Sanctuary Vineyards Reviews

23 | Jarvisburg, NC
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Sanctuary Vineyards

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

23

17 User photos

Sanctuary Vineyards 1
Sanctuary Vineyards 2
Sanctuary Vineyards 3
Sanctuary Vineyards 4
Sanctuary Vineyards 5
+ 13
Order by:
  • Meg D.

    Meg · Married on 06/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Romantic, rustic, family oriented - we could not have picked a better venue

    From the moment we came to visit in January 2018, we knew immediately that Sanctuary would be our venue and a very special place to us. Christine, the events manager, made us feel right at home and assured that we'd be working with a venue and a point of contact that really cares. Elton, the tasting room manager, walked us through tastings and we talked to him for a couple of hours that day. We met the owner John, and it just felt like we were a part of the family already.

    We had both our ceremony and reception at Sanctuary -- a smaller wedding of 75 people. The ceremony was in the field in front of the vineyard, an incredibly picturesque location. The reception space is so romantic with the soft lighting and the wine barrels and tanks, it was everything I had pictured in my mind and more. The vineyard is a family owned farm - so it provided many different locations and scenes for photos.

    Christine and John were awesome to work with - organized but also flexible, laid-back and willing to let us do pretty much whatever we want to do with the space. The space (both inside and outside) was so naturally beautiful- we didn't have to do a lot. The value for this venue is really amazing, it includes tables, chairs, linens, etc. There are no hidden fees or unexpected costs you get at other venues. We brought in our own beer and paid for the wine that was opened during the event. The wines were so good, we actually bought an additional 5 cases to give each of our guests a bottle in their welcome bags to take home with them.

    We really felt like we were a part of the Sanctuary family and cannot thank them enough for making our day so special!

    Sanctuary Vineyards 6
    Sanctuary Vineyards 7
    Sanctuary Vineyards 8
    Sanctuary Vineyards 9
    Sanctuary Vineyards 10
    Sanctuary Vineyards 11
    Sent on 07/28/2019
  • Courtney

    Courtney · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So simple, yet so beautiful!!!

    Sanctuary Vineyards was the absolute perfect fit for my husband and I to have our wedding. It fit our personalities so perfectly from the rustic barrels and lights to the outside reception. Christine, Elton, and the rest of the staff made it so incredibly easy and stress free to plan a wedding from far away. Our wedding had the chance of being inside due to the weather and Christine was there for every step of the way assuring me it could easily be taken inside or set up outside in the drop of a hat. She had a beautiful arbor and doors that we used during the ceremony. I can't rave enough about how easy the process was with them! Gorgeous ceremony space and wonderful areas for pictures. Highly recommend the hayride given the ceremony is a good distance walking wise from the reception space. The tractor driver was phenomenal and accommodating when our photographer asked to stop for photo ops. I can't thank this venue enough for giving us the perfect space for our wedding!!!

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • M

    Michele · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a blast hosting our wedding reception at Sanctuary Vineyards! We had some ideas about using the space in a way that was a little unconventional, and Christine was super receptive to us making it our own. We had around 180 guests, and were able to utilize the barrel room and the covered outdoor area in a way that didn't feel crammed at all. So many of our guests remarked about how unique the vibe of this venue is (and how good the wine was!). It's elegant without being uptight, and it's really not too far of a trek from where most of our family and friends were staying on the beach. It's was also incredibly helpful for some of the vendors to be able to set up the day before - our vendors remarked about how thankful they were for that bonus! Also love the fact that the space is owned and run by a family that's had deep roots in the area for generations - very rad history here! Thanks so much Sanctuary!

    Sanctuary Vineyards 12
    Sent on 07/23/2018
  • D

    David · Married on 11/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After searching for a vineyard that could offer what we needed/wanted for our wedding while also being close to the beach (to match our theme), Sanctuary Vineyards became the clear top choice for us. Christine, Elton, and the other staff were extremely kind and helpful- from always being available to answer any questions in the year of planning beforehand to helping us move the ceremony inside the day before (we originally wanted to have just the reception at the vineyard and do the ceremony on the beach, but cold weather forced us inside). The quality of the ceremony was not diminished (we were even able to move the cross that was going to be on the beach and set it up against the wine barrel backdrop), and they did an amazing job transitioning the space to a reception venue in a short amount of time. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, and they made you feel like family throughout the whole process. I believe that all of our guests would agree that it is a fantastic place to have a wedding.

