Skip to main content
Weddings

Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa Reviews

Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa

Blaine, WA
4.5 out of 5 rating, 27 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.5 out of 5 rating
4.5 out of 5 rating
27 Reviews
90% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
Weddingwire
4.5/5 27 reviews
Google
4.3/5 1913 reviews
  • Pamela
    Pamela C. Sent on 08/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue

    We were so fortunate to have our wedding at Semiahmoo during all the COVID craziness. I can’t emphasize enough how professional, understanding, and flexible Bri from Semiahmoo was while working with us. She made every hard decision we had to make easier with her positive attitude, her transparency, and her willingness to get creative with us. We booked our venue over a year in advance, and the wedding we ended up having was completely different to what we planned. But somehow, they made it even better than what we planned. We had to change so much of our wedding to fit the state guidelines, and we had to have a lot of tough conversations, but we felt so supported and taken care of by the staff at Semiahmoo. We completely fell in love with Semiahmoo during this experience and it will always be an incredibly special place for us.

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Pamela & Brett,
    It was an honor to celebrate with you both! We are so thankful for the opportunity to work with two incredibly kind, resilient, and courageous people - who continually reminded us throughout the process WHY we love what we do. We wish you good health & happiness in your lives together, and can't wait to see you back at the seaside soon!
    Bri & the Semiahmoo team
  • S
    Sonja Sent on 09/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If I could give more than 5 stars, I would!!! What an amazing venue to work with! It has been a pleasure working with Deborah & her staff over the last year as I planned our wedding. We chose Semiahmoo for several reasons; however, the one that resonates the most was that we always felt that they understood how important our wedding was to us! Semiahmoo Resort was close enough for our guests to come for an evening if they wanted, but was also a great opportunity for a weekend getaway!

    Deborah was extremely easy to work with & when I had questions for her, she had an answer. We had our ceremony on the dock with a cocktail hour to follow. As guests left their seats at the dock, they were welcomed by wait staff passing around hors d’oeuvres and wine. In addition, we had a bar available nearby for beer & non-alcoholic drinks. The dinner & reception was at the end of the dock in the tent & was perfectly setup to accommodate about 180 guests. Having everything in one area was great because guests didn’t have to wonder where to go next.

    The food was amazing & it was easy to work with the chef to set the menu that we were looking for. In addition to the beef brisket & the butternut squash ravioli, our guests are still talking about the mini burger bar that was available about 9p. We definitely had more than enough food and drinks available for our guests & a month later they are still talking about how amazing our wedding was – from the food to the location to the DJ. We had about 40 rooms reserved for Saturday night & heard from our guests on how accommodating the hotel staff was to ensure that they had their room early since they were attending the wedding.

    Deborah & Semiahmoo Resort went above & beyond to ensure that our wedding was memorable - not only for us, but also for our families & guests!

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Thank you Sonja for your kind words! I loved every moment with you and Adam. I will remember you both forever and think of you every time I hear a bagpiper. You are truly an amazing couple. I wish you both all the very best and many years of blissful marriage. Come visit me soon! With love, Deborah
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Miko Sent on 04/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Semiahmoo Resort literally saved our wedding, and we could not imagine a more perfect venue for us! Our existing venue had to evacuate due to a natural disaster, and the team from Semiahmoo graciously worked with our wedding planner to prepare a comparable quote with only a week's notice!

    Semiahmoo was everything you would want in a venue. It was incredibly beautiful; we got married on the dock surrounded by water, and our reception took place in the nearby tent. It was so gorgeous we didn't need to do any extra decorations. The food was incredible, the staff was warm and helpful. A surprise was waiting for us in our room when we finally retired for our wedding night, and we were really touched by the attention to detail provided by the resort.

    As if that wasn't enough, we also got to enjoy the amazing pool and spa the next day. You will not be disappointed if you choose to get married at Semiahmoo! Highly recommended.

