Royal Icings Reviews

98 | Westfield, MA
See photos, pricing and details

98 Reviews for Royal Icings

Recommended by 98%

98
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Hanley Forest of Royal Icings is the first person ever to bake a cake that my now-husband actually LOVED! She also took my crazy idea about a Cadbury creme egg cake and ran with it, creating a whimsical work of art that my guests are still raving about. Royal Icings is in a class by itself!

  • C

    Chantel · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so in love with our cake from Royal Icings. Susan is AMAZING! We asked for a semi-naked cake decorated with florals and peg cake toppers and she knocked the design out of the park. Her prices were great. And (most importantly) the cake was moist and delicious! The frosting was so good!!! One of our guests actually told us that he had been to a lot of weddings and this is the only slice of wedding cake he's actually ever enjoyed. Thank you so much for making such a wonderful cake for us! :)

  • K

    Krista · Married on 01/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was awesome to deal with, not only was she friendly and easy to talk to about design and flavors but she understood our visions and helped us get to our dream cake. Our cake not only looked amazing but it tasted amazing too. When we first met Susan she came prepared with the flavors we picked out to try and they were all so good it was hard to make a decision but we are glad we went with the Almond cake and Almond frosting it was out of this world. I would highly recommend Royal Icings not only for a beautiful cake that tastes great but because Susan is great to work with and helps you design the cake of your dreams.

  • M

    Marie Cecile · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is the best. Our wedding cake was so yummy! Our guests were amazed of how moist and excellen our wedding cake was! I highly recommend royal icings for your wedding and birthday cake! You won't regret it!
    Thank you Susan,
    Marie-Cecile and Tyler

  • A

    ashley · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is a talented professional who communicates promptly. She takes your ideas into account while using her own expertise. Her cakes are as beautiful as they are delicious, and they come in a variety of flavors, fillings, and styles. She is worth every cent! Thank you, Susan, for being apart of our big day!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Susan and Royal Icings was literally PERFECT! I highly recommend her for any cake/cupcake needs that you may have. We are not able to do a tasting due to the distance from our home to the venue, so I solely relied on reviews and my phone conversations with Susan to bring our wedding cupcake vision to life. Every conversation I had with Susan was wonderful! She cared so much about making our day special and unique and was fabulous with sending us updates and following up on details. Now the most important part--the cupcakes tasted AMAZING. I ordered double the amount of cupcakes as our guest count, and every single one of them was gone before the night was over. At one point, I caught a crowd of people literally hovered over the cupcake table in the middle of the party swooning over how good they tasted. The only thing I would have done differently, was that I would have ordered more! :)

    Sent on 09/30/2016

    Royal Icings's reply:

    Wow! Thank you so very much Nikki for your outstanding review! It was an absolute pleasure working with you from afar on your special day, and I'm thrilled everyone loved the cuppies! Best wishes for a lifetime of love and happiness! :) Susan
  • Chelsea

    Chelsea · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is amazing! She is a creative genius, and her cakes are beautiful and delicious. Our wedding cake was even better than we imagined. She is also incredibly easy to talk to and her bright personality made the whole experience that much better. Highly highly recommend!
    Chelsea & Kyle

  • C

    Caroline · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan's cakes are incredible.

  • T

    Tricia · Married on 08/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Look no further, Susan of Royal Icings is the one you need to make your wedding cake. Not only does she have a wonderful personality but her attention to detail, responsiveness and professionalism is the best. We needed gluten free and regular cake so we went with cupcakes and a cake topper. People who ate both could not tell the difference, moist, delicious and beautiful!! The cupcakes were amazing!!! I highly recommend Susan/Royal Icings!!!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place with great prices.

  • M

    Marissa · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was amazing to work with. She is so kind and really listened to what my husband and I wanted. We got so many compliments on our cake. The look was perfect but the taste was incredible :)

  • User2385477 · event on: 04/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan from Royal Icings is making the cupcakes for my best friends wedding, so when planning her shower I immediately thought to have Susan make the shower cake. She was so great to work with, had great ideas, and was very professional! She was even texting me pictures of the cake as she was making it! She really did an awesome job! Everyone loved the cake at the shower and now is anxiously waiting for the wedding to see her cupcakes!

  • S

    Stephen · Married on 06/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Royal Icings. Susan is awesome! The cake she made for my bride and I looked stunning. We were truly amazed at how beautiful it was. And, of course, it tasted great too! The whole process with Susan was great - from the first time we met with her to taste samples, to our email conversations where we exchanged design ideas and pictures, to the finished result delivered on wedding day (06/24/16).

  • K

    Kristy · Married on 07/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was so detail oriented. The cake was absolutely perfect from looks to taste. I could not imagine a more perfect wedding cake!

  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Was Great to deal with, The cake came was beautiful and tasted amazing. Highly Recommended

  • User3730339 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was such a pleasure to work with. Planning my wedding in MA while living in Florida could have been complicated but working with vendors such as Susan made the planning seamless. Susan was able to meet us on short notice for a tasting while we were in town, her cakes are not only beautiful but delicious too! We had our cake planned and the design set and she even offered an additional beautiful design to make our cake a perfect fall themed cake. The maple cake with maple and the lemon with raspberry were the flavors we went with and they were delicious! Thank you again Susan and I would recommend Royal Icings for any event!