    Sanctuary Vineyards 13
    Sanctuary Vineyards 14
    Sanctuary Vineyards 15
    Sanctuary Vineyards 16
    Sanctuary Vineyards 17
    Sanctuary Vineyards 18
    Sanctuary Vineyards 19
    Sanctuary Vineyards 20
    Sanctuary Vineyards 21
    Sanctuary Vineyards 22
    Sent on 09/05/2018
  • T

    Tara · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sanctuary Vineyards was an incredible venue for our wedding with the most incredible staff! I cannot do anything but sing their praises here!

    Christine (venue coordinator) was always a pleasure to work with and highly responsive to my questions, thoughts and anything that came to mind (there was a lot of that from me). She was there the day before and day of making sure everything was perfect—from helping us make our reception floor plan vision realized to perfectly ironing table cloths for the tables, no detail was left to the wayside; she was amazing.

    Elton was a wonderful wine host/bartender to all of our guests. He is extremely personable and has a general level of awesomeness that will blow your socks off. Our guests were in the best hands with him. He has been an absolute pleasure to get to know.

    John, the owner, was also there the day before and day of to make sure we were totally happy with the facility and set up. This was completely unexpected and an appreciated touch!

    The venue was perfect for the rustic feel we wanted for our special day. The ceremony, cocktail hour and reception areas were immaculately clean and set up just as we wanted—it was lovely. The venue also provides separate rooms upstairs for the bride and groom to get ready that were spacious, super clean and available as early as I liked the day of.

    Ladies, this venue is perfect. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to hold their wedding.

    Sent on 11/29/2017

    Sanctuary Vineyards's reply:

    Tara, what a beautiful wedding! We are so happy for you and Andy and wish you all the best! Thank you for your great review. Very glad we met your expectations, you deserved nothing but our very best! Here is to you guys, and a long life of married bliss!
  • B

    Britney · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sanctuary Vineyards is the perfect venue for a wedding! We grew up in Currituck and wanted to keep our wedding local. The special events coordinator and entire staff were very flexible, responsive to all our questions and eager to help make our day perfect. I highly recommend this venue to anyone who wants a down to earth wedding with some country, rustic charm!

    Sent on 12/11/2017
  • K

    Kacey · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot express how happy with how our Sanctuary Vineyards wedding turned out this October 2017. Christine, John, and Elton were AMAZING to work with. They were so flexible, and did everything they could to make our day go perfect. They really know what they are doing when it comes to weddings. Christine was very easy to access and her correspondences via email were always very quick and professional. We were able to communicate from a state away to ensure we had everything we needed to make our day exactly what we imagined. From the time we were engaged, we felt nothing but love and acceptance from Elton and John. As we saw them at the winery throughout our year + long engagement, they always welcomed us with open arms, and made us feel like family. On the day of the wedding, it rained, so we had to turn to plan B and move the wedding inside. Let me tell you, I was super bummed, as I was so excited to get married in the beautiful vineyard. But, Christine and her team, along with my wedding planners, were able to make the wine room the most BEAUTIFUL plan B I have ever seen. All my guests couldn't believe that I would want to have the ceremony take place anywhere else but inside the wine room with the barrels as the backdrop. They made the what would have been frantic plan B situation seamless and beautiful. We cannot say enough great things about this winery and their wedding services. Christine and her team are top notch. We would recommend them to anyone and everyone!!

