Shadowbrook Reviews

26 | Capitola, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Shadowbrook

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

26
Order by:
  • ginabav

    gina · Married on 09/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erika was absolutely wonderful. She took care of everything we needed. I would highly recommend this place. We had an outdoor ceremony and reception. It was beautiful.

    Sent on 09/22/2017
  • Colleen and Walt's Wedding

    Colleen · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much Shadowbrook Restaurant for providing the perfect venue for a perfect wedding! Shout out to Stephanie Sanders, without whom none of this would have been as smooth and flawless as it turned out to be!! I would do it all over again tomorrow. :)

    Sent on 06/05/2017
  • K

    Katrina · Married on 04/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the shadowbrook is such an amazing place to hold your ceremony and after party with top quality service and gorgeous location

    Sent on 04/21/2017
  • User5416486 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so glad that we chose Shadowbrook as our venue. Not only is it a classic location, it was perfect and even "semi private" meant private due to the fact that we chose the Redwood Room and deck which is pretty separated from the rest of the restaurant. Our guests raved about the food, the servers were very attentive, and Allyson is the BEST. Seriously, they better hope she doesn't quit because she was absolutely wonderful. She went above and beyond to accommodate. Would definitely recommend the Shadowbrook to anyone :)

    Sent on 09/07/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shadowbrook lives up to it's reputation. The unique grounds, amazing menu, and professional staff delivered on our special day. We will be back for anniversaries .

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • L

    Lani · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food! The atmosphere and decor was perfect. Really unique place for our wedding day. Allyson the event coordinator went above and beyond to answer questions and execute our vision for the big day. We love the Shadowbrook

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allyson and the staff at Shadowbrook were absolutely amazing. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, and Allyson went above and beyond the call of duty as our wedding coordinator. We really enjoyed working with her and plan on having a few more events at the Shadowbrook because of her.

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great experience working with Shadowbrook. It was difficult arranging a wedding from 3 hours away, but Allyson was very prompt in responses to all our questions. When our wedding day arrived everything went very smoothly. The staff was very attentive. The food got rave reviews from our guests. The grounds are just beautiful. Thank you Allyson for all your help!

    Sent on 12/30/2014
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allyson was our coordinator/wedding planner for our beautiful wedding at Shadowbrook this summer. She helped us with every detail and gave us confidence in a relaxed manner. She was perfect and was like part of our family before, during and after the event. We loved all her suggestions. A big thank you to Allyson and Shadowbrook for their professionalism and seeing to every detail.

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • D

    Denise · Married on 08/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allison was really helpful in setting up our event. The food & service was excellent!

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • M

    Mirsonia · Married on 07/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked our wedding dinner reception at Shadowbrook. From the very stage, Allyson was very accommodating to our requests. The staff was very cooperative. The dinner reception turned to be exactly how we wanted it. It was perfect!! Allyson and the Shadowbrook were the reason! Everyone at the wedding loved the Restaurant. If you have a special event, Shadowbrook is the perfect place!

    Sent on 12/05/2014
  • D

    Denise · Married on 05/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My first experience was excellent and definitely wont be my last! I had a small elopement type wedding ceremony here and it was amazing. The event coordinator was great. She gave me some good ideas as well as provided me with all the information I needed to plan the event. She was quick to respond when I would email her and very pleasant as well as professional.

    The restaurant grounds are beautiful and make for some great wedding photos. We had our ceremony on their patio right off the river and the background was of their flowers/trees while our small party of 5 sat right behind us; it was so quiet, serene and beautiful. The price was also very reasonable for our elopement ceremony, covering the venue, champaigne for a toast, appetizers and a 6inch cake for dessert (which was delicious).

    After the ceremony we went to take pictures at the beach, came back for our dinner reservations and waiting just 5 mintues to be seated. The waitress was very attentive, the guy serving bread and taking our plates was very attentive as well and on top of picking things up for us. The food was also excellent! We had salmon cakes for an appetizer, we had the lamb, duck, mixed seafood plate, salmon filet and prime rib for our entrees and everything was absolutely delicious. Needless to say, everyone cleaned off their plates.

    My husband and I were very pleased with the entire event and evening!

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allyson and everyone at Shaddowbrook did a fantastic job and our guest said it was the best wedding they've been too. The food and staff and beautiful green room and views were spectacular. I love the Shadowbrook..

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • User4600512 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of working with Allyson Flocker, the event coordinator for my daughter's wedding at the Shadowbrook in Santa Cruz CA. She is so professional and so helpful and made our event so special. My daughter's wedding was Vintage in style and Allyson was very helpful in her suggestions. I would totally recommened her and the Shadowbrook for your event!!!

