Skip to main content
Weddings

Salt City Sound Machine Reviews

Salt City Sound Machine

Salt City Sound Machine

Syracuse, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 87 Reviews
View more information

87 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 87
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

3 User photos

  • C Gillett
    C Gillett Married on 07/17/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional attention to detail

    Jason was an amazing DJ for our wedding. Being that my family has Caribbean roots, Jason had a tall order to fill to mix reggae, soca and punta into his playlist. He did an exceptional job. He even went above and beyond and did his own research. Because of Jason's professionalism and care, both of our cultures were incorporated in our wedding and everyone had a blast. My family is still messaging me about how amazing the DJ was, and wondered how he knew what hits to play from our culture.

    Beyond the music playlist, Jason did a great job of making our day special. We met a few times to discuss aspects of the wedding. I honestly felt like his attention to detail made him serve partially as a wedding planner as well. Jason was always attentive and professional.

    Jason was helpful and organized which helped make our wedding day run smoothly and perfect. His presence and expertise really helped to make our wedding perfect. Thanks so much Jason!
  • Shay
    Shay Married on 04/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and Organized

    Everything you want a DJ to be. He made sure we stuck to the timeline of our wedding, very inventive and funny. Highly recommend his services, he was so nice and made our special that much more amazing
  • S
    Samantha B. Married on 02/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best disk jockey you’ll ever have!

    I can’t say enough about how amazing Jason at Salt City Sound Machine is! He was the funniest and most soulfulness officiant and the most energetic personable disk jockey ever! He truly captured the ears of the entire wedding, got the entire crowd all pumped up, got every foot on the dance floor and even punked our son during the “shots” song and he absolutely LOVED it! Everyone there was laughing, dancing, and celebrating all because of Jason’s awesome personality that he brings with him! Thank you again for truly everything and more we hope our wedding night would be! 🎉🎉🎉
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Zach
    Zach C. Married on 01/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent, stress free

    We hired Salt City Sound Machine for our wedding in September 2020. Jason was excellent, provided us with advice and options however respected our final decision. Planning a wedding during a pandemic.. it was a breath of fresh air for Jason to allow us to make our own choices and support them. We appreciated him sitting down with us to go over the entire schedule and was very flexible with us changing our wedding venue. On the day of the wedding, Jason was calm, cool, and collected which was great because weddings can be very stressful! He never looked frazzled and facilitated the schedule, making changes when necessary. We would absolutely recommend Salt City Sound Machine for any event.
  • A
    Amelia A. Married on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best DJ ever!

    I can’t say enough good things about Jason with salt city sound! He made our wedding feel personal and not just another wedding he had to do. To say he went above and beyond is and understatement. He even sent us a CD with all our ceremonial songs and first dances! He matched our music vibe perfectly and had us on the dance floor all night! If your looking for a DJ this is your guy!
  • K
    Kayleigh B. Married on 10/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ

    Jason did an awesome job being the dj for our wedding. He was easy going and always responded quickly. Our guests loved his sense of humor and ability to make everyone dance. Definitely recommend!
  • Raquel
    Raquel P. Married on 10/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jason was incredible on the big day! Book him you won't regret it.

    I can't say enough about Jason! He is not just an awesome DJ, he is an awesome guy! Jason made our big day even more special. He was punctual and had great communication throughout. Jason helped keep things running smoothly on our big day. He kept everyone dancing throughout the entire night. He also helped with other random odd ends throughout the day too. Thank you Jason for everything! We had no worries on our big day and it is because of him!
  • C
    Caroline G. Married on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great music, great party, great DJ!

    We were absolutely thrilled with how awesome of a DJ/MC Jason was! He had great music for pre-ceremony, he was on cue for everyone walking down the aisle and had an amazing tiny microphone for our ceremony/vows that allowed everyone to hear us (200+ people outside) without holding a mic! He supplied cocktail hour music when needed (we also had live music during this time) and really got the crowd hyped and excited for our intros! He was on point for speech intros and first dances and keep our dance floor PACKED all night with music we both love and we are picky! He felt the crowd for good moments for cake cutting and bouquet toss checking in with us as well, so it flowed nicely. He let my (now husband) sing for the crowd after a guest request and generally all around was SO fun and flexible and wonderful to work with!! If you want a DJ/MC that brings the party, is fun, keeps your guests dancing all night, is not cheesy, genuinely nice and wants you to have a great time do not hesitate to book Jason! From our initial call, to meeting in person, to wedding day he was prompt, helpful and you can tell he is a pro and the best at what he does. Plus he sent us a sweet gift after which was so thoughtful and meaningful to us. Don't let this vendor book your date with someone else, reach out to Jason asap!
  • G
    G Leo Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The J in DJ should stand for Jason