    Sent on 11/14/2017

    Sanctuary Vineyards's reply:

    Kacey, it was a lot of fun working with you two and I am so happy that our plan B worked out so beautifully and that you were so happy with it. All of us at Sanctuary Vineyards wish you a long life of happiness and married Bliss. Thank you for such a nice review. Congratulations!!
    Christine and the Sanctuary Vineyards Crew.
  • S

    Sheryl · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Sanctuary Vineyards! The location is beautiful, the vineyard made the perfect setting for my daughter's wedding ceremony and the winery was magically transformed into a rustic intimate reception complete with lighting and wine barrels! Both John and Christine were wonderful to work with and extremely accomodating and made us feel more like family than customers! Christine answered all of my questions and communicated regularly with me during the planning stages. She worked tirelessly in helping insure that everything was perfect from wine selections to the dance floor. The wedding was beautiful, the reception was fun and I made some new friends in the folks at Sanctuary Vineyards! (Thank you John, Christine & Elton and all the guys who worked so hard in setting up the winery!) For a beautiful, unique, out of the ordinary location Sanctuary Vineyards will not disappoint!

    Sent on 10/11/2017
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The planning process there is a blast. We visited Sanctuary Vineyards for all the events that they hosted, like the Crab Daddy and Curri-Shuck, which were fun and gave us some ideas for how we wanted to set up our big day. When the big day finally came, the weather was risky, so we decided to move the ceremony into the same room where the reception was. IT WAS STUNNING! It was so wonderful and comforting having a back-up option that was just as gorgeous as it would have been to get married in the vineyard. The barrels and tanks make for an intriguingly, beautiful backdrop. Thankfully, after the ceremony, the rain stopped so we were able to take pictures outside. The grounds have extraordinary photography opportunities with the various vineyards, “antique” vehicles attractively overgrown with vines, the charming hay ride, and the rustic barn structures. As we left on our hay ride for pictures, the guests were moved from the ceremony area to the front bar area for cocktail hour while the ceremony was broken down and the reception was set up. Once again, I was amazed by how simply-gorgeous that room could be.
    Everything about Sanctuary Vineyards makes it an ideal place to have a wedding from every individual that works there to the vast picturesque landscape to the delectable wines. We greatly recommend every couple to get married there if they want their big day to be the best day of their lives, like ours was.

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • W

    Will · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his staff at Sanctuary Vineyards are the best at what they do. When my wife and I came in to visit the venue, we needed about 5 minutes before we had decided where we wanted to get married. John does an amazing job of explaining every aspect of how a wedding will go on the day of. He has an answer to almost every question, and when he doesn't, he finds it out for you immediately. John has turned an already great wine business into one of the best wedding venues in the Outer Banks. If you are looking for a venue that provides an excellent inside and outside option, if you are looking for a venue that you will be happy with the day after the wedding, and if you are looking for a wedding venue that friends and family will love, then you should choose Sanctuary Vineyards.

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • L

    Linda · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sanctuary Vineyards is an awesome venue for a wedding. Being from out of state, we were skeptical when our kids decided to have an outdoor ceremony at the end of October at a working winery. When we arrived on Thursday afternoon, we found just that, a working winery with boxes, etc. piled from floor to ceiling in the wine room. We couldn't have been more surprised on Friday when we arrived for rehearsal. The wedding site was transformed from a bare field to an outdoor Sanctuary and many workers were bustling inside to transform the 'wine room' into a fairyland like something out of OZ. Our daughter's wedding was elegant country and Brooke Mayo Photography captured every aspect perfectly. You will not be disappointed with this venue, and if you are lucky enough to book it, don't miss out on having Brooke do your photography!

    Sent on 11/10/2015
  • R

    Rose · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sanctuary Vineyards was the perfect location for our wedding. From day one John was very gracious in providing us tons of information and was happy to answer any and all questions leading up to the event. Not only was he informative, but also not pushy in any way making us decide this venue or any particular vendor.

    A few days before and leading up were seamless. Everyone was open to us providing decor and was helpful in making everything happen as we wanted to. Winery staff and bartenders could not be more helpful and fun day of. The event and ceremony space itself are also very inclusive of almost everything you would need. It was great not having to rent chairs, tables, etc. adding to yet another thing on your to do list.

