Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

15 | Kingshill, VI
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Recommended by 87%

15

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.0
Sort by:
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 11/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our room block at the Marriott and they planned the transportation to/from the venue. Everything was seamless and the guests loved the hotel!

  • M

    M · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    My wife and I held our wedding weekend at Carambola on September 4th of this year. We are frequent visitors of St. Croix and wanted to hold our wedding in a place where we could have our friends and family experience the best of the island and understand why we go there to visit. We chose Carambola for its beautiful location on the island. The wonderful beach and rainforest mix really shows off St Croix. Mandy Cartwright was our contact at Carambola and we want to let you know she was amazing. Being stationed in Chicago and not wanting to hire a wedding planner, we were a bit nervous, but Mandy did an excellent job of ensuring our wedding went off without a hitch. She kept us up to date on everything we needed to do, was in contact enough that we knew she was there but was not pestering and was able to answer every question that came up in a very timely manner. She really did a wonderful job and made our wedding day that much more special and perfect!
    My wife had seen some poor reviews of the housekeeping online and called Mandy about it. Everyone who stayed with us at the resort RAVED at how beautiful and clean everything was, from the rooms to the grounds. We will be writing our own reviews online and making sure people know how great the staff is and how clean and beautiful the resort looks. Mandy did a lot of little things that made the weekend a big success, things we would not have thought of. We asked her to set up a tab for the Friday Pirate’s Buffet for all our friends visiting. She went above and beyond, setting up tables on the terrace, placing signage and making it our rehearsal dinner. The group loved that evening and we still get comments about the food and Moku Jumbies. The ceremony itself was beautiful. We did not have to worry about a thing. The tables looked amazing. The décor was perfect. The set up was exactly what we needed. The food was incredible and every time I turned around I saw Mandy ensuring everything was going off withou

  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Carambola was so amazing! We had 50 guests to the resort for 4 days! Lauren and the staff were so helpful with every aspect of the wedding!

    The last minute "change of plans" went off with out a hitch when mother nature gave us a wedding blessing!

    Not only the most picture perfect place for a wedding, but a fun and classic location for your family and friends to vacation in St. Croix!

  • User3612383 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at Carambola Beach. Lauren was amazing. Loved working with her. It really felt like we had the place to ourselves. The beach is so beautiful. They have scuba right there. The hammocks are such a sweet touch. It was such a perfect getaway. Can't wait to return.

  • User2141511 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply the best! Beautiful roms, beautiful beach, extremely helpful and happy staff. Lauren helped me with every aspect of my planning that she could and was on site the entire day of my wedding. I cannot thank her enough! She stood by my side and was ALWAYS only a phone call or email away. She truly made things happen! The chef team accommodated all dietary needs and exceeded the expectations of all of my guests! I cannot wait to return to the resort!

  • C

    Carmen · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding and reception at Carambola Beach Resort and could not have been more happy with how everything turned out! The location is beautiful and the perfect setting for our desination wedding. It is secluded on the Northwest end of St Croix, so you do not have all of the tourist traffic that some of the other hotels have so it felt like our own private beach for the ceremony!

    We had the reception on the Saman terrace, with a plated dinner and open bar. Included in our wedding package was a couple's massage, bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries, there were a lot of extra touches that made us feel special during our stay. Most of our guests also stayed at the hotel and were very happy with their stay, just make sure you ask for the renovated rooms!

    We worked with Ashley the Event coordinator at the hotel and she had her wedding at Carambola a couple of years ago so she knows exactly what a bride goes through when planning her wedding! She was very responsive to questions and very helpful with suggestions for wedding vendors on the Island.

    We hope to go back and visit for our anniversary!

  • CaitlinandGreg2010

    Caitlin · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was great, and so was the service! The staff made a plate for my husband and I so we wouldn't have to go through the buffet and we could just socialize. The room and the location was beautiful! I couldn't have wished for a better place.

  • B

    Hollis · Married on 05/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married at Carambola in May. We had 40 people with us to celebrate and everyone just loved the place! The workers are very friendly and the service was great.We had heavy appetizers for our dinner for the wedding and it was so delicious. Carambola has one of the best beaches on St.Croix as well.