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was great!! More than I could have ever asked for! I bake a lot and had planned on making my own wedding cake. I planned on using my mom's recipe, as she passed away when I was little. My family had advised that I may be taking on too much, but I was incredibly hesitant to give my mom's recipe to anyone. Susan reassured me that she would do all she could to make it taste just like my mom's, and she did a phenomenal job!! It was outstanding! Would highly recommend Susan!!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Forest of Royal Icings is the nicest person you could meet, she will try and make any of your ideas come to life. But that is not all, she is an artist and she makes cakes that are so amazingly beautiful it's hard to believe it. And still that is not all, they are so moist and tasty and the favors are subtle yet strong enough for you to truly enjoy them to their fullest. You cannot go wrong having your cake made by her. She is very professional but also very friendly and warm. I cannot say enough for her, she has made our special day so much the more special by giving us the gift of edible art.

  • B

    Bri · Married on 08/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I are pretty perfectionistic and also wanted a cake that was unique and representative of 'us'. Royal Icings was the perfect choice for us in making our wedding cake, from start to finish.

    We chose to consult with Susan initially due to her consistent ability to make the frosting on her cakes amazingly smooth. Her attention to detail was incredible and her care that she put in appearance was evident.

    When we met with her, we had some basic ideas of what we might want. She was easy to engage with and easily explored what our interests and vision might possibly be. During our conversation, I drew out a design and it ended up being a great brainstorming session; she truly heard us and allowed our vision to be represented. We were impressed with the flavors of the samples and loved that she made her jams (that she used for fillings) herself!

    Our cake involved applying lavender and rosemary that we provided to Royal Icings. Susan was engaged in ensuring she would have the materials she needed, open to our questions about aesthetics, and was creative in how to use the herbs effectively for the most beautiful presentation.

    On the day of the wedding, she executed our design wonderfully. It was exactly as we had envisioned (she even had the original drawing with her as a guide). Our guests LOVED how it looked and we received many compliments on the taste.

    There is nothing we would have wanted differently in our experience with Royal Icings (Susan). Her attention to detail, natural ability, clear communication, authenticity, and humor all made our experience the best we would have hoped. We highly recommend her.

  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan of Royal Icings is professional, easy to work with and made the planning for our wedding cake long distance, effortless. After tasting the samples she put together we knew we made the right choice. The tasting presentation was awesome. The flavors were amazing; I wish we could have picked them all because they were just that good. On our flight home from our planning my then fiancé said “I wish I had some of that wedding cake now, I can’t wait to have it on our wedding day” Designing the cake was easy. I had a few pictures but no exact idea of what I wanted; with Susan’s expertise she was able to provide suggestions and ideas that were of great help in deciding the design of our wedding cake. She did not push anything on us; every element was completely up to us. Susan has such great confidence and knowledge in her product, I happily welcomed her input.Susan is very organized. She wrote down every detail we discussed at the tasting, went over each and every one with us and executed them precisely on our wedding day.The wedding cake was amazing. It was so fresh, moist and flavorful, just like the samples if not better. It was so beautiful. Each and every point we discussed, every element of design was there; she did not miss a thing.Our wedding was two days before my husband’s birthday. We had a rehearsal dinner with our wedding party and our out of town guests that consisted mostly of his friends and family. As a surprise I wanted to get him a birthday cake. I called Susan. She was so accommodating. She made another amazing cake at the same time she was busy making our wedding cake. Kudos to Susan again, she executed it flawlessly (both day’s birthday and wedding). We had some family members with gluten issues so I ordered the birthday cake gluten free, it was as amazing as our wedding cake (our wedding cake was not gluten free)Chose Royal Icings for your event you will not go wrong. She takes pride in her work down to every detail possible and it shows.

  • L

    Leslie · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish, Susan was the best! She was so easy to work with and listened carefully to what we wanted. The cake not only looked gorgeous, it was delicious!!! We'd recommend the chocolate fudge filling...yum! We were so happy with our cake and so were all of our guests! Thank you so much Susan, you are an amazing person! All the best!
    -Devon and Leslie McDonough

  • User4132635 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was great to work with for our Forest Park wedding. We were very happy with how beautiful and delicious our red velvet with buttercream frosting wedding cake was. She set-up our cake so beautifully for our reception. I had a very specific picture of what I wanted, and she could create it perfectly. I am originally from the Boston area and wasn't familiar with local bakers, so I relied on a recommendation from our caterer. The quality and taste was on par with a very famous Boston area European style bakery that my family has used before so I was so VERY happy to find Royal Icings locally in Western Mass for our wedding. She cares a lot about the work that she does, and I would definitely recommend her to friends and family.

  • D

    Dorothy · Married on 02/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was a joy to work with. We did not have a lot of time to plan the wedding. We came to her with our design ideas and she loved them and made it happen. Everyone at the wedding commented how wonderful the cupcakes were. It was very hard to freeze the rest of the "anniversary cake" we wanted to eat it all now.

  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 01/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was recommended by Rebecca, owner of Forget Me Not Flowers, Northampton, MA to call Susan of Royal Icings to do a speciality cake. I cannot believe what a terrific job she did for my son's and future daughter in law wedding rehearsal dinner. Since I live in California all of my conversation was either by phone or email. Susan listens very well, and called if there were any questions. We decided on doing a Candy Apple Cake with 30 plus small ones for our guest. The cake looked like a candy apply with the caramel, a green leaf and a stick in the middle. The cake (yellow) was moist and the filling was delicious (raspberry mousse). She delivered the cake on time. I would you use her again if we have another function in Northampton.

  • C

    Cassie · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was amazing through the entire wedding cake process, from our tasting and flavor selection to the final product. Susan was always available via phone or email to discuss our cake and was knowledgable and friendly. Our cake was beautiful and delicious! We loved it and so did our guests! Any bride would be lucky to have Susan make their cake!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review