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Thank you Miko for your review. You and Dale are so very special to Semiahmoo! I believe that all things happen for a reason. I am so thankful that we had your date available. We wish you all the very best and many years of blissful marriage. With love, Deborah
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 07/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our dream wedding! The weather was perfect and the resort was lovely. It started with the seaside barbecue welcome dinner for all of our guests, live music, and a perfect sunset with tables set up next to the beach. The next morning we all had our hair and makeup done by the spa professionals of the hotel. We had full use of the hospitality suite to get ready and eat lunch. We then travelled to a church in Blaine for our morning ceremony. After our ceremony all of our guests returned to the hotel and enjoyed themselves cooling off in the pool while we did our wedding party photos in the nearby forest and on the grounds of the resort. The tables were set up perfectly, with the napkins folded 'just so', we were extremely impressed, I took notice that the décor was perfect. We opted for the vineyard wooden chairs and simple white tables with chandeliers, greenery centrepieces and candles. There were canapés offered to guests during cocktail hour on the pier. Once everyone was ushered into the tent for the reception we celebrated with a champagne toast. Kushi oysters were devoured and the family style food was delicious. The night went off without a hitch and the band played until closing with everyone raving about the food, cake, scenery and band. At the end of the evening we discovered rose petals all over our honeymoon suite along with champagne and strawberries, it was lovely. In the morning the wedding guests were offered a continental breakfast in the Victoria room for one last gathering. We had lunch at Packers after everyone left, Deborah found us, treated us to lunch and followed up with us to see if there was anything more she could do. If there was an issue or problem during the event, I was not made aware or notice, as the catering manager Deborah probably solved it. We felt like it was our resort for our wedding, it was so special and we will never forget all of the little extras that were gifted to us by the resort. Thank you Semiahmoo! Tom and Jennifer
  • H
    Hironori Sent on 02/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Semiahmoo more then exceeded our expectation. Suejin and I have been to many weddings but from hearing from our guest it might have been the most fun and that was all because of the great service provided by Semiahmoo staff.

    First of all, the site itself was breath taking. The views of the water and the sunset was amazing. The venue was nothing but spectacular in those regards.

    The staff was very accommodating, any and all request we made were met with a yes and executed. We even asked if we could bring our own karaoke system and they said yes!

    Finally, the food.... going to weddings the food is always unmemorable but everyone raved about the food. It might have been the best meal I've had in a while, they didn't skimp out on a single thing. They had a seafood bar with the biggest scallops I've ever seen and the steak was cooked to perfection. The food was so dang memorable.

    Even after our reception they invited us to the bar area to hang out and the fun just kept on continuing. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who wants to be treated like a star and enjoy some of the best food around. (the chef has been on the food network numerous times).

    Special thanks to the wedding coordinator Deborah Veals!

    fyi we had over 225 guest.
  • K
    Kirsten Sent on 09/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Getting married at Semiahmoo Resort was the best decision we made last year!


    From the first meeting with a resort representative at a Seattle wedding show, to the day after our wedding upon check-out, our experience was perfect. The event team was so accommodating and helpful every step of the way. The resort offers a wedding package that is truly unbeatable when you compare what they include in the package to what other venues offer. Their wedding packages include food and drinks from their fantastic kitchen, cake cutting, tables, chairs, linens, a honeymoon suite… and so much more! All we had to do was arrange for decorations and bring our cake! The resort itself is breathtaking, with sweeping views of Mount Baker and the harbor on one side, then the Canadian coast and Boundary Bay on the other. The rooms were gorgeous and comfortable. We couldn’t believe we were so lucky to be getting married in such a beautiful setting.

    Every person we worked with at the resort was so helpful and friendly. The staff even offered my family members coffee and mimosas while we were setting up the day of the wedding. They were so accommodating and gave us the impression that our wedding was a special event worthy of excitement and support, even though were were a smaller party of about 60. We felt important and like our needs were met at every turn.
    Since our magical day, we have gushed about Semiahmoo to everyone we know. We strongly recommend considering them for any event, whether it be a wedding or even a corporate event. They take care of their customers and provide such detailed and inclusive service; I can’t imagine anyone being unhappy with their event.
  • B
    Brigitte Sent on 11/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My now husband (Mathew) and I had the winter wedding of our dreams in December 2016 at the Semiahmoo Resort & Spa.
    In early October 2016, we decided if it was at all possible we'd like to get married that December. We have many fond
    memories from the Semiahmoo Resort, so it was one of the venues that first came to mind. That same day, we met with the event coordinator at the resort and they were more than happy to work with us and our tight timeline. With only ten weeks until the wedding, the entire planning process needed to happen much quicker than normal.
    The resort's event manager, Deborah, was phenomenal. She was extremely knowledgable, helpful, and attentive throughout the entire process. She organized a tasting so we could try all the items we had selected for our plated dinner. We were blown away by how beautiful the set up was, and the fact they brought the chef out to talk about each dish with us was a real pleasure.
    Deborah, and the event staff at the Semiahmoo Resort worked their magic and everything came together perfectly. The ceremony and reception space were stunning, the food was delicious, and we couldn't have asked for a better backdrop (vast ocean and White Rock, BC) for our photos.
    I would highly recommend the Semiahmoo Resort & Spa for your wedding, or special event.

