Robert Carlo | New York Reviews

87 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

87 Reviews for Robert Carlo | New York

Recommended by 100%

87
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
87 Robert Carlo | New York Reviews
Sort by:
  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/23/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was a pleasure to work with - he was super quick to respond to any email/questions. He was prompt and professional and it was very clear he wanted to deliver the best photos possible and not cut corners. He was laid back and easy going, but serious about the job at the same time. Would definitely work with him again!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/09/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert is an amazing professional and wonderful photographer. The photos from our wedding came out so great, really capturing the vibe and feeling from the night. He has a way of putting people at ease and made the whole day working with us, our guests, the venue, etc.feel like a breeze.

  • C

    Caro · Married on 05/19/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was incredibly helpful and so professional. He truly gets it when it comes to be the photographer you are looking for when it comes to your special day. There was nothing more that we ever needed from him, he made our experience fun and relaxed which helped a lot under the stress of being the center of attention the entire day. We absolutely loved working with Robert from the beginning to the end and he made to make us feel comfortable and to truly have fun.
    Incredibly thankful to have found the right person to work with!

    Robert Carlo | New York 1
  • K

    Karyn · Married on 05/04/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding the right photographer was the hardest part of planning our wedding. Knowing photos are the only tangible memories after the wedding... we knew we wanted someone who would capture every moment uniquely and beautifully. After spending time with Robert and reviewing his style, we knew he was the perfect photographer for us. Not only is he extremely talented, he's organized, easy and fun to work with. Within 5 minutes, Robert made us feel so comfortable, I knew every picture would be fantastic!! If you're searching for someone who simply gets it and has cool style, Robert is the photographer to hire for your wedding day!

  • D

    Dayna · Married on 10/20/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing our photographer was one of the most important parts of our wedding planning since we knew that the photos would be the one thing we’d keep to remember the day and eventually even pass down. We also really liked the idea of finding someone who had shot other weddings at our venue, so we’d have a chance to see how our own photos could look. Robert was recomnended by our venue, The Deity, and after checking out his work, booking him was an easy choice as we liked his style and ability to capture events in a very natural way.

    Communicating with him before, after, and on the day was easy and reliable, and he was very flexible with timing and locations as well. We had both Robert and his second photographer Jen working with us on the day, and they both captured some amazing moments for us that we absolutely love! We’re really happy with the final images, and the feedback from our family and friends has been wonderful too. Also, a great value for the overall package, especially for NYC.

  • R

    Ramit · Married on 09/17/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with the photos from our wedding! Rob went above and beyond for us, shooting two full ceremonies in one day. The pictures turned out amazing - his eye for detail, aesthetic and artistic choices and professionalism are unmatched. He made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera, and we all had a blast working together. Could not recommend him enough - thank you Rob for capturing our day in such a special way!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/16/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert did an incredible job at capturing the day! He was so quick and efficient that we were 2 hours ahead of schedule and there wasn't a single stress. He was quick, yet steady with the camera. He made us feel at ease, and we all just had a blast through the whole process. Also, he was barely visible throughout the wedding but didn't miss a beat - he captured every special moment. We just got the final photos and they are all absolutely stunning - I can't thank him enough!

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/09/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Aside from your choice of partner, the photographer is probably the most important decision you’ll make about your wedding. We feel so lucky to have found Robert Carlo. There is not a single photo he took that we don’t absolutely love from our wedding day.
    If you can book Robert, do yourself a huge favor - lock him in and turn your focus to other details of planning your wedding. He is a professional through and through, an absolute pleasure to work with, and you will be Thrilled with the photographs he captures of your special day.
    Although just reviewing Robert’s portfolio had me sold (his work has that artistic and technical composition of high-end fashion/magazine photography), his presence added something so unexpected to our day – the Fun we had taking pictures was so obvious in the final product. He added perfection to an already flawless day.
    Robert was so effective in making us laugh and feel comfortable in front of the camera, we can look at our photos and in every single shot, instantly invoke the magical emotions of our day.
    We had a very small wedding and whenever family and friends see Robert’s photos, the consistent comment is how beautifully the photos capture our happiness and truly allows them feel like they shared the day with us.

  • E

    Evan · Married on 09/01/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldnt say enough good things about my Wife and I's experience with Robert. He was met us in-person to discuss his style, which is all about capturing real moments and letting you just experience the love of Family and Friends. He met us a couple weeks out from the event to scout locations and on the day of he was trooper following us around and providing an assistance Jen, who was amazing as well. More then anyone else apart of the event staff he was the least intense and pressure free, which my wife and I appreciate so MUCH!! Thanks dude you the man!