    Jason from Salt City Sound Machine is one of the best in the business. He has fantastic energy and from your first interaction with him he will put you at ease. He is professional, quick to respond and was incredibly flexible and understanding in dealing with all the covid changes and regulations. He brought energy and excitement to our wedding and kept our family and friends on the dance floor all night long. If you are looking for a great DJ with a personal touch you want to book with Salt City Sound Machine.
  • A
    Abby T. Married on 08/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    100% recommend, again & again!

    We recently hired Jason for our August wedding, and we truly only have GREAT things to say about Jason & his DJ services! From our initial phone call to our sit down meeting prior to the event, Jason made the planning process so easy and was always super quick & responsive with any questions or changes (even my week of changes!). He provided the sound for our ceremony, and was there early and made sure everything was perfect! We provided a small list of song requests for our reception, but every additional song he played we LOVED and the flow of the night was perfectly executed. We 100% recommend Jason with SCSM!
  • Meghan
    Meghan B. Married on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We loved our DJ!

    Jason with Salt City Sound Machine was amazing, start to finish. He is an absolute pro and a blast to work with.

    He knows what works at weddings and what doesn't and he steered us in the right direction when we met prior to our big day. He listened to our ideas and made them a reality.

    He worked wonderfully with our other vendors, which was vital.

    A tiny anecdote: my 5 year old nephew got very nervous seconds before we were doing our wedding party announcements at the reception. It was go-time and my nephew was going to be announced with his parents who were also in my wedding party, but he froze at the last second. Jason swooped in and talked my nephew into being his "co-DJ", giving him some noise-cancelling headphones and inviting him to "help" announce the rest of us. He saved the day!

    10/10 would recommend!
  • Molly
    Molly N. Married on 07/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ and Party!!

    I cannot say enough nice things about working with Jason/ Salt City Sound Machine! When looking for a DJ I was not sure where to start, some friends recommended Salt City Sound Machine and I am beyond happy we booked him! Jason did a fantastic job warming up the crowd and keeping the party going all night! I will 100% recommend Salt City Sound Machine for anyone looking for a DJ!
  • Felicity
    Felicity Married on 06/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ!!

    We had Jason dj at our wedding this past weekend after postponing due to covid. He was super flexible when working with us to find a new date.
    Jason is responsive, helpful, funny, and made our day amazing! He helped everything run smoothly by working with our coordinator and made sure we had everything we needed during our day (even carried the long train of my dress for me so I wouldn't get it dirty and he even gave a personal speech/toast for us).
    Jason goes above and beyond and we absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ who reads the crowd and gets everyone up and dancing! Thank you so much Jason, you are the best!
  • C
    Carley W. Married on 08/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience!

    We had a great experience with Jason from Salt City Sound Machine! He was very responsive & accommodating to all of our needs & last minute changes due to covid! Would highly recommend
  • Erin
    Erin G. Married on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nothing but professional

    Unfortunately due to the Coronavirus. Salt City will not be able to be our MC/DJ on the day of our wedding. I was really bummed, because Jason has been so professional. I would highly recommend Jason for his professionalism. The entire time we were planning our wedding Jason would answer all my emails. He was super knowledgeable about songs and had a great planning sheet that really helped us make tough choices. Jason--- I'm sorry we couldn't continue working together, but wanted you to know that we really valued the time you spent helping us plan.
  • Lauren
    Lauren C. Married on 01/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    What a Night!

    We met with Jason for an initial interview and he was upfront about everything! He’s a good guy that wants to make your day special without overcharging. He didn’t flinch when we had to make some last minute changes and kept the party going with a great set list. He also made sure to give us a heads up when a song we requested was coming up to make sure we got the chance to dance. If I did the whole day again, I’d stick with Salt City Sound Machine without a doubt!!
  • Ashley
    Ashley W. Married on 11/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love scsm!