    Brigitte Gerwin-Venner

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Brigitte & Mathew, Thank you so very much for your kind words. It was truly our pleasure to host your wedding and make this experience all that you dreamed. I just fell in love with you and your family. We are looking forward to hosting you again for your anniversary. All my love,
    Deborah Veals
  • S
    Susie Sent on 10/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The care and attention that Nicole extended to us was remarkable. From the time we came to do a consultation on what they had to offer, we felt welcomed and right at home. There was no questions unanswered and everything from the day we started our plans to the day we said I do ran better than we could have asked for. Nicole and the staff at Semiahmoo Resort took care of every detail and sometimes more. Highly recommend Semiahmoo Resort for your special day! Great staff, coordinator and the Food was excellent. We are still talking about it!

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Susie,
    Thank you for your comments. Nicole is truly an amazing associate and we are so proud to have her on our team. Thank you for selecting Semiahmoo as the place to say your I Do's and allowing us to be part of your special day. We hope to see you on your first anniversary.
    Congratulations!
    Megan Wallstrom
    Director of Catering
  • K
    Katie Sent on 09/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at Semiahmoo was AMAZING. We were able to gather all of the most important people in our lives in one stunningly beautiful place to enjoy a weekend together. We could not have picked a better backdrop for our ceremony (on the dock) and our reception (in the tent). Every way you turn there is something beautiful to look at.

    The entire staff at Semiahmoo was amazing to work with and went out of their way to accommodate us. Working with Brenda and Nicole was easy. They were knowledgeable, professional, and above and beyond helpful.

    We loved every moment of our celebration at Semiahmoo and I would recommend it a million times over.

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Katie,
    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Nicole and Brenda are truly amazing associates and we are so proud to have them as part of the Semiahmoo team. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special day. We hope to see you on your one-year anniversary.
    Congratulations!
    Megan Wallstrom
    Director of Catering
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 06/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Not only is Semiahmoo a beautiful location for a wedding, the wedding planning and catering staff work hard to make the wedding world class. The entire staff, from the hotel reception to the management are very accommodating and anticipate your needs. You truly can leave your wedding in their capable hands and enjoy your wedding day. It won't matter what the weather is due to the exceptional setting and multiple venue choices.

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Rebecca,
    Thank you for taking the time to review Semiahmoo! We were truly honored to be part of your special day. We wish you and Tom all the best in your life together and we hope to see you on your one year anniversary. Thank you again for choosing Semiahmoo.
    Megan Wallstrom
    Director of Catering
  • User2621626 Sent on 05/25/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I would highly recommend having a wedding at The Semiahmoo Resort. The Resort is wonderful after undergoing all the changes it's gone through. Not only is it a perfect setting for a wedding outdoors and indoors but you will also experience great food, nice comfortable clean rooms and a wonderful laid back atmosphere throughout the Resort. We were fortunate to have the BEST Convention Services Manager to assist us plan our wedding. Her core knowledge, attitude, interpersonal skills and organization really impressed us! We also experienced outstanding and attentive service from the Front Desk and The Servers - they were also the highlight of our Wedding!

