Romance Etc. Reviews

23 | Long Beach, CA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Romance Etc.

Recommended by 91%

23

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.7

10 User photos

Romance Etc. 1
Romance Etc. 2
Romance Etc. 3
Romance Etc. 4
Romance Etc. 5
Romance Etc. 6
Romance Etc. 7
+ 4
Sort by:
  • D

    Deeya · Married on 12/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So happy with our experience!!!

    Deb was amazing to work with! I sent her a few pictures of florals/greenery that I liked, we chatted a few times to make sure we were on the same page, and from there I knew that I was in good hands and trusted Deb to do what she does. I was not disappointed. Her attention to detail is undeniable, as she was putting together my bridal bouquet she realized that some of the flowers just weren't looking right/fresh and made a stunning suggestion that I absolutely loved (and never would have thought of)! As for our reception, when I walked into our reception room it took my breathe away -- everyone loved the large palms and banana leaves that we had as centerpieces. There was no end to the compliments we received, most of all how people never thought greenery could be such beautiful centerpieces for a wedding! Her prices are fair and her work is BEAUTIFUL! You will not be disappointed trusting Deb with your floral/greenery for any event!!

    Sent on 01/21/2019
  • J

    Joleen · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah Fay is on point! She knew what I want after I showed her the save the date card. She also knew that my dress was lace like a psychic - she has that much experience! We discussed ideas for a Fall morning wedding and she took my Pinterest ideas and blew me away with her talent. Some of the center pieces are still holding up after 2 weeks! the succulents have been replanted by some of my guests and they are so happy to have her work in their homes after the event. The shop Romance Etc is also a place to visit - they have really nice gifts and decor that would add lots of beauty for your wedding and home (or bridal party gifts!) * all my photos are taken by guests... my professional photos arrive in a few weeks.

    Sent on 10/26/2017
    Romance Etc. 8
    Romance Etc. 9
    Romance Etc. 10
    Romance Etc. 11
    Romance Etc. 12
    Romance Etc. 13
    Romance Etc. 14
    Romance Etc. 15
    Romance Etc. 16
    Romance Etc. 17
  • J

    Jason · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did our wedding at the Aquarium and our wedding planner Linda connected us with these guys....and they did a great job! We went over SEVERAL versions of our table centerpieces, and they just adjusted to our changes and odd requests each time. Everything showed up perfect and hassle free - you could not ask for more from a wedding florist! Highly recommended.

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • T

    tatiana · Married on 09/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Deb so much! She did the flowers for our wedding and everything turned out amazing. She was so detailed oriented and really cared about how I envisioned the day. She really helped me achieve the theme I wanted. We needed bright colors because my husband is an islander but I also didn't want to have a tropical wedding. She executed my vision perfectly! She supplied all the vases, candle holders and lanterns. She also gave us very detailed price quotes which I appreciated very much. She worked with me to reduce the price without losing the overall feel of the wedding. She even did a table preview for me so I could see how everything would look with our linens. She also has a great personality and is super fun to work with!

    Sent on 01/23/2016
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 02/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Deb as our wedding florist and I cannot say enough wonderful things about her. She went above and beyond to make our wedding ceremony and reception look absolutely STUNNING! She was such a pleasure to work with, has impeccable taste, is such a hard worker, and really has a passion for what she does. I would recommend her and Romance etc to anyone, amazing work. Thank you so much again Deb for everything! Oh and aside from just flowers Romance etc is such a great store I could spend hours in there and buy everything, such a special place!

    Sent on 03/13/2014
  • R

    Robin · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome gift shop - candles, jewelry, perfume, and tons more! I love getting thank you and hostess gifts here.

    But I'm really here to talk about wedding flowers. :-) I love Deb and I will be forever grateful to her for making our wedding absolutely GORGEOUS. I don't know much about flowers. I'm not very good at articulating what I do and don't want. But none of that mattered because Deborah is so awesome at what she does, she asked me all the right questions and came up with honestly, the coolest centerpieces and bouquet I've ever seen. Tons of guests asked me if they could take the centerpieces home and they all wanted to know who provided the flowers.

    Deb is one of the hardest working people I know. She communicated with me over and over again to make sure we were on the same page and all logistics (e.g., transporting flowers from our church to the reception site) were handled properly. This might sound minor but I also really appreciated the reminders from her regarding balances due and other details because it was overwhelming to me, dealing with so many different vendors. Every vendor has a different set of rules, different dates by which balances are due, etc. and so I really liked being reminded from their end, what they needed from me.

    Thank you Deb, and Romance Etc. You made our wedding the best looking one ever!!! We loved it. You guys rock!