    Jason at SCSM is absolutely wonderful! From our first conversation with him, we knew we made the right choice; he was kind and responsive and anticipated any possible question we could have had. Later, we had a phone call with him about 1 month before the wedding as we live out of the area now, and he helped us prepare the timeline for the wedding evening and reviewed our music selections. He appreciated our musical taste and the vibe we wanted to create to both represent us as a couple as well as entertain our guests all evening. The dance floor was alive from the moment dinner ended ’til the lights went on 3+ hours later, playing a wide range of music for our wide range of guests. He very obviously adhered to our requests (even some pop punk for us!) as well as our do-not-plays, so we never had to worry. He made everyone laugh without trying to steal the show throughout the night, gave my nervous sister (MOH) a pep talk before her speech, and just generally made us feel comfortable and taken care of all evening. Not only did he rock it as our DJ, but he officiated for us as well for a very reasonable additional fee, which saved us the hassle of also finding an officiant. We wanted a short and sweet ceremony, and he delivered exactly that, while simultaneously nailing the ceremony music. Afterward, he took care of tracking down signatures and sending in the license. During and after, our wedding guests gave us so much positive feedback on Jason! He’s so professional, personable, and just all-around excellent at what he does. Cannot recommend him enough! Thank you, Jason!
  • M
    Morgan M. Married on 09/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best decision we made!

    Jason was incredible and went above and beyond to make sure that our day was exactly what we wanted. The best choices we made for our wedding were to have Jason officiate and DJ. Thank you Jason!!
  • Jamie
    Jamie P. Married on 09/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    If SCSM isn't your wedding DJ, you're doing it wrong...

    My husband and I could not be more grateful we hired Jason as our wedding DJ. He is AMAZING!!! He isn't any ole' DJ that hits "play" on a playlist and sits back all night- he will engage your guests and make CERTAIN they're enjoying themselves. There is no such thing as a lame wedding with Jason as your DJ. My husband and I received countless compliments about Jason both at the wedding and after- he's THAT good. It's extremely apparent Jason cares about his clients and does everything he can to make their day unforgettable, and he did just that for my husband and I. 1000 times, thank you Jason! Cannot recommend Salt City Sound Machine enough!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing DJ

    Jason is the best. Got the crowd going with introductions and kept the crowd dancing and partying all night at our wedding. Was very easy to work with and had a great personality to go along with his DJ skills!
  • T
    Traci L. Married on 09/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect! Can’t get any better than him!!

    My daughter chose salt city for her outdoor wedding. I officiated the ceremony he provided me with a mic (I hadn’t planned for one cause I’m naturally loud) it’s a good thing he did! I loved the do not play list!!
    He kept our guests extremely happy upbeat on the dance floor all night! He was great!!
  • Anna
    Anna Married on 09/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Didn’t miss a beat

    We are so happy we chose Salt City Sound Machine to DJ our wedding. We met with Jason twice before the wedding, once to meet and sign the contract and then again one month before the wedding. He really understood what type of music we like and had everyone on the dance floor. He also did the sound and music for our ceremony and cocktail hour, which was perfect. He was very easy to work with and had no problem fitting in our last minute changes. Highly recommend!!!
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 08/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding!

    Jason was phenomenal at our wedding! Our guests were on the dance floor all night and we loved all the songs he chose. Jason was available to us throughout the entire planning process which was great. We couldn't have been happier with our DJ choice!
  • K
    Katrina Married on 08/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    August Wedding

    Jason was very helpful in helping us plan our wedding. We had no idea what we wanted as for music. I had a few ideas and questions and he was flexible and encouraging! He made the night-of flow so smoothly, was attentive (quickly played a song that the maid of honor mentioned in her speech), and was receptive of everything we asked of him. I would highly recommend Jason for any event!
  • B
    Becky Married on 08/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fun filled night

    Jason was amazing! Everyone was saying at the end of the night that there feet hurt, because they were dancing so much. Jason is fun DJ too. He will get out on the dance floor and dance with people or have people sing into the microphone. His one of the best DJs I ever seen.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message