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback. We were so honored to be part of your special day. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that your wedding was all you had dreamed of. We hope to see you on your one-year anniversary! Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo.
  • K
    Kelly Sent on 12/14/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had not thought of Semiahmoo for our wedding until my mom mentioned it and I am sure glad she did it was absolutly perfect for our wedding I dont think it would have been as amazing as it was if we had had it at another venue. We had our ceremony on the Seaview Terrace and reception in the Pavillion Tent, the staff worked hard to get the walls up when the wind picked up to keep us all from getting chilly. Wendy was AWESOME! she made sure that absolutly nothing went wrong on our wedding day when something usually does. We got so many compliments all night long about how gorgeous the venue was, how amazing the food was and how many people now planned to visit semiahmoo again because they had no idea it was there! Semiamoo provides an amazing backdrop to a day you will never forget!
  • C
    C Sent on 04/11/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Semiahmoo Resort did a FABULOUS job of making our wedding the best day of our lives, and the best wedding either of us have ever attended! Wendy, the wedding coordinator at Semiahmoo, was an absolute pleasure to work with from day one! The setting was unbelievably beautiful, the food was divine, and the cakes were gorgeous! Truly, it was a wonderful day, and we are so grateful to the entire staff at Semiahmoo for making everything absolutely perfect. Not one detail was missed over our entire wedding weekend.
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey H. Sent on 11/29/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Decision!

    I was looking for a unique venue for our wedding that was close enough to be realistic for friends to attend but far enough away for a weekend of fun with everyone in one place. I know how quickly weddings can go by and wanted to spend more than 30 seconds with family that had traveled across the country. I also was averse to a hotel ballroom wedding, which left very few options. I was getting a bit discouraged until we came to Semiahmoo. The drive in was beautiful, the touches inside felt nice but approachable, and the ability to have the ceremony and reception on the dock/tent was awesome. It was an easy choice to say yes to, especially since we had the lovely Deborah to show us around and make us feel comfortable!

    We got married in mid-September. To our dismay, it was pouring down rain all day. My awesome day-of coordinator (Alissa from Gather Events) worked alongside Deborah all day to move from Plan A all the way to Plan D...a plan we hadn't even accounted for! We're so grateful that the staff and vendors were on-board because come ceremony time, the clouds cleared and we were able to have our ceremony under some sun on the dock!

    Despite the weather complicating things, our wedding day was an absolutely dream come true. All our guests raved about the venue and the food and said they had so much fun. My friends are still talking about what a great time they had being there all weekend. My husband and I just GUSHED for days about how perfect everything was and how in love we were with all the memories we had made.

    The venue comes with a price (and pricey add-ons if you want them), but at the end of the day, it's all worth it. They're professionals and know how to execute a great event. I have to give so many kudos to Deborah. She is such a genuine gem of a human. We never felt like we were getting the sales pitch - we felt like she truly cared about our special day and our happiness. She had our backs throughout the entire planning process and was always patient and available whenever we needed her. She's incredibly genuine and loving. We were in such great hands with her on our wedding day and couldn't be more thankful that she came into our lives.
  • K
    Kathleen Sent on 05/16/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding at Semiahmoo Resort in Blaine, WA on April 29, 2017. We live on Vancouver Island and our family is in White Rock, BC, just across the border. We wanted a small, elegant family wedding not far from home, and Semiahmoo fit the bill perfectly. We planned every detail of our wedding with Catering and Sales Manager Deborah Veals, who was incredibly warm, calm, organized and helpful. She also doubled as our officiant, which was relaxing and convenient for us. We were married in front of the wood-burning fireplace in the split-level Seaview Lounge with wraparound windows overlooking the ocean. It was gorgeous! Our multi-course menu included a choice of seven hot and cold hors d’oeuvres circulated by staff and a sit-down dinner of soup, salad, a choice of three entrees, dessert (the panna cotta is incredible) and tiny mignardises that staff boxed up for our guests to take home, because everyone was so full. The menu included red and white wine and beer, and a bartender was on hand if anyone wanted mixed drinks or liqueurs. Deborah provided us with a local vendors’ list that allowed us to coordinate flowers, wedding cupcakes, hair and make-up, and our wedding license from afar. In our banquet package, we received a complimentary overnight stay in a waterfront suite, sparkling wine, chocolate-covered strawberries, and a lovely black & white keepsake photograph. When budgeting, as Canadians, we had to factor in the exchange rate, as well as the hotel’s facility fee and state taxes. The extra costs were worth it, however, as we had the exact wedding we imagined and were thrilled with all aspects of the hotel’s staff, food and facilities. Semiahmoo Resort is ideal for a close-to-home destination wedding in the Pacific Northwest. A special shout out to Deborah, the resort's talented pastry chef, and all the caring banquet servers.

