Skip to main content
Weddings

River Highlands Ranch Reviews

River Highlands Ranch

River Highlands Ranch

Smartville, CA
4.4 out of 5 rating, 15 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.4 out of 5 rating
4.4 out of 5 rating
15 Reviews
88% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

15
Weddingwire
4.4/5 15 reviews
Google
4.3/5 20 reviews
  • D
    Danielle F. Sent on 07/11/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best place to get married

    My wife and I got married here in May 2024. Our wedding experience was amazing from start to finish. Everything about this venue exceeded our expectations, and our guests, mostly who came from out of town, were blown away by how beautiful it was.

    The setting itself is absolutely beautiful. On our wedding day, the whole property had wildflowers everywhere. What really made the difference for us was the incredible staff at River Highlands Ranch. From our first meeting to the big day, they were incredibly supportive and attentive. They were always available to answer questions, offer suggestions, and make sure every detail was just right. Their professionalism and dedication took so much stress off our shoulders and allowed us to completely enjoy our day.

    One of the things we really appreciated was how easy it was to plan. We just selected all our vendors off their list, and everyone we worked with was professional, attentive, and wonderful. Each vendor we worked with was top-notch and clearly experienced in working at this venue, which made everything run so smoothly. We felt confident in all our choices because the venue had vetted these vendors and stood by their quality.

    On the day of the wedding, the staff were on point. They coordinated everything seamlessly, from the setup to the timing of the events. Every member of the team was friendly and genuinely cared about making our day special. They went above and beyond to ensure our guests were comfortable and that we had everything we needed. Andy went so far as to bring a blanket from home for my grandma, who is cold no matter how warm it is outside. Their attention to detail and commitment to excellence were evident throughout the entire day.

    Thank you to everyone at River Highlands Ranch for making our wedding day so memorable!
    Danielle and Chad
  • MJ Grechko
    Mj Grechko Sent on 05/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An Absolutely Unforgettable Place

    From the moment we first visited the venue to the final farewell at the end of our celebration, every moment was truly magical, thanks to the amazing duo of Melanie and Andrew. They went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding day was everything we had hoped for and more. Their attention to detail, professionalism, and genuine care for us made all the difference in creating a day that we will cherish for a lifetime.

    The beauty of River Highlands Ranch speaks for itself, but it was the impeccable service and hospitality that truly set it apart. From the stunning architecture to the picturesque surroundings, every aspect of the venue provided the perfect backdrop for our special day.

    Our wedding day ran so smoothly; from setting up the ceremony space to coordinating the reception, our day was perfection. To anyone in search of the perfect wedding venue, we cannot recommend River Highlands Ranch highly enough. Not only is it a stunning location, but the team behind it is truly exceptional and absolutely dedicated to making your wedding dreams come true in every way possible.

    - Jess and Max

    River Highlands Ranch's reply:

    Jess + Max, We're SO happy that you had the best day ever!! Your wedding was absolutely beautiful and your family and friends were so much fun to celebrate with. We hope you'll come back and visit for our community events.
    Congratulations on your wedding !!! Melanie, Andrew & The whole RHR Team
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Melanie Sent on 06/25/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning and Amazing Staff

    We had our wedding here in April and it was AMAZING; we can’t say enough good things about this venue and their staff who made our day perfect. We toured many barns but this one was the most modern and elegant. Our guests were completely wowed.
    The staff, especially Andrew, Melanie, Michelle, and Drake, were incredible. They handled everything, even though we had to move inside due to rain. I didn't have to worry about a thing they set up, took care of every detail, and made sure the day was perfect. Our ceremony was beautiful, and I was so thankful that we could move inside since the day was rainy. But even though we were inside, we had a gorgeous view of the garden with the barn doors open. It was so beautiful
    We live out of state, and planning was so easy using their preferred vendors- our caterer Antionio’s Catering and planner Gianna from Wild and Lovely events were amazing. . Everyone was on the same page, super professional, and it all came together so smoothly. Honestly, it felt like they were all friends by the end of it.
    If you're planning your wedding, I can't recommend this place enough. They made our day unforgettable.
  • Lyn
    Lyn A. Sent on 11/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical VEnue

