Sarma & Co. Photography Reviews

86 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

86 Reviews for Sarma & Co. Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

86

14 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our personalities shine in Sarma's gorgeous photos!

    Sarma is not only an incredibly talented photographer, but a deeply warm, kind, and empathetic individual. After seeing some of her images, and after talking with her on the phone, we knew we wanted to work together. She is incredibly creative and enthusiastic about her work. Every picture she takes she makes sure the personality of the individual comes through - it is what we love most about our engagement and wedding photos. 
    Like so many others, our big wedding was cancelled due to COVID-19. When we pivoted to a small wedding with just family, we knew we still wanted Sarma to be there to capture it and she was so flexible and professional about the whole process. She really helped make an otherwise stressful time really easy and enjoyable. We keep receiving so many compliments about our photos and we are continually blown away every time we look at them. Sarma was a joy to work with and brought her positive attitude, amazing energy, and incredible calmness to our day. 

    Sent on 08/20/2020
  • Mara

    Mara L. · Married on 07/25/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Minimony Celebration

    Sarma photographed our 'minimony' after our original wedding was postponed due to COVID. We were blown away by the moments and emotion that she was able to capture. We had such a blast looking through all the photos. Great lighting and framing as well. She was so flexible in making our small celebration work, and we are thrilled that we have so much captured in pictures. We can't wait to hopefully have her also photograph our big wedding next year!

    Sent on 08/23/2020
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream to work with! Beautiful photos and calming professionalism

    Sarma and Allison were an absolute dream to work with. Not only were they professional, sweet and non-intrusive but their calming personas were exactly what you would hope for. From the day we reached out to Sarma for pricing to the wedding aftermath, Sarma was responsive, flexible, and kind. Beyond being great to my husband and I, they made all of our family and guests feel at ease. I cannot recommend Sarma & Co highly enough!

    Sent on 11/09/2019
  • A

    Alina · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a joy to work with Sarma and with everlasting results!

    Sarma & Co was listed on our venue's (Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa) referral list and immediately stood out to us as the style of photography that we wanted to have for our wedding. We did not want the overly posed photos that seem to be so common but instead wanted more natural and candid images. I also loved that her images are saturated, either in color or black and white. I felt like a lot of other wedding photographer’s photos almost seemed hazy. Hers are crisp and timeless. Sarma was immediately responsive in sending additional information and setting up a call to learn more about us and what we were looking for from our photographer. On that call, she also asked us about our other vendors and ending up recommending our wedding florist, Athabold, who executed our “natural elegance” style of florals perfectly.

    Our package included engagement photos and when the day came, the weather was not cooperating so Sarma recommended that we delay the photos to the following weekend. We are not used to having our picture taken, particularly in public as part of a photoshoot but Sarma was so easy to be around and took the pressure off us so that we ended up having a great. We received our engagement photos shortly after and were so happy with the results, they were the right mix of portrait shots and just us walking around our neighborhood in the city.

    Sarma and her second photographer, Kathryn, were also wonderful on the day of our wedding. They arrived exactly at the time they said they would and immediately got to work. Our wedding day flew by and wasn’t without its minor stresses but Sarma and Kathryn were calm throughout. Their attention to detail and being able to be in the right spot and the right time is incredible. I had no idea that they were behind me as I saw my now mother-in-law for the first time after putting on my dress right before the ceremony. The emotion that was in that moment, and now in the photos that we have is priceless. We loved being able to see the details of our wedding that we weren’t able to soak in the day of including the set up of our ceremony site and the décor throughout the cocktail and reception tents. Sarma has photographed weddings at Buttermilk numerous times and this was helpful since she knew the property. We wanted our first look to be as private as possible and Sarma knew right away where to take those photos. I also hardly noticed them throughout the reception, they blended in seamlessly (even on the dance floor!) and we ended up with special photos from throughout the evening.

    We received our handful of preview images within a couple of days of the wedding and while excited to see the rest, I was perfectly content to wait to receive our wedding photos since I didn’t want them to be rushed. But, just shy of a month following our wedding I received an email from Sarma with the photos. And thoughtfully sent on a Friday afternoon so as to not be too distracting during the workweek!

    For anybody looking to hire a photographer in the NYC/Hudson Valley area, we cannot recommend Sarma & Co enough. Sarma is the perfect mix of easygoing yet the utmost professional who helped us to document our wedding day flawlessly. Thank you!

    Sent on 11/08/2019
  • E

    Erica · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision we made

    We had Sarma & Co. Photography capture the moments of our September wedding in Middletown, CT and it was the best decision we made. Sarma and her crew are not only a joy to be around, but their amazing photography skills allow us to re-live the best day of our lives. It is completely evident they love what they do, and it was an absolute pleasure having them capture our special moments. They photographed my cousins wedding (also in CT), and we knew they had to film our day too! Just by seeing them smile behind the camera, you know they are loving these moments just as much as you are! We highly recommend them to capture ANY moments of your life, as we are so confident they will do an amazing job for you too!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • Kathryn

    Kathryn K. · Married on 08/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Sarma!!

    We LOVED working with Sarma!! She is a true professional- she takes incredibly beautiful photos, is so well organized, quick, and efficient!!! From our first call, Sarma immediately understood (and fully got behind!) our vision. She beautifully executed taking all of the photographs and made it quite painless and easy! We LOVE our wedding pix- Sarma made sure to get all of the portraits/group shots and managed to capture some awesome candids! Sarma and her team miraculously managed to wrangle the bridal party (and our flower girl and ring bearer!) for some awesome group pix. Sarma also gave us an incredible gift of a video she so generously took of a special break out song/dance by our friends and family (our contract was only for photographs but Sarma appreciated how special this surprise was and captured it all on video for us!!). Sarma was a dream to work with and we LOVE our wedding photos!!! Thank you Sarma!!!
    Katie and Joe Gorman

    Sent on 01/29/2020
  • Julia

    Julia · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect engagement session

    Sarma has been absolutely amazing to work with. She came highly recommended to my fiancé and I from friends who used her for their wedding and we couldn't be happier. Our engagement photos are better than I ever could have imagined; she made us feel very comfortable and really captured our personalities. She is professional, talented, artistic, and all around wonderful!

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • Carlos

    Carlos P. · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible photos and attitude, even in 100+ degree weather!

    Sarma was an absolute joy to work with! She came highly recommended by friends of ours and hiring her was one of the best decisions we made throughout our wedding process. Her expertise in this field is clear and we felt completely reassured by her experience and calm demeanor at every step of our wedding process. Our wedding was on one of the hottest days on record this year but she and her assistant handled all of the time outside like the consummate professionals they are, they were also very flexible when we decided to move the ceremony indoors at the last minute. Sarma’s work is beautiful- she has a very artistic eye, and the documentary style was exactly what we wanted. Nothing felt “cheesy” or overly posed. My wife and I couldn’t be happier and I know we will treasure our wedding photos forever.

    Sent on 09/11/2019
  • R

    Robert C. · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Day Experience

    Sarma was such a wonderful photographer to work with. From our engagement photos to our wedding day, she led us to the most amazing pictures with such ease and confidence. Her and Jessica work wonderfully together to create beautiful, elegant, tasteful pictures. We never felt rushed but they were both very efficient and knew exactly where and how to take the best pictures. I would highly recommend Sarma to anyone who is looking for a photographer. In fact, we're looking for an excuse to photograph something else with her!

    Sent on 07/19/2019
  • Jordan

    Jordan W. · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful photos!

    Working with Sarma was wonderful! From our first conversation, she put me at ease. She traveled to Boston to take our engagement photos, timing it with a family trip to the area, saving us from traveling down to New York. She even brought us hand warmers to deal with the freezing cold! She stuck it out with us for 2 hours in 20 degree weather and made us feel comfortable in front of the camera. That completely translated to our wedding day. I love that she wasn't in our face getting photos, yet she got all the shots we wanted. Our photos are beautiful and we couldn't be more pleased!

    Sent on 06/20/2019
  • A

    Anna · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma is a wonderful photographer! She captured flawless photos at our wedding. We are so happy we chose her! She is super sweet and easy to work with. Looking forward to working with her in the future!

    Sent on 09/16/2018
  • P

    Patrick · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife, Megan, and I worked with Sarma after our venue, The Garrison, recommended her---and boy are we glad we chose her! Sarma was an absolute joy to work with, from the first phone call we had in order to just get acquainted down to the last minute of the reception. Sarma truly captured the essence of our special day, using an unobtrusive, photojournalistic approach. She and her assistant were timely, curtueous, and fun. Sarma is organized, detailed, and plans ahead---and it all pays off for making the photo-taking part of the wedding day (the notoriously stressful part of the day) an easy and fun experience. One of our favorite moments of the wedding day was going with Sarma to a few select locations on The Garrison's property to take some couples protraits---she and her assistant put us at ease and encouraged us to just live in the moment of having just become huband and wife. Sarma's familiarity with The Garrison was an additional benefit, and we had no reservations simply putting our trust in her excellent, artistic eye. Sarma and her team are a true pleasure to work with and we recommend her to everyone!

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma is THE BEST! We had a style in mind so portfolio was important but beyond that we also wanted a photographer that we connected with personally and had LGBTQ wedding experience. We immediately connected with Sarma’s work. Upon reaching out we immediately found her to be amazing to work with. She’s super organized and helpful and patient with my millions of questions. Before hiring her she even sent us the forms she has couples fill in prior to the wedding to see her process and I have to say she was the only person with forms where I didn’t have to cross out “groom”. That went a long way with me!

    When it came time to plan our engagement session I have to say myself and my new wife were not at all helpful with giving her a good place to shoot it at. We just picked generic places but it was Sarma who helped us to find something more creative and fitting for us. Our photos came out amazing! We have some framed on the walls.

    She shoots at our venue a lot so when we had some anxiety inducing last minute changes with the venue staff Sarma even helped us through that. She really went the extra mile to calm me and help find out information since she knows the venue so well.

    Come the wedding day everything was great! Sarma and Jennifer were super helpful and photographed in a way that you don’t know they’re there. For posed shots they were very patient with our big families. We had a rainy day and they had no problem getting a little wet for photos. I also had an unfortunate wardrobe malfunction and my dress decided to stop supporting the girls and they even gave me the heads up when I needed to adjust. I was super sensitive about it all night so I really appreciated their help in that department.

    I can’t speak highly enough of Sarma and Co.. We have only received some teaser images but I have no doubt that when we receive everything it will be amazing!

    Sent on 06/14/2018
  • T

    Terri · Married on 05/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED working with Sarma for our daughter's wedding! She and her team are incredibly nice and very professional. The photos are absolutely gorgeous - she perfectly captured the love and emotion of the day. Look forward to working with her again!

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • R

    Robbie · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma is the perfect blend of being incredibly talented and just a wonderful person. From the moment we met her, we felt incredibly comfortable. My wife and I are not the type of people that love to pose for photos and Sarma found a way to make us relax and always feel at ease. We loved every part of our wedding weekend and being able to relive it through the photos is so much fun. We truly feel that not only did we get amazing photographs, but we gained a new friend for life.

    Sent on 01/29/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't be happier with Sarma for our October 2017 wedding. We knew she was it just by speaking with her on the phone. In working with her, she was very flexible with dates for our engagement photo shoot and we felt comfortable with her right from the start. On our wedding day she captured all the right photos yet you forgot she was there. We just got our photos and can't stop looking at them!

    Sent on 12/17/2017
  • Z

    Zachary · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma & Co was incredible throughout our wedding process all the way from contract to engagement to cutting the cake! To be honest I am not sure the wedding would have happened at all as planned were it not for Sarma and her second photographer Sarah. They knew where we had to be and when, while simultaneously keeping us relaxed and on-time. Throughout the ceremony and reception they were like some kind of ninja-ghosts that we didn't even know were there as they documented the event, captured all the shots we wanted without any guidance, and ultimately delivered incredible art despite a dark and candlelit venue. We found Sarma by perusing albums at venues in the Hudson Valley where she often works and saw that she was clearly superior to her competition - but we were thrilled with her work for us in NYC. If you want a warm, professional, energetic, skilled photographer with an eye for the moments you will cherish forever, then don't hesitate to book Sarma and Co!

    Sent on 11/27/2017
  • M

    Meg · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma was a fantastic photographer for our wedding! Super laid back and easy to work with, pictures were incredible with a fast turn around time. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 10/11/2017
  • M

    Monica · Married on 06/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma brought a special kind of professionalism, enthusiasm and warmth to our wedding experience. She provided us with a unique mix of traditional, candid and illustrative photos of our engagement shoot and wedding day.
    After the original date for our engagement shoot was rained out, we quickly re-scheduled and Sarma helped us find a great location, which she quickly adapted to during her very first shoot there.
    For our big day, Sarma did her due diligence and became familiar with the wedding venue. The questionnaire she provided before the wedding helped us prepare and outline all the family and friends that we wanted to be involved. Sarma and her assistant both made us very comfortable throughout the day and encouraged a natural, relaxed environment that produced many candid photos. She has a great eye for capturing many special moments that feature lots of emotion.
    We will forever re-live our memorable day through all the amazing moments that Sarma & Co. helped capture.

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What is there to say about Sarma that hasn't already been said? She is able to capture a moment in time for you to hold on to, and I will forever be grateful for that. I knew I wanted Sarma to photograph my wedding before I was engaged. She had worked with many of my friends, and I knew I'd be in great hands. From our first call, I knew I made the right choice.

    My husband hates getting his picture taken, and at the end of the wedding he specifically thanked Sarma for making the experience so easy for him. She and her team work seamlessly and unobtrusively, so you don't even notice them on your wedding day. But most importantly, Sarma is a genuine and kind person that is easy to be around (which is clutch when you're getting dressed in the same room!). My mom fell ill the day after our wedding, and Sarma send me a picture of us from the wedding and send the pictures in case my mom could see them before she passed away. There are no words to express how thankful I am to Sarma for capturing my wedding day.

    Sent on 06/23/2017
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarma and Jessica were a dream come true from the start. Kind and attentive, excited for us and our wedding day, consummate professionals and so knowledgeable. Sarma was responsive and helpful with all of our questions and made the whole experience easy. Day of, they were so wonderful to work with! Never rushed, always calm which kept us calm. They smiled and interacted with everyone like old friends. We just got our pictures back and they are SO STUNNING I tear up when I look at them. We all look so natural. They captured the day as it truly happened. We didn't hire a videographer, but it turns out we didn't need one. Sarma's pictures were better than video. They portrayed the pure joy of the day in the most gorgeous way. I feel so lucky we found them! If you want natural, gorgeous pictures and to work with kind hearted professionals, look no further.

    Sent on 01/10/2017
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an incredible experience working with Sarma for our wedding and couldn’t overstate how happy we were to have hired her. We shot three separate events with her, our engagement session about a year before our wedding, the rehearsal dinner, and the wedding. In each case she produced beautiful photos that we and our families will cherish forever. Most importantly, Sarma was a joy to work with – completely accommodating to every request while also candidly capturing all the happiness from the wedding weekend. We’re recommending her to all of our friends and will be calling her to capture all of the milestone moments in our marriage for all of the years to come!

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • G

    Gail · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for a wedding photographer who will not only produce stunning photos, but capture your personality and respond to every inane question, look no further :) Sarma and Jessica did an absolutely amazing job photographing my wedding this July. My husband and I are thrilled with the pictures!

    Sent on 08/15/2016
  • B

    Bernadette · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married in June and could not be happier with our pictures and the services provided by Sarma and Jessica! Sarma is so easy to work with and has an innate ability to capture all those perfect moments on your wedding day. After meeting with a few other photographers my sister (whose getting married 10/1/16) and I met with Sarma and we both left the meeting knowing she was the one. You can absolutely not go wrong using Sarma and Co, I can't wait for october and more amazing photos!

    Sent on 09/07/2016
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing photographers, so wonderful to work with! From the first time I contacted Sarma, she was extremely responsive and professional. Jessica did our engagement pictures, and she made us so comfortable and the session was so much fun. On the day of, Sarma and Jessica were very timely and captured every single moment beautifully. Everyone loved working with them. They kept the portrait session right on schedule while being so relaxed, warm, and fun to be around. They were very discreet during the ceremony and reception; we didn't even realize they were there. We received our photos in a very timely fashion and we are absolutely thrilled with how they came out. We are shocked at how well they captured all of the moments of our wedding, big and small, so beautifully! As an added plus, Sarma also had amazing suggestions for other great vendors in the NY area. We are so happy we chose Sarma and Co. to photograph our day and highly recommend them!

    Sent on 10/09/2016