Scott’s Seafood Grill & Bar - Oakland Reviews

18 | Oakland, CA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Scott’s Seafood Grill & Bar - Oakland

Recommended by 96%

18

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • wyndhamheart

    Sarah · Married on 12/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very affordable for what you get and Vicky was amazing to work with. No matter how much I had to email/call/come in or change my mind she was 100% with me. THANKS SCOTTS!

    Sent on 08/16/2014
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just had my wedding at Scott's and I was blown away! The ballroom was just beautiful, it was everything I imagined and more. I can't wait to see the pictures! The staff was amazing - from the planning, to the ceremony, throughout the nite. After our ceremony, we were escorted by out Catering Manager to a private room where appetizers and champagne were waiting for the bridal party. Nice touch! The food was fabulous and we danced, danced, danced all nite. After the wedding, our server presented us with a thank you gift. Can you imagine? This place is top notch, and I'm so happy that I chose Scott's

    Sent on 03/31/2012
  • M

    Karen · Married on 02/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding dinner was at Scott's. The setup was wonderful. My wedding party arrived earlier than expected and we were seated comfortably in the lounge area. It was wonderful to rest my feet for a moment before the dinner started. The staff and setting was wonderful. There was a pianist that evening who took request. My groom and I danced to "When I Fall in Love." The evening was truly wonderful.

    Sent on 03/07/2012
  • C

    Carmella · Married on 11/26/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Like I said in my review for our vendor; the food was amazing! They served each plate as it came off the stove! Terrific food service too! We have friends who attended our wedding who returned to Scott's to try more of their food!

    Sent on 12/29/2011
  • hockeylvr2

    Danielle · Married on 09/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything went so perfect!! All the hard work paid off.. so thank you with helping, it all turn out so great! From start to finish, the service was superb!! Everything Scott's Garden said they could do and would do was exactly what we received, plus more! If you're looking for stress free wedding service.. you will get stress-free :)

    Oh, and I cannot forget to share the fact that Scott's Garden was a last minute replacement after our original ceremony/reception site filed bankruptcy. We were so glad we chose Scott's as our replacement.

    Thank you Kasey Howe and Marianne Marko, you both were awesome women to work with!! Very nice and just so easy to work with and talk to. We were very pleased to have been matched up with you. Hats off to the entire staff who work the night of our wedding.. you all were more than awesome!! So accommodating and pleasant.

    All the Scott's staff members we met along the way are definitely professional and responsive. I would absolutely recommend Scott's to anyone.

    Thanks a million to help make our special night even more special.

    Take care,
    Danielle and Casey Roche
    (Traveled from MI to Walnut Creek, CA for our wedding)

    Sent on 10/14/2009
  • E

    Melinda · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception here on 09/19/09. Everything was wonderful! Angelina (our coordinator) was great, helpful from start to finish. The dinner was even better than the sample meal we had tried! All of our guests were impressed with the venue. We couldn't be more pleased!

    Sent on 10/14/2009
  • M

    Misti · Married on 08/02/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really liked Scott's! Our contact person was Corey Jelliffe. She was amazing. We had another venue initially. They went out of business, taking our deposit with them. We contacted Scott's, desperate, and they stepped up immediatly. We had a tasting, the same as the others - chicken & salmon, as well as the mushroom raviolli. I didnt try the salmon, but the other two were great. Corey was quick to return emails and phone calls, even coming in on her day of to make sure our set-up went smoothly. They arranged child meals and gluten free meals for some of our guests even. The only downsides were that it was quite warm, despite repeated request to turn up the air conditioning, and the food service was a little slow. But overall, a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

    Sent on 08/26/2009
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 10/25/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott's Garden was a last minute replacement, after my original site filed bankrupcy three months before my wedding. I contacted Scott's Garden and made an appointment; when I saw the site I knew it was the place for me. It turned out they had my wedding date open for the morning. At first I was disappointed that I wouldn't have the evening wedding I had wanted, but it turned out to be the best day. Marianne and the other catering staff were excellent, she even had the making for my favorite drink (Mojitos) available. My family and friends are still talking about the site and especially the food. The staff pampered me and my husband the entire time we were there. I think I floated through the day. I highly recommend Scott's Garden for anybody who is looking for an outdoor wedding & reception site, and want quality food & beverages.

