San Juan Hills Golf Club Reviews

17 | San Juan Capistrano, CA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for San Juan Hills Golf Club

Recommended by 98%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • A

    Allison L · Married on 11/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SJHGC is the best!

    We couldn't be happier with our choice to get married at SJHGC. We chose this venue for its affordability, flexible menu options, and beautiful location. We had our ceremony on the Greenside Patio & the reception in the Greenview Room. We loved the sunset view during our ceremony & the rustic vibe of the reception room. We chose to have the Mexican buffet and it was a huge hit! Our guests are still talking about it - saying it's the best wedding food they've had! Our guests also loved the s'mores bar by the fire pit.

    Stacey was a joy to work with! She responded quickly to our emails and made sure everything was organized to run smoothly the day of. The staff at SJHGC were attentive, polite, and welcoming to all our guests.

    Sent on 11/28/2018
  • B

    Breana · Married on 02/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding here at San Juan Hills Golf Club this February and everything was simply amazing! The staff is so helpful and kind! Stacey is quick to respond to emails and a great coordinator! The room was spacious and beautiful with large open windows and a patio for our guests to mingle. The food was absolutely delicious! Thank you so much San Juan Hills for making our day run so smoothly.

    Sent on 03/05/2016
  • E

    Erica · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose to have our wedding at San Juan Hills Golf Club. San Juan Hills had so many options for brides and grooms to choose from in planning their wedding, that we really felt like we were able to make it our own. The event was set-up beautifully, the food was great, and the staff was helpful in making sure everything went smoothly. Stacey was very reliable and knowledgeable in the wedding planning process and helped us every step of the way. Would highly recommend this venue to other couples!

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • S

    Stacey · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We not only had our wedding (both ceremony and reception), but also our rehearsal dinner here. Stacey and her team did such an amazing job. Everything went smoothly and we were well taken care of. The food was also delicious, the bar staff interacted and had fun with our guests, and they all provided great service. The venue was beautiful as well, I can't wait to see how all of the pictures turned out. Overall, we would highly recommend this for your wedding venue for a great value too!

    Sent on 07/13/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 12/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great spot for my wedding and the food/drink service was amazing. Our planner Stacey did a great job and overal we're so happy we booked with San Juan Hills Golf Club!

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • C

    Cara · Married on 10/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    San Juan Hills Golf Club was exactly what we were looking for for our wedding venue. We wanted an outdoor wedding with romantic feel. The twinkle lights and dance floor gave us exactly the feel we were going for and worked perfectly with our rustic vintage theme.
    The price was the best we found of all the venues we checked that included catering and tables, chairs and linens.
    Stacey was very easy to work with and dependable, always answering all our questions right away.
    The wedding day went smoothly becuase of all the organization and planning we had done through Stacey.
    We would highly recommend San Juan Hills Club for any large event.

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding!!! All the staff helped where they could and made the night just perfect. Our family and friends couldn't stop gushing about how beautiful the venue was and how good the food was. Stacey, the coordinator, was absolutely wonderful and the wedding wouldn't have been a success without her!! I would recommend this venue to anyone and everyone!!!

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SJH Golf Club is a wonderful venue. We were married outside overlooking the beautiful golf course and hills. The cocktail hour was on the outside patio, and the service was excellent. We had an appetizer table as well as passed hors d'oeuvres. The servers kept everyone's wine glasses full as well as seeing to it that everyone was taken care of. Our reception was inside, and the indoor bar and dance floor were awesome. The venue is perfect because there is so much room for guests to mingle indoors and outside. Stacey and her crew are outstanding! The food was excellent. Our guests raved about the quality, choices, and deliciousness! We have had nothing but positive comments about our wedding. I highly recommend San Juan Hills Golf Club for your wedding reception.