    Robert Carlo | New York 2
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/27/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Rob as our photographer for our wedding, and it was one of the best decisions we made. We were very focused on finding the perfect photographer for our wedding, and we were so relieved when we found Rob on WeddingWire. From the first time we met in his studio, he put us at ease, and we felt like old friends. We were sold on his portfolio alone, but he is also a genuinely great guy who is a pleasure to be around. He is truly an artist and has such an amazing eye for capturing modern and classic shots. Our venue is very dimly lit, so we were worried that our reception photos would all have the terrible glare from a flash or be in black in white. Rob blew us away with his technique for beautifully capturing our reception without having to default to black and white photos like less experienced photographers would. Many of our guests commented on how skilled he was at capturing moments throughout our wedding without being obtrusive. He provided us with a range of stunning photos from the formal family shots to his creative street shots to the reception candids. For our wedding, we worked with Rob and his second photographer, Jen, who was also a pleasure to work with. We couldn’t be happier with our photographs and our experience, and we cannot recommend Rob highly enough. If you have the opportunity to work with him for your wedding or event, it will be the best decision you make!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was great to work with throughout our engagement and wedding. My husband and I were immediately drawn to his portfolio and his style of capturing moments in a real and authentic way. He made us feel relaxed during the shoots and took amazing photos we'll cherish forever. Robert captured our wedding beautifully - from the sentimental ceremony to the high energy, party atmosphere of the reception. I highly recommend working with Robert!

  • E

    Emma · Married on 07/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book Rob right now if you want beautiful and authentic documentation of your big day. The most important part of our wedding planning was finding the right photographer who could capture both the special moments and our personality on the day, and we couldn't have been happier with the results. As well as being a great guy and amazing to work with, Rob has the best eye for 'the shot.' He captured every laugh, tear and smile. Our photos are perfect and we can't wait to keep reliving the best day ever through them for the rest of our lives!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/01/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert Carlo is amazing in every aspect of the word. I would recommend him as a photographer for any event. He photographed my engagement party and the pictures came out beautiful. He truly captured the love my fiance and I were exuding that night and how much fun everyone had at our party! I cannot wait to work with him in the future!

  • E

    Evelyn · Married on 06/10/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert Carlo is TOP notch! We were thrilled when contacting him that he was availiable on our wedding day the 10th of June. He was truly professional and attentive to our ideas along the way, and listened to how we wanted our photos. He replies fast and even though we live in Stockholm he wanted to call and chat over the months to get to know us and our story! I went to NYC in November to recog and was able to meet up with Robert and we went through the timetable on the the big day etc even if it was 6 months in advance of the day! It is easy to work with Robert, everything is possible and nothing is a problem. He is honest, very genuine and truly loves what he does. The photos came out amazing and we wouldn't have wanted them any other way! We would recommend him any day of the week to weddings, engagements and any private event!

  • A

    Arielle · Married on 05/07/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Robert on WeddingWire, looked at his pictures, his prices, met him in person, and found exactly what we were looking for. Beautiful photographs for both engagement shoot and wedding, we received so many compliments on just how gorgeous everything came out. He captured our vibe and the most special moments. Am so grateful for that! Would most highly recommend him!!!!!

  • Z

    Zachary · Married on 04/02/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not know Robert Carlo prior to meeting him in Manhattan except for what we saw on his website and having his pictures speak to us. Robert is very friendly and has a unique style that really brings his pictures to life. We all got along from the beginning. He got to know us as a couple and, after explaining his style and professional experiences, he made us feel very comfortable. Robert was excellent at following up on any questions we had and put us at ease, especially in front of the camera as my wife and I prefer to be behind it. The day of the event he started shooting early and did not stop until the final song was finished. Even after the wedding he kept us updated on when the pictures would be ready.
    I have no hesitation on recommending Robert and would absolutely use him in the future.

  • J

    Jen · Married on 12/10/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert Carlo’s photos made me feel like an old time movie star. We looked elegant and romantic. I was 1month postpartum and I feel so beautiful when I look at our wedding photos. Robert was also organized, professional and punctual, all of which contributed to our smoothly run day. It was probably 20 degrees out and we had a newborn waiting for us at the venue. In a small window of time, he was able to photograph us in a way that captured the local area, holiday/winter season and mood of the time of year perfectly. Choosing him will be the easiest thing to check off your wedding to do list. My advice is if you have specific needs or ideas, share them with Robert. He is very responsive.

