Weddings

RJ the DJ and Company Reviews

RJ the DJ and Company

RJ the DJ and Company

Wallingford, CT
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 68 Reviews
View more information

68 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 68
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • K
    Katie H. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing experience!!

    RJ was perfect for our wedding. He showed up early, helped my husband set up beforehand and was extremely helpful the entire night. He kept us in the loop with the order of events and never made us feel rushed. He made sure the night was about us. Highly recommend!!
  • M
    Michael D. Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Blown Away

    Booked the deluxe package with two performers for our wedding. RJ and Nick blew our expectations out of the water. They have a tremendous rapport and an awesome working relationship. We have had an overwhelming amount of our guests gushing about how great they were. They were able to read the room and let the night unfold. It was obvious they are true professionals who are very good at their jobs. As the groom, one of the only jobs I was given was to hire the DJ- so you can imagine my anxiety leading up to the night. RJ quickly settled me down and they CRUSHED from the minute he got the microphone in his hand and Nick was absolutely on fire with the song selections. It was awesome to watch. To put it simple, these guys were perfect in their execution of our plan. Can’t recommend them enough. Thank you RJ and Nick!
  • Mark
    Mark E. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional, Fun DJ - highly recommend!

    We were fortunate that RJ had one last opening during the 2021 Wedding Season and it happened to be our wedding day. RJ was recommended through our venue and from our first conversation with him we knew he was the perfect fit. RJ is professional, relaxed, and knows how to entertain. During the planning process, RJ was responsive and organized, and on the day of him and his assistant emceed and entertained our guests perfectly. We would highly recommend working with RJ and his team.
  • S
    Sara H. Married on 06/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent DJ’s

    I am so happy we used RJ, they were wonderful to work with. Great communication, professional, and just all around nice people. He ended up playing a fun game, the entire wedding was crying from laughing so hard. It was a huge hit. I had several of my guests ask who did the music. Would highly recommend them!
  • C
    Christopher C. Married on 06/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great DJ for our June 2021 wedding

    We had a wonderful time with RJ the DJ for our wedding this past June. RJ was a great MC and did a great job of getting our guests engaged and ready to dance, and even through in a surprise game with our guests to help break the ice and get the party started. The music was excellent, the sound set up was great for both our ceremony and reception, and the photo booth was a big hit! RJ even helped us prepare a special song mash up for our first dance and it went great! Would definitely recommend!
  • Katie
    Katie D. Married on 05/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Such a pleasure to work with!

    RJ was so wonderful to work with! He was so communicative and helpful, and his upbeat, positive attitude ensured that everyone had a great time. He was great with taking requests, he pronounced everyone's names right on the entrances (you don't even know how many times my sister Gabrielle has been introduced as "Gabriel", but not with RJ!), and he took requests which was fantastic. His easygoing attitude made everything flow so smoothly, and he was great at rolling with the punches - even when my husband had to discreetly cut our first dance short because it was 92 degrees outside and he thought I was going to pass out LOL. No one even noticed! My family also coordinated a surprise behind my back for my uncle to sing our father daughter dance, and RJ coordinated with my family and my wedding planner to pull it off effortlessly. Our guests couldn't stop talking about what a great time they had, and a big part of that definitely has to do with RJ's services!
  • Kayla
    Kayla B. Married on 05/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best DJ!

    RJ was a fantastic DJ at our wedding. My husband and I only provided him 3 songs (Don't Stop Believing, Wanna-Be, and Mr. Brightside) and he was able to understand our music style just from that. He kept everyone on the dance floor all night and our guest have been raving about how much fun they had. RJ was very responsive and organized throughout the planning process. We would definitely recommend RJ the DJ!
  • D
    Daschia Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best experience

    Rj was the best DJ I could have possibly asked for. He was very accommodating as we got married during a pandemic and a lot of changes were made. Everything went perfectly as planned and better. He was very involved with us and our guests and made it feel more personal than just any normal Dj. He was out on the dance floor teaching people some dances. It was just, perfect. Highly recommend him!
  • J
    Jill L. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best dance party DJ!

    We hired RJ because of his awesome reviews and good price. He knew that we were worried about our guests having fun due to COVID. He kept everyone hyped up for 2 full hours of dancing. He was super flexible and helped us move our dance floor inside due to the cold, then back outside due to some family member’s COVID concerns. We got so many compliments on how fun our wedding was and it was all him!
  • Marie
    Marie G. Married on 09/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome!!!