    Sent on 12/10/2014
  • V

    Vern · Married on 01/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Allyson Fockler and team provide great service in a beautiful venue and they are one step ahead in organizing the details and flow for the day. We had no worries, before, during or after our ceremony. Credit is due to the Shadowbrook servers, bartenders, cake decorators and chefs as well. Our family and friends were well fed and they are still reminiscing about our wedding. For my wife, Michelle and me, this is one of the happiest days of our lives. We had many choices to make for our wedding and we couldn't have made a better one on having it at Shadowbrook with Allyson!

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 12/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married at Shadowbrook on 12.29.12. I had the pleasure of working with Allyson, who walked me through all of the steps needed to have a successful event. Shadowbrook is such a wonderful location, with beautiful photo opportunities, great food, and an intimate setting. We had the facility to ourselves from 12pm-3:30pm, then had our own private area until 6pm, when our event was over. It was a small group (36 guests) but it was exactly what we wanted.

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married at the Shadowbrook & we absolutely loved everything about our ceremony & reception! Our wedding coordinator Allyson was fabulous & so helpful every step of the way. She's super sweet & friendly & helped make our wedding so special! She recommended our fabulous florist, who made our reception area look amazing for a great price. We got the banquet style menu, which included 2 appetizers, first course, main course & cake for under $45 per person! Our guests got to choose from prime rib, swordfish, chicken, raviolis, & linguini for kids. People were so impressed with the portions & how delish everything was! We also got our cake through Shadowbrook & it was nothing short of amazing! (Buttercream frosting, white cake, fresh strawberries & whipped cream? Yes, please!) This venue might not work for large weddings, but we had 50 people (all of whom fit comfortably in the Greenhouse Room) & it was perfect! The grounds are absolutely breathtaking & everyone couldn't get over how beautiful everything was. This restaurant already had a special place in our hearts (as we got engaged here), & I'm happy to say that now we can add that it was also where we had our dream wedding!

    Sent on 06/25/2011
  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/23/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donita, the coordinator was a God send and everything was perfect. There isn't anywhere more romantic than the Shadowbrook and people are still talking about it 2 years later. Because of them, we threw the 'wedding to beat' and we did it for an amazingly low cost for everything that was included. I strongly recommend it to anyone--especially people like me who NEED LOTS of help!

    Sent on 06/03/2008

    Shadowbrook's reply:

    Susan and Tim,

    Thank you for your kind words. It was such a nice surprise, especially since your wedding was nearly two years ago.

    I wish you all the happiness in the world.

    Regards,
    Donita
  • E

    Elise · Married on 10/18/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you to the Shadowbrook staff for an amazing wedding reception! We hosted our reception with about 45 guests in the greenhouse room, and I could not be happier. I live on the East Coast, which can make planning a California wedding challenging, but Allyson was very easy to work with via email. On the day of, the waitstaff were friendly and professional, and the food was excellent. The staff did a great job accommodating last minute requests leading up to and on the day of the wedding. I highly recommend the Shadowbrook for anyone looking for a venue for a small wedding.

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 11/01/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shadowbrook was the perfect choice for our wedding ceremony and reception. The space is beautiful and can be arranged for indoor or outdoor use. Our guests loved the ambience and everyone raved about the food. We chose a customized buffet with filet mignon and king salmon and both entrees were prepared to perfection. We also used their pastry chef for our cake (coconut cake with passion fruit filling and another layer of tuxedo cake). We were very happy with the cake and it turned out exactly like the photo we submitted. Shadowbrook staff made us feel very well taken care of and ensured our guests were happy too. If you haven't been to Shadowbrook, make sure to stop by for dinner. We did and ended up canceling our original venue because we fell in love the beautiful space, gardens and of course, the food.

    Sent on 12/07/2014
  • gaily-o

    Gail · Married on 01/17/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donita was wonderful about answering all my questions. She made sure I had all the information I needed to make all the necessary decisions. Because we were planning the wedding long distance she worked with me over email and the phone. She was always quick to respond and did an amazing job. The food at Shadowbrook was excellent! Everyone raved about the cake as well. The room was lovely and my husband and I had great table set up by the fireplace. We got some amazing pictures at the picturesque location. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone planning a small wedding. It was a wonderful spot for our reception and I'm thrilled that we chose them.

    Sent on 02/11/2009
  • E

    Elisa · Married on 04/26/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The overall event was great due to high responsiveness and flexibility. Thanks for a great day!

    Sent on 12/14/2014
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 05/19/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The reservation girl was very stringent and unfriendly!

    Sent on 05/24/2018
  • L

    Lavonne · Married on 11/12/2013

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This place is gorgeous and I had a wedding that looked like something out of a dream because of how pretty this place was and how phenomenal the food was. People are still raving about the food. This place is so gorgeous that the budget for decorations and such was very minimally needed. I stuck to centerpieces, favors and lil' stuff here and there as the pop of color and decor. Everything else was not needed. The garden path, cable car, tree lights, the greenery inside and out, the fountains and so on, was already there ready to go. Again, Gorgeous! When we went to see the place, we immediately knew that it was the place we were looking for.