  • M

    Tasha · Married on 10/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I read a lot of reviews before finally choosing on Carambola. It was a decision I will never regret! The people and employees were amazing! We had the best time of our life!! The wedding was GORGEOUS!! We are already planning our next trip back to St. Croix and Carambola!!!

  • E

    Eve · Married on 12/22/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was unbelievable. A few days before Christmas, and we were amoung only a few other guests. After Christmas the crowds picked up. It was the perfect place for a beach wedding. If I had to do it all over again, it would be here.

  • N

    Ashley · Married on 07/14/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    If your dream was exactly like ours, to get married barefoot on a beach, then this resort is your place!!!! I wasn't sure what to expect, but it completely blew our expectations!!! We are not resort people, but this place makes us what to come back every year! The food was amazing, the staff make you feel like family, and the upgraded rooms are breath taking!! The setting for our wedding was perfect, and I don't have a single bad thing to say about the reception...they were both amazing! The food at the reception was to die for!!! (try the bruschetta!!) We both definitely recommend this resort for your destination wedding or your honeymoon!!!

  • R

    Rose · Married on 06/04/2009

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    20 of my wedding guests stayed at Carambola for 3-7 days. I didn't have any complaints. Everyone was happy with the accommodations and service. Everyone enjoyed the beach, and the restaurants. I also had my wedding day massage there and it was great.

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/25/2009

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Carambola is the most beautiful place on Saint Croix to get married, particularly if you want a beach wedding. The resort staff, especially the bartenders and members of the wait staff, make the experience exceptional for you and your guests. The resort’s banquet pricing is reasonable and the head chef is incredibly talented. Spa de la Mer provided an outstanding experience getting ready on my wedding day.

    However, the resort recently had to make staff cuts. These unfortunately included their highly organized and responsive sales and services manager, who specifically handled weddings and special events. So if you do hold your wedding at Carambola, I implore you to hire an outside event coordinator like SunCelebrations to work with them.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 04/07/2009

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Had a very hard time getting this location booked. Very unresponsive in getting a contract, took 3 months. Lots of personnel changes in the 14 month time span in which I was working with the Carambola. Upon the suggestion of my photographer, I hired a wedding coordinator and very glad I did. She ran interference for any and all problems that arose. In the end, the absolutely stunning beach and backdrop along with the great photographer made this worth the work it was to book here. The staff was friendly during our stay and the upgraded rooms were very nice. Hardly anybody at the resort so it was very quiet and beautiful.

  • User5170614 · 2+ years ago

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Carambola is a stunning resort and the property is gorgeous. The food that was served at our wedding was delicious and the portions were gigantic.

    My husband and I visited St. Croix the year before our wedding to meet with vendors and look at venues. Although the initial wedding coordinator that we had spoken with recently left the position, the new wedding coordinator, Ann, was amazing. Ann advised us not to hire a wedding planner stating that she takes on those responsibilities. Before signing the contract and putting our deposit down my husband and I fully disclosing all of our ideas (including a cigar & scotch bar, sparkler sendoff, and many other details). Throughout the next 6 months Ann was extremely helpful and very responsive. 6 months before our wedding Ann quit, we were not notified by Ann, Carambola, or the new coordinator, Elly.

    Not only was it annoying to go over everything AGAIN with a new coordinator, but she was also absolutely awful. Right around that time Carambola increased their prices; Elly attempted to tell us that we would be required to pay the new prices, even though our contract stated differently. 2 weeks before our wedding Elly quit. A new coordinator, Mandy was hired. We once again had to go through all the details, adding so much more stress to our destination wedding. Days before our wedding we were told that we were not allowed to have our sparkler sendoff or cigars at our wedding, even though we had gotten permission before signing the contract and from every other coordinator. The manager of the Renaissance was extremely unprofessional, rude, and argumentative. Furthermore, after our wedding my husband and I were overcharged $4,000. The invoice contained several duplicate charges such as “ceremony setup fee” & “fee for setup of ceremony”. After a fight the money was finally reimbursed.

    Overall Carambola is a beautiful resort; just know in advance that you will be dealing with a lot of unnecessary stress & complications.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review