    RJ was amazing! We had a fairly small wedding, about 45 people, but RJ had everyone on the dance floor the entire night! I have family and friends still telling me what a fun time they had and how great the DJ was. RJ is so kind and fun and great to work with, he had a lot of helpful ideas when I was stumped! Definitely recommend him!!!
  • Alexa
    Alexa Married on 04/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Witnessed in action

    I attended a wedding a month ago where RJ the DJ was working and he was great. He was very professional, played great music and did a great job with all of the announcements. All of the guests had something good to say about him. We plan to try and hire him for our wedding.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer B. Married on 12/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Non stop entertainment

    RJ kept the entire wedding party entertained. He played just the right selection of music. He got everyone on the dance floor. I am so glad we had him for our reception
  • K
    Kasha Married on 08/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Wedding Must!

    RJ the DJ is a wedding reception MUST! He understands weddings and knows how to get guests moving. He's very creative in getting guests to participate, while the Bride and Groom enjoy their meal. He was a lot of fun and we are so glad we found him! Nothing but rave reviews!
  • J
    Jozlynne Married on 03/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An amazing experience

    Rj was an awesome DJ and I am so glad he was part of our special day. He kept the party going the whole time which made our perfect day even better. Thank you RJ!
  • J
    Jacquelyn Married on 11/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great tunes, great times

    We loved working with RJ the DJ for our wedding. RJ was a pleasure to work with and he did an excellent job choosing songs that made our guests very happy. The whole experience was great!
  • M
    Maggie Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun and personable

    RJ was the perfect DJ for our wedding. He was able to figure out the wide array of genres we wanted to hear and played songs every generation could dance to. He MC'd and DJ'd flawlessly. Easy and fun to work with.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had a specific vision in mind when it came to our reception - we wanted everyone dancing the entire time with little to no interruptions. We had specific songs that we wanted played (Italian, Spanish, 90's hip hop, Dicso etc.) and we wanted minimal talk from the DJ. RJ worked with us to execute our vision and we are so happy with his work. He met with us beforehand to plan out the evening. During the reception he was so accommodating and responsive to us and he kept our guests and us dancing the whole night. We had so many compliments from our guests about what a fun wedding it was. I also had RJ add uplighting for our venue and was so pleased with how it looked. We recommend RJ without a doubt. Thank you RJ for helping to make our wedding amazing!
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ was the DJ for our wedding this year, he was truly amazing! He was one of the easiest vendors to work with and extremely professional. He was very flexible, meeting with us both in person and over the phone. He worked with us to have music in three different locations (ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception). He made our reception so much fun, the dance floor was never empty. All night and the next day people kept telling us how much fun they had and how great our DJ was! I would HIGHLY recommend RJ to anyone!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ was so awesome! Helped me out with my wedding on short notice and did everything I needed him to do without even discussing it because he already knew what needed to be done, he kept us updated throughout with what we had previously discussed to keep us on schedule and went above and beyond!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 04/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ was amazing! He helped us go over all the details of the songs we needed to choose and did everything we asked. He made it a very fun party for our guests and us!! We are super thankful and so glad we chose him!!
  • S
    Sharon Married on 01/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ the DJ is simply THE BEST! Stop over-thinking and look no further! We have had so many complements about him since our wedding last month. He put us at ease beginning with our first contact. Magically, he was able to cater to every age group while emphasizing our favorite genre. The dancing never stopped! The volume was perfect during dinner. He helped guide us through the wedding itinerary, and the evening flowed perfectly. RJ made our wedding the most wonderful and memorable event of our lives! Sharon and David
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 10/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ and his team were amazing on our wedding day! Everyone loved the music, games and photo booth. RJ is attentive and understanding. He is more than just a DJ. He understands his clients needs and goes above and beyond to accommodate. I would book him again in a heartbeat!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hiring RJ the DJ was the best decision that I made when planning my parent's 50th Anniversary party. He had all the perfect music and made the entire evening the most special event for my family. His attention to detail, flexibility, and professionalism was amazing! Not to mention his enthusiasm and ability to connect with the guests. I would highly recommend hiring RJ the DJ for your next event to ensure success!!!
  • H
    Helen Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ was great to work with leading up to the ceremony and we had Nick with us on the day. Nick set up the microphones for the ceremonies and toasts and all elements of the planned day went off perfectly. The real review exists in explaining how Nick captured the essence of the day and played dance worthy tune after tune keeping everyone on the dance floor having an amazing time. He dug deep for some classics and cheese-tastic songs that ensured most of us had no voice the next day due to all our singing. Thanks again guys, it really was the best day! Helen and Mike
  • B
    Brian Married on 10/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    RJ and his company were awesome! They were great to work with leading up to our big day and did an amazing job during our reception. It couldn’t have gone any better and all of our guests had a great time with great music. He really played to our crowd well and was a great MC through the night. All of this and at a great value- the cost was very budget-friendly compared to many other options we found!