Skip to main content
Weddings

Retro JukeBox Band Reviews

Retro JukeBox Band View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
22 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

6 User photos

  • Claire
    Claire C. Sent on 07/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    absolutely amazing band

    Book this band!! We booked Retro Jukebox Band for our wedding and they were absolutely amazing! All of our guests adored them and we had the most amazing time dancing all night. I had so many friends come up to me and say, "wow the band is really good". The band learned our first dance song for us and it was so stunningly beautiful. It was the highlight of our night and we'll treasure that memory for a lifetime. Retro Jukebox Band is simply unmatched in talent and energy - we'd choose them again in a heartbeat!
  • Janet
    Janet B. Sent on 06/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire this band!!

    On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give Retro Jukebox Band a 20! What an incredibly fun band they were. From the time they started playing to the very last minute EVERYONE was up dancing, from 20 year old's to 80 year old's, everyone had so much fun! Geechi was great in encouraging everyone to have a good time, and the band's enthusiasm was infectious. We loved the wide repertoire they played, there was something for everyone. All our guests were raving about the band. I cannot speak highly enough of them. They were fantastic in every way.
  • D
    Danielle O. Sent on 01/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing band, very friendly and helpful

    They sounded great and were very helpful in the planning process. Everyone had a great time enjoying the music on the dance floor. They played a big part in making our day special and memorable.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Ileana
    Ileana R. Sent on 01/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best band we could have asked for

    Our New Year's Eve wedding reception was a dream, and a big part of it was thanks to Retro Jukebox Band.

    They were incredibly professional and on top of things from the moment we contacted them until the moment the evening was over. We threw a lot of curveballs at them, from a surprise tap dance to a flash mob. To our total surprise, our flash mob recorded song ("I Think I Wanna Marry You" by Bruno Mars) cut out and when we couldn't get the sound back on, Retro Jukebox just picked up the song and played it live!!!!! It was infinitely better than we could have planned or even dreamed of. Wow wow wow.

    They played all our favorites based on the list we shared with them beforehand. The guests were raving about how talented the band was. They got everyone dancing and kept the energy high all night long. And it was a long night!
  • S
    Sarah B. Sent on 08/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Talented band with lots of great energy

    RJB has played at two events for us and both times they have gotten our guests out on the dance floor. They appeal to all ages and will cater their large song repertoire to your needs. Their sound is fantastic!

    Retro JukeBox Band's reply:

    Dear Sarah,
    Thank you so much for trusting Retro Jukebox Band to get your guest out on the dance floor and partying the night away. You are a gracious host and we appreciate the care and kindness that you showed the band. We can't wait until the next time you need us to celebrate anything that needs our Retro Vibe!
    Cheers!,
    Geechi
  • A
    Amelia F. Sent on 08/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Band!

    Geechi and Retro JukeBox Band made our wedding incredible! We worked with Geechi through a wedding rescheduling and so many other changing details due to COVID. Geechi was flexible and collaborative through the entire process and his experience and insights helped bring our vision to life! Geechi was the perfect MC and the RJB music really kept the party going. There wasn't a moment the dance floor was empty until the venue told us it was time to close down! We are already looking forward to the next time we can work with Geechi and RJB!

    Retro JukeBox Band's reply:

    Amelia and Josh! Thank you for this shining review. It was our pleasure to help you celebrate your special day. You guys were patient, flexible and So Very Relaxed through the planning process, which always leads to a fabulous time! You win the Title of the Sweetest Couple of 2021!! Now to the dance floor! We partied so hard, non-stop literally until they turned the lights on and almost cut the power! Even those who claimed they were not dancers, got down and broke a sweat!! Gotta Love that!
    You guys took wonderful care of the band and we can't thank you enough. We are so glad you enjoyed our little surprise, you deserved it. We will party again really soon, so keep your dancing shoes ready!
    Cheers!
    - Geechi
  • R
    Oliver M. Sent on 09/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    RJB is as good as it gets!

