Riviera Ballroom Reviews

20 | Lake Geneva, WI
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Riviera Ballroom

Recommended by 94% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

20
Order by:
  • Jordan

    Jordan · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous views

    Amazing location in LG and so beautiful inside and out

    Sent on 04/25/2019
  • A

    Allison · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a kid, I remember walking around Lake Geneva and seeing parties at the Riviera and thinking "man, that looks like fun!" - Fast forward 20 years later, we have our wedding there this Summer... and you know what? It was just as amazing as I thought it would be when I was 8... and then some! Chuck was really great to work, sometime hard to get a hold of on the first call - but always called me back the same day. A great thing about the Riviera is you can bring in all of your alcohol.. If you do decide to do this be sure to call Bruno's Liquor store in Lake Geneva. They will deliver everything for you (I will be writing a review for them next). Also, your bartenders don't need a license and you don't have to hire a service which is great. We had one of our groomsman's cousin's bartend with her friend and they were amazing. The price is super affordable for the location... and it's honestly unforgettable! We received so many compliments on our venue location. Such a classic building, in such a fun town!! Highly suggest!

    Sent on 09/15/2017
  • E

    Eleanor · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chuck was more than accommodating and the venue is absolutely beautiful!!

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • User5488779 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hosting our wedding ceremony and reception at the Riviera was amazing! Everyone complimented us on the venue choice. THE BEST place to get married in Lake Geneva, hands down! Though, I do realize that I might be a little biased, but it really was great!

    Sent on 10/02/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent venue! Great team to work with and got so many compliments on how beautiful the venue was!

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • J

    Janene · Married on 05/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is gorgeous!! A lot of work had to be done on our end (finding vendors, clean up, etc.) but I believe it was all worth it. We did more work than probably needed to save money. Great people to work with.

    Sent on 05/16/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 11/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Riviera was the perfect wedding venue for us. Chuck, the venue manager, was extremely helpful to work with. We lived in Milwaukee while planning our Lake Geneva wedding and he came to the Riviera numerous times to let us walk through, take photos and ask questions. His set up team and security were great too. And having the surrounding lake, our photos turned beautifully.

    Sent on 12/05/2013
  • H

    Haley · Married on 11/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, the BEST reception site!! We live in Lake Geneva and there is NO other place in the area as beautiful as the Riv. You have to bring in everything... tables, chairs, linens, caterer, bar, etc. But for us this was a positive aspect because we got to pick and choose our vendors, making it completely unique to us!

    Sent on 11/24/2009
  • M

    Marcie · Married on 06/09/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a truly magical venue for your wedding or reception. You can't beat the value for the location. No decorating needed, the building is vintage, and is set up as a ballroom overlooking Lake Geneva. One downfall is parking in Lake Geneva can be quite tedious in this area. If you stay at the local hotels, they are a short walk away and you are able to park there.

    Sent on 08/01/2008
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 07/21/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Riviera Ballroom is beautiful! I am so glad we chose to have our wedding there. All of our guests loved it!

    Sent on 08/16/2012
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/07/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lake Geneva Riviera was BEAUTIFUL!! Although we did not have a very large wedding, it still looked amazing! Everyone had a blast!

    Sent on 11/21/2008
  • A

    Kimberly · Married on 08/13/2006

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Riviera Ballroom in Lake Geneva, WI is one of the most beautiful places you can have your reception. Located right on Lake Geneva, the ballrooms large windows overlook the lake on three sides. The ballroom features a beautiful dance floor and high, palace-like ceilings. You will feel like royalty. The view is breathtaking. They are flexible - and it's inexpensive compared to what you might expect! Pitfall for some and perk for others: no liquor license. You may serve alcohol but you can't have a cash bar.

    Sent on 03/24/2008
  • Morgan

    Morgan · Married on 03/26/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    What a beautiful venue! With it located on the lake, you could ask for a more stunning back drop. Not to mention you get a lot for the money (sure there are a lot of add on charges but still less then other venues in the area). The location's preferred vendors are great and are really responsive and professional. Easiest way to plan your dream wedding!