    Sent on 09/08/2013
  • M

    Clarissa · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Romance Etc was our wedding florist. They went above and beyond what we envisioned! Our planner brought us to Deb ONE MONTH before our wedding after our first florist disappointed us. Our planner and Deb had discussed before our meeting exactly what our ideas were for our color scheme and our centerpieces (submerged calla lilies). When we first showed up at their store, Deb had already arranged a sample centerpiece that completely blew us away! And just like that, we knew we had found our florist! The sample centerpiece had these specific acrylic vase fillers that were so unique and we just had to have. They were samples from many years ago and at that time we weren’t sure if they were available anymore, but Deb specifically went out of her way to help us find enough for our wedding. We wanted beautiful, bountiful and colorful flowers for our bouquet and Deb knew exactly what we wanted after talking for only a few minutes. While we were there she gathered up the flowers that fit our description and basically explained exactly what she would do. We left there confident knowing that they got it. Even though we knew they would do a good job, we were not prepared for the wonderful surprise that awaited us on our wedding day. The flowers came and they were beautiful, fresh, lush, and more than we could have asked for. The colors, design…everything was spot on! At the venue, we saw the centerpieces and were again blown away at the simplicity, and how artfully the piece was arranged. Deb and her family were all extremely friendly and easy to talk to and work with. We are so grateful that they were able to take on our wedding on such short notice and with such diligence.

    Sent on 04/20/2013
  • M

    Marcia · Married on 02/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah was very creative and in tune with the look and feel we wanted for the wedding. We established a fee early on and she kept to it. We liked that Romance Etc. was eager to "think out of the box" and provide something that filled our vision, in addition to making suggestions that went along with our ideas.

    Sent on 02/22/2012
  • Brianne

    Brianne · Married on 01/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely loved working with Debbie from Romance Etc.! She was able to listen to what I loved and create amazing flowers that fit me and my fiancé's personalities! Our guests thought the flowers were stunning! Debbie was so easy to work with and I would definitely use her again!

    Sent on 06/07/2012
  • Maggie

    Maggie · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah at Romance etc. did the most amazing job. I could not ask for me. I gave her my vision and she was able to execute it on a level that i couldnt even imagine. The ballroom looked absolutely amazing!

    Sent on 11/10/2011
  • T

    Tori · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah and Romance Etc. did a phenomenal job with our flowers and bouquets. Not only was she completely flexible and responsive, but they were a great joy to work with. My mom had some high-end requests and expectations and Deb managed her perfectly (so that I didn't have to!). Ultimately she blew us all away by the quality of the flowers, centerpieces and bouquets and everyone thought the flowers were just gorgeous!

    Sent on 11/01/2011
  • Darryl

    Darryl · Married on 12/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being a bride who had to plan a wedding out of town, these ladies made it very easy for me to communicate with them. I was able to email with them pictures of what i wanted. Their prices were very straightforward and simple. I didnt see my bouquet until an hour before my ceremony and it was PERFECT!

    i was happy with the outcome and the customer service was great. Thanks romance, etc.

    Sent on 01/18/2011
  • A

    Amber · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Debra at Romance etc. She was great to work with, so easy, right to the point and very flexible. I also really appreciated that I could trust her work, I saw her previous work and it was amazing, so it made my flowers so easy!

    Sent on 11/09/2010
  • S

    Sloane · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Romance Ect provided Beautiful flowers for my wedding. They were recommended from a friend of a friend. She used them for her wedding and was very pleased. I went in knowing that I wanted them for my wedding but had no idea what flowers I wanted. Deborah and I started throwing around ideas and the finishing project was GREAT. My husband was even amazed how nice they turned out! He kept telling me over and over how great I did. It was actually Deborah that did the amazing job since I just told her to run with it. Gave her my budget and she provided the rest. I got married mother’s day weekend so I know she was slammed with orders but she was very professional and they turned out GREAT!

    Sent on 05/12/2010
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/05/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found this florist through my wedding planner. I had searched on my own and went to a few other places, but they kept telling me what I wanted for my wedding and how it should look instead of the ideas that I had. This was different. I don't know a lot about flowers, and I really don't like strong scented flowers either. I told this to the florist and she looked around, knowing what I had in mind for my wedding. What she came up with was absolutely gorgeous. I got so many compliments on my flowers. Romance Etc is the only place we go to now for our floral needs.

    Sent on 01/28/2009
  • J

    Jourdan · Married on 03/31/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was all amazing!! She knew all of the flowers so well, and knew what would look beautiful together!! I trusted her with everything! I would say one idea, and she would draw it out on paper, and it was perfect! I got so many compliments on my boquet and all of the center pieces. The flowers really made the wedding look so beautiful and romantic!