    The Retro Jukebox Band was a sincere pleasure to work with. Through covid cancellations, wild fires, etc, RJB was flexible, gracious, and professional. Their musical presence was a huge gift to our wedding day.

    Not only did Geechi and his fellow musicians create an unforgettable dance floor experience, they also made our dream vision come to life by taking their instruments in hand and creating a beautiful second line procession from our ceremony site to the cocktail hour. Geechi somehow managed to interweave playing a tuba and a trumpet in the same song for this procession!

    We will always remember the love and soulful vibes that RJB brought to our day. We cannot recommend them enough and hope to have a reason to work with them in the future.

    - Rachel and Oliver Miller

    Retro JukeBox Band's reply:

    Rachel and Oliver!!!! What an Epic Wedding for an Undeniable Power Couple! You guys produced a Creative, Fun, Energetic and Stress Free Wedding Celebration!!! Just ready to have a Great Time!!
    The second line recessional was a absolute Blast! Your special day was more than well worth the year long wait!
    Thank you, your Mothers and all of the guests for showing so much love and respect to the band, it is much appreciated.
    We are hoping to have you and your guests party with us at a local show or another celebration as soon as possible.
    Keep smiling and dancing through your lives together!
    - Geechi
  • Ashley
    Ashley D. Sent on 08/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great music that kept our guests dancing

    We knew we wanted live music for our wedding reception, and we couldn't have asked for a better band than Retro Jukebox Band. We had some electricity and noise level constraints at our venue, but they were so accommodating and willing to work with us to ensure that we still had amazing music. They even threw in a few last minute requests from the audience that required a little bit of improvisation, but everyone loved it!

    Retro JukeBox Band's reply:

    Hi Ashley,
    Thank you for the beautiful review. It was a pleasure to share in your special day. What fabulous natural venue choice for the setting of your ceremony and reception. You and your Husband (woohoo!) were so easy to work with and your guest showed us so much love and gave multiple compliments, which we appreciated. The band really enjoyed the challenge of playing the improvised impromptu requests from your guests, so glad that everyone loved it.
    Thank you again for trusting Retro Jukebox Band to help celebrate your special day. We wish you love and happiness in your life journey together.
  • J
    Jake-Laura Sent on 11/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding reception was a record breaking 110 degrees. Most of our vendors were grumpy, but the Retro Jukebox Band was the glue that held everything together. We had so many compliments of how great Geetchi was as an MC, Musician, and DJ. Very transparent (and affordable) pricing, very organized/professional, and above all else - friendly!!! I can't thank them enough for being the highlight of our reception.
  • P
    Peter Sent on 07/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    To everyone (especially fathers of the bride) planning a wedding please heed my advice here. There are three core requirements in selecting a band for a wedding. Our daughter was married just this past Saturday (our first) and we had Geechi and the Retro Jukebox band play at the event. It was a stunning, over the top success and the Jukebox team was at the core of it! This was an especially challenging affair for a band. It was an outdoor venue in Capitola overlooking the Monterrey Bay at the Monarch Cove Inn. The venue doesn't allow amplification, and you've got the breeze, trees and the sea as background sound effects. Anyone that knows music, knows it takes real talent to sound great without amplification in an open air environment. It was an awesome affair and the band was great. There were three keys to the successful outcome with regard to the musical requirements of a wedding.
    1. Sound: The band has to be great. These guys were great. Without amplification we had the place jumping with killer R&B, Jazz & Rock and Roll. The dance floor was a crowded ball of fun that included the entire cross section of attendance from the dance lovers to the wall flowers. The energy of that dance floor was like a black hole sucking everyone to it's core.
    2. Timing & Organization: Don't overlook this. Your band is a key part of the synchronization of events that make an event magical. It's the hiccups and odd pauses that detract from an event. Geechi and I synched up; he gets it and has deep experience to draw on.
    3.Charisma: Geechi's got charisma. A great band without a charismatic leader can do just fine at many venues, but not at a wedding. When you've got the ceremony, the introductions, speeches, cake ceremony, etc, you need someone to bring the energy and charisma to each new segue of the event.

