Skip to main content
Weddings

Saint Thomas Preservation Hall Reviews

Saint Thomas Preservation Hall

Saint Thomas Preservation Hall

Wilmington, NC
4.7 out of 5 rating, 61 Reviews
View more information

61 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

61
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

25 User photos

  • J
    John C. Married on 06/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    True Gem in downtown Wilmington! Excellent venue and staff!

    Attended a wedding on 6/18/22 at St. Thomas Preservation Hall and was completely blown away by the staff and service! 5 stars all the way around.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 03/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An absolute gem in historic Wilmington

    St. Thomas was the location of our ceremony and reception in March 2022 and we are so thrilled that we found St. Thomas and began our forever there! Truly, it is one of the best kept secrets in Wilmington. STPH is so unique in comparison to other venues in the area and their value and service is unmatched. Our day was absolutely perfect in every way!
  • Chloe
    Chloe L. Married on 11/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Most Beautiful Place

    You will not regret choosing St. Thomas! This venue is absolutely stunning as our wedding was on a Sunday afternoon in November. Off season is affordable! They have a catering package and provide wonderful hours. The staff is so sweet and great to work with! Would 100% choose St. Thomas again.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Shayanne
    Shayanne W. Married on 10/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect & beautiful

    we had Kerri as our day of coordinator, & she was AMAZING. I did not have to worry or stress at all on my wedding day. She took care of everything, was diligent & so so nice! St. Thomas is absolutely beautiful when the sun peaks through the stain glass windows. It was everything we could have imagined & more.
  • A
    Alexis H. Married on 07/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue and Wedding Coordinator

    I cannot recommend Saint Thomas enough! This venue was incredibly beautiful! The rental time was longer than any other venue that we looked at. We were able to get ready at the venue, so I was about to see the set up before everyone arrived which put me at ease and made me feel very comfortable in there. My bridesmaids and I essentially spent the entire day at the venue. The tables and chairs came with the rental as well. The staff was accommodating and very helpful. We used the coordinator, Kayla, who works directly for the venue. She helped out so much and our wedding would not have been possible without her!

    Saint Thomas Preservation Hall's reply:

    You're so sweet! Thank you so much Alexis! I was honored to be a part of your wedding day.

    Thank you,
    Kayla
  • S
    Samantha Married on 12/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely perfect

    Poppy is wonderful and the day wouldn't have been nearly as beautiful without her!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 12/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Natural Beauty