    Sent on 05/04/2015
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 11/01/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Riviera was the perfect venue for us. It is so incredibly beautiful without any decorations. It created just the environment we were looking for. The ease of having ceremony and reception all in one spot was very much appreciated by guests. They were very informative, easy to work with, and definitely knowledgable on what works best for weddings and the venue. The layout is great and provides space without feeling 'empty' if not full. The staff that worked at the wedding was helpful but also unobtrusive or disruptive to our event. The back balcony was a great way to have either smoking guests or guests that wanted some fresh air to get outside without feeling disconnected to the event since it is right there. It was bar adjacent and you could still hear the music. Plus, you can't beat that beautiful view of Lake Geneva. My only non 5 star category was getting a hold of them for questions. It is the city you contact so they work tight hours and the contact was on a week's vacation at least twice when I tried calling. I do wish there was more than one person in the office that could answer questions. Once you get down to the wire on planning, even a day's delay can cause some stress :) Once I did get a hold of the contact, which was very quick once he was back, I had everything answered fully though.

    Sent on 11/09/2014
  • Margo

    Margo · Married on 09/25/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's the best place hands down! You have to put a lot of work into it but it is so worth it in the end. I loved having it there!!

    Sent on 10/27/2010
  • Taylor

    Taylor · Married on 12/31/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Riviera Ballroom was a great place to have our wedding reception- we actually have booked the space again for an anniversary party! Chuck was great to deal with throughout the whole process. Many rules that you must take note of: No candles, strict rules on timing to end the reception, etc. The room was recently renovated in 2011 and looks wonderful!

    Sent on 06/16/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/28/2011

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chuck Gray is wonderful to work with. The venue was used for the wedding reception and it was beautiful. Would not recommend Lake Areas Rental - they are the preferred vendor for decor - and they are over priced and Melissa is quite rude and was bad mouthing us to our caterer as a matter of fact - VERY, VERY poor business. Happy to say, her bad mouthing cinched it up for us and we did everything not to use them (including bringing some of our own tables - believe me it was SO worth it!). But the Riviera is a great venue and I would recommend it (a bit pricey for what you get for the $$$ but beautiful).

    Sent on 06/06/2011
  • User3050361 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue is GORGEOUS!!! It is somewhat difficult to get ahold of the event coordinator at times and I was a little panicked that you will not receive any tangible evidence that the event is booked...just a verbal agreement. The security guards for setup, tear down, and at the event were very kind and helpful.

    Sent on 07/01/2013
  • User4467015 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Riviera is a gorgeous venue located right on Lake Geneva and I was very happy with the way everything turned out and looked. However, you are paying for the venue only. They have one type of banquet chair and two different tables available. Anything different has to be rented at an additional cost elsewhere. They have a list of preferred vendors you have to rent/do business with or there is an additional fee. We used the caterer and baker from that list and they were great, don't get me wrong. Just be prepared. The Riviera is in high demand so book early if you want a specific date (year plus in advance). We got married on a Monday thinking we would get the weekday price which is $1500 cheaper but because it was a holiday, we were charged full price. No where on the website or written information given to me was that stated. You also have to have everything cleaned up and out of the venue before you leave so recruit friends to make expedite the process. Chuck is very friendly, professional, and responds quickly to messages.

    Sent on 02/28/2016
  • User4206372 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Riviera in Lake Geneva is stunning, an old ballroom located right on the water overlooking the docks, it could not be prettier. For people like us who love boating, the water, etc, it was what we wanted.

    This being said, all The Riviera provides is the beautiful ballroom and a list of suggested caterers, bartenders, florists, etc. EVERYTHING has to be done separately, it is ALL your responsibility (be wiser than we were and hire a wedding planner!). Even the china and glassware have to be rented. Even a cutain to hide the kitchen area. You have to have a lot of time, a lot of energy and be ultra organized in order to pull this off!

    The other huge draw back is parking. When we booked it, we were told there would be valet parking (we would have to pay for it, but it would be worth it). Well, the city stopped offering that. The wedding party and young people stayed at hotels close by and walked, so they were happy as could be with the whole weekend. But...... the older guests, some of which were not healthy, were pretty uspet when they had to park 7 blocks away. Just be prepared, especially if it is a summer wedding.

    Chuck Gray was very reliable to work with and helpful. I have no complaints. It was just very, very stressful.

    We had a rental company decorate, but also brought in table numbers, favors, old photos, etc. At the end of the evening (because The Riviera is usually booked all weekend with more and more weddings), we had to pack all of our boxes up and make numerous trips to the car to get everything cleared out of the building before we could leave. That put a damper on the evening.

    Overall, because of the beauty and because of being right by the docks (the wedding party took a boat out for a while for photos), it was worth it, but be prepared....

    Sent on 06/29/2014