    You need these three things above and I can say the Retro Jukebox band has these ingredients in abundance.
  • N
    Natasha Sent on 07/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    For anyone looking to hire a band, look no further than Retro Jukebox!

    We recently had Retro Jukebox play at our wedding, and many guests told us that the band was the highlight of their experience-- the minute they opened the dance floor with a James Brown number, everyone rushed to get moving and shaking!

    As clients, we were incredibly impressed with Retro's ability to cater the event experience to a cross-cultural audience of various backgrounds and ages. A significant percentage of our audience was Indian, and they were able to put together a program which appealed to all. We appreciated their flexibility in allowing a short 'Indian music' segment, even doing some improv and dancing along with it! Hopefully, this also inspired a few ideas for future gigs as well. :-)

    Additionally, my husband and I both sing, and wanted to perform a song with the band at our wedding. To accommodate our request, Retro held multiple rehearsals with us both prior to the event and day of the event. Geechi, the band's lead singer, even cut short a gig to practice the entire entrance and production before the guests arrived, which was instrumental in pulling off a seamless performance. Our guests were simply wowed by the introduction that greeted them when they walked in-- it felt like a professional show.

    Geechi not only delivered as an excellent vocalist, but also as an entertaining and charismatic emcee. His rendition of Billy Ocean's 'Suddenly' stood out as the finest instance of musicality in the entire evening-- my father went up to the stage and asked him to perform an encore of the entire song.

    Talent, professionalism, and an infectious positivity-- that is Retro Jukebox! Thank you for making our wedding so special.
  • P
    Paul Sent on 07/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Highly recommend this band. Great musicians, great sound, professional, affordable.
    If you want a top-notch band for your special event, such as a wedding, this band is perfect.
  • K
    Kat Sent on 07/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Retro JukeBox Band was amazing! Definitely one of the best decisions we made for our wedding! For me, having a live band was one of the things I wanted most for our reception. I was very impressed by RJB's demos, but I was totally blown away by their live performance. We worked with Geechi to set up the reception and he was relaxed enough that it helped us relax as well. Feeling relaxed was an added bonus, and if you're planning a wedding you'll know what a luxury that is! We worked with RJB in a few ways: a smaller group played jazz during our cocktail hour (we loved it!), then Geechi emceed our introductions masterfully (not an easy job when your family is a mix of difficult Greek, Indian, and Filipino names...), and then the RJB septet brought the house down during our reception. We asked for a few specific songs, which they played beautifully. Geechi told us they usually just read the crowd and then go with it - and that's what they did. Everyone told us that the band was unbelievable. EVERYONE was dancing. We didn't want the party to end! If you're looking for a band that's going to blow you and your guests away, that is a great value, and that is going to actually help you relax during the stressful months of wedding planning, DEFINITELY hire Retro JukeBox Band. They were the best and I'd love to work with them again (and also be friends with them)!
  • D
    Dan Sent on 02/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Retro Jukebox did an amazing and superb job at our party. They were definitely center stage following the ceremony, and everybody loved them. Even the children and toddlers were dancing on the floor. They did a great job of working with us to provide the music that we and our guests would enjoy. I loved the fact that they did jazz/swing and modern day covers.

    The party would not have been the same without them. We are extremely happy that they were at our event, and would highly recommend them to any other couple considering a live band.
  • B
    Brandon Sent on 12/31/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    In my opinion, there is nothing more important than having a great live band at a wedding if you want to throw a great party for your family and friends. So when my fiancé (at the time) asked me to find a wedding band for our September 2016 North Lake Tahoe wedding, I felt a lot of pressure to find the perfect band that would help make our wedding reception the best night (and party) of our lives. I've been to a couple weddings where the band was terrible, and it really put a damper on an otherwise great evening, and I was resolved to not let this happen to our wedding.