    STPH was amazing. The exposed brick and natural beauty of this venue is priceless. We did not have to decorate much as the venue is so gorgeous all on its own. The space is available for both the ceremony and reception which made it easy for guests. My bride also had a suite to get ready in. It is also convenient to downtown Wilmington and walking distance to bars, restaurants, and the river. Our coordinator, Poppy was so helpful and offered so many creative ideas for us to utilize. She made sure our day was perfect. I will never forget this day and the beauty of this building. I highly recommend.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 08/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Saint Thomas Preservation Hall is beautiful. Heather and Poppy were extremely help and always available to answers any questions I had. It was great being able to have both the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception at the same location and all of it inside. Even though there was a wedding on Saturday, we were able to go in on Friday afternoon and have a rehearsal. On my wedding day, I needed something, we called Heather and she took care of it immediately, even on her day off. Great venue and Great staff.
  • B
    Betty Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Saint Thomas is an absolutely beautiful venue! Even better, you can have ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception in one place. The bridal party can even get ready there if you wish. It is a great value. So many of my guests complimented my choice of venue. They loved the old brick and stain glass windows. There was a downpour of rain on my wedding day and we had to do pictures inside. I have no doubt they will turn out beautiful because the backdrop is beautiful. Heather was our day of coordinator. She has an answer for any question you might have and some you didn't know you had! I highly recommend hiring her as your day-of-coordinator!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 04/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What an absolutely beautiful place to have a wedding!! St. Thomas preservation hall was the perfect place for us... not only is the building gorgeous, but the staff is great, and the location is unbeatable! I hired Heather as our day of coordinator and she made sure everything ran smoothly and had the room looking fantastic the whole night! She was a joy to work with, and knows the space well so is able to answer any questions or concerns you have! Heather was also very accommodating when I asked to take photos at the City Club and asked to have the cocktail hour outside on the driveway... she made both things happen without batting an eye! The only downside to the venue is that the bathrooms are down a flight of stairs but other than that, we could not have asked for a better place to say "I do!" Thank you so much for everything!!
  • P
    Pamela Married on 03/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Saint Thomas is one of the most beautiful venues in town! The exposed brick and location make it a perfect place to have the most romantic ceremony, and fun reception. We didn't have to worry about the weather being an issue because we hosted everything inside, even the cocktail hour on the bottom floor. And it is also sooo convenient; we walked around for pictures, we went to a bar after the reception was over, we went to have dinner after the rehearsal, and we did everything walking because everything is so close! The Saint Thomas crew is amazing, Heather answered all of our questions and helped with the flip (transform the ceremony space into the reception in an hour can be nerve wracking but they have lots of experience!) We are happy and very thankful, and wouldn't choose another venue for our special and perfect day! Thomas and Pamela.
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 11/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Saint Thomas is a gorgeous venue, inside and out. Heather is beyond amazing! From start to finish of planning and throughout the wedding she was very knowledgeable, helpful, organized, and lifted so much off our shoulders in terms of the day of. I highly recommend her services if utilizing Saint Thomas. Poppy, all of the staff, and bartenders were fantastic as well. I couldn't have asked for a better day and people to work with!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wonderful venue!! Very little needed to dress this place up! Beautiful brick inside along with 2 alcoves (needs flowers). The wedding coordinator (Heather) was a joy to work with! She knows her stuff! And was able to make sure everything ran smoothly! Highly recommend paying for the on day coordinator service as they work there and know the most about the venue.
  • H
    Holli Married on 08/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Saint Thomas was the perfect venue for my wedding! I always wanted to get married in a church, so Saint Thomas had the church feel without going through all the red tape of being a member of the church, religion, etc. The brick and stained glass windows are gorgeous! Since most of my guests were from out of town, having the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all in one location was indispensable! I even got ready there too! I used Heather as my day-of coordinator and she was responsive, organized, and ensured the day ran smoothly! Saint Thomas is a truly unique venue that you can make your own!
  • W
    Whitney Married on 05/27/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The team at Saint Thomas Preservation Hall is truly one of a kind. The venue is absolutely stunning. It's location was perfect-two blocks from the river walk and in the center of downtown provided our guests with the opportunity to explore Wilmington. We worked closely with Heather, the coordinator. I could not recommend her day-of coordination services enough. She took care of EVERYTHING (plus some) and the day flowed effortlessly as a result. Her eye for detail and decor made our day more beautiful than I could have ever dreamed! If you are looking for catering for your event at Saint Thomas Preservation Hall, I highly recommend The City Club; our guests could not stop talking about how amazing the food was!!
  • Samantha
    Samantha Married on 04/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Heather and Poppy are amazing.
  • T
    Teresa Married on 03/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I don't believe if I can thank the staff enough, for how much I am in love with how well my wedding went. People always ask you what went wrong and I can say thanks to Heather working as my coordinator I do not know of any hiccups that happened. The venue was stunning, they switched the space flawlessly from ceremony and reception, and the staff was impeccable. My husband and I keep saying we wish we could do it again for how well everything went and would highly recommend this venue and staff for any event! Thank you soooo much to the amazing staff for an unforgettable day.
  • E
    Erin Married on 02/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    St. Thomas Preservation Hall is one of the most beautiful venues in downtown Wilmington! I would highly recommend it! As soon as we stepped foot inside the main hall to tour the venue, we knew immediately that we wanted to have our wedding reception there! My favorite aspects of the venue were the tall stained glass windows and exposed brick - it is absolutely beautiful. Pictures cannot do it justice. I also liked the fact that the venue has a separate downstairs space where we could have the cocktail hour before everyone made their way upstairs to the main hall for dinner. The staff that work at St. Thomas are also fantastic! They were very responsive and accommodating to my specific requests. I highly recommend this venue. Go see it for yourself!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 02/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you can get the space for you wedding i would jump on it!!! I shopped around and nothing beats the space, the time you get, the location, and most of all the cost. the whole experience was great from the time i met with poppy to the big day itself.
  • A
    Amber Married on 10/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A must!!!! This venue is gorgeous and they left me with nothing to do on my end for the day of. They had everything set up just the way I wanted and it comes with tables and chairs. They allowed me to view the space multiple times throughout my engagement when I was planning. They are very helpful and respond very quickly to emails. I love this venue and would use it all over again. The bridal suite is so gorgeous and gave me and my girls the perfect spot to get ready.
  • User2687464 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was an amazing venue. Absolutely perfect.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 10/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Saint Thomas was an absolutely stunning venue for my daughter's wedding! It was great being able to have the ceremony and reception there. There's a large room downstairs where the guests can mingle for cocktails and horsdoeuvres after the ceremony while the staff prepare for the reception. Heather, our day coordinator was awesome and made sure everything ran smoothly from start to finish!

