Skip to main content
Weddings

RJ the DJ and Company Reviews

RJ the DJ and Company

RJ the DJ and Company

Wallingford, CT
5.0 out of 5 rating, 79 Reviews
View more information

79 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 79
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

8 User photos

  • Christina
    Christina J. Married on 05/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Night to Remember!

    I got married at the Birchwoods at Oak Lane, and our package included RJ's base package. We knew that entertainment and fun were going to be a top priority for us and upgraded our base package to include a second DJ, sparklers for the first dance, and low-hanging fog. RJ put in the time to troubleshoot the sparklers ahead of time and they were a hit and made for great photos. He had a great personality to keep our guests on their feet. Once the dancing started, the dance floor remained lit. I give RJ a lot of credit for navigating the pronunciation of a lot of Asian names too!

    We also hired a mega party robot for the dancing portion and they ended up coming SUPER late. RJ managed the crowd and kept the hype up despite the long wait. The robot performers did not reach out to RJ ahead of time as I requested, so there were some technical difficulties upon their arrival, which RJ was able to troubleshoot.

    Although nothing can be perfect, there were some small hiccups.
    For the first dance, my husband and I wanted to have the wooden doors open so it would be a surprise for the guests. We were waiting outside the doors when the music started and did not have anyone to usher us in. By the time we made our way to the floor, we had to cut out some moves to get us back on the music. Additionally, the low-hanging fog is temperature sensitive, so the doors had to remain closed, but no one closed the wooden doors behind us, so the amount of low-hanging fog itself was a bit underwhelming. Fortunately, the dance choreography and sparklers made up for that!
  • A
    Alyssa S. Married on 05/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing night!

    RJ did an amazing job for our wedding! Everyone danced all night! Continue to get compliments on how much fun they had! He was professional and easy to work with. Made the experience as stress free as possible. Can’t suggest him enough!
  • A
    Antoinette D. Married on 05/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Funfilled , on point , very detailed

    RJ was very detailed in everything he did and because of that our wedding was on point and he listened to every detailed I needed and executed it !! I would use him in the future , because we want this to be annually to keep the fire burning!! RJ big up yourself, you are the man for any event !!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kaitlin M. Married on 05/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ!

    We hired RJ for our wedding DJ and it was amazing! He met with us and helped us figure out some music ideas and how to order some of the events in our timeline! Such a kind and friendly person to work with! Highly recommend!
  • E
    Evan W. Married on 05/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome DJ at a great price

    RJ and his associate Nick were so game for anything. We had a lot of last minute changes to our wedding and they were incredibly professional and rolled with the changes. The sound quality was spot on and Nick, our DJ, took good care to make sure we had a chance to do all the traditions that we didn’t even think of (when we lost our venue days before the wedding our whole plan got tossed out the window and we were winging it, but Nick kept it together for us) and would ask us what we wanted and was very communicative. It was even a 92 degree day and we were outdoors and they still did great!

    I highly recommend this company.
  • M
    Matt B. Married on 05/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing dj

    RJ was such a great DJ to work with. Super professional and reassuring leading up to the wedding, and amazing during our wedding. He did a great job reading the crowd and adapting on the fly. Our photographer was so excited when we saw we were using RJ. Apparently she had worked with him at a previous wedding and was raving about how helpful he was. You're in great hands with RJ, highly recommended!
  • T
    Tara D. Married on 04/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing guy always

    He was great anything we needed he did he was so good and I would hire him another 10 times over
  • L
    Laura Married on 04/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    so fun and entertaining!

    RJ was our dj for our wedding on 4/22/22 at Birchwoods at oak lane and he was amazing! All our guests still rave about how fun and entertaining he was. He did a great job playing all kinds of music for our very diverse guest list. RJ also played a game with our guests to them in keep them busy to give myself and my husband a chance to sit down to eat. Would recommend Rj for any of your party needs!!
  • A
    Alleya J. Married on 04/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    RJ brings great energy for a great day

    RJ was so much fun! An absolute hit with my family and friends of all sizes, shapes and colors. The pre-wedding data sheet and meeting were super helpful. I am a millennial and he understood the vibe I wanted, which was 90s/2000s/2010s r&b and hip hop. And he had plenty of songs to match. Guests are still raving about how great he was. Great energy for a great day.
  • Jennie
    Jennie R. Married on 10/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding DJ

    RJ is wonderful. We wanted everyone on the dance floor at our wedding and that is exactly what we got! He stuck to our playlist but also read the room— a sign of a great entertainer. We HIGHLY recommend him for any wedding or event!!!
  • C
    Crystal E. Married on 09/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent experience

    RJ was our DJ for our wedding. He did such a great job everyone was so entertained. He has amazing energy and a great sense of humor. we enjoyed working with him and highly recommend him.
  • K
    Katie H. Married on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience!!

