Skip to main content
Weddings

River Run Country Club Reviews

River Run Country Club

River Run Country Club

Davidson, NC
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 33 Reviews
View more information

33 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 33
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

22 User photos

  • Bethany
    Bethany W. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Collaborative Experience

    Tricia was incredibly helpful in providing all the necessary details to make choosing a venue much easier. She was prompt in responding to emails and thorough in answering questions. She happily arranged a phone call with us and a tour for the groom's parents (as we are planning from out of state.) River Run has flexible, affordable catering and bar options available to make customizing the menu easy, and the venue itself is as elegant and modern as can be.

    River Run Country Club's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words. I wish you and Kevin all the best throughout the wedding planning process. Warm regards, Tricia
  • E
    Elizabeth C. Married on 11/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful, Classic Wedding Venue

    We had our wedding reception at River Run Country Club's ballroom following our church wedding in November 2019. The ballroom is beautiful and classically elegant and has a generously sized dance-floor. River Run staff were attentive and incredibly easy to work with. There was a change in the wedding coordinator role halfway through our engagement, but everything still went off without a hitch. They were accommodating and it really felt like they were celebrating with us. The chef is AMAZING and all our guests raved about the food. Though it rained and we werent able to take advantage of the beautiful outdoor locations for photos, there were plenty of attractive locations within the venue and covered outdoor areas that we were able to utilize for pictures. Would recommend River Run a hundred times over and only wish the night could have gone on longer!
  • N
    Nichole T. Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Fabulous Wedding Experience

    Our experience for our May 10th, 2019 wedding at River Run Country Club was fabulous. Trish and her team were such a pleasure to work with and were extremely helpful throughout the entire process. Trish helped us along the way with any questions. Food and service was amazing. We decided on a buffet and my personal favorite was the chicken and lemon herb salmon. All of our guests enjoyed themselves.
  • Nicole
    Nicole C. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thanks to River Run and their staff, we had the picture perfect fairy tale wedding!

    The staff is very responsive and helpful! If you need anything, they will do their best to get it for you (within reason). The food was delicious, the prices are reasonable, and the venue is beautiful! We are so glad we choose to have our wedding here!
  • Kenneth
    Kenneth Married on 08/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    River run country club outstanding

    Our wedding was AMAZING the food was great and the venue was great too. SPECTACULAR views for our pictures and the staff was awesome thanks to TRICIA JOHNSON events director who was the best made us feel at ease with no worries on our special day 08/18/2018.

    River Run Country Club's reply:

    Dear Crystal & Kenny, Working with you was so much fun! Please come back and visit me soon, as I consider you my friends.
    Thank you for your trust and confidence and of course the amazing review! Love & Hugs, Tricia
  • S
    Sam Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held the wedding and reception for our daughter, Sarah, at River Run on Saturday, March 17. What a wonderful weekend!!!

    The facilities were exceptional. Given the ability to host an outdoor ceremony and an indoor sit-down reception, River Run is ideal to host weddings. The interior was simply beautiful.

    By far, the best part of River Run was our experience with Tricia Johnson, Director of Member & Private Events. Besides being very professional in all she said and did, she was friendly and gracious in every interaction we had. Her communication with us always contained the right amount of detail and information. She carefully listened in order to understand the desires for the wedding and reception. She offered helpful suggestions but never came across as pushy. She provided much-needed oversight to the bridal party the day of the wedding, and she and her team seemed to be everywhere during the reception. Everything moved along crisply and on time. To be honest, Tricia was the best part of our experience with River Run.

    We are grateful to River Run for helping to make this big event so very special for our families.

    River Run Country Club's reply:

    Thank you Sam & Betsy for your kind words. From your first visit, on behalf of Sarah & Tyler, I truly believed River Run Country Club was the ideal venue for your family. It was such a pleasure to work with all of you and I hope that you will stay in touch. Congratulations to Sarah & Tyler!! Warm Regards, Tricia
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 12/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ashley at River Run was absolutely amazing to deal with and made our wedding day everything we dreamed. She responded to all my questions and emails in a timely fashion. She was very helpful with any questions or concerns we had. On our actual wedding day, Ashley and her staff were very attentive and made our day perfect! The venue is absolutely beautiful and was transformed into our dream venue. Thank you Ashley and everyone at River Run Country Club!
  • Gabby
    Gabby Married on 12/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding December 9th and When we first went to look at River Run it was absolutely breathtaking! We began to become concerned because of all the changes in management but little did we know Ashley was the best thing to ever happen to River Run! From the moment we met Ashley we knew our wedding day was going to be perfect. She truly went above and beyond in every aspect of our big day! The food was great, the site is beautiful, the staff was incredible, everything about River Run was flawless but if you’re on the fence between River Run and another venue pick River Run for the simple fact of Ashley, Ashley, and if you dont get it I’ll say it again ASHLEY!!!! She will work with you to give you exactly what you want, she will reply to your emails even on her days off, and she will ALWAYS do her best to make your vision come to life! Thank you Ashley and thank you River Run for making our big day so special!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 11/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Run was perfect for our wedding reception. There are lots of places for gorgeous photos outside, and the ballroom is beautiful. We had access to the club all day, including having our hair and makeup done in the ladies' locker room that morning.

    Chris was the best coordinator. He's knowledgeable, professional, and calm. My mom and I each sent him countless e-mails asking questions, and he took care of everything with a smile. Chris offered to setup any kinds of decorations we wanted, including over 100 small succulents, saving us hours the day of the wedding.

    Beth did a beautiful job with decorating, including doing a complicated napkin fold for each plate. Chris and Beth even tied chair bows on every chair! Chris made arrangements for all of the details, including a piano player for the cocktail hour and special colored napkins for the reception.

    Also, Chef Todd made the most delightful wedding cake! It was beautiful and absolutely delicious.

    River Run welcomed us to have our engagement photos taken at the country club and around the golf course and offered rounds of golf for the groomsmen. It was a lovely venue, and Chris, Beth, and Chef Todd are amazing.
  • User1541294 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was really great to work with and truly was willing to do anything to make your event perfect. He was very friendly and patient even with the thousand questions we asked him. The whole staff was amazing! The servers were polite and professional. The food was delicious down to the wonderful appetizers. The pastry chef really listened and helped me decide and oh my gosh the cake was moist and delicious. My day was perfect. I could not have picked a more beautiful place with awesome people!
  • D
    Dj Event on: 08/03/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Every time I perform here, I am pleased with the staff. For me, it is all about the "client". It is extremely refreshing to work with fellow professionals that also want what is best for the "client". Keep up the good work, DJ Lamb
  • L
    Liz Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Run was the PERFECT place to have our ceremony and reception! Chris was amazing to work with; he helped me any way possible and was open to endless possibilities! Any little barrier that came up the day of, he smoothed it over no problem! And they set up a wonderful spot for us girls to get ready in the morning. Everyone raved about how beautiful the place was and our day turned out perfectly! It couldn't have been that way without Chris and his team! I appreciate everything they did!! Oh, and the food was delicious! : )
  • L
    Lori Married on 01/19/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Run made my wedding day most enjoyable. I had ceremony and reception all in the ballroom and it was very beautiful. The staff was most accommodating and all my needs were met quickly and professionally! Would totally recommend RRCC!
  • D
    Damian Married on 09/15/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I married on a perfect day, outside, at an absolutely perfect venue. The photographs speak for themselves. We looked at several venues before finding the River Run Country Club and feel we really lucked out. The setting, the staff, and the food were all fantastic!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 04/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is a beautiful venue for a wedding reception! We are so glad we chose this place. The staff has been so helpful and accomodating! We had our ceremony at CrossWay Community Church and then had our reception at the country club. However, you could have the ceremony and reception here as well. Highly recommend River Run Country Club!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 09/26/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    River Run was an absolute dream!! Michele Realmuto was my venue coordinator and she was so perfect. Between her and my wedding planner, my husband and I felt very confident and comfortable that our wedding day would go off without a hitch!!
    River Run is a beautiful location, the price was very reasonable, Michele worked with us in terms of finding the perfect menu and bar package, and she was always available to answer any questions we had. There are plenty of picturesque views, and the venue as a whole (including the bridal changing suite) is big without being massively huge and overwhelming.
    Our ceremony was supposed to be outside, but sadly it rained all day so we had to relocate to the dining room. Obviously I was concerned that it would look cheap to have both the ceremony and reception in the same room, but I was pleased to hear from many of our guest that the room was so beautiful that they just assumed everything went as planned.
  • T
    Amy Married on 04/21/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Very classy place, my reception and ceremony was held there. The staff was great and easy to work with. The food was also wonderful!!
  • M
    Laura Married on 07/05/2003
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    100% happy with our experience at River Run. Great Staff, amazing food and a beautiful venue. The Pastry Chef was amazing!!! People are still raving about our wedding cake!
  • CRYSTAL
    Crystal C. Married on 11/11/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lovely place

    The venue was beautiful and the food was excellent.
  • B
    Brooke B. Married on 12/08/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you River Run!