    Saint Thomas Preservation Hall's reply:

    Thank you for letting us be a part of Megan and Micah's special day! Such a beautiful wedding and we wish them all the best!
  • J
    Julie Married on 09/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    STPH was the venue for our reception and the "back-up plan" for our ceremony in case it rained and we couldn't have our ceremony on the beach. Unfortunately, it rained and rained, and we ended up needing our back-up plan, but we could not have had a better place for that. Although we had already decorated for the reception the morning of, we made a last minute call to switch the ceremony to the reception hall, a phone call to the management and some of my family and friends pulling together, they created the most beautiful ceremony I have ever seen. Tears flowed down my face as I walked in for the ceremony with my dad, and saw my groom along with family & friends. The former church was absolutely gorgeous. We did little to decorate, as I wanted to keep things simple and affordable - plus it's gorgeous already. We did splurge on the Edison lights from High Performance Lighting in Wilmington - who I highly recommend! They were the icing on the cake. The management switched over just after we booked, but all communication went smoothly, our contract was honored, and everything went perfect. All emails and phone calls were answered quickly, even the day of with the last minute switch. The access code worked great when we arrived the morning of to decorate, and it was clear it was freshly cleaned. We had a Sunday wedding so street parking was free, and the lack of parking was not an issue for us. 1 of the reasons we booked this venue was so we could have our own caterer and provide our own alcohol - which saved us a ton of money. The only drawback was you can't get in to decorate until the morning of, but we had an army of women who pulled together and decorating took us less than an hour because the STPH staff already had all tables and chairs set up the way we had requested. Everything about this venue was perfect! No one was disappointed the beach wedding had been cancelled because they were blown away by the beauty of STPH. Grateful & Loved everything about it!

    Saint Thomas Preservation Hall's reply:

    Congratulations to you and Adam and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your wedding! Thank you for your kind words and it was a pleasure having you!

    Best Wishes!
    Heather Evans
  • L
    Leah Married on 05/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely stunning and staff was great. Everything went great! The staff were great to work with as well (planning wise).
  • M
    Macy Married on 09/20/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Having our reception at Saint Thomas was like entering a beautiful dream. The historic look of the wood floors, huge brick walls, and giant stained glass windows made this venue romance heaven. Besides the tables and a few areas of decoration, there is not much needed here - the venue speaks for itself. What you pay for the time you receive is truly unbeatable, and on top of that they provide the chairs and tables! It was a great size for our 100 guests - incredibly intimate, which providing a large amount of space. Saint Thomas was more than we could have ever asked for. The Staff was also incredible - everything was set up the way we wanted, and they were so helpful and attentive through the planning process. HIGHLY recommend!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message