Weddings

Salishan Resort Reviews

Salishan Resort

Salishan Resort

Gleneden Beach, OR
Rating 4.5 out of 5, 14 Reviews
View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 14

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • Sarah
    Sarah G. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All in one, ocean and forest location!

    We loved having our wedding at Salishan! The people who helped organize and plan our wedding were kind and responsive to my many many questions. Great food, relaxing location - everything was there for our guests to enjoy. And the photos we got from the grounds are breathtaking. If you book here, consider contacting Joshua Rainey Photography - he is experienced and knows the grounds exceptionally well! For reference, we got married at The Grove location at Salishan, with our reception in their Long House. They let us photograph in their wine cellar too, that was fantastic!

    Salishan Resort's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words! We truly enjoyed being a part of your special day! Be sure to come back and see us for your anniversary!
  • K
    Kristeen G. Married on 07/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just Beyond Outstanding...

    I cannot say enough about Lauren and Salishan as a whole. But especially Lauren. The wedding industry is stressful and expensive, but Lauren somehow has a way of making her brides and grooms feel like family.... totally valued and cared for. Salishan is beautiful and such a wondrous place, but Lauren has made it to where we want to come back again and again and again. 2021 brides... look no further, please! And my sincerest thank you to Salishan for all that you’ve done and continue to do! P.s. If you ever have a question about your wedding, I feel like Salishan anticipated it and reaches out to YOU before you even get the chance to. Just outstanding communication and service.

    Salishan Resort's reply:

    Kristeen- Thank you for the kind words! It truly means a lot to me and Salishan. I wish you all the happiness in the world to you and Brandon! Look forward to seeing you soon!
  • G
    Geneva Married on 07/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were awesome! Angus was very nice- he answered all of our questions and tried to make sure everything went perfectly
  • C
    Carlee Married on 06/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I would do it all over again! I was planning a destination wedding from Phoenix and knew I needed a venue/vendors that would be very responsive. These guys were THE BEST! Angus will help with anything and everything. He responds same day (as long as it's a work day) and always gives detailed answers and explanations. He will also help in any way. I ordered my flowers from costco and he brought me garden shears and set me all up to be able to trim them myself. The staff was extremely friendly and our day went off without a hitch. Thank you!

    Salishan Resort's reply:

