Rick Haggard Entertainment Reviews

53 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

53 Reviews for Rick Haggard Entertainment

Recommended by 99%

53
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick is amazing to work with! I liked that I could create a list of Must Play songs so I could make sure certain ones got played. It also helped to chat with him before the big day so we were on the same page on the 'vibe' we wanted for the wedding. He is very responsive to emails and very accommodating to any strange music requests. He has a great sense of humor and knows when to talk and when to let the people dance!

    Sent on 01/16/2018
  • User5449434 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a phenomenal experience working with Rick and Sam. They were both incredibly professional and easy to work with, and their online software made planning simple and straight-forward. Sam went above and beyond to provide everything we needed for the wedding and to make it personal, without being overbearing. We are so grateful to them for such a wonderful experience!

    Sent on 11/04/2015

    Rick Haggard Entertainment's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you and we wish you the best always!!
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Rick to DJ our August 15, 2015 wedding and could not have asked for a better experience. I don't remember the dance floor being empty at any point in the night and my husband and I only stopped dancing when people pulled us away for photos/conversation. He was extremely professional and easy to get in touch with from our first contact with him and through the entire process. Rick's prices were extremely affordable at every level and he seems to cater to every style/taste of music. He has an awesome online event planning system which allowed us to request 'Must Play', 'Play if you can' and 'Do not play' songs. The online system also allowed us to make online payments and had lists of the most requested songs for each moment of the night (ie. overall most requested, mother/son dance, father/daughter dance, garter toss, last dance, etc.). This was extremely helpful, especially when it came to about a week before our wedding and we hadn't even considered that we needed a song for garter toss/cake cutting/bouquet toss. My husband is Persian and we were able to give Rick some Persian songs on a flash drive, which he incorporated at just the right time. Rick also had a video session with us a couple weeks out to get us on the right page and was in constant communication with us when he needed to be, but he didn't bombard us with emails or calls when we didn't get back to him immediately. Planning a wedding from afar while working our regular jobs was stressful and we really appreciated this! Overall, we would recommend Rick to anyone getting married in the area. We didn't want the party to end!

    Sent on 08/16/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was very professional throughout the entire wedding process. Leading up, he was exceptionally helpful and I was able to reach him very easily. He talked with us on the phone about the planning process and had a wide variety of songs to pick from. When we wanted a more uncommon song for our ceremony, he made sure to get it for us.

    On the day of our wedding, Rick was very professional, responsible and kept the wedding flowing. He is very charismatic and added the perfect amount of humor. Our friends danced all night. I truly want to thank Rick for all of his help in making our wedding day so fun!

    Sent on 02/03/2016
  • D

    Dru · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was a great DJ. He played a great mix of music that got all of our guests on the dance floor. He was also really good at keeping things flowing smoothly between toasts/speeches. Rick was very professional and responsive to anything we asked. I would highly recommend Rick for any event!

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • G

    gillian · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was our wedding DJ and we are so happy he was available! We found him through a recommendation from a friend and we are so happy we did. Rock video chatted with us to get to know us better, he listened to all our requests, and we had so many people comment after the wedding that our dj was great. Rick even went above and beyond and put together a mashup for the father-daughter dance - and make tweaks to it when we wanted to make a few changes. He is personable and professional, and kept the reception flowing. We can't recommend him enough!

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was an excellent DJ and MC. He moved the whole night along seamlessly, adjusted to last minute changes, and was able to make our wedding a beautiful and special night without any of the schmaltzy and cheesy types of comments you usually hear from wedding MC's. The music was spot on. He works with various formats and was able to accommodate our preference for sharing music playlists through Spotify. We gave him a lot of freedom, asking him to play some of the songs on the list but to use his own judgment for what works and what doesn't. He hit most of the songs on the list, and didn't play any songs we didn't like. Most importantly, he had the crowd dancing all night long. 150 people - all different ages and backgrounds. The dance floor was filled until the very last dance.

    In addition, as we were planning our wedding from abroad in Hong Kong, Rick was willing to get on plenty of late night phone calls with us in order to accommodate our time zone.

    Rick is an extremely experienced and professional vendor. I would highly recommend him to any couple for their ceremony.

    Sent on 09/25/2014
  • J

    Jaime · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was the DJ at our wedding this past weekend and we continue to hear from our guests how great he was! He really kept the party moving and got all of our guests going crazy on the dancefloor! We can't speak highly enough of his pre-wedding planning... we really enjoyed the multiple phone calls we had with him and felt that his online portal to plan the wedding schedule and music made the whole event so easy to organize and plan. We highly recommend Rick!

    Sent on 09/07/2014
  • K

    Kelley · Married on 08/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick helped make our big day stand out. From the time we hired him he was on top things; he helped us set up our music selection and even went above and beyond by helping us setup a timeline for the reception. His insight and years of experience make him the true proffesional that he is today. On top of that Rick is outgoing and engaging. He connects to you and your guests and keeps the celebration going. To anyone who wants a excellent and fun DJ we highly recommend Rick.

