Saltwater Farm Vineyard Reviews

26 | Stonington, CT
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Saltwater Farm Vineyard

Recommended by 95%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.8

3 User photos

Saltwater Farm Vineyard 1
Saltwater Farm Vineyard 2
Saltwater Farm Vineyard 3
Sort by:
  • Yael

    Yael · Married on 08/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding a venue was one of the most stressful parts of planning our wedding. We visited way too many places, but upon walking into Saltwater Farm Vineyard, we both just knew this is where our perfect day needed to take place. It's pure magic. I'm fascinated by the history of the property and didn't let any opportunity slip to let people know we were getting married on a vineyard that used to be a WW2-era airport. We visited several times leading up to the big day and everyone there treated us like family. Merrily and her team are a well-oiled machine and took care of every little detail to make our wedding the best it could possibly be, including giving us what we heard was a stellar babysitting recommendation and ordering sandwiches and snacks for the bridal suite day-of. I loved watching our guests frolic through the vines to take pictures during our cocktail hour, and though I've only seen 2 of our own photos so far, I know those are going to be fantastic with this venue as the background. I really hope someone we know chooses to get married there so that we have an excuse to go back and do it all again!

    Sent on 10/10/2018
    Saltwater Farm Vineyard 4
    Saltwater Farm Vineyard 5
    Saltwater Farm Vineyard 6
  • M

    Mimi · Married on 10/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You cannot make a better venue choice than Saltwater Farm Vineyard for your wedding. It is truly a magical place. From the first time we pulled into the driveway, I knew we were in good hands. I am not the girl that’s been planning her wedding her entire life and was a bit overwhelmed at the thought of selecting a venue that was not a typical banquet hall. I immediately fell in love with this place and Michael and Merrily’s enthusiasm for the vineyard and their couples made selecting Saltwater an easy choice.


    These guys are consistently booked every weekend during wedding season but always made us feel like we were their only wedding couple! And it’s not just the owners, but the entire staff treated us like we were family throughout the entire planning process. They’re all experts in wedding planning and their preferred vendor list was a lifesaver.

    We had planned to have our ceremony inside but heavy rain forced us to have it indoors. Even inside, the ceremony was beautiful and so many of our guests commented on what a spectacular place it was! The on-site bridal suite was absolutely perfect and it was so nice to have an on-site place to get ready the morning of. I cannot say enough good things about this place. We truly feel like we gained a family this year in the entire gang at Saltwater!

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot put into words how amazing our experience was getting married here last week. This venue is simply breathtaking, the staff and owners are remarkable to work with, and their preferred vendors are the best in the business (we are so grateful to have chosen: Gourmet Galley Catering; Jennifer Bach Photography; Dean Rocha Films Videography; Adams Garden of Eden; Deluxe Entertainment; Chaz Zezulka/Justice of the Peace; You Take The Cake, LLC; and Kathryn W. Salon). Now we cannot wait to go back as a married couple, to happily reminisce, and to rejoice in the beautiful surroundings with their delicious wine! -Lindsey & Phavixai

    Sent on 08/23/2017
  • K

    kristen · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our July 2017 wedding at Saltwater Farm Wedding. From the moment we first visited we were blown away by the friendliness and responsiveness of the entire staff. Whether we were dropping by for a glass of wine or coming in to look at something one more time, they were always welcoming and made us feel like their most special couple - they make planning so easy and low stress and were always willing to work with us to make our day exactly what we wanted.

    The actual wedding day was perfect. The staff was professional and organized. The space was beautiful. Our guests loved all the different spaces - the amazing views, gorgeous deck, fun upstairs bar, tented cocktail hour. This venue has something for everyone and was the perfect size, vibe, and choice for our wedding. WE LOVED IT and are so happy we chose Saltwater Farm.

    Wedding Details:
    -160 people, outdoor ceremony, tented cocktail hour (in case of rain), indoor reception, DJ

    Sent on 08/09/2017
  • E

    Erica · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were absolutely delighted with our Saltwater experience. We chose the venue nearly 18 months ahead of our June 2017 wedding & from the start, the owners and staff were beyond informative and helpful in providing us with information to aid our decision-making, as well as during our planning. The Vineyard is extremely accomodating and the staff aims to provide impeccable service during an event. Overall, we were extremely grateful for such a professional group of people, and such a stunning location. Would highly recommend this location to anyone considering & would recommend working with owners Merrily & Mike anytime.