    RJ was perfect for our wedding. He showed up early, helped my husband set up beforehand and was extremely helpful the entire night. He kept us in the loop with the order of events and never made us feel rushed. He made sure the night was about us. Highly recommend!!
  • M
    Michael D. Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Blown Away

    Booked the deluxe package with two performers for our wedding. RJ and Nick blew our expectations out of the water. They have a tremendous rapport and an awesome working relationship. We have had an overwhelming amount of our guests gushing about how great they were. They were able to read the room and let the night unfold. It was obvious they are true professionals who are very good at their jobs. As the groom, one of the only jobs I was given was to hire the DJ- so you can imagine my anxiety leading up to the night. RJ quickly settled me down and they CRUSHED from the minute he got the microphone in his hand and Nick was absolutely on fire with the song selections. It was awesome to watch. To put it simple, these guys were perfect in their execution of our plan. Can’t recommend them enough. Thank you RJ and Nick!
  • M
    Mark E. Married on 08/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, Fun DJ - highly recommend!

    We were fortunate that RJ had one last opening during the 2021 Wedding Season and it happened to be our wedding day. RJ was recommended through our venue and from our first conversation with him we knew he was the perfect fit. RJ is professional, relaxed, and knows how to entertain. During the planning process, RJ was responsive and organized, and on the day of him and his assistant emceed and entertained our guests perfectly. We would highly recommend working with RJ and his team.
  • S
    Sara H. Married on 06/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent DJ’s

    I am so happy we used RJ, they were wonderful to work with. Great communication, professional, and just all around nice people. He ended up playing a fun game, the entire wedding was crying from laughing so hard. It was a huge hit. I had several of my guests ask who did the music. Would highly recommend them!
  • C
    Christopher C. Married on 06/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great DJ for our June 2021 wedding

    We had a wonderful time with RJ the DJ for our wedding this past June. RJ was a great MC and did a great job of getting our guests engaged and ready to dance, and even through in a surprise game with our guests to help break the ice and get the party started. The music was excellent, the sound set up was great for both our ceremony and reception, and the photo booth was a big hit! RJ even helped us prepare a special song mash up for our first dance and it went great! Would definitely recommend!
  • Katie
    Katie D. Married on 05/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a pleasure to work with!

    RJ was so wonderful to work with! He was so communicative and helpful, and his upbeat, positive attitude ensured that everyone had a great time. He was great with taking requests, he pronounced everyone's names right on the entrances (you don't even know how many times my sister Gabrielle has been introduced as "Gabriel", but not with RJ!), and he took requests which was fantastic. His easygoing attitude made everything flow so smoothly, and he was great at rolling with the punches - even when my husband had to discreetly cut our first dance short because it was 92 degrees outside and he thought I was going to pass out LOL. No one even noticed! My family also coordinated a surprise behind my back for my uncle to sing our father daughter dance, and RJ coordinated with my family and my wedding planner to pull it off effortlessly. Our guests couldn't stop talking about what a great time they had, and a big part of that definitely has to do with RJ's services!
  • K
    Kayla B. Married on 05/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best DJ!

    RJ was a fantastic DJ at our wedding. My husband and I only provided him 3 songs (Don't Stop Believing, Wanna-Be, and Mr. Brightside) and he was able to understand our music style just from that. He kept everyone on the dance floor all night and our guest have been raving about how much fun they had. RJ was very responsive and organized throughout the planning process. We would definitely recommend RJ the DJ!
  • D
    Daschia Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best experience

    Rj was the best DJ I could have possibly asked for. He was very accommodating as we got married during a pandemic and a lot of changes were made. Everything went perfectly as planned and better. He was very involved with us and our guests and made it feel more personal than just any normal Dj. He was out on the dance floor teaching people some dances. It was just, perfect. Highly recommend him!
  • J
    Jill L. Married on 09/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dance party DJ!

    We hired RJ because of his awesome reviews and good price. He knew that we were worried about our guests having fun due to COVID. He kept everyone hyped up for 2 full hours of dancing. He was super flexible and helped us move our dance floor inside due to the cold, then back outside due to some family member’s COVID concerns. We got so many compliments on how fun our wedding was and it was all him!
  • Marie
    Marie G. Married on 09/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome!!!

    RJ was amazing! We had a fairly small wedding, about 45 people, but RJ had everyone on the dance floor the entire night! I have family and friends still telling me what a fun time they had and how great the DJ was. RJ is so kind and fun and great to work with, he had a lot of helpful ideas when I was stumped! Definitely recommend him!!!
  • Alexa
    Alexa Married on 04/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Witnessed in action

    I attended a wedding a month ago where RJ the DJ was working and he was great. He was very professional, played great music and did a great job with all of the announcements. All of the guests had something good to say about him. We plan to try and hire him for our wedding.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer B. Married on 12/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Non stop entertainment

    RJ kept the entire wedding party entertained. He played just the right selection of music. He got everyone on the dance floor. I am so glad we had him for our reception
  • K
    Kasha Married on 08/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Wedding Must!

    RJ the DJ is a wedding reception MUST! He understands weddings and knows how to get guests moving. He's very creative in getting guests to participate, while the Bride and Groom enjoy their meal. He was a lot of fun and we are so glad we found him! Nothing but rave reviews!
  • J
    Jozlynne Married on 03/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing experience

    Rj was an awesome DJ and I am so glad he was part of our special day. He kept the party going the whole time which made our perfect day even better. Thank you RJ!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message