    The venue is also very beautiful and the perfect backdrop for a wedding. The wine is also delicious and well received amongst the guests!

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and the entire Sanctuary Vineyard team were extremely helpful and a wonderful group of people to work with. The venue is absolutely beautiful and perfect for a wedding that is relaxed, but romantic. We got married outside in the vineyard and the crew did everything to set up/take down the ceremony and transition to the reception. The reception was perfect because the cocktail hour could be in the tasting room and then the actual reception was held where the wine is bottled. The Sanctuary Vineyard team were all easy-going, more than happy to help with anything I asked for, and open to new ideas. John has a lot of knowledge about wedding planning and can give great recommendations about vendors to use and how to set up. It was truly a dream come true and I HIGHLY recommend Sanctuary Vineyard as a wedding venue!

    Sent on 12/17/2015
  • E

    Erika · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John Wright and his entire staff at Sanctuary Vineyards were a pleasure to work with. From the initial start of the wedding planning process they were attentive, easy to work with and seemed truly excited to host our wedding. They catered to all of our needs and desires, went out of their way to make sure every detail was perfect and were always pleasant and professional. I would highly recommend Sanctuary Vineyards as a casual yet elegant venue for weddings and events.

    Sent on 12/18/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely enjoyed everything about the vineyard and our 100% happy that we chose to do our wedding there! John was more than accommodating and helped me with everything that I needed! If you are looking for a great place at a great price look no further than Sanctuary Vineyards!!

    Sent on 12/16/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is gorgeous! The owner John Wright is extremely responsive, accommodating, and was very sensitive to our needs. I could not imagine having my wedding anywhere else. It was perfect in October but I'm sure any time of year!

    Sent on 12/25/2015
  • A

    Amy Hilliker · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I recently had our ceremony and reception at Sanctuary Vineyards and would recommend this venue to anyone planning an event. We worked with John who was very professional and knowledgeable. He was very helpful with planning our event, which was a tremendous help.

    Our ceremony was held in the vineyard itself. The space was breathtaking! The beautiful vines and grapes were enough backdrop that no other decorations were needed. We had so many compliments on the natural beauty. It was evident that the guests enjoyed the atmosphere as much as we did.

    Our reception was held in the winery itself. There are two main spaces, one with a bar area, perfect for cocktail hour, and the other the larger space for dining and dancing. It was very conducive to a wedding reception as the two spaces could remain separate until we were set up for dinner and then the two spaces were opened to one another to create a good flow. The decor has a stylish modern twist that can be transformed to the style of your liking very easily. This was one of the main things that drew my husband and I to this location since many of the places in the area have a heavy beach theme that can be hard to tailor to a different decor.

    As Sanctuary Vineyards is a winery, we served their wine at our event and had RAVE reviews. Some of our guests actually went back the following day to purchase some to take home with them!

    The two bartenders who assisted with our event were extremely nice and a great pleasure to work with. Proving what a great team John has.

    My husband and I can say that choosing Sanctuary Vineyards as our venue was one of the best choices we made for our wedding. We had a spectacular time celebrating there and our guests did as well.

    Sent on 10/14/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sanctuary Vineyards was the PERFECT outdoor location and setting for our wedding!!!! Located in Jarvisburg, NC, the vineyard and Cotton Gin grounds couldn't have been a more perfectly chosen backdrop for what came to be nothing short of a FAIRYTALE. The Wright Family, especially Owner, Tommy and his son, and Winery Operator John Wright. Though ours was one of the first weddings held there ever, the family and their staff has a lot of experience hosting large events through wine tastings, festivals and family events. They couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating with every last request or concern. Our wedding was the first week of October, luckily, with beautiful weather. The vineyards and surrounding fields and gardens were lush and green, but the site is maintained and having grown up in the area, I can tell you that it is beautful and well-maintained year-round. Our ceremony was held on a grassy lawn along one of the vineyards, and rows of fresh, ripe grapes and rows of vines served as the perfect backdrop for our alter. White folding chairs were provided, as well as props and helpful hands of their staff. We chose to hold our reception in a tent on an adjacent lawn, and arrangements were offered for provision of tent, tables and chairs if needed. The newly completed, and fully operational winery is now available for an intimate, indoor option and can be set up to suit any event of this type. John and winery staff served wine at the reception that was grown and produced by Sanctuary Vineyards too, which our guests LOVED!There couldn't have been a better place to hold such a special occasion, and couldn't come more highly recommended. Call John and let him help you to create your DREAM WEDDING!