    Sent on 09/04/2017
  • User5591143 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is gorgeous, people are awesome and welcoming! The bridal suite is stunning!

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am the mother of the bride. My husband and I had visited SWFV many times when it was opened to the public as we live close by. We had never been to a Wedding there. We always loved the setting of the vineyard with the water views and especially the look and flow of the converted airport hanger. Let me first say that it was a "stretch" for us to pay the venue fee...however I will tell you now that it is worth every Penney!!! After hosting our daughters Wedding there two weeks ago I have to say there is NO BETTER VENUE to host a wedding. We did hair and make-up off site and arrived to use the beautiful Bridal suite on the 2nd level to get dressed with plenty of time for a catered lunch, champagne, dancing, photos. The views from this room our spectacular!! A trolley picked us up and took us to Church in Mystic for the Wedding mass. We did not have the ceremony on site so we were able to start the reception/celebration right at 4:00pm. SWFV provided a setting that was absolutely magical!!! Having the tent for the outside cocktail hour and the two levels inside with AC, porches, and spectacular views simply provided us to have the wedding of our daughter's dream!!! Kudos to Michael, Merrily and the friendly staff that provide a venue that is like no other. We have amazing memories that will be with us for a lifetime!! I highly recommend this venue...good luck getting a date as they book up very quickly!

    Sent on 08/13/2016
  • M

    Marie · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We didn't choose Saltwater Farm, it chose us. We weren't engaged during our first visit, but we had talked about marriage. The first time we walked into the venue, we both had the same reaction- this was the location we'd have our wedding. That day, we had an impromptu meeting with owner Michael, who took the time to show us around the venue, including the beautiful bridal suite and stunning outdoor ceremony area. When we returned from our engagement trip, one of the first things we did was reach out to set up a formal appt. We met with Michael’s wife, owner Merrily, shortly thereafter. Merrily was wonderful to work with from beginning to end. We never once so much as considered another venue. We planned our wedding around SWFV’s availability. Having been recently featured on the Today Show and in various local and national publications, interest in SWFV is very high. Saltwater Farm was the perfect blend of sophistication and understated elegance. We were very fortunate to have had the wedding fall on a perfect day in September (9.19.15)- the vineyard was a stunning backdrop for our ceremony in front of the lush green vines. Everything flowed seamlessly from ceremony, to cocktail hour, right through to the reception. The bridal suite was a perfect spot to get ready and to escape for a moment to freshen up throughout the night. It became evident during our many visits to SWFV throughout our 2 year long engagement, that the staff is much more - it is a family and couples who are married there are welcomed into that family. We were lucky to meet Daly Sanford, a SWFV staff member who is also a wedding planner, during one of our initial visits. We ended up working with Daly and she was a tremendous help throughout the foreign process of planning a wedding and absolutely invaluable on the day of our wedding. We’re very proud and grateful to be part of the SWFV family and look forward to celebrating many occasions in this idyllic location for years to come.

    Sent on 10/01/2015
  • M

    maria · Married on 09/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew as soon as we walked into Saltwater Farm that we wanted to have our wedding there. Merrily & Michael are wonderful to work with - we can't wait for our wedding!!!

    Sent on 05/29/2015
  • User4122577 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we began planning our wedding, we decided that our biggest priorities would be the venue, the food and the band. Always the planner, I put together an extensive list of venues to visit throughout Connecticut and New York. Saltwater Farm happened to be the first on our list. We walked the stunning grounds and had an incredible meeting with Merrily. When we got back into the car I took out my list and my husband turned to me and said, we don’t need to visit anywhere else and I couldn’t have agreed more! We both instantly fell in love with SFV! I could endlessly gush about how beautiful the vineyards are or how rustic yet intimate the reception was, but chances are if you are reading this you already know about all of that. What you might not know about, is the exceptional service provided by Merrily, Michael and the entire SFV staff from the second we walked in the door that first day. Merrily was my guiding light throughout the entire wedding planning process. She helped us choose our vendors, answered my incessant questions and calmed my nerves. Every time we visited in the intervening year and a half, we were treated like family. On our wedding day Michael and Merrily checked in with us before and after making sure they didn’t miss a thing. We could not have chosen and better place or better people to host the most magical day of our lives. We look forward to many anniversaries spent at SFV.

