Weddings

RJ Musical Entertainment Reviews

RJ Musical Entertainment

RJ Musical Entertainment

Tacoma, WA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 80 Reviews
View more information

80 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 80
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

2 User photos

Sort by:
  • Heather
    Heather H. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome to work with

    DJ Ray was willing to stick with us through Covid postponements and plan changes. He did an amazing job with audio for our ceremony as well as the reception. Would definitely work with him again
  • A
    Amanda C. Married on 08/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend DJ Ray!

    DJ Ray was wonderful to work with and we were so pleased with his services on our wedding day. We were so impressed by his fast communication and willingness to help out and do whatever was needed to make the day run smoothly. I would recommend DJ Ray to anyone looking for an excellent DJ/MC for events.
  • Amanda
    Amanda R. Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    We would recommend Ray to any couple who is getting married! He is flexible, personal, and very professional. We loved having him as our DJ for our big day!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 10/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    DJ Ray was great!

    DJ Ray was perfect for our wedding! He was very accommodating, flexible, helpful, and professional. We had limited outlets for his set up as we had our wedding on our yard, but he did a great job making it work and played the exact songs that we love! I would highly recommend DJ Ray for you special event :)
  • S
    Shiree Married on 01/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional and friendly!

    We would defiantly recommend DJ Musical Entertainment!! Very professional, friendly and fair price. He made the entire night fun and romantic at the same time. Great DJ!
  • Brenna
    Brenna Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful To Work With

    Ray was absolutely wonderful to work with. He was very helpful during the planning process and has created great online planning tools to help the day move smoothly. On the day of, he was checking in with me regarding the timeline and was very flexible with any changes that came during the day. He made the day run smoothly. The only thing that was a little bumpy was during dinner, it was difficult to understand/hear what he was saying over the speakers. It was pretty loud and I was on the opposite side of the room so I don't blame him for that. I would highly recommend Ray's DJ/MC services.
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very accommodating

    Ray has been a great DJ/MC to work with from day one. His website is concise and you can upload your timeline and your music selection easily through his forms. Ray guided us in selecting songs and double checked we had selected the songs we wanted for the ceremony. He was very accommodating when we needed to add additional time. We were very "chill" and probably not the most responsive nor helpful bride/groom but Ray took it all in stride. He helped us adjust our timeline day of when we fell behind and made the ceremony and reception run very smoothly. He directed our guests and made the wedding experience great. We would recommend Ray for all weddings and events.
  • Janese
    Janese Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    I hired RJ Musical Entertainment for my June 1st wedding. I would high recommend RJ Musical Entertainment. Ray was professional and as MC kept the flow of the evening going. He played the songs we requested on the form that we filled out prior to our wedding. (Added bonus you can save and come back to the online form before submitting.). Everything went amazing and the music had people on the dance floor.
  • J
    Jody B. Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    RJ Musical Entertainment

    Very professionally, kind and wonderful. Highly recommended for any event.
  • David
    David S. Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!! He was very helpful and knowledgeable!

    Ray was awesome!! His website was very helpful, allowed us to see the top rated songs and get an idea of what we wanted. My wife and I found our first dance song via his website, one we'd never heard before and fell in love with! And any song that we didn't have a personal preference for, he provided some great choices! Absolutely would recommend, a hundred times over!
  • M
    Meg F. Married on 03/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful person and great DJ

    Ray was nothing short of amazing, and an integral part of our wedding and reception. He was phenomenal to work with from beginning to end. Our guests had nothing but wonderful comments about the music and his professionalism. His website was very easy to navigate, and when I requested a call prior to our special day to discuss last minute concerns, he put all of my concerns to rest. I can't recommend him more highly. He met every expectation and then some.
  • William
    William Married on 12/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Over the Top and setting the Bar higher!

    Ray was and is the consummate professional, DJ-Ray provided the P.A. system with wireless Mic's for the service the toasts and speeches that seemed to go on and.... well, on.
    We had an issue with back lighting on the curtains behind the arbor and Ray brought the lights and coordinated with the decorator with out hesitation. We had several compliments on the back ground music which Ray selected virtually on his own and it all worked. I would use him again if I had another daughter but alas only one this life time. He DJ's during the week, I may go just to listen 5 stars Ray.
  • Kaitlyn
    Kaitlyn Married on 12/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ around!

    What can we say- DJ Ray is the best out there! He is a one of a kind professional. He responded to all of my emails within hours & even met with my parents to discuss further questions that we had, as I live out of state. His planning forms are very easy to fill out to ensure a smooth wedding day and Ray made sure to reach out to me with ay questions regarding any of the songs and timeline. He did the music for our ceremony & reception- the entire night ran so perfectly. The dance floor was an absolute blast due to DJ Ray's amazing work and we have had nothing but raving reviews from our guests. Overall, he is an amazing DJ & so great to work with!
  • Sarah
    Sarah C. Married on 12/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    Dj Ray was great to work with. He was very responsive in the planning process and even came to our rehearsal. We got a ton of people saying they loved his transitions. The highlight for me though was when our wedding cordinator told him to play the song I was supposed to walk down the aisle to before the wedding party was ready. I was panicking because I knew the song was about to end and no one had even started walking down the aisle yet but DJ Ray looped the song so perfectly no one even noticed! His quick thinking was greatly appreciated.
  • K
    Kaitlyn Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic!!