    Sent on 03/23/2012
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We stocked our own bar for our wedding from this local vineyard and a nearby brewery. They were wonderful throughout, holding two tastings for us and detailing not only the tastes and tones of their wines, but the process of making them and why particular years were better then others. They threw in a TON of extras with our (admittedly very large) order, and were friendly and accommodating throughout. The wines we chose were delicious, and were very popular with our guests. John, the owner, was consistently easy to contact, informative, friendly and helpful.

    Sent on 11/21/2009
  • N

    Nasla · Married on 08/26/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have to say that we were completely satisfied with our choice in Sanctuary Vineyards as our wedding venue! It was everything we hoped it would be. The staff was so friendly and always very responsive when we had any questions.
    It is the perfect Venue for someone looking for a "rustic" wedding. Its a beautiful property with the rawness and realness of the work it takes to run and maintain a vineyard and working winery. The space is unbelievable and doesn't feel stuffy what so ever, the reception space is a lot bigger that what you initially might think so closing the space in a bit helped the party feel more intimate. Its perfect for a small wedding to a rather large. We had about 90 people so it never felt like we lost anyone in the mix. It was the perfect day that we will cherish forever and huge thanks to Sanctuary for all their help!

    Sent on 06/18/2017

    Sanctuary Vineyards's reply:

    Thank you for your nice review! You were a joy to work with and we are so happy we were able to be part of your beautiful day. Congratulations!
  • H

    Hailee · Married on 06/03/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married here and it was fantastic! The staff was great and super accommodating to our needs and helped us every step of the way. Our wedding was in early June and the ONLY problem we had was the reception area does not have air conditioning. It was so, so hot in the warehouse and many of our older family members had to leave after dinner due to the heat. We still had a great day overall! I would do it all over again :)

    Sent on 06/19/2017

    Sanctuary Vineyards's reply:

    Thank you for allowing us to be part of your beautiful day! You were a joy to work with and I am happy that you were pleased despite the very hot day you were handed. Congratulations!!
  • User4767508 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This venue was beyond amazing! It was the perfect location for our rustic wedding! The vineyard is beautiful and the reception location is very laid-back and accommodating! I was able to provide my own choice of catering company, incorporate my own decorations, and even provide my own liquor. The owner, John, is so flexible and will help in any way possible. I highly recommend this venue for any bride who wants a rustic, affordable, outdoor location...the beauty of the vineyard helps make the pictures so beautiful! This was the best venue away from the bustle of the hampton roads area and all of our guests said it was the best wedding location!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • M

    Michele · Married on 09/15/2012

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We used Sanctuary Vineyards for our ceremony and reception site. Leading up the wedding they were amazing about answering emails and open to pretty much anything.

    They are relatively new to holding large events like weddings, so we had a few issues the couple days before the wedding, but in the end it was absolutely beautiful. We were told we could come in and decorate on Thursday, then that changed to Friday and when we arrived on Friday to decorate, the floors in the back room were still being washed and were soaking wet. We ended up having to get everything together in the front room and then come back Saturday morning before our hair/makeup appointments to finish decorating/setting up. Our wedding turned out to be the first wedding of their fall season, so they had to spend a little extra time getting ready.

    They also have a tent so if you wanted to hold the reception outdoors you can. The ceremony was awesome and absolutely beautiful in the vineyard.

    John and Elton really are fantastic and very accommodating. I would recommend Sanctuary to anyone - just make sure you are firm on what you want and when you can start decorating/setting up (especially if you don't have a planner/event decorator to do it for you!).

    Sent on 09/19/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review