding! Doug and Cindy keep the venue looking picture perfect. Cindy was so sweet and worked with us throughout the entire process. Although it rained and we couldn’t have our wedding out by the pond as initially planned- our wedding under the pavilion was more beautiful than I can ask for. Their location allows for the bridal parties to get ready on site which was so convenient. At night, the property looked like out of a movie with lights strung on every structure. I highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a rustic country themed wedding or event! Thank you Cindy and Doug for providing us with the most stunning venue our guests are still drooling over! -Brent and Samantha
  • Tara
    Tara Married on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful!

    We are so pleased and blessed that we were able to have both our rehearsal dinner and wedding at Shady Wagon Farm! We received TONS of compliments about how gorgeous the venue was and how it was the perfect elegant Farm feel! We could not agree with all the compliments more. we were amazed by the fantastic customer service that was provided by every member of the Shady Wagon Farm staff throughout the entire wedding planning process! They catered to every single wish we had and made our dreams a reality. We LOVE Shady Wagon and would recommend them for any type of event!

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Thank you for choosing us, we were honored to have you here. We enjoyed every minute while serving your family.
  • K
    Kennedy Married on 09/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The property is so beautiful, all my guest loved it! The owners are very nice, and work well with you to make your day perfect. I wouldn’t have had it any other way!
  • R
    Ruth Married on 04/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shady Wagon provided an amazing backdrop for our daughter’s wedding! Everyone had an amazing time and the staff handled ALL the details seamlessly and professionally. We could not be happier with this venue.

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Thank your kind words. This was one of the most beautiful, tasteful weddings we have seen. It was an exciting time for all the staff at Shady Wagon Farm and we are so appreciative of the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for choosing Shady Wagon Farm.
  • J
    Julie Married on 03/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From the moment my daughter and her fiancee pulled onto the property they knew Shady Wagon Farm was where they wanted to be married. The setting is beautiful and the owners are so accommodating and kind. Having the outdoor option with the indoor backup plan was one of the reasons we picked this venue. It was cold and rainy on the wedding day so the ceremony was moved into the pavilion. Monica (Shady Wagon's wedding coordinator - worth every penny and more!) took care of every detail and created a beautiful indoor setting using what we had ordered for outside. (The owners have made the barn and pavilion so charming that additional decorations were hardly needed). Every vendor they recommended was amazing and every request we had they went above and beyond to accommodate. Our event was so beautiful and stress free and our guests told us over and over what a lovely venue it was. Thank you Shady Wagon Farm for everything you did to make my daughter's day perfect! Highly recommend!

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Oh Julie, thank you so much for your kind words. We love what we do but it is even more rewarding when our clients are so happy at the end of the day. It was an honor and a privilege to have been of service to you. Again, Thank you so much!
  • C
    Cassandra Married on 09/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We got married on September 10th 2017, and it was absolutely perfect. Cindy the owner of Shady Wagon farm was extremely personable when we met her a year ago. She had a complete package of information, pricing and items that came with the wedding, when we arrived for our tour. After leaving the tour, she was very easy to get in contact with via email.

    Our wedding coordinator, Monica West, was amazing! We met at a location that was easier for us, and went over our ideas and plans for the wedding. She gave us suggestions, but never pushed us to do something. She was always calm and made sure that we were doing okay before and during the wedding. For example, we bought candles to float on top of water, and they were too small. So she ran out and got the larger candles without any problem.

    During the pictures of the wedding, she had the golf cart ready, to take us to locations that the photographer thought would be great pictures. She made sure that we had what we needed during the wedding, as well as our guests.

    The day after the wedding, we went to pick up our belongings, and everything was neatly put together.

    This venue is absolutely perfect. Everyone of our guests had great things to say about the property. The landscaping was absolutely beautiful, they take great care of the pond and the animals that live there as well. This place is a family run business. They take great pride in what they do, and they work together perfectly.

    I would not change anything about our day at all. Thank you so much for making our day perfect <3

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Thank you Cassandra for taking the time for such an awesome review. It was our a pleasure to host your Wedding. Best wishes for many years of health and happiness.
  • K
    Kim Married on 09/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding night here with 150 guests two weekends ago and absolutely love this place. The owners are super sweet and helpful and took us around the property multiple times and invited us and our families into their home. The reception was gorgeous there and we had nothing but good feedback from our friends and family. They've also updated the interior of the barn in the last month with extra lighting and new painting. I would recommend Cook Shack if you are looking for a caterer there -- they did a great job and the food was amazing. I thought the price was great for the venue compared to others I searched in the area and I liked that I had the freedom to pick my own budget for my caterer, supplying my own alcohol, etc. Can't recommend enough!

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Thank you, Kim! It was a pleasure for our staff to host you, and your family and friend at Shady Wagon Farm. An awesome group! Wishing you and Dennis many years of health and happiness.
  • R
    Robyn Married on 08/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have gotten so many compliments on how beautiful this wedding venue is! Nowhere else compares

    Shady Wagon Farm's reply:

    Thank you, Robin for your review. It was a pleasure to host your Wedding.
  • B
    Beth Married on 07/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    AMAZING! Everything went picture perfect! They had most of my questions answered before I even had a chance to ask them! Monica is a life saver and I don't know what I would have done without her! Everything was perfect down to the last little detail! Would not have chosen another venue! All of my guest loved it!
  • R
    Robin Married on 04/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shady Wagon Farm is a little piece of Heaven. The family is amazing...such good people. They made our day so very special. We are so grateful to have celebrated our special day at this venue.
  • E
    Emily Married on 11/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue is truly beautiful. The owner Cindy is a wonderful woman that really helped to make our dreams come true.
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 10/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved our experience with Shady Wagon Farm! It was the perfect venue for our wedding! We were looking for venues that would host the ceremony and reception in the same spot; and the Shady wagon did just that. The staff here did an amazing job helping our vision come to life. Our wedding was October 9th, yes the same weekend as Hurricane Matthew. There was no rain on our actual wedding day, but the grounds were still wet in some areas so we had to change the ceremony location. We really wanted an outside ceremony, and the staff at Shady Wagon found a way to do that for us! We had the barn as the back drop for the ceremony and it was gorgeous! They made our wedding day amazing!
  • C
    Catrina Married on 05/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can not say enough good things about Shady Wagon Farm. This venue was the first and ONLY venue we visited. After we got engaged, I stumbled across SWF online and thought it looked picture perfect. To my surprise, it is only more beautiful in person. Between the ceremony location, back-dropped by a beautiful pond, barn, immaculate landscaping and flowers, you really can't get any better! If you are a southern bride, looking for a homey, southern feel, without being too "country bumpkin" Shady Wagon Farm is the perfect venue for you. It has the perfect balance of rustic elegance!! We got so many compliments of how beautiful the venue location was from all of our guests!

    Cindy and her husband Doug are the SWEETEST couple (they are the owners). I felt like Cindy was my own grandmother that day with her tending to things and making sure everything was perfect. Everything was kept clean and well groomed for our big day. Not a ounce of her property is untouched!

    SWF does require a day-of coordinator that is pre-approved by them (you can't just hire anyone). I would HIGHLY recommend you select Monica West as your coordinator. Not only is she an excellent coordinator, but she was a great resource for me and my mother while we were planning, and met with us on multiple occasions to make sure everything was perfect. She is a family member of the owners so she is a great liaison to work closely with the venue as well! Very reasonably priced for all that she does!

    Shady wagon is an EXCELLENT value, I would highly recommend it to anyone!!! If you're on the fence, go look at it in person. You won't be able to say no!
  • M
    Morgan Married on 10/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shady Wagon Farm is breath taking!! Words simply cannot describe is beauty. The venue is perfect for outdoor/indoor weddings. My husband and I found this venue by chance in searching for the perfect rustic/country venue for our destination wedding. Cindy, the owner of the farm, was phenomenal. She is very easy to communicate and work with. She is loving and altogether pleasant to work with. Cindy offered more than just her farm services for our wedding and reception, she became our officiant and friend as well. The farm's setting is very peaceful and pleasant. Shady Wagon has it all, from the ceremony and reception sites, to the his and her dressing rooms and country store, we instantly fell in love. Shady Wagon's website is easy to navigate and full of information and photos. Although I must say, the photos do not quite do justice of the farm's true beauty. Cindy also offers an amazing opportunity to have your own custom brick added to the ceremony site. Its something that you can come back to years later to reminisce on back to your special day. Another very cool feature that Shady Wagon offers, is the stoplight that is placed in the men's dressing room. Placed inside the women's dressing room is a light switch that has control of the stop light inside of the men's dressing room. In switching the light to red, notifies the groom that he is unable to leave the room at that point in time. When the light is green, the groom is able to step outside as he pleases. As several of my girls reminded me in a joking way, its a cute way of saying, just as marriage is, from this point on I had complete control over his life. Anyhow, Cindy was amazing!! She is a very sweet and down to earth women and we developed a a personal relationship with her as well. She is very easy to work with. You honestly couldn't get a more perfect venue and service anywhere else.
  • L
    Lauren C. Married on 10/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Shady Wagon was a perfect venue for my husband and I! It was everything we wanted in a venue plus more. Our wedding coordinator Monica was the best! She was so helpful every step of the way, and was willing to help with whatever she could! It was so nice having a vendors list, since I had no idea what I was doing at first! It ended up raining at our wedding and we got married in the pavilion which Monica and our florist made so pretty! I couldn't imagine getting married anywhere else! I highly recommend Shady Wagon to anyone looking for that rustic look!
  • J
    298Bf72A94424596C29145B22F37E864110Eb3Be Married on 09/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved Shady Wagon Farm for our wedding! The moment my husband, parents, and I looked at the venue we knew it was the perfect spot. A nice mix of rustic and vintage for my husband and I. The ground are absolutely beautifully kept and the barn/pavilion is the perfect space for the reception or ceremony. Cindy really takes care of her property and clients. She has a list of recommended vendors who she's worked with before and approve of for her clients to use. The list was very helpful and all the vendors we used were fabulous!! Cindy did a great job showing us around the property and reviewing all the important questions one would have when viewing a venue. She made us feel very comfortable about the venue and we knew we were in good hands :) and we are so thankful! Her husband and son do a wonderful job keeping the grounds maintained! Our big day ended up being a rainy one and we had to move our ceremony inside under the pavilion but with all the lighting hanging from the ceiling and around the grounds it turned out beautiful and romantic. Many people said it was even better under the pavilion than out by the pond and I think I agree looking back at the pictures. It was a beautiful and romantic setting for our vows! Thank you for letting us have our special day on your property!! Sam and I are so thankful for all of your generosity!
  • M
    Megan Married on 05/31/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The location speaks for itself. We were looking for a laid back, outdoor setting and Shady Wagon Farm was absolutely perfect. It requires so little of your own decor because it is already set up as a charming country retreat. We had an afternoon wedding with our ceremony by the lake and reception in the barn. They even have a back up plan for rain to ease your mind. Please check out their website because my words can't accurately describe how lovely it is!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message