    The main contact for event coordination was consistently a little slow at getting back to me during the wedding planning process and she was a little difficult at following through with details we had previously discussed. Plus, she made it very obvious that she didn't want to have to set up for the little extras that they provided and I wanted to utilize. At the same time, the same individual worked hard to get my difficult seating arrangements done before her vacation, she helped me with recommendations above and beyond and so on. Overall, even with a few lil' dis-satisfactions, the staff was awesome!

    One thing I didn't like was the manner that they do their beverage service, which is a way that would cause anyone to be a worried. First they charge for sodas and such which I believe should be included in the per person price. Second, they leave the beverage tab open and you pay for what everyone orders. When trying to budget, it is a ridiculous additive to try and estimate how many sodas, juices and other beverages (alcoholic and nonalcoholic) people will order. I was able to control the budget with a very strategic program that headed the flow of the evening. With pretty good estimating, and a service plan with set limits, I was able to be pretty close in the budget estimations for this area of cost.

    Sent on 11/26/2013
  • Amber

    Amber · Married on 06/26/2010

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    On the day before the wedding we had the mandatory rehearsal. It went alright except for a few points. The first being that during the rehearsal we were approached by the new manager who proceeded to tell me that I needed to get my dog off the premises. My dog was the ring bearer in the wedding and having her there was contingent on the contract we signed. We would never have booked the venue if she couldn't have been there. But Darla took care of it and my poodle was part of my wedding as intended. The second thing that bothered me was that the whole rehearsal was a bit rushed. So rushed in fact that Darla never even told me where I, the bride, was supposed to go once I got there the next morning. I ended up having to call her later that evening. As soon as our hour was up she abruptly cut off the conversation I was having with her to go and talk to her next appointment which had arrived. The one thing that REALLY bothered me was that when I discussed dancing with her she told me that we wouldn't be able to do that because the bar in the lounge would be open during the wedding! I immediately told her that was unacceptable because we paid to reserve the ENTIRE restaurant. I didn't even care if we had time for people to dance but there's no way I'm paying for the whole restaurant to have the bar open to random strangers. Darla ended up looking up our email conversations and recalled that we had, indeed, decided there'd be dancing after lunch but then she had to go confirm with the same manager that this was alright.

    The six hours we had reserved the restaurant for originally seemed like plenty of time but in the end felt very rushed. The ceremony was to start at 10am. When I arrived in the limo Darla helped me down the back stairs and into the restaurant so no one would see me early. This was fine except the hand railing caused black marks on my dress before I even walked down the aisle. :( Me and my bridesmaids were then placed in one of the ladies rooms to wait for the ceremony to start. After Darla started the wedding party down the aisle she then rushed me up about four flights of stairs so that I could walk down the path past the lounge window as planned. I have to say, I would much preferred being there in advance because by the time I got up those stairs in my heels and long trained dress my heart was beating so fast and I was breathing so hard that I thought I was going to faint.

    The ceremony went great, pictures on the grounds turned out -beautiful-, and we all retired to the Greenhouse and Wine Cellar for lunch. Everyone commented on how absolutely wonderful the food was. The only complaint I have is that it took a LONG time to come out. I understand this can happen when you're feeding a lot of people but I wish I'd had some idea just HOW long (around an hour or so) so that I could have gone to greet my guests while waiting. Instead, by the time lunch was finished my husband and I had time to talk to four tables before we were rushed out for the cake cutting, bouquet/garter toss.

    We went with Shadowbrook's baker for our cake. I spent my ideas and pictures to her over email. I even sent a copy of my invitation because I wanted the cake to match. It looked alright. Nothing special. But the cake was REALLY dry. I almost choked on the small piece my husband fed me at the cake cutting. I didn't have anymore after that. Also the cake was never placed out on display until right before the cutting so we barely had time to enjoy it.

    Finally, we got our dancing in and right as the reception ended my husband got whisked down to Darla's office to take care of the bill. He was in there for quite a while and I ended up seated outside the restaurant waiting for him a while after all the guests had left. It turned out that Darla had tried to overcharge him for the venue fee by almost a thousand dollars! He argued with her and the contract had to be brought up to prove that he was right. She then told him that he must have gotten a great deal but she had to, again, get manager approval for this 'deal'. Um...the price on our contract is what Shadowbrook's website STILL states is the venue fee.

    All in all, it was a beautiful venue, great food, and Darla is a decent coordinator. We got MANY compliments on the wedding. However, I recommend booking the days when you have more time and always keep your contract and correspondence handy!

    Sent on 07/11/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review