    Sent on 01/16/2009
  • D

    Dana · Married on 04/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our beautiful wedding and reception at Scott's Garden in Walnut Creek. Adrienne Hettrich and the staff at Scott's were professional, and very on top of our event. Adrienne was quick to respond to emails and phone calls, and in her absence, anyone in the catering office was more than happy to assist us. The site for our wedding was beautiful and the food and service for our reception were wonderful!

    Sent on 06/05/2008
  • D

    David · Married on 01/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Adrianna Castaneda and the staff at Scott's were very helpful and responsive in the entire wedding process. Shanna and I planned our ceremony at Skyline Community Church, but opted to hold our reception at Scott's. Adrianna answered any and all questions and made herself available to meet with us a few times to go over all of the details and double check everything. The reception went so smooth and we could not be happier. All of our guests enjoyed the food, music, venue, and service. If you are looking to hold a special event down the road, then I highly recommend giving Scott's Seafood a call. Shanna and I were very happy and will definitely be using them again to plan a future event. Thank you Scott's and thank you again Adrianna for all of your help!

    Sent on 01/19/2017
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/17/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott's Garden was an an amazing location for our wedding ceremony and reception! We received many comments from our guests on the beautiful setting, the excellent food and great service. Our event coordinator, Kasey, was exceptional! She was very responsive, helpful and cheerful throughout the wedding planning process. On the wedding day, she made sure everything was set up properly and ran smoothly. She also helped calm a nervous bride's nerves. I would highly recommend Scott's Garden as a wedding/reception venue.

    Sent on 11/12/2008
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 10/11/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scotts Garden is lovely and the food and drinks are wonderful. The food was just as good as when we sampled it initially. The setting is perfect for having an outside wedding with out having it outside in the elements. And all of our guests appreciated having the ceremony and reception at the same location. Thier coordinators are very helpful and quickly respond to requests or changes, and the rest of the staff was very professional and accomodating. My only complaint would be that the person who worked with us on planning the event did not actually work the date of the event, making it possible for details to get overlooked. Which I am happy to say this did not happen on a large scale - We had a great time.

    Sent on 10/22/2008
  • L

    Leslie · Married on 03/28/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott's really went above and beyond for our wedding reception. They worked with us to stay within our budget, arranged a great wine tasting station, and helped coordinate all of our vendors. Quite a few people on our guest list had food allergies, so they took extra care with each person's meal that evening. The food was excellent (our guests keep telling us how great their dinners were), their staff is kind and professional, and the evening was absolutely perfect.

    We didn't have our ceremony here, but that option is available for couples who want to save a little bit of money and make things easier for themselves.

    Sent on 04/14/2009
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/07/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved our wedding at Scott's Garden. The venue was a perfect size and setting for what we wanted our wedding to be and all of the wedding coordinators that we spoke with were so helpful in making our day run smoothly. Even the staff of the night of our wedding was professional and friendly. We would highly recommend Scott's to anyone!

    Sent on 06/11/2008
  • T

    Thea · Married on 03/09/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVED this VENUE!!! Our wedding was one of a lifetime. It was beautiful over the water with the sunset during our ceremony. The service was exceptional and everything flowed perfectly! I would recommend Scott's to EVERYONE!