    Thank you Carlee! You and your family were an absolute delight to work with!
    I am so glad you chose Salishan for your wedding venue... and I wish you both many, many years of happiness to come! Hopefully we will see you again sometime...maybe an anniversary trip up here in the future!
    Best Wishes,
    Angus
  • User1046047 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We went on our honeymoon at Salishan Resort on a stormy weekend in November but the storm did not stop us from loving our stay! The rooms were cozy and lodge-like, the restaurants were elegant and delicious, and the spa was SO RELAXING! We enjoyed much need massages and relaxed in the hot tubs.
  • User946856 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Maggie Conrad was a pure delight to work with. Prompt, flexible, and always a smile on her face!
    The catering manager was a pro! She was very flexable when the schedule ran long due to photos and toasts, and quick with recovery and solutions.
    The front desk receptionist with shirt blonde hair (Kim?) was very kind and prompt as well. She was a beacon of joy in contrast to the dark long haired receptionist. The dark day shift receptionist was very rude and off putting to the guests of the wedding and myself.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 09/04/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Salishan is a perfect location for a wedding. We had an intimate affair; a champagne reception in the wine cellar and a wedding dinner in the adjacent board room. And after dinner drinks on the private deck with a fire pit. The chef did an awesome job, everything was prepared perfectly. Jim Murphy, sales and catering, was so patient and provided every detail for me. I live in Colorado and Ken lives in Alaska so everything was done over the internet, sight un seen.
    Salishan resort is rustic and elegant. The rooms are beautiful, our guests were impressed. Ken and his friends golfed, I went to the Spa two days with different friends.
    One thing that really impressed us was that so many employees knew we were the bride and groom and greeted us warmly.
    If you ask for something to be done, it will. The professionalism is outstanding.
  • S
    Susan Married on 07/17/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The 5 bridesmaids (my 2 daughters and my husband's 3 daughters) and I had our makeup done by Tanya at Salishan Spa. Our makeup was beautiful and we had so much fun with Tanya. Our photographer took photos at Salishan before we headed to our wedding venue at Inn at Otter Crest. It was such a fun bonding experience for the 5 girls and I.
  • User919308 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff at Salishan was very accommodating and went above and beyond. They were very open to suggestions, and provided us with plenty of information to plan the best event possible. Maggie Conrad was a great asset in planning, even when corresponding over long distance. She was prompt in responding to emails, and when we asked for things the hotel did not have, she went to her house and brought these items to us! On behalf of my husband and myself, a huge thanks to the Salishan staff! Thank you for being so friendly and accommodating.
  • H
    Hannah Married on 08/17/2018
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We had our wedding at Sailshan Resort Aug. 2018. I worked with Veronica J. who was super helpful. She helped me plan everything, and was super responsive though the whole process. She made just about everything we wanted, happen. They helped set up the beach ceremony, and provided the bridal party with transportation to and from the beach. I was really nervous about finding good food out at the beach, because I am kinda a Portland food snob, but Salishan did a really great job with the food. We ate their Salmon potlatch, steamers and beef, with salad and veggies, it was all delicious and the guest seemed to love it too! Some of the gardens around Salishan could use some love, but for the most part they keeps their grounds natural and beautiful. If you are looking for a large space on the beach to host a wedding, this is a great option. I was able to get married on the beach, and have the reception in a nice space that had both indoor and outdoor entertaining areas. Make sure to ask for Veronica, she was really key to the whole process happening smoothly.
    Thanks Salishan!
  • E
    Erika Married on 09/02/2012
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Catering and Sales manager was great. Very helpful and attentive to our needs.
    The food could be a little better for what we paid, but the wine cellar provided a great atmosphere for our event.
    Wait staff was also very prompt and on the ball.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 08/02/2008
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Salishan is a beautiful venue for a ceremony and reception. With recent remodels and an addition of an intimate outdoor wedding space capable of seating up to 200 guests in a nestled forest setting within the resort, it was the perfect combination of woodsy and rustic on the Oregon Coast. Guest rooms have been recently remodeled and provide lodging for out of town guests on-site which is a huge convenience. We had our ceremony outside on a beautiful sunny day in the Glen, a cocktail hour on the patio outside of the reception hall, and the reception inside the "Long House" reception and conference room. Salishan also provided the food and drinks for the day. The main courses we offered were Roasted Salmon, Grilled Beef Tenderloin, and Stuffed Smoked Peppers. . . All delicious! The staff was helpfull at setting up the night before the big day, and I am sure the resort would have done more of the set up of decorations, centerpeices, etc. if I had asked. However, I am such a control freak that I wanted to do it all myself! My only complaint throughout the entire process is that the resort went through 3 diiferent wedding/event planners on staff while I was trying to organize the event. This was frustrating at times, but everything came together wonderfully at the end.
  • Cathy
    Cathy A. Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great venue - what I wish I had known

    We worked with Veronica who was wonderful throughout the planning process. There were just a couple of things I wish I had known to ask beforehand.

    First, I would have asked about the number of servers they would have on hand during our reception. In my opinion they needed more. We had a buffet which started later than planned and it took too long for things to be refilled. As a result, all but those who entered the buffet at the beginning found at least one empty platter. Also, the plan for cake cutting was that the bride and groom would do their cake cutting, then the servers would move the cake to a dessert station and perform the rest of the cutting, placing pieces on plates for our guests to pick up. The servers put out the plates, but then forgot to cut the cake. After about 20 minutes, we had to ask for that to be done. Veronica had been so great during the planning process that I expected that she would be watching the clock and the servers and make sure that everything happened according to our plan. That didn't happen. In hindsight, I should have asked someone else to keep tabs on the timing.

    The other thing I didn't understand was the options for the bar. We had a 4 hour reception and chose the full bar (where they charge by the drink) rather than the hourly bar which would have been $49/person for the 4 hours. It was a costly mistake! She told me after the fact that it's typical for guests to consume 2 drinks per hour. If I were to do it again, I would definitely choose the hourly bar.

    Many of our guests stayed at Salishan and they all enjoyed it. I heard from several that the rooms were comfortable and spacious and the service was great.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    This venue is beyond aggravating to deal with! They are NOT timely in their communication and are over priced for the area. Venue is beautiful but there is plenty of other beauty surrounding the area. Save yourself the headache and keep looking!