    Sent on 01/08/2008
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 05/28/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah did an amazing job on my wedding flowers! I literally didn't care about the little details and gave her the freedom to do whatever she pleased. I know that could sometimes be hard for the vendors trying to figure out what the brides want, but I had no idea about all the shades and different flowers. Deborah gave me an assignment to start a Pinterest board (which I didn't even have one!), and just went with whatever I pinned. All I knew was that I wanted yellows and succulents, and they turned out better than I could imagine. I was working on a budget, and it did come out to be a more than I wanted, but Deborah did help keep the cost down by reusing the ceremony flowers in the reception. Communication was handled by Dawna, her sister, and that was always quick. Thank you!

    Sent on 06/01/2017
  • S

    Somer · Married on 09/08/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah at Romance etc... was a completely amazing find. I knew somewhat what I wanted but Deborah really took it over the top to someting more than I could have hoped for. I appreciated her confidence and ability to expand on my ideas very quickly. She was able to combine my favorite elements into elegant wedding displays that included both succulents and feathers! I would recommend her to any and everyone.

    Sent on 09/10/2012
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 05/23/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I was originally planning on doing the flowers by myself and with the help of my mom and bridesmaids. Everything I wanted was simple and I had all the vases already purchased.

    I was away at school and was getting worried about the flowers. So, I called up Romance Etc. (recommended by my vendor) and she gave me a reasonable quote. My parents were fine with the cost and I was able to do everything either over the phone or via the web. She went over what I wanted and colors thoroughly with me and I also sent her pictures of what I was after. The only thing I had to do was drop off the vases about 10 days before the wedding.

    The day of the wedding, I heard that the florist was a little late setting up but so was the venue and me and my bridesmaids. Everything looked just beautiful and I got exactly what I had pictured in my mind. Overall I was very happy with their service and they were easy to work with as well.

    Sent on 06/08/2010
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/26/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Deb was the florist for my wedding. The quality of her work was exceptional. She was very flexible around my budget, even suggesting that I rent and return some of the centerpieces to help meet my budget. The day of the wedding, the flowers and succulents that she provided were beautiful! Highly recommended.

    I'm removing one star for slight disorganization. They charged my card for the deposit 3 times - and while they did refund the money, it was a little jarring for that to be our first transaction. In addition, there was some confusion about the number of centerpieces I wanted, even though I had both called and emailed to confirm - Deb ended up calling me and asking me again. At the end of the day, I'm glad she called and was concerned about getting it right, but I also hate to repeat myself when I've been very clear.

    Also, they accept only cash or cashier's check for the final payment, which is very inconvenient for customers who live far away (me!). Don't we live in a world where credit cards are acceptable?

    Sent on 08/21/2014
  • A

    Ayuko · Married on 08/24/2007

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    great flower.nice person

    Sent on 10/14/2008
  • A

    Anne · Married on 07/21/2012

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The flowers that Deborah provided were really beautiful, and they were delivered on time, always a plus. I wish I could rate Romance Etc a "5" but I found them difficult to work with and I'm sorry to say unprofessional in their attitude and at times disrespectful in their customer relations, which created a very very high level of stress for us before our wedding. If you can overlook this, then yes I could recommend them based on final product, beautiful flower arrangements.

    Sent on 08/03/2012
  • T

    Trisha · Married on 11/20/2010

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We came here to get our wedding flowers and we're over sold quite a bit. We met with Deborah (the owner) twice and had pictures of exactly what we wanted. Deborah had to buy silver vases and said she was happy to do so after we put down a deposit.

    2 months beforehand, we asked to borrow the vase to pick out wedding linens. When we saw it she said it was similar, but the Flower Market had her specific ones in storage. It seemed odd that she didn't have the actual vase.

    3 weeks before the wedding, she made up a mock up of our reception flowers. The flowers were simply awful! Instead of a dome ball of flowers, it looked like a flat tire of plants with a few hydrangeas in them. The arrangement had no flowers in the center...right, there was a gap in our reception flowers big enough to put one if not two big candles. Additionally, it was still a borrowed vase and we were told it would not be used for our centerpieces.

    The flowers were so off base from what we had described, and it seemed so odd we could not see our actual vase which we had been very specific about it. I can't image any suppliers at the Flower Market being willing to use up their own space for over 6 months.

    With all the disappointment and mis-communication, we could not use her as our florist for our wedding flowers. When we told her how upset we were, she offered to change the centerpieces slightly, but not do another mock up.

    We decided not to use her as a florist and asked for our $500 minus the cost of the arrangement she had previously done. She refused to give us back the deposit saying it was to save the date for her work. The reality is, she did save the date, but could not deliver on the work she promised to do for our wedding. We didn't cancel our wedding, but instead she was not holding up her end of our deal.

    We were highly disappointed in Deborah and Romance etc. Not only did we spend a lot of time going through pictures and explaining exactly what we wanted, but lost $500. I would highly recommend saving your time and money and going somewhere else for special floral arrangement and even larger business transactions.

    Sent on 12/13/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review