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • A

    Abby · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing Saltwater Farm Vineyard as our venue was the best decision we could have made! Everyone at the vineyard is extremely nice and helpful. The relationship that they have established with many local vendors made the process that much easier. The venue itself was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone who is looking to get married at a vineyard!

    Sent on 10/20/2014
  • C

    Carly · Married on 09/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was just held here on September 5, and I could not have picked a better venue. It was love at first site, a year ago. Amazing, beautiful, and so unique! Merrily and Michael, the owners, were so accommodating and wanted to make sure our day was everything we imagined (and it was!!). So many guests complimented the venue and the wine, let's not forget the wine! I plan to come back for wine tastings in the future, for sure.

    Sent on 09/11/2014
  • User4070740 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my husband and I went to see Saltwater Farm Vineyard, we were sold. The grounds are stunning, the indoor reception space is gorgeous, and the staff is incredible. We booked the vineyard for our wedding on the spot.
    The best part of the vineyard is Merrily and Michael, the owners. Every email leading up to the wedding was answered within 5 minutes and the answer was always "yes, let's make that happen." They are so kind and they love what do. And they just wanted us to enjoy our day. Well, we really did. We had the most perfect wedding start to finish. We owe so much of that to Saltwater Farm Vineyard.
    Thank you Merrily, Michael, and the rest of the staff for giving us the best day ever!

    Sent on 04/29/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After seeing Saltwater Farm Vineyard, I could not stop dreaming about my perfect wedding, and knew it had to be at Saltwater Farm. It is the most simplistically beautiful venue with a picturesque vineyard, and classy interior. The bridal party prepared in the perfect bridal suite overlooking the vines, we had our ceremony in the Vineyard and our reception inside the converted airplane hangar. Owners Merrily and Michael are incredibly accommodating, and they take pride in providing a high-end wedding venue without crystals and chandeliers and the bling of nearby venues. We needed minimal decor to create the perfect setting for our reception.
    The pricing was slightly higher than other locations that we saw, but we were happy to pay a little more since it meant we could have the entire location for the afternoon through the night. Merrily, Michael and Paul were all available on the day of our wedding to make sure everything went smoothly.
    There was a small accident in the parking lot when our bus hit one of the guests cars, and Michael had handled it quietly with the bus driver and car owner before any of the guests or the wedding party had to even think about it! Merrily has great suggestions for local vendors, and their preferred caterers are all incredible. We went with Gourmet Galley, but surely would have been pleased with A Thyme to Cook, or Coastal Gourmet. Merrily is a wealth of wedding knowledge that she has collected through the years, and she and Michael are such warm and wonderful people.
    We had 142 guests, and felt that even though they can accommodate more, we had the perfect amount of people to avoid crowding. We did have guests sitting in the upstairs lofted area.
    We could not be more pleased with every aspect of Saltwater Farm.

    Sent on 05/06/2014
  • User2064148 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with Saltwater from the moment we saw the pictures online and when we saw it in person we knew it was the right place for our wedding. The vineyards provides the perfect backdrop for a wedding and they have thought of everything to make the venue perfectly conducive for events. Merrily was a pleasure to work with and it was evident that she truly cared about all of her wedding couples. Her care and concern for our special day and her responsiveness to our numerous emails and calls made us feel very secure throughout the planning process. Merrily and the staff at Saltwater were very flexible and worked with us in every way to be sure our day went exactly as planned. Paul was always a pleasure to see during our visits to the vineyard and was there bright and early to greet us when we arrived on our special day ready to help in anyway possible.

    Saltwater Farm Vineyards is the perfect location for a wedding or special event and a wonderful place to visit even when your day is over. Thank you to the entire staff for being such an integral part of our day!!!

    Sent on 10/23/2012
  • J

    Jean · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for a non-traditional venue that would connect us with the outdoors and provide a unique setting - with space to move around in. When we visited Saltwate Farm Vineyard we fell in love with it. The setting on the marsh is beautiful. The renovated building provides everything you need for your special day...not to mention great wine! The owners are very nice and personable and very commited to making your day special.