    Absolutely loved our wedding day. We really wanted to be able to have the ceremony and the reception at the same place, and River Run did an amazing job with that. It was the perfect day. Everything ran just as we imagined and we were so happy we chose to have our wedding at River Run.
  • L
    Lydia Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Wedding Event Coordinator Par Excellence

    My husband and I began to search for a venue for our daughter's wedding reception and one of the first places we visited was River Run Country Club. There we met Tricia Johnson for the first time. After that initial meeting my husband, (a former CEO of two publicly traded companies), said, "well, I don't think we will find anyone to top this woman". He was so right! Throughout the ten months it took to plan this event I was met with exquisite professionalism and assiduous attention to detail. At no time was I asked to wait more than 72 hours to receive a response by text or phone or email. Her services were so measured and precise that when our daughter's wedding day finally arrived I was ready to party and had scarcely a care about the reception to come. Although I was forced to share some chimerical drama created the night before by a member of the wedding party her response was immediate and totally extinguished my fears about any untoward consequences. As to the actual reception -- well, what can I say?!?! It actually exceeded expectations. The food was delicious and every detail beautifully executed. Tricia was everywhere and anywhere -- calmly taking charge of everything -- including having to remind me that it was time to cut the cake! I will say, if you choose to book your reception there, be mindful of the tax and gratuity charges (@30%). This may definitely impact food and drink choices if you're trying to keep within a budget -- as we certainly were! But if you are seeking a wedding event coordinator who will handle everything with incomparable professionalism -- from initial planning to clean up (and I almost kissed her when I discovered that part was finished when we returned from the bubble send-off) -- you'll find none better than Tricia Johnson.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 03/02/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Ashley was a wonderful person to work with and she did everything in her power to help accommodate our requests for our wedding!
  • E
    Emily Married on 03/12/2016
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris and all the River Run staff were amazing! Our reception was everything we could have hoped for, and I'm so glad we chose River Run.

    My husband and I met as students at Davidson College and wanted to have our reception near DCPC, the church on campus where we had the ceremony, since everyone was coming from out of town/abroad and we wanted to keep it local. We planned our wedding in 3 months and Chris was so easy to work with and helpful, even making suggestions as needed. The venue and ballroom are beautiful and Chris was so flexible with us in making plans. River Run has basically NO hidden or unexpected add-on fees, which is extremely rare for the wedding industry! We had our reception with 140-ish people from 5pm-midnight and the afterparty on site (in the bar area) from 12-2am at NO EXTRA COST. In addition we used their baby grand piano, which was tuned specifically for us, and ran a slideshow at no extra cost. We gave out succulents as favors and one of Chris's staff made a lovely sign for the area where they were set up -- such a nice touch!! The service was amazing both before and during the event. The groomsmen played a complimentary round of golf the morning of the wedding and the ladies had the option of getting ready at the club. Chris served as the day-of coordinator and everything ran super smoothly. We had a seated dinner and Chris, for example, VERY gracefully handled the shuffle when a few guests showed up who hadn't RSVP'd. Around 10pm we decided to extend the party to midnight when it was originally to go until 11pm and he was completely cool about it.

    I would highly recommend River Run to anyone, especially if you're getting married in Davidson or nearby. Why have everyone drive to Charlotte, when you can have the perfect country club reception just down the street?!

    My only negative feedback would be that Chris is hard to get in touch with by email, but he followed through with every detail we sent him. Better to call him!
  • D
    Darby Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved River Run in every way. We initially chose River Run because of the large ballroom and positive reviews about the wedding coordinator. We had a large latin dance themed reception, so we needed a large ballroom. The wedding coordinator Chris was responsive within a few days and answered all of our questions. He worked with us to create the wedding experience we wanted within our budget. The day of Chris did a great job to keep everything on time. He was never pushy but he kept the event on track. The Chef at River Run made Mediterranean food as we requested. It was tastier than anything we had eaten before! He also decorated our cake topper and cupcakes to my specifications. Our day was stress free and a LOT of guests said it was the best wedding they had attended.