    Sent on 01/18/2008
  • Victoria

    Victoria · Married on 05/14/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This review is for my wedding ceremony and reception held at Scott's Gardens in Walnut Creek.
    My wedding was described by my guests as "wonderful" and "magical" and this is due in large part to Tiffany Chids, Event Coordinator. She is outstanding and head and shoulders above the rest bar none. She went the extra mile for me when she didn't have to and if I were a professional Event Planner I would probably worship her.
    So why only 4 stars you ask?
    Basically what it comes down to is that I experienced two very polar opposite kinds of service from the Scott's Catering staff in the months of planning leading up to my DIY wedding: fantastic, flexible, customer friendly and accommodating - and - patronizing, dismissive, inflexible, hurried and difficult. And it all depended on the Coordinator and/or Manager that I was interacting with.
    If I had always experienced the same fantastic service I received from Tiffany from everyone else as well, I would give them 5 stars. But because not only myself, but also my family, experienced the "difficult" service even on the day of my wedding I can only give 4 stars.
    And even though Tiffany is a wonderful as she is, I still want to give a couple of tips so that future brides can be aware:
    - For every detail make sure you double and triple check it, even on the day of your event. Some of the small things get "forgotten" or remembered wrong - probably due to the large amount of events they have going on at any one time. To their credit, Scott's Catering will make it right if they can at all possibly do so but you have to prompt them.
    While the serving staff on the night of my wedding was VERY friendly and responsive, there were a few minor logistical problems:
    The butlered hors 'd oeuvres were all brought out in the first 15 minutes of the cocktail hour when I had specifically asked for this not to happen and it was written in the contract by Tiffany. This left the next 45 minutes with just bread for people to nosh on (thank goodness I had ordered the bread!).
    The dinner "special entrees" for vegetarian, ect, were served before the buffet opened, so those of use with the "special entrees" had to sit for up to 30 minutes before the rest of our table had their food from the buffet. This was because the same staff that was serving the "special entrees" were also manning the buffet. Even after the "special entrees" were served there was still a gap in time before they opened the buffet. So consequently the buffet started at least 20 minutes late and guests were wondering why only certain people were getting dinner. I can't believe that they couldn't have opened the buffet and at the same time had just one person to serve the special entrees. This timing threw off the rest of the events for the night, making everything then 30 minutes late.
    I had to prompt them to start serving wine at the dinner. We were done with salads and waiting for the buffet to open when I noticed that no wine had been poured (were they waiting for everyone to have their dinner before pouring? that would have been another 20-30 minutes!) Even after they finally poured at my head table, they still were not pouring at the rest of the tables. So I had to again call over a server and ask him to start pouring at the rest of the tables! This was a detail that should have been automatic. The staff did start serving the wine immediately and then came back to me to let me know that everyone had their wine.
    Overall this is a very professional organization providing top notch service. I would definitely use Scott's Catering services again, and recommend them to anyone....but as they say "the devil's in the details", so make sure that you or someone very close to you is managing those details

    Sent on 06/06/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/22/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott's was great for our rehearsal dinner. They were friendly and supper easy to work with. They are a little pricey but the room we had our dinner in was absolutely beautiful with a great view of the estuary and the food was delicious. We did have a few problems with the bar menu, we had ordered a fully hosted bar but ended up with only wine and beer. My FIL was not happy. Also, we had our rehearsal on a Friday night, which made parking a nightmare. Even though we had a large (30 people) reservation with the restaurant, there was no available parking or even valet parking. We had to park at the movie theater garage and if you know Jack London Square then you know its not really that close when the wind is high and you are carrying 10 gift bags for your wedding party. We lost a set of champagne flutes to the wind and concrete during the walk =(

    But once we were there it was all wonderful. Great atmosphere and delicious food. Also, the coordinator was supper helpful and accommodating to the constant changes in the guest list.

    Sent on 09/02/2015
  • K

    Keisha · Married on 03/10/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Initially, I would have given Scott's 5 stars on everything. Unfortunately, management has changed the staffing, and the quality of professionalism in their catering office has declined. It is satisfactory, but not the impeccable service, experience and finesse in their coordinators and directors that was there when I initially booked with the fantastic Barbara V. Good food. Good Ambience. But not the same. Hopefully things will get better. Overall, I was happy with how my day turned out. I just felt that I had to really stay on top of personnel more than expected. My initial contact was knowledgable and a pleasure to be around - She even stopped by the reception on her day off to make sure that we were happy.

    Sent on 03/27/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review