Sam Hill Entertainment Reviews

237 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

237 Reviews for Sam Hill Entertainment

Recommended by 98%

237
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

4 User photos

Sam Hill Entertainment 1
Sam Hill Entertainment 2
Sam Hill Entertainment 3
Sam Hill Entertainment 4
Sort by:
  • K

    Kellie · Married on 03/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding/Anna Maria Florida

    After Party Experience was BEYOND fabulous! Thank you!!

  • Rachel

    Rachel Lebedin · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best. Band. Ever.

    I cannot day enough about The New Royals managed by Sam Hill! They were absolutely amazing at our wedding. We never left the dance floor and they are all anyone can talk about post-wedding. I'd recommend them for any event!

  • Olivia

    Olivia and Brian Jungles · Married on 12/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big Beyond Wedding Band

    The Big Beyond was the perfect wedding band! They were so easy to work with and very professional. They have a great song list and even learned two songs that we requested. Everyone was raving about the band and dancing the entire time. I have already had three engaged couples ask for their contact information because they were so incredible. Highly recommend for any event!

  • D

    Deborah Hoffman · Married on 10/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Band Choices

    Working with Sam Hill Entertainment was a great decision for us! We initially inquired about a band and were given a list of bands that fit the genre we were looking for. In the end, we hired Soul Expressions Band and they were incredible! All of our vendors and guests raved about how great they were! It was clear that they were having so much fun performing, and that was infectious as they had almost all of our guests out of their seats and on the dance floor. They honored our song requests without question, and the band manager, Wilbert, was very friendly and easy to work with. We definitely recommend Sam Hill and Soul Expressions!

  • W

    Whitney · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend!

    Andy was awesome to work with and made the booking process seamless. Sam Hill has a variety of bands to choose from and Attraction was absolutely amazing!! We highly recommend!!

  • K

    Katherine Smithwick · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Horizon--Outstanding Showmanship

    Great band and great people. These are incredibly talented musicians that put on a show from start to finish. There were many musicians at my wedding, and all were so impressed with their quality and talent. I LOVE Lawrence, the band manager. He is a sweet heart. You cannot go wrong with this band. They were recommended to me by a friend, who used them at their wedding. They made the night special!

  • M

    Micaela · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ADRIAN DUKE PROJECT - We used Sam Hill to book the Adrian Duke Project to play at our wedding reception in Staunton, VA. The band was fantastic, very professional and consummate musicians. They set the tone during cocktail hour with a nice jazz set and then had the dance floor packed until the last song during the reception. The guests did not want the band to stop (the drummer also had a showstopper performance during last song). Great song selection and easy to work with. Highly recommend. Sam Hill was also great, very communicative and helpful.

  • C

    Catherine · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Lucky Pocket Band through Sam Hill and had a blast! They were so much fun & everybody was pretty much on the dance floor constantly. Mike was great to work with at Sam Hill.

  • A

    Ann · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I heard The Retreat Band play at a wedding the year before I got married and knew that I wanted them to play at my wedding. They are all exceptional musicians and singers and are able to play a wide array of music. They played at my ceremony, the cocktail hour, and reception. They are very experienced and seemed to truly enjoy performing with each other! I highly recommend The Retreat Band!
    The staff at Sam Hill Entertainment were so easy to work with and were great at communicating the details in emails!

  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The New Royals made our wedding night!

    We booked The New Royals for our 9.15.2018 wedding and it was honestly the best decision that we made. We continue to have SO many compliments and they were able to accommodate everything we had requested, and then do even more. Leading up to the big day, Ryan was so amazing to work with and helped us figure out everything from speaker issues to the wiring. We loved every minute of our planning process and they made it so easy. Not only was this band just absolutely talented beyond belief, but they dealt with an unruly guest that kept wanting to jump upstage like absolute pros. Everybody danced the entire night away and all of the pictures show that the dance floor was completely full until the sparkler exit. Many of our engaged friends keep asking who the band was and we happily keep referring The New Royals to everybody. They went so above and beyond what we could have ever dreamed of and we are so grateful for them making our wedding day complete! :)

  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrew was beyond helpful with the booking process and our multiple questions. We ended up booking Blue Tips Rhythm Revue for our wedding, and they were incredible. The dance floor was full the entire time they were playing. Our guests have still not stopped talking about how good they were. They went above and beyond, even learning and playing some Talking Heads at our request. We highly recommend working with Sam Hill to book your wedding band!

  • C

    Claire · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the band DC Fusion from Sam Hill Entertainment. On the business side, they were extremely professional. It was easy to pay them, they were clear about what information they needed and by what time (first dance music, names, etc.), and always communicated with me with questions. I was able to choose from a long list of songs for the reception and was able to request some new songs as well. When they arrived at the venue, they installed their equipment very quickly.

    Business aside, the important thing with a band is their ability to play music. DC Fusion was AMAZING. The main singer has a beautiful voice. We had everyone on the dance floor. The sax player came and danced with us during one of the upbeat songs. I had two people in my wedding party who went to music conservatories for college, and they were impressed by the musicality of the band.

    It was very low stress working with them because DC fusion is professional. They made the wedding reception very fun!