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Kathleen,
    Thank you for your wonderful review. We were so honored to be part of your special day, and we are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a wonderful Semiahmoo experience. We wish all the best to you and your husband. We look forward to seeing you on your one-year anniversary so we can celebrate with you again.
    Megan Wallstrom
    Director of Catering
  • User2541315 Sent on 02/24/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We worked with Madison at Semiahmoo during the planning process, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience! She was very prompt with responding to our (many) emails, and always understanding when changed our minds about something (even last minute changes). The fees for rentals and food were a little more than expected, but Madison was willing to work with us to keep our wedding within budget. The day of, there was some confusion about the open bar, but David (the event manager) and Madison resolved this within minutes without any hesitation. Madison was extremely thorough throughout the planning process, and this was our only speed bump the entire night!! Thank you Madison!!

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Semiahmoo. We were honored to be part of your special day. Madison truly enjoyed helping you make your dream wedding a reality. We hope to see you for your one-year anniversary. Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 10/14/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Andy Millage does the cakes for Semiahmoo... she did a wonderful job! The cake was delicious and exactly how I pictured it to be! We had vanilla with almond buttercream and a cream cheese filling. We definitely saved some to freeze and try again on our 1 year anniversary! :)
  • A
    Alysha Sent on 11/15/2017
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the most amazing experience at Semiahmoo!

    As Canadians we thought it would be difficult coordinating from across the border but Deborah made the experience so painless!

    We originally had a different coordinator with a different wedding package being offered but when had to make new arrangements when the wedding coordinator changed to Deborah and the packages were updated for 2017. The venue worked with us to find a compromise that both sides were very happy with and were willing to work with us to adjust alcohol inclusions for our muslim wedding.

    We left many items to the last minute but Deborah came to the rescue to help us get everything done and taken care of and made me special day so stress free.

    We were offered an excellent rate, great menu options and the venue was so so flexible. The venue is beautiful, our complimentary couples massage was incredible and the suite for our wedding night was amazing with a beautiful view of the ocean and a cozy fireplace.

    We special requested Creme brulee for dessert and the catering staff worked with us to accommodate our requests and we were well compensated when the dessert did not turn out as we expected.

    Guests are till talking about our wedding! We had such an great experience, even when things werent as we expected or changes had to be made the staff at the venue were quick to rectify any situation and we were more than happy with the service.

    Thank you so much for making our wedding even better than we could have asked for!
  • T
    Taylor Sent on 09/07/2010
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wedding coordinator Wendy is awesome! The chefs are flexible with menu options.
  • User2178506 Sent on 06/14/2015
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married at Semiahmoo Resort in April 2015. While the events leading up the wedding day may have been less than desired, the actual event was seamless! We worked closely with Jamie during the last few weeks leading up the wedding and he made sure that all our details were completed with the highest standards. Our guests had nothing but wonderful things to say about the gorgeous views and hotel renovations, as well as, the dining choices and overall resort experience. I've listed a few details below to explain our process but I just want to say that if you are considering Semiahmoo Resort for your event, I would highly recommend it! They're definitely going through some growing pains but there is no other location like Semiahmoo, and their staff truly do care about providing a memorable experience.

    ** Details - Size (60-70 Guest) Dinner (Plated, Guest Selection) Ceremony (Seaside Terrace) Reception (Stars Restaurant) **

    We started planning our wedding in Spring 2013 and didn't finish until the day before the event! Went through 3 wedding coordinators (2 of which left the company without any notification to myself or my husband, at one point we went weeks without communication from the resort) Wedding costs were not even estimated until 3 or 4 weeks prior to the event. Hotel rates were misquoted countless times and additional fees were charged to our guests upon checkout resulting in several hours spent resolving refunds. Guest favours were moved from our hotel room on the day of the event and momentarily lost by the security department. Meeting were double booked and verbal communication was consistently contradicted during email confirmations.

    In the end, my non-stressful resort wedding turned into a bit of a nightmare for several months but luckily for us everything worked out in the end. Jamie really did work magic and while the process was not to be desired our wedding day was perfect!