    Ray is worth every penny! With very little guidance he read the audience at my wedding perfectly. He did background music for a cocktail hour, guided our table releases for the buffet line, and really kept us on track all the way through dancing and last call. I was worried that no one would be dancing at my wedding but he had us all on the whole evening, old and young. He knocked it out of the park. I could not be happier with how the entire event came together. So thankful!
  • J
    Jonathon C. Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An Absolute Masterclass in Entertainment.

    I could not be happier with DJ Ray. He provided entertainment and performed as the MC at my wedding in Tacoma. Leading up to the wedding he was very responsive, easy to work with, provides an easy to use website, and simply handled all of our requests.

    During the event, he was dressed very well, handled all aspects of his job professionally, worked easily with our coordinator, and worked in all of our last minute and oddball requests. The processional and recessional music were executed flawlessly. We were worried about the processional music ending while the bride was walking, as I have been to weddings where this happens and it is tragic, but Ray told us not to worry and used his magical DJ powers to ensure that the song played as long as needed with no dead air.

    During dinner and during the dancing part of the night, we wanted Ray to do his thing and entertain the guests, so we let him know that we had no special musical requests. He read the crowd and played exactly the right songs, at exactly the right times, with seamless transitions, and provided a huge variety of music that hit the spot with all of our guests. Even the bride's 80 year old grandmother was out there on the floor all night. I saw a number of people talking with him during the night, and he seemed to handle all of their requests as well.

    Seriously, if you're going to have entertainment at any event, hire Ray. His rates are very competitive and he does an incredible job.
  • Brynne
    Brynne Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ray was a great DJ and really kept the party going. He was very professional and organized which really put me at ease. I would definetly recommend DJ Ray to anyone who is in a need of a good DJ for their wedding.
  • P
    Paul Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow, what else can I say? I was able to track Ray down when our original DJ fell through. I'm not saying last minute but last few months to be sure. I was very lucky that Ray was available. I'm not one who can identify songs or artists but that is not to say I do not like music its just not my thing, luckily it is Ray's thing and he does it well! With the minimal of input for the songs for key points of the evening he kept things rolling along like clockwork, down to and including getting everyone to the dance floor after the cake cutting and keeping them there for the rest of the evening.

    This should not be your last chance at getting a DJ like it was for me, it should be your first choice.
  • M
    Melanie Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very lucky to have found Ray. He was easy to work with and was very accommodating to all of our requests! Ray handled our ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and reception music and everything was absolutely perfect. As a bride, the last thing you want to worry about is whether the mics are working, or if the dj has the schedule correct. With Ray, we didn't worry a bit! Thank you Ray!
  • C
    Christen Married on 08/11/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ray went above and beyond what we expected for our wedding reception. He stuck to our list of preferred songs while allowing our guests to make requests on the spot. He was so easy to work with, worked seamlessly with our other vendors, and allowed our reception to run smoothly. Our guests had a blast, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So professional and easy to be around. He understands what music to play to get the party starting!
  • L
    Long Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dj Ray was great! Very easy to work with. We requested a few songs to be played during the reception and asked DJ Ray to build a playlist around those songs and he did just that. Everyone stayed and danced all night till it was time to leave. Thanks DJ Ray!
  • J
    Josh Married on 07/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From start to finish Ray was incredibly helpful and responsive. We felt very comfortable coming to him for recommendations and input during the planning process. It was a great feeling knowing we could trust his expertise. I can honestly say we didn't have to worry a bit and the day-of went off flawlessly.

    We definitely recommend Ray to anyone looking for DJ services!
  • A
    Anthony Married on 06/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ray is one of the most responsive persons I've ever dealt with. He responds in the matter of hours, not days. Moreover, he's incredibly professional. If you want a DJ that will meet with you ahead of your event (he met with us twice), discuss your questions and options, and follow through on every detail you discussed Ray is your guy.

    Ray is very thorough and digitally organized. He has a website that allows you to plan all aspects of your ceremony and reception including listing out musical choices for each item (wedding processional, recessional, grand entrance, etc.) It also allows you to specify you will be in each role (parents names, those in the grand entrance, persons giving toasts, etc.) so Ray can follow along during your wedding and cue people or music at the exact right time.

    Finally, Ray is a professional DJ who is inconspicuous. Despite running everything to plan and getting the dance floor happening and keeping it going he never made himself the center of attention. In fact, you barely knew he was there. That, to us, was the hallmark of a great wedding DJ. Photos to come shortly.
  • L
    Liz Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Just got married 6/23/2018. We selected Ray based off of multiple personal reviews from friends who used his services for their weddings, very happy we did! Things are busy and chaotic and I wasn't the best or most clear with communicating, but Ray was amazing and well seasoned and pulled off an amazingly well timed set of songs. He's very professional and polite, I'm so thankful for how he added to the wedding being a success! I would definitely recommend RJ services to anyone! I'm sure I didn't make it easy for him being a distracted bride but he had it all on lockdown! The music, the sound, the lights, all of it perfect! You rock! Totally appreciate everything!