Santa Barbara Zoo Reviews

28 | Santa Barbara, CA
See photos, pricing and details

28 Reviews for Santa Barbara Zoo

Recommended by 99%

28

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

23 User photos

Santa Barbara Zoo 1
Santa Barbara Zoo 2
Santa Barbara Zoo 3
Santa Barbara Zoo 4
Santa Barbara Zoo 5
Santa Barbara Zoo 6
Santa Barbara Zoo 7
+ 17
Sort by:
  • Susy

    Susana Trujillo · Getting married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful zoo property

    The zoo is absolutely beautiful and a great venue for a wedding. The animals offer and unique and intimate atmosphere. We decided on a different venue but would highly recommend the zoo for larger parties

    Sent on 02/26/2019
  • Ken

    Ken · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful venue for our wedding

    This venue is absolutely awesome. The scenery and views made for some incredible photographs, and being able to enjoy the animals was an added bonus. We worked with Events by Rincon and they did an amazing job working with us to take our vision from merely ideas to reality. They let us choose from a lovely selection of items for our menu, which was well received by our guests. The servers and bartenders were very welcoming and friendly and went above and beyond to ensure that all our guests left with full bellies and smiles on their faces. A huge thank you to Angie for making it all possible, she did an amazing job and we were beyond blessed to have her help us coordinate our day!

    Sent on 08/11/2019
    Santa Barbara Zoo 8
    Santa Barbara Zoo 9
    Santa Barbara Zoo 10
    Santa Barbara Zoo 11
    Santa Barbara Zoo 12
    Santa Barbara Zoo 13
    Santa Barbara Zoo 14
    Santa Barbara Zoo 15
    Santa Barbara Zoo 16
    Santa Barbara Zoo 17
    Santa Barbara Zoo 18
    Santa Barbara Zoo 19
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 07/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream wedding

    We had our wedding at the Santa Barbara Zoo last month and wow, it was a total DREAM. No bridezillas, no groomzillas, no stress, just pure joy. Angie Chaves was our coordinator and she is hands down the best person you could have overseeing the most important day of your life. She is responsive, she remembers everything, she goes out of her way to make everything you want come true. And she does all of this with kindness and humor. Being a bride is stressful and Angie puts all of your stresses to ease. She makes everything easy! Honestly who could ask for more!? Not only will you have the most turnkey experience planning at the zoo (they have almost everything you need to have an event here and they've done it a million times so they KNOW what they're doing) but the Sb Zoo is not your normal zoo, it is one of the most gorgeous places you can get married at in SB. All of our guests commented on the greenery and how lush it was. You can see the mountains and the ocean! And come on, you can have ANIMALS at your wedding!?? Flamingos, birds, giraffes?? Perfect place. Our guests raved about the whole experience and how unique it was. To top it off a portion of what you spend on your wedding here goes to support wildlife conservation and education. Get married and also do good!

    Best day ever. Thank you Angie for keeping everyone on time, worrying about all of the big (and small!) things and making sure we had the perfect day!!!!

    Sent on 08/28/2019
  • Alyson

    Alyson · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and professional

    Honestly we could have been married almost anywhere but the staff is what really sold me and their level of professionalism allowed me to put my trust in them for our big day. I received an overwhelming amount of feedback from my guests on the level of care and attention to detail the staff had on all the elements of our venue. Angie was truly the best- she was on it!

    Sent on 08/05/2019
    Santa Barbara Zoo 20
    Santa Barbara Zoo 21
  • M

    shaun · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Guests had their doubts, and then they showed up!

    When we told people we were getting married at the zoo, we got some funny looks. But it's so much more than a zoo. The beautiful grounds, the amazing views, and stellar staff (they work exclusively with Events by Rincon for coordinating and catering) are the stuff of perfect weddings. And mine was (not just my words...) The access to animals was an added bonus that we and our guests will remember forever. It's really a no brainer--you get the best of both worlds: an interesting and unique and beautiful venue with the extensive experience of a supporting staff and an amazing catering and rental team. They were a dream to work with and made the planning process incredibly easy.

    Sent on 05/08/2019
  • A

    Aulama · Married on 12/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! What can I say about this amazing venue and staff! We got married on Dec. 15 while the Thomas Fire was happening and the staff and the Zoo in whole acoomadated us so much! They were so great to work with and our guest loved every bit of the wedding! The site is stunning rare and beautiful! We loved our wedding and wish we could get married every year there! I highly recommend them! The whole staff were friendly and great! Food was great and just overall experience was fantastic! Lacey and Angie did such amazing jobs! We are so blessed to have had them!

    The Lemalu’s

    Sent on 12/25/2017
    Santa Barbara Zoo 22
  • B

    Blake · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my goodness.. Where do I even start?! The Santa Barbara Zoo could not have been a more perfect venue for our wedding. We are not from Santa Barbara (from Orange County), and Angie Chaves at Rincon Events and Lacey Morgan at the Zoo made this the best day ever and so easy to plan!! The grounds are beautiful, the food is amazing, the staff was wonderful, and yeah, everything went off without a hitch... okay, well we got hitched, but you get the point! One of the neatest features for the zoo is that during cocktail hour, your guests can grab a drink and walk around the zoo. They also have the unique opportunity to feed the Giraffes! Thanks again, Santa Barbara Zoo & Rincon Events. 10/10 would recommend.

    Sent on 10/20/2017
    Santa Barbara Zoo 23
    Santa Barbara Zoo 24
    Santa Barbara Zoo 25
    Santa Barbara Zoo 26
    Santa Barbara Zoo 27
  • S

    Sara · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Getting married at the Santa Barbara Zoo is one of the best decisions we have ever made! Angie, Rincon, and the zoo staff are all INCREDIBLE! I cannot say enough about how wonderful everyone and everything was. The planning process was SO easy. We were able to visit the zoo as often as we wanted and Angie always made time for us when we came to visit. She answered every question, was extremely organized, and our wedding day had absolutely no issues thanks to her! We had giraffe feedings and a penguin, yes, a penguin. Who the heck has a penguin as a wedding guest?! the Zoo was so flexible. A couple of weeks before the wedding Lacey at the zoo emailed us letting us know the Flamingle might not be able to happen for our date since the flamingos were still being trained, plus they are young and still gray (not super cute for photos). She gave us the option of the penguin encounter instead and the rest is history. The food is AMAZING! Every one of our guests raved about the food. The amount of customization you are able to do at this venue is wonderful. You can add so many fun things to your big day, change the menu for cocktail hour and dinner however you want, and they will work with you when it comes to any extra rentals you are interested in. Our guests are still talking about our wedding, definitely a unique and beautiful choice!

    Sent on 06/26/2017
  • C

    Caitie · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is absolutely stunning. Ocean and mountain views surrounded by gorgeous palms and gardens. We had the most magical wedding! Lacey was such a pleasure to work with. Rincon Events did a fantastic job with the food and set up. My husband and I highly recommend the zoological gardens as the perfect venue for your wedding!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • D

    Diandra · Married on 07/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Santa Barbara Zoo is an AMAZING wedding venue. It is chic, fun and unconventional. The setting overlooks the ocean and is a great compromise if you and your spouse disagree on beach weddings. Also, the food is by far the best wedding food I have ever had. They do a great job of letting you try the foods at a tasting event they have a few times a year. Also, the partnership the Zoo has with Rincon Catering makes everything seamless. They provide a list of vendors and recommendations from everything from the cake to the flowers. This is literally a one stop shop but you don't feel like the wedding is commercialized. It totally is tailored to you and your needs. Lastly, you can feed giraffes. People will talk about your wedding for years to come if you have it at this location. Me and my wife are still on a wedding high!

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • User5585978 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning our wedding at the Santa Barbara Zoo was so fun and amazing! Stefanie and Amanda were so easy and nice to work with. Stefanie was quick to respond to everything and even called me back while she was out of town. This truly was an excellent experience and very unique place to get married. We loved everything about our day, and they worked with us so much to make it special! Feeding giraffes in a wedding dress was spectacular! I would highly recommend it to anyone!

    Sent on 11/04/2015
  • User5192124 · event on 05/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was just perfect! The catering service and personnel were so professional and the food simply delicious as well as beautifully presented! The zoo keeper of the red tailed hawk was so informative and what a treat to be able to feed the giraffes. The zoo personnel that assisted our group were so nice and accommodating. We also appreciated the opportunity to ride the train with just our group and the conductor was just so nice! There are not enough adjectives to describe our appreciation. Thank you all, thank you Stefanie Coleman and Rincon Catering for making it such a special and memorable day!

    Sent on 06/20/2015
  • User4154407 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were super excited to have our reception at the zoo and feed the giraffes. Everything was set for the reception to be outside. Unfortunately the morning of it started raining. The zoo had made provisional plans to move everything indoors in the event of rain and set up tents by the giraffe for the cocktail hour. The staff was ready to go and maintained big smiles even though it was pouring. (of course an uncommon event in So Cal) As bummed as I am that it rained and we had to move indoors, my guests are raving about what a great and memorable experience it was. And despite the rain the giraffe feeding was a hit- people didn't care about the rain if they were going to be that close to a giraffe!

    Sent on 01/21/2015
  • G

    Glen · Married on 09/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This took us too long to write this review but both my wife and I absolutely loved the Santa Barbara Zoo as our wedding venue. We had the pleasure of working with Angie from Rincon to help coordinate and everything worked out great. Angie was responsive and more than catering to our needs every step of the way. While we live in Northern California and were worried about having the wedding in Santa Barbara, everything worked out well because it was easy to work with them at the Zoo, especially Angie. Their staff was awesome at the wedding as well. Beautiful setting for a beautiful day. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 02/16/2015
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Growing up in Santa Barbara, I had literally never thought about the Zoo as a wedding venue but it truly was the perfect location.

    The Palm Garden and Hilltop's natural beauty and stunning vegetation was absolutely gorgeous to showcase Santa Barbara at its finest for our out-of-town guests. The weather was perfect and our guests were able to enjoy 360 degree views of the mountains and the ocean and as the bride, who wouldn't want to get married under majestic palm trees? The reception area is completely set up for large weddings with on-site bathrooms, power source, parking options, and is conveniently located so guests can easily stay Downtown, Waterfront, or in Montecito.

    The great thing about having a blank canvas is that you can truly bring in any type of decor that you want and we had so much fun with all of Rincon's cabana, lighting, chandeliers and overhead and table fabric options. Rincon's food was absolutely delicious-we had so many guests come up to us to mention how good it was. You can also bring in all of your own liquor with no corkage fee which was a great bonus!

    I had been involved with all of the planning but when I got to the hilltop that afternoon and saw everything set up, it truly took my breath away. Angie and her team captured our wedding vision so perfectly and made everything stunning. Angie was fantastic-she worked seamlessly to execute our requests and many changes along the way in conjunction with all of the other vendors and on the big day, even found my wedding vows which I had misplaced seconds before walking down the aisle.

    I wanted all of our guests to have a fantastic weekend filled with great food, great drinks, dancing and tons of fun-thank you for making everything so perfect Team Rincon!

    Sent on 11/25/2014
  • User4531279 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have imagined a more perfect wedding day! The Zoo was everything we were looking for, beautiful outside setting close to the beach but not right on the sand. Rincon catering company is contracted with the Zoo and they do an unreal job with food, service, and production! 100% recommend getting married here!

    Sent on 11/06/2014
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 08/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the Santa Barbara Zoo made everything absolutely perfect for us. They have spaces for both ceremony and reception, both overlooking the Santa Barbara Harbor. We and our guests got to feed Giraffes and play with flamingos (really, we got to pet them and pose for pictures with them). The zoo has it's own catering service with Rincon Events and the food they provide is amazing. Every one of our guests loved everything this venue had to offer, and so did we!

    Sent on 09/17/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I LOVE LOVE LOVED having my wedding at this beautiful and amazing venue. The staff was absolutely fantastic and the venue itself is absolutelty stunning. It has been a full year since my wedding and people are still talking about how memorable and fun it was. If you are looking for a non-traditional venue that is classy, beautiful, and fun then you MUST have your wedding at the SBZoo!!!

    Sent on 05/10/2012
  • J

    Jaime · Married on 10/09/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Santa Barbara Zoological Gardens is the most beautiful outdoor setting for a wedding. The ocean in the background, the sunset...it will take your breath away! They let your guests in 1 hour before they close for free, and you can opt to have some or all of the animals out after hours. The whole evening is magical!

    Sent on 06/06/2008
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/18/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best decision! I loved the zoo as a venue. The guests had so much fun feeding the giraffes. The location is beautiful and so much better then a stuffy hotel ballroom. Originally I did not think I wanted and outdoor wedding, the zoo made me change my mind and I loved it. Also Angie the wedding coordinator is truly the best!!!

    Sent on 09/12/2018
    Santa Barbara Zoo 28
    Santa Barbara Zoo 29
    Santa Barbara Zoo 30
  • C

    Caitie · Married on 08/11/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was better than ever imagined! We had a fairy tale wedding, the zoo and catering team are very organized and everything ran smoothly. There is so much beauty at the zoo in every direction!

    Sent on 09/11/2017
  • C

    Charlene · Married on 07/05/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose the zoo for our wedding! It was both unique and really beautiful. We have pictures of us with giraffes, meerkats and flamingos (which, "flamingled" with our guests!). Our guests loved it too. The palm tree garden is lovely for the ceremony, and the hilltop is a great big area for a reception. Rincon Catering/Events, which is the only catering team the Zoo will work with, did an Amazing job. Angie Chaves was awesome and made sure everything looked and ran the way we wanted it to. Its a little pricey, but so is basically everything in Santa Barbara, and it was really just perfect.

    Sent on 07/08/2014
  • D

    Dan · Married on 06/29/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The zoo was such a gorgeous venue, and everything went so incredibly smoothly! Special thanks to Angie, she was great to work with!!

    Sent on 07/06/2018
  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 10/15/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We and our guests loved the zoo! It is a very romantic setting for the ceremony and the zoo provided great options to customize our wedding while taking advantage of the uniqueness of the zoo setting.

    They were fairly priced and very quick in responding to all of our questions and needs. We highly recommend booking the zoo!

    Sent on 10/26/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review