    Thank God we found Retro Jukebox Band (RJB)! I can't begin to express how great Geechi, John and the rest of the crew are - so cool and nice and SO easy to work with. Their sole goal was to make sure our special night was the best of our lives. They played "What a Wonderful World" and "La Vie en Rose" during our ceremony, which were so beautifully played and sung. They played the perfect background jazz music for our cocktail hour and dinner. And most importantly, they kept the dance floor full all night, crushing all the Motown hits (our favorite), Prince, Michael Jackson, etc. They can play anything and everything and they play it all so well! After their set was done, they seamlessly transitioned to DJ mode and kept the party going. All of our guests loved them, and no one wanted to leave the dance floor when the night was over! RJB was the MVP of our whole wedding!!

    Just writing this review brings back so many good memories - I wish we could do that night all over again. If you're looking for an awesome live band for your wedding and want a night that you'll never forget, do yourself a favor and hire Retro Jukebox Band! You won't regret it!!

    And feel free to ask Geechi to put you in touch with me - as you can tell, I can go on an on about how great these guys are!
  • E
    Emily Sent on 07/15/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It's a no brainer. Retrojukebox is amazing. They are easy to work with, they have an amazing and diverse sound and they will accommodate any needs or requests that you have. They MC, they interact with the audience, and they get the crowd moving without overwhelming anybody with attitude. They are just the best. Period.
  • Jenni
    Jenni Sent on 10/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One of the best choices you'll make!

    Retro JukeBox is one of the very best out there! As a wedding planner, I love to work with vendors I know well and enjoy being around. This crew goes above and beyond and they will have your guests dancing all night long. Not only are they incredible artists, they are incredible, friendly, and personable people. You won't regret hiring them!
  • T
    Tee Sent on 01/24/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved Retro Jukebox band and my bridal party still talks about themy every time we get together and it's been 5 months since my wedding. If you have any doubt when it comes to choosing a band for your wedding, you won't regret hiring Retro Jukebox band. Not only were our guests dancing but, the band was so engaging, professional, and lively. Some of our guests even a sang solos with the band as they played. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect night. Thanks so much Retro Jukebox!
  • T
    Trish Sent on 01/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Retro Jukebox Band played at my wedding and they were a perfect choice. I would choose them again in a instant if I had too. We listened to their audio and looked at photos, so we knew they sounded great and looked professional, we just were not prepared on just how amazing they were live. They defiantly blew us away. The music was great, the energy was incredible, they engaged my guest and we just danced all night. They even agreed to extend an hour because we were having such an awesome time. You defiantly want a band like Retro Jukebox, they are sure to rock the house and impress everyone!

    Thanks
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 02/20/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stop looking for a wedding band! Because you have just found it. Retro Jukebox Band is the best.
    We first saw Retro Jukebox Band my best friends wedding and knew they were going to be the band for our wedding. They were spectacular from booking them to them performing! Our dance floor was packed all night and people are still talking about the band and how much fun they had! We have been to a few weddings with live bands and none of the bands were on the level of Retro Jukebox Band. They have fair prices, quality music, amazing vocals and very flexible with many options of music to choose from. They truly were a highlight of our day. Hire them you will be extremely happy with them.
  • T
    Toni Sent on 10/28/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great music spanning decades, good musicianship, entertaining, played a lot, wide and varied repertoire,

    Wide and varied repertoire, profession, very entertaining, music spanned decades, was perfect whilst during cocktail hour and whilst eating and definitely lively and danceable.
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 05/12/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When they are good, they are really good. In fact, it was pretty unanimous that the star of the wedding (besides us) WAS the band. From ceremony, to cocktail hour, to the reception, they provided the entertainment and help the day go smoothly. They will cater to your style and put their spin on some old music favorites. Geechi, the band leader, has great charisma which attracted us in the first place. He gets everyone involved and very engaged with the audience. Even during the wedding day, he came to us just to make sure that we were all on the same page. We love this band!

    However, we had a little problem with communications in the beginning of the process, but once Geechi took over the handling of this, he was pretty much on top of things and we really do appreciate that! We would totally recommend them for your next event!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message