    Sent on 12/16/2014
  • B

    bethany · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was such a good choice for our wedding! Our main goal in planning the wedding was to throw an awesome party, so picking a great DJ was really important to us. Rick was very professional and helpful, and most importantly, got almost every guest on the dance floor the entire night. We picked a few must-play songs, but other than those we let Rick use his own judgement on song choice, and that worked out perfectly (plus less work for us)! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Rick to anyone planning a wedding!

    Sent on 12/16/2014
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was such a good choice for our wedding! Our main goal in planning the wedding was to throw an awesome party, so picking a great DJ was really important to us. Rick was very professional and helpful, and most importantly, got almost every guest on the dance floor the entire night. We picked a few must-play songs, but other than those we let Rick use his own judgement on song choice, and that worked out perfectly (plus less work for us)! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Rick to anyone planning a wedding!

    Sent on 12/16/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick is fantastic! From day one contacting him, he was professional, responsive and customer oriented. My husband and I had an idea of what we wanted our music to be, but didn't have a lot of time to be specific, and Rick picked the ball up and ran with it. He provided our wedding tunes, cocktail reception, dinner, and reception music and I couldn't have been happier. This bride never left the dance floor! :) Cannot say enough great things about Rick!

    Sent on 12/27/2013
  • A

    Ariel · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick is a wonderful, personable, professional, witty, and knowledgeable deejay. My now husband and I actually only met Rick in person the day of the wedding, and for a few minutes at most. However, between email, phone, and such, it didn't matter as Rick was available as needed, anticipated and answered questions and concerns, and was ever ready to ensure that our event was as we hoped it would be. Definitely a two-thumbs up from both of us.

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • User3678793 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was all over our needs! He had a unique web venue to coordinate live, establish our timeline, select must play music, and give background so he could personalize the event. Incredible responsiveness. At the event, his performance was flawless. He kept things flowing according to schedule, improvised when required, and kept the guests hopping and happy! Most important, he put on a production and narrative of our "love story" that brought both laughs and tears. Truly dedicated to the event and the couple, we would recommend Rick enthusiastically for your event!

    Sent on 11/14/2013
  • User3551448 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick did at an awesome job for our small (25 people). We are mostly 50-60 year olds and we thought there wouldn't be much dancing. Boy were we wrong. The dance floor was Full the whole evening. We were having so much that we extended the reception. His pricing was great compared to others we interviewed and his online music and event planning capabilities sealed the deal. We would definitely use Rick again.

    Sent on 09/22/2013
  • User2683224 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick is great -- very responsive and willing to help you execute your vision. We wanted great music with fairly limited DJ interaction, and Rick did just that. For couples who want some direction or creative ideas, Rick is right there with them. Many of our guests complimented "whoever made the playlist" - which was almost entirely Rick. His technology is great for conducting web meetings (we were not local) and event planning and he is very familiar with other area vendors.

    Sent on 10/13/2012
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I highly recommend DJ Rick Haggard to anyone planning a wedding in the Charlottesville area! He has an exhaustive music library and an easy-to-use online music selection portal that really helped us customize the music for our reception. He honored all of our pre-ceremony wishes and kept the event moving and on time. In the end, we were glad we selected him--his many years of experience guaranteed a memorable wedding reception and a fantastic party for our guests!

    Sent on 12/29/2012
  • Y

    Yuki · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was fantastic! He met with us a few times before the actual day and we could tell he took his job as a DJ very seriously. Rick helped make sure the transitions flowed smoothly and always gave us suggestions when we needed it. While still incorporating our own ideas and requests, he helped make the night a success. We had a great time and have him to thank for it. He seemed to be enjoying himself too, which was great. Thank you!

    Sent on 10/29/2012
  • Z

    Zarina · Married on 06/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was a wonderful DJ to work with! He was courteous, professional, uses great technology, provided great service for the value, and was more than willing to meet me and my husband as needed prior to the wedding. I had very little idea of the kind of music that I wanted to play during my reception, but with little prompting Rick put together a fantastic playlist that had EVERYONE on the dance floor in 105 degree heat! He was also a great speaker during the event - introducing, announcing at all the right times, never too much or too little. I would highly recommend Rick for any DJ event in the future!

    Sent on 08/10/2012
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 06/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot recommend Rick highly enough! He was flexible, professional and fun! I barely gave him any direction (literally only our first dance song and that I wanted a wedding party that felt like a fun bar with everyone dancing), and he did an amazing job! I still have people coming up to me telling me how much fun our wedding was and what a great DJ we had. Rick was great, and if you're concerned that a DJ wedding can't be as fun as a wedding with a band (never a concern of mine, but a friend had asked me if I was worried about that so maybe it's a thing?), he's definitely your man!