    I got married in May 2023 and I am SO GLAD I chose River Highlands as our wedding venue. It was the second venue we saw and I instantly fell in love. No other venue we saw could compare. I loved that it was out of the way and so quiet around it. No loud roads or neighborhoods. The barn is STUNNING and I love that it is more modern and not rustic. The vineyard is beautiful, as are the fields of wildflowers, and the backyard ceremony site. There are so many picturesque locations it is perfect! THe upstairs bridal suite was perfect for my large bridal party and mom/MIL and some other SOs of groomsmen with no where else to go. The upstairs has so much getting ready space and allowed us all to get ready comfortably. I also am so happy they provided the beautiful farm tables and chairs as well, because they were perfect for the tablescape aesthetic I wanted.
    Most importantly, however, was the incredible help from Andy and Melanie. They answered so many questions, allowed up to come view the site with my mom an additional time, helped with vendor suggestions (and food suggestions while we were in town for wedding planning things). THeir experience in the wedding industry as photographers became invaluable as we planned the wedding. They had a great team, process, and set up. They truly know their stuff and know what couples want/need for their wedding. We adored working with them! We are excited to visit more of the summer-time Third Thursday events to see the venue again :)
  • Shelby
    Shelby Sent on 04/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, Well-Kept Venue

    Absolutely amazing and perfect venue. The staff were friendly, everything was well taken care of, and we could not have had a more perfect wedding here. We got so many compliments throughout the night of how beautiful the venue was and it has beautiful options for both indoor and outdoor weddings.

    River Highlands Ranch's reply:

    Thank you Shelby for taking the time to provide your experience at River Highlands Ranch. We're thankful for having the opportunity to host your special guests and help you create the perfect wedding.

    RHR is definitely a stunning property and we love that we're able to share it with beautiful couples like you!
  • S
    Shelby Sent on 08/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    This is an absolutely gorgeous venue and they helped to take care of everything. We had some problems arise before the wedding with our rental company, and Melanie and Andrew handled it for us. They made us feel at ease the whole time and helped make for the perfect wedding experience.

    River Highlands Ranch's reply:

    Thank you Shelby for taking the time to leave us a fantastic review, and for choosing River Highlands Ranch for your special day!
  • K
    Kaleen P. Sent on 05/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute Best Venue!

    We looked at other barns when trying to find our venue, but nothing compared to RHR. Now, after having our wedding there & using the preferred vendors which made everything so seamless, I couldn't imagine entertaining anywhere else. Our day was perfect.
  • Kierstin
    Kierstin W. Sent on 04/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical venue, great service and amenities

    The new management under Melanie and Andrew is fantastic. I fell in love with the property as soon as I saw it...it's pretty magical. The amenities are great and made planning much easier since the venue was already well-equipped.

    The location is a perfect 1-hour getaway from Sacramento and felt secluded even though the next town is only 20 minutes away.

    No complaints, we had a great wedding here. I am an event planner for a living and so from both the guest and the host perspective, it was a truly excellent experience.

    River Highlands Ranch's reply:

    Thank You so much Kierstin! We were so happy to host you and your family at the Ranch. Yours was the first wedding under new ownership and we're glad you had a wonderful experience. Please come back and visit us again. Congratulations!!!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Sent on 11/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fall wedding 2018

    We got married at RHR in October 2018 and I cannot say enough amazing things about the venue and the staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make our day exceptional. Our coordinators, Elizabeth and Stephanie, were truly amazing. The venue is gorgeous, unique, and very private. It was the first venue that we looked at and ended up booking it immediately. The ceremony site is beautiful, even with the minimal decoration that we did. The barn is absolutely breathtaking and was able to accommodate our fairly large wedding of 155+ people very comfortably. The beautiful wooden farm tables were what sold me from day one. I would highly recommend this wedding venue - the price for the area is a really great bargain.
  • Melanie
    Melanie Sent on 04/23/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue!

    As wedding photographers, my husband and I have photographed almost every wedding venue in the Sacramento area and Sierra Foothills area- When it came time to plan our own wedding, we chose to get married here because it’s SO amazing!

    The barn is elegant and upscale, with rolling vineyards, blooming gardens and so much more.
    A HUGE bonus was their beautiful rentals which were included with the venue- Farm tables, benches, chairs- all this saved us thousands of dollars in rentals!
    The barn and property are so huge, yet it works well for both large and small weddings. We chose to have a small wedding/reception, with our ceremony under the oak tree. It was the perfect setting for an intimate wedding and is beautiful year round. Our guests loved everything about the ranch- even having a bonfire in the heat of summer!