  • S

    Shelby · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I cannot recommend Dance Candy enough. We, as well as our guests, were blown away by their talent, professionalism, and friendliness. They had the dance floor packed all night and absolutely made our wedding that much more special and fun with their entertaining sets.

    Additionally, Sam Hill Entertainment was wonderful to work with and made the process of hiring the perfect wedding band stress-free.

  • H

    Heather · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of our favorite details from our recent wedding was our band, The 1st Generation Band, and their management company Sam Hill Entertainment. We really wanted a Mo-Town heavy band that included a few brass instruments. Sam Hill Entertainment helped led us to The 1st Generation Band and we could not have been happier with our selection! The 1st Generation band played an amazing selection of Mo-Town with current hits, keeping the energy of the crowd going until the very end of the evening. We also had a few requests - to learn our first dance song, father/daughter dance song and mother/son dance song. Each song came from a completely different genre but were performed absolutely perfectly. The band definitely went above and beyond, interacting with our crowd, and even surprising me at the end of our wedding ceremony by popping up and playing horns during "All You Need Is Love" a la 'Love Actually'. All in all, it was an absolute delight working with Sam Hill Entertainment and the 1st Generation Band. Their performance and talent were easily some of our favorite details from our wedding day!

  • Y

    Yang · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andy from Sam Hill Entertainment made the entire process super easy! We loved working with them and we're so happy we booked The Significant Others for our wedding.

  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Sam Hill Entertainment (Ben) & Blue Tips Rhythm Review was absolutely perfect. Hiring a live band was one of my non-negotiables, and I am so thrilled that we did it. Our guests were RAVING about the music!!! The band knew all of our requested songs, played great sets and read the vibe of the room, and did an amazing job keeping everyone on their feet all night. What a great time!!!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend working with these guys! They were very helpful in piecing together recommendations for us based on our budget, genre, and overall vibe we were targeting. We ended up hiring E3 and they were a blast! Andy had a phone call with us a few weeks before the wedding and gave me some reassurance as to how the introduction and dances would work. We shared with him that we were taking dance lessons for our first dance and he was able to piece together a shortened track of our song so that we could practice it beforehand. Our guests were on the dance floor all night and everyone had a blast!

  • R

    Ruth · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booked The Significant Others through Sam Hill Entertainment. They were AWESOME! High energy, professional, prompt and responsive. The new song they learned just for the wedding was on point. Several of our guests commented that they were the best wedding band they had ever seen! Dance floor stayed full all night.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Mo' Sol (a band through Sam Hill) and they were fabulous. We originally heard them at a friend's wedding two years ago and knew we wanted them. They know how to get a party going and keep it going. Their energy and musicality are contagious.

  • Nathalie

    Nathalie · Married on 02/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Affirmative Groove for our February wedding and my goodness they are hands-down the best wedding band I have ever seen! They kept the seats empty all night long and made the wedding such a fun experience for our family and friends. Hire Affirmative Groove and don't shop around. They are worth every penny!

    Sam Hill Entertainment 5
  • A

    Axelle · Married on 02/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked The Lone Rangers and people are still talking about how awesome they were! I was dancing all night long--literally did not leave the dance floor. The played only the songs I wanted and communicated well. They did all announcements, had no trouble with pronunciations, the band leader was a pleasure to talk to, Sam Hill itself has a great staff that connected us with the perfect band, is flexible with payment (check came a bit late and they were completely fine!), and most importantly they were prompt and I didn't have to worry about a thing! If you are looking for that "it" factor to take your wedding to the next level you should hire a band--and Sam Hill is the place to go. Thanks!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team at Sam Hill Entertainment were so easy to work with and made it a breeze to hire and communicate with our band, the Radio Narks. We booked the Radio Narks after seeing them at a friend's wedding - we had a blast dancing to their set and knew we had to book them for our reception! They are willing to learn a song for your first dance - I was blown away by their cover of the Beatles song we chose for ours. They play a mix of music genres: classic rock, 80's & 90's rock and alternative, and 2000's pop. Great set for getting a party going!

  • K

    Kaleigh · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't begin to describe how amazing the band Horizon was at our wedding reception!! Our guests are still raving about them and many actually commented that they thought they were the best band they had heard at any wedding reception. We loved them and the dance floor was packed all night long! Their song selection was the best and their energy incredible! The band leader, Lawrence was so easy to work with and we genuinely felt he wanted us to have the best reception ever! Choosing the right band was our number one priority from the very beginning. Undoubtedly, we made the very best decision hiring Horizon through Sam Hill Entertainment!! Andy Jaspen at Sam Hill was so helpful in the entire process of making this decision and was always available to answer questions and offer suggestions. A great person to work with! We made the right choice and are so happy we did!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 10/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We went back and forth for months on finding a band for our wedding. We didn't have time to go see any in person but Sam Hill listened to our needs and budget and recommended Dance Candy. We LOVED them! We had a packed dance floor for the full night and our family and friends are still raving about how great our band was. We were so happy with booked them. Our wedding was mostly 30 - 60 crowd (we are about 30 ourselves) and everyone had a great time.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review