    Sent on 07/10/2012
  • Erin

    Erin · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick Haggard is an awesome DJ and MC. We had an outdoor wedding at the same location as our reception and he provided music for both. He did an excellent job transitioning from outdoors (wedding) to indoors (reception) and provided high quality sound and music for both wedding and reception. Considering the poor acoustics of our venue, achieving the quality of sound that he did, was very impressive. Rick also MC'd our wedding and reception which made me and my husband's life much easier and less stressful during the wedding. Because of his MCing abilities and his coordination with our caterer, we did not require any wedding planners! Like myself, Rick is a perfectionist and therefore covered every possible detail you could think of, when it comes to DJ/MCing a wedding. This made me feel confident that all of our DJ needs would be covered and I did not have to worry, at all, that his services would be lacking.
    Another aspect of Rick Haggard Entertainment that I liked, were the online services Rick provided. You could select songs from his seemingly limitless database of music, develop a list of songs you wanted played at the wedding, cocktail hour and reception and send it all to Rick. You could also put together your entire wedding and reception schedule to send to him, via his website, so he could be prepared ahead of time. My husband and I were incredibly impressed by his advanced technology and organization - this made everything go smoothly.
    Aside from Rick's talent as a DJ, he is just a really friendly, fun, down-to-earth person to work with. When I first spoke to him on the phone, he spent at least an hour getting information about my husband and I so he could better know who we were and what we needed as far as DJ services. He really made us feel like we were important, and valued customers! Rick was also extremely responsive via email and phone and even did some Skype conferences with us. Since we live a few hours from where our wedding took place and could not meet with vendors face-to-face very frequently, our Skype conferences were VERY convenient! Rick's attitude is fun, cheerful and can-do. Our guests really enjoyed him, as he was very approachable for music requests, played great music, and was not one of those loud, obnoxious, annoying DJs who just likes to hear himself talk (you know the type). Rick dressed very nicely in a suit and tie, and was incredibly professional throughout the wedding and reception.
    The value of Djing for the price we paid is pretty hard to beat, and you can tell that Rick Haggard LOVES his job and takes great pride in his work as a DJ. For a wedding to run smoothly, I think it is paramount that a high quality DJ be hired, and I would recommend Rick Haggard Entertainment to anyone who wishes to have the high quality service we received. Thanks Rick!

    Sent on 07/09/2012
  • B

    Brie · Married on 04/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick provided fantastic music for our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. We planned our Charlottesville wedding from overseas, and did almost all planning over email and using Rick's client planning website for music requests and timeline. We met once the week before the wedding so Rick could gather information for our "Love Story" presentation during the reception.

    All of the music turned out perfectly, and the "Love Story" was a hit. At one point in our reception, Rick lost power to his music system (I think my dad might have accidentally bumped into the plug!), and Rick led the crowd in an impromptu version of "Sweet Caroline" while he solved the problem. Your iPod cannot ad-lib like that, only a professional like Rick can!

    We are exceptionally pleased with the service we received. Rick was awesome!

    Sent on 04/09/2012
  • B

    Bill · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They made the planning so easy and stress free, which was very important at such a busy time. On top of that, the DJ was perfect at the wedding, not only because of the music he played and the way he made the event flow perfectly, but also because of his fun and upbeat attitude, which really kept everyone excited to be there. it was absolutely perfect!

    Sent on 09/27/2011
  • B

    Bryan · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rick was an absolute pleasure to work with as our wedding reception DJ. For our reception, we had a fairly specific idea of what type of music we wanted at certain stages of the evening, and Rick came through with all of our suggestions. A significant portion of our song requests were from somewhat obscure artists, but Rick went the extra mile and found all the tracks without complaint. He was a total pro.

    Further, Rick accommodated all of our preferences regarding how "hands-on" he would be during the reception. Rick was more than willing to take an active role (and judging by our conversations he would have been a hoot), but we preferred a DJ who would just play music and MC the intros, toasts, and a few other reception events. I've been to several weddings where the DJ thinks he is the center of attention--Rick is not that type of guy. He took requests, honored our preferences, and made sure that none of the tracks on our "do not play list" hit the speakers.

    Between our planning with Rick prior to the wedding, and his performance at the reception, Rick made everything easy. A poor DJ can ruin a wedding. Fortunately for us, Rick was an excellent choice. Whether you want a DJ to entertain your group, or just a DJ to work with you to come up with a solid playlist and then let the music do the entertaining, you would be hard pressed to find a better DJ than Rick Haggard.

    Sent on 09/19/2011
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect DJ ! He was prompt and kept us on our toes. Appropriate when we needed a bit laid back for dinner, led the way through all the usual wedding events ie cake, bouquet toss etc. I was really impressed and the price was very reasonable. Many guests commented on the music selection . I loved being able to personalize the whole thing. Awesome!

    Sent on 08/12/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review