    Sent on 05/08/2012
  • B

    bonnie · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Saltwater Farm Vineyard was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding not just because of the beautiful setting but because of the incredibly competent and caring...and cool...owners, Merrily and Michael Connery. Annie and Uri's wedding took place the weekend of hurricane/tropical storm Irene, and thanks to them the wedding- including the outdoor ceremony thanks to Michael- took place as if there was not a care in the world. And, this happened despite the fact that Groton Long Point where we live was under an emergency evacuation as was much of coastal Stonington. Without reservation I rate them five star plus! We also served their wine, which was very well received.
    Sincerely,
    Bonnie Castellani

    Sent on 10/10/2011
  • C

    Craig · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked at several potential venue sites and just fell in love with Saltwater Farms. It is a unique and amazing place for a wedding. The owners were very accommodating and easy to work with.

    Sent on 05/13/2010
  • A

    Adrianna · Married on 05/20/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall: Saltwater was an unbelievable venue for our wedding and we were absolutely thrilled with our experience from top to bottom.
    The Venue: SWF speaks for itself. The property is beautiful and well-maintained, the patio and 'runway' provide an incredibly welcoming atmosphere and the scenery can't be beat. As beautiful as the outside is, the inside is what will sell you. The beautiful dark wood and winery equipment create an unbelievable space fit for an incredible party.
    Owners/Staff: Merrily, Michael and their staff were wonderful to work with throughout the process, truly making you feel a part of the family. Anytime we had a question, concern or procedural step to get done Merrily was responsive and helpful. As the first decision we made in the planning process, the SWF team was critical to all the pieces coming together and they were understanding top to bottom as our plan evolved. The vendors they suggested helped us ensure quality across the board and their knowledge of the options across the Stonington/Mystic wedding community was beyond helpful as we made our decisions.
    Ceremony: We had our ceremony on site and couldn't be happier with it. We used their platform and two wine barrels as opposed to the trellis but you honestly can't go wrong. If you're looking for a venue for an on-site ceremony, I'm not sure you could find a better one than SWF... With the ceremony between the vines, cocktail hour on the patio and the reception indoors it made for a perfect venue.
    Flexibility: The one thing to know about SWF, and they are extremely upfront about this when you inquire, is that they are a functioning business with extremely high standards and policies. The vendor list can be narrow, as they only work with proven vendors they know will respect the venue. While this meant the vendors were of the highest quality, it also meant they didn't come at bargain prices. In no way did this take away from our experience, but something to know going in.

    Sent on 06/02/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/03/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although pricey, having Saltwater Farm Vineyard as the place for a wedding and reception is worth every single penny. All of our guests were stunned at the beauty of the vineyard, as well as by the wonderful people who work there. Saltwater Farm Vineyard creates the fairytale wedding that every girl dreams of!

    Sent on 08/12/2013
  • User4232250 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't imagine having a better experience with our wedding venue as we had as Saltwater Farms Vineyard. Merrily and team there are simply amazing. They were so great throughout the planning process, offering advice from houses we could rent for my family during the wedding week to day of logistics. The property is absolutely stunning and makes for the most beautiful pictures! (Tip - make sure to book a photographer who is familiar with the venue, lighting inside can be tricky!). Another bonus at SFV is that you don't need to use their wine, like many other vineyards require! Love, Love, Love Saltwater Farms Vineyard!

    Sent on 11/17/2015
  • T

    Toni · Married on 05/26/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I loved the venue space from the first time we stepped inside. The converted hanger is rustic with modern touches, simple, and elegant. And the landscape with the vineyards, river, and osprey nests is beautiful. The owners are very kind and responsive to questions and concerns. Even though they hold many weddings there, they make you feel special and acknowledge how significant of a day it is. Oh yes, and the wine is fantastic!

    Sent on 06/11/2013
  • User5029012 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Saltwater Farm Vineyard a few weeks ago, and it was absolutely gorgeous. The staff there on the day of the event was very helpful, and we were beyond happy to be celebrating our wedding in such a gorgeous location. We were able to enjoy having the firepit out on the patio for the evening hours, and several guests took advantage of the gorgeous walk out to the water. We are so thankful to the vineyard for allowing us to have our wedding celebrations at SWFV.

    Sent on 04/29/2015
  • A

    Alison · Married on 07/15/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The entire team at Saltwater helped to make our wedding day wonderful. From our initial visit at the vineyard to our wedding day they were always eager to answer our questions and help us with whatever came up!

    Sent on 08/05/2017
  • B

    brent · Married on 06/24/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This venue is simply beautiful. A ceremony in the vines is visually stunning and great for pictures. The refurbished airplane hanger is a stunning spot for a reception. Perfect for about 100 people.

    Sent on 07/14/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review