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Semiahmoo Resort Golf & Spa. We were thrilled to be part of your special day. As you stated in your review we went through some growing pains in 2014, but have come out the other side. We are thrilled Jamie was able to work with you and our staff to make your special day a memorable one. Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo.
    Megan Wallstrom
    Director of Catering
    mwallstrom@semiahmoo.com
  • User2639308 Sent on 06/08/2016
    3.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding day was absolutely perfect. The catering was incredibly professional and everything on our day from start to finish was exactly what we dreamed. I highly recommend Semiahmoo as a wedding venue - but do suggest being prepared for a little more work on your end than you may imagine. Throughout the months leading up to the wedding we didn't feel as though the resort necessarily had our best interest in mind. A large corporate event was booked long after our wedding was booked - taking up all the remaining rooms in the resort. At this time, only 12 of our guests had booked rooms for a 200 person wedding. We felt our wedding planner and the resort should have consulted us prior to booking this corporate group and guided us through ensuring our guests were taken care of first. This caused many months headaches and heartaches calling the front desk and juggling around rooms to ensure our guests were able to stay. The father of the bride and entire family were unable to get rooms. This was a major disappointment for us and I believe the resort was in the wrong by doing this. It all did work out, and our day was fantastic, but it caused some negative thoughts throughout the process. If you are a flexible bride, and don't mind a few bumps along the way - or walking yourself through the process a bit due to you not being THE ONLY wedding they are planning, I highly suggest this venue. Never lose faith that your day will be wonderful. The property truly does deliver but it does seem like the wedding planning staff is a bit too lean to be providing top notch service to every bride.
    Suggestions to the resort:
    - Stick to the timeline your contract says, it was a bit frustrating still working on event details 10 days prior to the event.
    - Monthly follow ups, the bride should not be the one following up with you.
    - Take care of the first events needs prior to booking a second. Have our backs.
    - Keep up the incredible catering staff.
  • Erin
    Erin Sent on 09/09/2012
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was absolutely perfect! The staff at the Semiahmoo was amazing and our wedding was beautiful and went off without a hitch. The setup crew and Allison my coordinator was amazing. They did double book weddings and i had to share half the dock for cocktail hour which is why i only rated 4 stars. Beware of this. The food was great! The prices are high though!
  • Tanya
    Tanya Sent on 05/02/2020
    3.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Summer Wedding

    Beautiful location. Food was very good. We had a few problems that were worked out after our wedding. Management is wonderful to work with.
  • T
    Jennifer Sent on 07/16/2015
    3.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I've been dreaming of getting married at Semiahmoo for most of my life. I was heartbroken when they closed their doors 2 years ago. But overjoyed when they announced they'd re-opened. We went through 3 catering managers in the year of planning. Many changes to the menu and contracts and what's included and what's not. Our tasting was great except most of the appetizers were not presented as passed appetizers so it was hard to select. We worked diligently with our third coordinator to finalize all the details into the BOE's and then it was wedding weekend. I'd say only about half the details we requested came out correct. I honestly believe that having two large weddings in one weekend confused the staff and the BOE's in the back of house got messed up. I know the hotel has only been open a year now so there is a learning curve but it was really disappointing to see so many errors. The day still ended up perfect and only about 10% of the guests knew anything was incorrect (we had 190 guests so that's not bad). Guests who reserved waterview rooms did not receive them. Parents of the Bride had no AC in their room (it was 90 degrees that weekend). We pre-selected two guests to have balcony rooms facing the ceremony site so that our videographer and photographer would have access, neither room had a balcony. And our Sunday Night Wedding Bonfire was setup Saturday night without anyone being told about it. Now for day of - The Chicken Appetizer was sent out raw, the Beef Carpaccio was served on stale untoasted baguette (at the tasting it was beautifully served in a tart shell with ramps), the vegetarian meal was supposed to be Butternut Squash Cannelloni and was served as Ravioli. The entire pavilion tent was not setup per our diagram. Half the tables were out of order and had incorrect size (5' vs 6') so not enough chairs and some. DJ and Dancefloor not setup right either. We did get our bonfire again on Sunday though. Blue Heron Grill worked great for pre/post events.

    Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so honored to be part of your Wedding Day. We're continually working to improve the resort, so your feedback is always appreciated. We apologize that things did not go as planned. We will certainly use your comments to improve our internal service offerings through enhanced training. We are so happy that your guests enjoyed themselves. Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo.

illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours