Skip to main content
Weddings

San Diego Wedding Guy Reviews

San Diego Wedding Guy

San Diego Wedding Guy

San Diego, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 93 Reviews
View more information

93 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 93
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

19 User photos

  • Melissa
    Melissa S. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pastor Jack was Top Notch!

    Pastor Jack was an excellent choice for officiating our wedding! We researched and spoke with a few officiants and immediately after speaking with him knew he was THE ONE. He was funny, witty, super cool/chill, and understood US and our story so well. He made our ceremony special and we could not be happier with our choice.
  • Shannon
    Shannon B. Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pastor Jack Hawkins was amazing!

    Pastor Jack Hawkins was incredible, we’re so happy we had him officiate our wedding. I was very impressed with the way he balanced being serious/sentimental during the right times and also cracked jokes when it was appropriate. He made us laugh, he made us cry (happy tears) and did a great job of making the whole ceremony very personalized for us. We got TONS of compliments about him from our guests - multiple people told us he was the best wedding officiant they’d ever seen!

    Also, as a bride-to-be that was in total overwhelm planning a wedding, I really appreciated how easy and organized he was - he asked us all the questions about each other well in advance, and showed up early to speak with our coordinator to make sure everything went smoothly.

    I’d highly recommend him to anyone looking for a wedding officiant!! He was great!
  • M
    Matthew Y. Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Funny, flexible, and a heartfelt reception

    We schedule Jack as our officiant for our 2021 wedding and he was excellent! Easy to work with, steadfast, great communication and wrote very earnest and sincere stories for each of us. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking an officiant who will custom write your ceremony!

    San Diego Wedding Guy's reply:

    Matt and Savannah were the best. There wedding was so beautiful. If you're looking for a venue you can't go wrong with the Prado in Balboa park. So classy just like you two. Thanks for letting me be a part of your big day
  • A
    Austin F. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing & memorable

    Pastor Jack is a master at his craft and the ceremony he conducted for us was absolutely perfect. My wife & I had a destination wedding in La Jolla. We met Jack through a Wedding Wire search and after talking to him the first time on the phone, we actually cancelled the 2 other meetings we had with other officiants. He was funny, quick witted, and just had a natural flow with his conversation. We typed up an in-depth summation of my (new) wife & I’s relationship for him to read over before the wedding. He then took many pieces of our stories & experiences and SEAMLESSLY incorporated them into the ceremony sermon. Our guests were not only impressed, but blown away. Many asked if we had flown Jack out from our regular church in Indianapolis because of how in-depth and personable the ceremony felt. I highly recommend hiring Jack for your big day. There is truly no other pastor we would have rather used to officiate our happily ever after.

    Forever grateful,
    The Foreman’s
  • Jessica
    Jessica D. Married on 08/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pastor Jack Came Through!

    We had an unusual situation... and Pastor Jack came through. Our son and fiance were to be married on March 30, 2020; but the wedding and reception were canceled on March 19th due to COVID-19 secure in place orders. My brother (also a pastor) who was going to officiate the wedding was not able to travel, and arranged for Pastor Jack the evening of March 19th to marry our son and daughter-in-law the next day at the beach in Torrey Pines with just the parents, a few siblings and the rest of the siblings by Facetime. Pastor Jack did an excellent job with only 15 hours notice and met us on the beach. The ceremony was personable, funny, and made for a wonderful wedding day for my son and daughter-in-law. He literally saved the day and our kids were married in a very special ceremony that they will remember forever!
  • Jordan
    Jordan A. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Jack is such a wonderful pastor! When my fiancé and I had to unexpectedly move our wedding up a week, Jack was so accommodating. He took the limited time he had to get to know us and work a wonderful wedding sermon that felt so personalized. Jack was so friendly and helped make our wedding special with his light hearted stories centered on God’s love. We are forever grateful for his dedication to our day. Highly recommended for any couple looking for an uplifting and personalized ceremony!
  • Monica
    Monica M. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The BEST! Choose Jack you won’t be disappointed!

    Having Jack Hawkins marry us was a true blessing! He was great on so many levels. Genuine, kind, positive, sincere, patient, funny, extremely professional, inspirational & just an all around amazing soul! He made out elopement smooth and was so easy to work with. He even hiked to my dream location. :D We couldn’t of asked for a better officiant! Thank you!
  • P
    Pranali L. Married on 08/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Officiator ever! He is truly amazing!

    I can't thank Jack enough for making our wedding ceremony so much fun! It was absolutely perfect! He not only has a great sense of humor and made us all laugh but also touched hearts and made all of us emotional with his speech! His energy set the tone for the evening and we had the wedding of our dreams! Thank you so much Jack!!
  • Suzy
    Suzy F. Married on 01/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exactly what we envisioned!

    From the get-go, Jack was just awesome. Super responsive, and had great suggestions for our unconventional ceremony. He was very flexible with regards to timing and location. (Outdoor December ceremony had us obsessing about the weather!) He matched our vibe perfectly, with only a few interactions with us beforehand. All this & very reasonable $. We couldn’t have hoped or asked for more, and would highly recommend! 👍 👍
  • Matt
    Matt S. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Officiant Ever

    Jack was such a wonderful and fun officiant! We really enjoyed his sentiment, jokes, professionalism, and words of wisdom. It was a great kickoff to our wedding night and he created memories that we will cherish forever 💙. We would recommend that everyone hire Jack, The San Diego Wedding Guy!!!
  • Mallory
    Mallory A. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The BEST officiant we could have dreamed of!!

    It was clear from the first few minutes talking to Jack Hawkins that he possessed every quality we were seeking in an officiant for our wedding. His charismatic and conversational personality create a feeling of familiarity, and his life experiences traveling across the globe along with his volunteer work speak to his selfless nature. You can tell that his desire to officiant weddings comes from the uplifting feeling of pairing two soulmates and that initiating the first steps of their lifelong journey together is what is so rewarding to him.

    The first question we were asked following the ceremony by friends and family alike was “So how many years have you known Jack for?” His ability to pull personal elements from responses we gave him months prior and incorporate them into a heartfelt story about our lives was so personal and lighthearted that it truly did seem like he had been part of our journey for many years.

    Lastly, one of our favorite moments of our wedding day came minutes after the ceremony as Jack pulled both of us aside and told us he would like to take a moment to celebrate the long life we were about to have together. It was at that time, in the midst of the events of the day, that we were able to reflect on the significance of the experience. We are very thankful that Jack was able to bring such a conversational and personal element to our ceremony and we absolutely give him our highest recommendation for his professional service.
  • Kellie
    Kellie Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pick Pastor Jack!

    We received so many compliments from our guests about Pastor Jack's ceremony and message. Initially, we struggled to find a pastor for our wedding that matched our humor and our desire to have a simple non-denominational religious ceremony. When we spoke with Pastor Jack, we knew he was the perfect officiant for our wedding. During the ceremony, Pastor Jack told our story beautifully and provided a wonderful message. Our guests (as well as my husband and I) cried and laughed throughout. We highly recommend Pastor Jack!
  • Jessica
    Jessica A. Married on 04/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pastor Jack- So Happy we found him!

    Pastor Jack married my husband and I just recently, and we couldn’t have been happier with our decision to have him lead our ceremony.
    He brought such a calming presence to us that day; gave hugs, a reassuring smile and most importantly took the time to pray with us both before the ceremony.

    We submitted our couples “homework” to him earlier on prior and he was able to put together the best little “recap” of my husband and I for during the ceremony.

    The ceremony was the best combination of: serious, funny and so much love. We keep getting compliments on how it was the best ceremony people have heard, and they loved the pastor.

    He also had many vow readings for us to choose from which worked perfect!!

    Highly recommend Pastor Jack!
  • B
    Brenda D. Married on 03/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    BEST officiant in Socal!

    We are honored to have had Pastor Jack officiate our wedding in San Diego a few weeks ago. I instantly felt he was our "wedding guy" when I received his first few text messages. Sounds funny, but you'll know what I mean if you contact him! We hired him and it was one of the ABSOLUTE best decisions we made regarding our wedding day! Meeting him for the first time the day of the wedding, felt like we had known him for years. His ceremony was professional and hilarious! Our wedding guests made numerous comments about how incredible and funny he was throughout the ceremony! They were ALL stunned to know that he wasn't a longtime friend of ours.

    If you're getting married in the near future, spend the extra money and hire the San Diego Wedding Guy for your special day! He will not let you down on one of the most important days of your life. Best Wishes, and thanks again Pastor Jack!!
  • Eric
    Eric S. Married on 02/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Big Fan of the San Diego Wedding Guy!

    Pastor Jack was a hit at our small wedding ceremony. Many family members from out of town wished their pastor was as cool as Pastor Jack. Jack was very attentive to all the details leading up to the day, and performed the ceremony flawlessly. He sends a detailed questionnaire to bride and groom before the wedding, and incorporates your responses into his message. He arrived early and got to know many members of our family before the ceremony. I would not hesitate to recommend Jack to any couple looking for an outstanding ceremony.
  • M
    Mark Married on 11/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply amazing

    Not surprised Pastor Jack has a perfect 5 star rating. Simply the best officiant out there, bar none! Very sincere and he's a comforting presence, very reassuring. My wife and I are glad we picked him. God bless you Pastor!
  • Audrey
    Audrey Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect, modern wedding ceremony

    Pastor Jack did an incredible job as our wedding officiant for our destination wedding. We did the entire planning process remotely and every aspect of the ceremony exceeded our expectations. He has a quick, yet concise planning process to get to know the bride and groom, including gathering of personal stories, to make sure our ceremony was customized to our personalities, beliefs, and wishes. Pastor Jack was funny, professional, and warm- exactly what we wanted. (So much so that all of our guests thought he was a family friend we had flown out for the wedding.) We can't thank you enough!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pastor Jack is awesome!

    Jack was absolutely awesome! I found him online but later found out that he is the pastor at my friends aunts church and knows her entire family! He made our wedding sooo unique and personal, and all of the guests loved the ceremony! Such a great guy!
  • L
    Leslie Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pastor Jack did a fantastic job for our wedding. He made the ceremony very personable and our guest loved the way he delivered our story. I would recommend him to anyone.
  • T
    Tabitha Married on 07/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot even begin to put into words what a perfect experience it was to have Jack Hawkins officiate our ceremony! We feel extremely blessed that he was able to do us this huge honor. He is worth EVERY penny and more! He has a gift and we thank God for this awesome man!

    -truly

    Jared and Tabitha Pennington (married July 21st, 2018 on Carlsbad Beach in California ❤️)
  • B
    Brent Married on 05/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We highly recommend Pastor Jack! Consultation was pleasant and we knew right away he was the one we wanted to perform our ceremony. He made everything so easy and he is just a great guy to work with. He created an amazing ceremony that was custom to our story. Our guests were asking about him and telling us what a fantastic job he did. He even helped us get all our guests together when it was about time to start. He really makes it so you can concentrate on the moment and not worry. If you are looking for that special ceremony, even if you don't have all the details figured out, Jack is the guy for you!

    Thank you Jack!
    Brent and Nina - 5/12/18
  • L
    Lucas A. Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    jack helped make our ceremony perfect

    Jack was so great! I can honestly say that, after we met with Jack, we knew that our wedding was going to be special. During his telling of our story, he spoke with such sincerity and enthusiasm. Our intimate setting was the perfect match for Jack's genuine kindness and joy. We had so many perfect moments, I couldn't imagined it going any better! -Lucas A.
  • M
    Megan Married on 11/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jack was amazing, he did the BEST ceremony. It was short sweet and to the point a whole 15 mins ! I had people coming up to me the rest of the night and asking for his information ! The communication between He and I was flawless ! His ceremony was the best and I will remember it for the rest of my life ! Even during my panic attack before walking down the aisle Jack was right there helping keep me calm and relaxed. Thank you so much Jack you were the BEST!!

    San Diego Wedding Guy's reply:

    Thank you so much Megan. I had such a blast at your wedding. You two are hilarious. So fun being a part of your ceremony. Hope the rest of the day went amazing
  • C
    Colby Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I were looking for Pastors in the San Diego Area and found Pastor J online. He had great reviews so we contacted him to meet up and see if he was the right officiant for us. Honestly he was the perfect pastor. He's funny, personable and really just makes everyone feel comfortable. After the wedding my father-in-law asked how long we've known Pastor J for because it seemed like he was a long time friend, but honestly we only met with him for an hour prior to our wedding. I'd recommend him to anyone getting married in the San Diego Area, hands down.
  • T
    Teri Married on 09/19/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I wanted an intimate wedding ceremony in the San Diego area so we contacted the San Diego Wedding Guy-Jack Hawkins. I knew right away that Jack was the one for us as he was so warm and compassionate on the phone. He made great suggestions for location as we were coming from out of the area. He was so patient with us even with our last minute decisions. When we met with him for our ceremony he greeted us with a great big smile and that helped us to relax and enjoy our big day. We really appreciated the thoughtful words he expressed to us in officiating our vows to each other and it made our day that more meaningful. Much thanks to Jack for blessing us on our wedding day......we will always remember our beautiful time in La Jolla and can't wait to come back again for an anniversary trip.

    Ed and Teri Hazel- Married October 19, 2017 La Jolla, California