    Sent on 07/04/2013
  • User3181421 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not imagine a more perfect wedding site than San Juan Hills Golf Club. From the beginning of the planning stages to the actual day, Stacey Strausbaugh was so accommodating, helpful, kind, encouraging, friendly, professional, and patient! The venue is magnificent and gorgeous. The San Juan Hills were a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony. Cocktail hour was on the large patio with plenty of room for guests to mingle, and it was perfect for guests to go out to during the indoor reception. Large open sliding doors connect the reception room with the outside patio. The reception room is large and has a nice bar. We had about 100 guests, and with a dance floor and great band, it was awesome! The food was delicious! Our guests were so impressed with all of the offerings for the cocktail hour and dinner, and everyone said it was the best food they ever had at a wedding. The service was exceptional. Our guests were well taken care of and everyone complimented the attentive service. Alex Verbeerst, the service head, was fantastic. He saw to it that all went smoothly and took care of any request immediately. One of the best things about San Juan Hills Golf Club is that it is beautiful and elegant, but yet it is warm, pleasant, and comfortable.

    Sent on 10/16/2013
  • User2666250 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place, great staff and great day

    Sent on 07/12/2013
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 02/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have picked a more perfect venue for our wedding ceremony and reception. The grounds are beautiful and the reception room was the perfect size. Kathy Martino is the ultimate wedding coordinator. She was so responsive to all my questions, needs leading up to the big day and on the day of she kept everyone in line, on schedule and most importantly she kept me calm and relaxed. The food was great, the staff was wonderful and everything came together perfectly.

    Sent on 03/06/2012
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 06/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect wedding!!! The atmosphere was stunning, perfect weather, and everything went off without a single hitch! Melissa, the coordinator at SJH is amazing and so easy to work with! We got married on the 1st hole and had our reception outside. It was breathtaking! The food was AMAZING!!! We had so many compliments on how delicious the food was!! Melissa was so accommodating, let us do pretty much anything, she really made sure everything was in order and went perfectly. It was the best day ever! Oh, and it was a great price too!!!!

    Sent on 09/03/2011
  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/05/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter was married on Oct. 5, 2013 at SJH Golf Club. And I have to tell you it was incredible. Everything was beautiful. the food was amazing, the service was excellent and the entire event went off without a hitch.
    Our coordinator, Stacey was wonderful, taking care of all our needs leading up to the event and the day/evening of the wedding. I can't say enough about Stacey and her staff. This was truely a once in a lifetime event for my daughter, and in her words, "it was Perfecrt"!

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 03/06/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a beautiful venue! We chose the first tee, and our pictures could not have been more beautiful. The scenery in itself makes this venue worth while!

    Positives:
    Staff are courteous and easy to work with, as well as flexible (they allowed us to have a split menu, which was perfect for our guests)
    The food was absolutely delicious! That was one of the most common compliments from our guests.
    The tasting was quick and easy to set up
    There are plenty of options to choose from in terms of food and beverage packages
    Indoor and outdoor options are both beautiful. We chose to have the ceremony and cocktail hour outside. The sun was setting during cocktail hour and the lighting they have set up is magical!
    Indoor for dinner and dancing, the high wood ceilings make everything feel so very grand. The whole wedding just could not have been more perfect.

    Negatives:
    The only negatives were that the bridal waiting room is a little small, and only available a few hours before the ceremony, so we all had to get ready somewhere else and then travel to the venue.

    Sent on 05/03/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/01/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I were looking for wedding venues the only thing we could agree on is we wanted the ceremony outside. When we went to San Juan Hills we fell in love with the view on the first hole for a wedding ceremony sight. We were hooked and decided to have our wedding there. Their old coordinator was not the best with communication but their new coordinator is awesome. She thought of details that we never would have though of and our wedding was just what we envisioned. Everyone complimented us on the food, which was outstanding. For couples on a budget, like we were, this is definitely an affordable option if you still wish to have a nice wedding in Orange County but don't have a six figure budget to work with. The only thing that I thought needed improvement was the wait staff should have poured the champagne for the champagne toast sooner and when we decided to cut the cake the plates should have been already been on the cake table for us. Minor details in what turned out to be a fantastic day.

    Sent on 10/21/2013
  • J

    Joe · Married on 07/20/2013

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Stacy was amazing, such a great venue in San Juan Capistrano, Ca. Best bang for your buck

    Sent on 10/23/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review