    River Highlands Ranch's reply:

    Thank you, Andrew and Melanie! We so love the beautiful photos you've taken over the years at our venue and continue to be honored that you chose us, out of all the lovely venues out there, to host your wedding.
  • T
    Tricia Sent on 10/10/2012
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    This place is beautiful!!! It is so well designed and decorated, that I didnt really need to anything. They have tables, chairs, etc on site. There is a rental charge, but it is low and makes the logistics of it all very easy. There is very little outside lighting, but they have twinkle lights and candles all through the landscaping so it is beautiful, if not bright. There is housing on site as well. Very thoughtful details.
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Sent on 10/14/2021
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    Stunning venue for a wedding! We held our daughter’s wedding and reception here and it was an excellent choice! Melanie was nice to work with and we were able to hire our caterer and bring in our drinks and vendors. The setting is indoor and outdoor with beautiful grounds and large upscale barn. The rolling hills beyond the outdoor stage made for a peaceful, gorgeous ceremony. It really is a perfect venue! Our guests raved about it and we couldn’t be happier.
  • Leslie
    Leslie B. Sent on 05/08/2024
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Be Careful

    Wow, so my son was married this weekend at the venue. We had an appointment at 3:00 with the wedding planner to drop off all items. About 7 of us were standing in the barn when this whirlwind came in, YELLING at us because we backed our cars up to the barn to unload. She yelled that we needed to move all the cars and get them off the cement. I had no clue who this lady was, she didn't introduce herself or even say in a professional manner, due to insurance or whatever we cant park there, can you please move your vehicles. Then she proceeded to say why are you here so early.....apparently, she didn't talk to the staff to find out our appointment was at 3:00, and it's now about 3:40. That was our introduction to the venue, and the "manager" Melanie that runs the venue.
    We lost power/electricity to the venue due to the rain. But, they did not have a generator large enough to restore the power. We had my son, the groom, out at the power box and a guest, who is a licensed electrician, trying to work on it. They had nothing in the box labeled except the solar, so they didn't know what wires went to what. Fortunately, we were able to generate enough for the DJ to play music. Then, when the other manager, Andrew, showed up, he thought he would help himself to our alcohol from the bartender. At two different times, two of our guests heard him talking trash to an employee about our family.....where is the professionalism? Also, make sure you read your contract as we were told we could not put chairs outside because it would ruin their grass. They did not have a supplemental contract for rain but refused to allow us to put chairs out. By this time we were beside ourselves and Andrew couldn't understand why.. this is when as a manager you understand that it was a shitshow and try to back peddle, not Andrew.....
    To top it off, if you're going to stay in the cabin for your honeymoon, please bring mice traps and maybe a small broom and dustpan to get the mice droppings off the counters. We took photos of all these blunders that should not have happened if people were doing their jobs in a professional manner.

    River Highlands Ranch's reply:

    Dear Leslie,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent experience at River Highlands Ranch. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings mentioned.

    At River Highlands Ranch, we strive to provide exceptional service and create unforgettable moments for our guests, and we’re disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. We regret any inconvenience caused by the miscommunication regarding your arrival time and greeting.

    The PGE power outage that was unfortunately caused by a lightning strike is a rare occurrence for us, still we do have in place backup measures. While we appreciate the groom’s resourcefulness in pitching in to resolve the issue, we’d never ask or expect a guest to work directly on anything electrical related to the property for both liability and safety reasons. Despite the area-wide power outage, our team did its best to solve the issue within 30 minutes. Our team of vendors continued on-time with accordance to the bride and groom's requested timeline. As a team we’ve discussed the incident and have noted learnings for us to implement going forward.

    Regarding the outdoor seating, the bride and groom worked closely with their professional wedding planner who created several weather contingency plans for them. Due to the weather, the bride and groom asked our team to set up and maintain an indoor ceremony and reception, and we needed to adhere to their wishes.

    As for the accommodations, we are sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues encountered in the cabin. Maintaining a clean and comfortable environment is a top priority for us, and we will address this with our housekeeping and cabin management staff.

    We also want to express our gratitude for the positive reviews shared by many of our guests on platforms like WeddingWire. We are encouraged by the kind words and recognition of our efforts to create memorable experiences for our guests.

    Once again, we apologize for your experience Leslie. If you would like to discuss further or have any additional feedback to share, please do not hesitate to contact us directly via info@riverhighlandsranch.com.

    Warm regards,
    River Highlands Ranch Management Team
  • Karie
    Karie H. Sent on 08/29/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Very Unprofessional

    We booked our daughters wedding in January and due to covid the venue could no longer hold up to their end of the contract, ie # of guest, use of facility, camping etc. We were forced to move the wedding to our home which cost us more than it was going to cost at RHR. RHR refused to refund our $5840.00 deposit. They said they had already used the funds to maintain their property, they did however offer us and every other booked wedding the venue a year from now. That was not an option as our daughter was starting a 2 year nursing program right after the wedding. I would not recommend booking there unless you are willing to lose your deposit. The owners were impossible to negotiate with, we even offered to only receive half of the deposit and they refused. Poor business people.
Responds within 24 hours