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 09/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert was the perfect match for the style we were looking for for our wedding! Afraid of falling into the trap of cheesy wedding photos & having never been professionally photographed before - the second my husband and I met Robert, we knew he was our guy! His relaxed, authentic style and eye for elegance truly caught our attention and his work did not disappoint! After getting to know him and having a great engagement session done, he was such a pleasure to work with on our wedding day! SO easy going, flexible and classy....he helped capture amazingly beautiful moments for us on a very rainy New York day :) All of our relatives loved him and found him so easy to work with...all the while keeping us relaxed and calm in an otherwise hectic, jam-packed day! Robert is wonderful to work with all the while creating unique, honest moments for us to cherish for years to come. He got our pictures back to us very quickly after the wedding, had a great second photographer come with him for our wedding day and made the whole process so easy from start to finish. Months later, as we keep re-looking at our pictures....we are still laughing so hard at some of the best moments of our dance floor, crying seeing the emotion in our faces during our vows, and smiling uncontrollably because he so perfectly captured all of the emotions we felt on that special day. What a wonderful gift of memories he has given us and I could not have imagined our wedding day without him!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/17/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Robert was nothing but wonderful. Robert was very flexible with us on the timing/location of our engagement shoot and showed up ready to go. I was worried that a shoot like that would be kind of stiff and awkward, but Robert made it so fun and not uncomfortable at all. We did our engagement photos in Grand Central and Central Park, and the results were fantastic. He provided us with so many beautiful photos that we are still getting compliments on. I cannot recommend him enough!

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 08/05/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert Carlo is the best! He was awesome to work with prior to the wedding, and then on the day itself was really calming and knew exactly the right places and light to get the best picture. We just got our album back and they are incredible! We couldn't be happier with the result. Everyone who has seen them is speechless over how great they are. We definitely recommend Robert Carlo to anyone and everyone!

  • D

    Dennis · Married on 07/30/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How can I stop saying how awesome Robert Carlo is!!!! Robert has some SERIOUS talent. Our wedding photos look INCREDIBLE! He has a great eye for all the details and is super creative. Our wedding day threw us a curveball with some unexpected rain which came down on and off. Not only was Robert cool about everything, but he STILL made everything happen outside at our photoshoot in Dumbo successfully. The entire photoshoot was an integral part of the wedding experience which we had no idea would be so special. Robert was super cool from day one - so easy to work with, funny, friendly, responsive....the whole package. If we need a photographer for anything else in our lives - big or small, Robert is the person we are hiring.

  • B

    B · Married on 07/02/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for a photographer that captured moments rather than your standard cliche wedding pictures and Robert fit that bill. When we first met Robert, one of the main things that stood out was how he presented himself. He seemed genuine and honest and overall, was just himself. Often, you find people in the wedding industry to be arrogant or they try to sell you on something you don't want, but Robert was not like that at all.

    He also has some work of a videographer that we also ended up using. I don't think we would've ever found the videographer without Robert.

    We also liked the way his packages were structured while also being very easy to make any changes to it if we wanted. We ended up going with the Gold package and adding on an extra parent album. Robert stayed until the last song and the pictures came out great!

    We highly recommend Robert if you're looking for someone that is approachable, genuine and takes great photographs :)

  • B

    Barbara · Married on 06/25/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We’re incredibly picky. Not the close-minded type of picky that's uninformed & limited by inexperience. More like the type of picky that results from having a clear, concise & singular vision—& a determination to not waver from it. This is, after all, the one day in our live's when compromise is not an option. Naturally, booking our venue & vendors was an arduous process. Finding a person that could share our vision from behind his or her lens however—that was the toughest decision of them all.

    We interviewed dozens of talented studios & photographers. Many simply weren’t the right fit. Others rejected us. We were specific about what we did & didn’t want, & some studios feared they’d be unable to make us happy. But our pursuit of happiness while being picky was nonnegotiable. The margin for error is too small & there are no practice runs or do-overs. Ultimately, our pursuit lead us to the Bushwick studio of Robert Carlo.

    Robert wasn’t intimidated by our vision at all. In fact, he appreciated the care we took in the selection process. It’s the same care with which he approaches his craft, whether it be wielding the camera, framing or even editing shots. It’s the same care he takes to make you feel at ease. He will even tell you that the more relaxed you are, the better the results will be. (I can tell you now how right he is about that).

    What attracted us to Robert was his shooting style. It’s stylish yet timeless. His sense of lighting & color is subtle, sophisticated & elegant. On the day of, he blends into the blur & emerges days later with an honest & beautiful recreation of events. Robert is a rock star, one who does it for the love of craft, & to distill a moment or emotion that conveys the wonder & joy of life’s biggest occasion. His work is so important because it's content is the eternal story of love, & through his camera Robert endeavors to remind you each time you review your photos just how unique & special your story is.

  • T

    Tatyana · Married on 06/18/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Robert did a phenomenal job photographing my wedding, one of the best vendors I hired for the day hands down. Prior to our big day, he went to visit the sites where we planned to take photos and scoped out all the best spots with optimal lighting. He had so much energy and was 100% "on" capturing the whole day, from getting ready until the very end of dancing. We were taking photos in a crowded park and he had a solid plan going in to make our use of time most efficient. Robert made us feel very comfortable and natural (no forced awkward poses at all) and I felt like the most beautiful bride. The pictures turned out amazing, most could fit in any magazine. We will treasure them forever!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review