Skip to main content
Weddings

Reading Public Museum Reviews

Reading Public Museum

Reading Public Museum

Reading, PA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 32 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
32 Reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

32
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
Weddingwire
4.9/5 32 reviews
Google
4.7/5 1042 reviews
  • Nikki
    Nikki M. Sent on 05/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stress-free Experience

    We all know wedding planning can be stressful but the staff here is 100 percent there to make sure every detail is taken care of and they truly care about their couples. So happy with our choice to get married on the gorgeous grounds here.
  • S
    Shizuyo I. Sent on 08/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding Experience

    We highly recommend working with Michaela and her team! We had our ceremony and reception at the Neag Planetarium, and it was the perfect space for our intimate, and unique wedding. Our friends and family thought the lobby area was lovely with all the white lanterns and hanging displays, and of course the Star Dome was the perfect space for our ceremony and dancing for the reception. The technician did a wonderful job with the projections and made the dancing that much more enjoyable. Michaela was very responsive to our questions and concerns. We felt like we were in very good hands from the beginning of the whole process. She worked very well with our other vendors, and everything went so smoothly the day of our wedding. The way Michaela handled our rehearsal the day before eased a lot of our anxieties leading up to the big day, so we really appreciated her experience. The security guard and the rest of the staff who helped with set up/tear down were all super nice, and did a great job the whole day. We cannot recommend the Neag Planetarium and their staff enough for an event!

    Reading Public Museum's reply:

    Shizuyo, we can't thank you enough for your kind words. We're so grateful to have been part of your special day, and we wish you and Michael all the best!
  • Kelly
    Kelly Sent on 07/21/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Vendor and Best Time!

    We recently got married at the Naeg Planetarium on 7/16/22. The venue was stunning and made for some great pictures. The staff (especially Michaela Zaborowski and Becky Ruth) were an absolute pleasure to work with. Michaela did a fantastic job keeping in contact and keeping us updated throughout the entire process. Becky did a great job day of working the lights inside the dome. Our family and friends raved about how cool it was to get married "under the stars". They made our day so special! I would highly recommend anyone getting married to reach out to them. The one piece of advice, keep your wedding small, under 130 people. Every fit comfortably and had plenty of room to move around the two rooms.

    Reading Public Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much for these kind words, Kelly! We're honored you chose RPM for your special day and delighted that you, your friends, and your family had a wonderful time. Wishing you the absolute best in your future together!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Katherine
    Katherine Sent on 07/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue

    Michaela did an amazing job explaining everything when setting up the venue. There was no stress going into the venue. Everything turned out BEAUTIFUL! I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a wonderful venue experience. Price was very reasonable.

    Reading Public Museum's reply:

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Katherine! We're thrilled we could make the experience stress-free, and I hope you all had a terrific time. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and Austin.
  • M
    Meghan C. Sent on 04/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    BEST DAY EVER! Perfect day at the perfect venue.

    When my husband and I started our wedding planning process we knew we wanted to go a more nontraditional route with our venue. We wanted a place that felt like “us”. Planetariums are a part of our early relationship so when we stumbled upon the museum it was PERFECT for us. It is a smaller and much more cost effective venue compared to the other larger museums in NJ/PA. It has such a charming hometown feel. Our wedding had just under 120 guests. One thing that really sold us is that you can DANCE UNDER THE DOME. Our food was served in the lobby of the museum but the dance floor was under the dome so we had amazing lighting and projection all night. That staff was amazing and so helpful. Stephanie was our point of contact through the planning process and was so helpful and dedicated. The other ladies who helped day of were fantastic. The venue and staff was everything we could have asked for and more. We can’t wait to come back for our next celebration.

    Reading Public Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Meghan! We're so grateful you chose The Museum as the venue to celebrate your wedding day. It was an absolute pleasure working with you.
  • Olivia
    Olivia P. Sent on 09/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue, Perfect Day, Great Staff!

    Where do I even begin? I could not have imagined an easier, more beautiful wedding day at the Reading Museum. Wedding planning during COVID-19 was not the easiest time whatsoever, but the museum staff, specifically Stephanie made the process so easy and stress-free! 
    Once upon a time, we had dreamt of the perfect day hosted in the upstairs galleries with the gold gilded frames but due to restrictions and the date change we had to change to the outside tent. I am so happy that the change happened, we could not have imagined our day any differently. The tent even on a hot August evening, remained cool and comfortable for our guests!
    Throughout the process, especially after the date change the staff was SO responsive to questions, concerns, and plans! The rehearsal and wedding day was so well organized I did not have to worry about making sure the vendors were there in time, decorating the space, or even worrying that my bridal party would miss a queue during the ceremony. The staff moved quickly and efficiently, they were always one step ahead of me! 
    With all of the changes, we even had to change the ceremony area with just a few weeks notice. The day of, the team was able to create a beautiful space in the garden and make it comfortable for our guests and our wedding party! 
    We would recommend the Reading Public Museum to anyone getting married or even hosting a corporate event or personal party! There are so many key elements that make this venue the best; the attentive staff, the beautiful location and spaces, between all of these things your event will truly be remembered!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Sent on 09/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Venue

    This is the most beautiful and unique venue in the Reading area. Thereis something for everyone at the museum with the galleries, the arboretum and the planetarium! We had such a fantastic experience working with the staff at the museum! Everyone was so knowledgeable, professional and thoughtful. They really went above and beyond to make every detail perfect.

    Reading Public Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much, Hannah! It was a pleasure having you. Your wedding was absolutely beautiful! We wish you the best!!
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 04/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Reading Public Museum

    We knew we wanted to go with the Reading Public Museum as soon as we were shown around the venue. Laura Culp was extremely professional and took all things in stride with regard to planning for our big day. She was always responsive and typically one step ahead of us, many times anticipating our needs prior to us having to raise concern. This was VERY settling for a bride who wanted to ensure that everything was just right.

    The museum offers multiple locations to have the ceremony and reception - all on one campus, with an absolutely gorgeous back drop for photo opportunities - both inside AND out! They come to the table with recommended local vendors made up of an intimate list of professionals who are well attuned to the location and are ready to make the most of your money. We found this to be extremely helpful ESPECIALLY on the front of finding the right photographer. There are understandable precautions that need to be taken with respect to the artwork in the museum and flash photography. We chose to be married inside one of the galleries and it was VERY important to us that our special day be captured just right. We were able to make the right selection due to Laura’s thoroughness with providing us what we needed without having to worry if who we found on our own was going to be able to properly capture the moments recording the start of our life together while being respectful of our surroundings. Having the list of suggested vendors took a lot of the leg work out of the equation. We found it very helpful and yet another show of professionalism of Laura’s team from the perspective of the end user.

    Without question I would recommend this location to any couple looking for a perfect place to start their future!!
  • D
    Diane Sent on 09/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I are thrilled to share our experience at having Reading Public Museum as our wedding venue. Not only did the museum and grounds stand on its own as a beautiful backdrop, but Laura Culp, event coordinator, and her staff were outstanding in providing excellent service and advice, as well. They personally gave their best so that we and our guests would have the best experience possible. They were professional, courteous and extremely helpful in every step of our planning. Our guests were aweinspired by every single detail that the museum offered for an elegant event! The convience of having the ceremony and reception in the same location was a plus for our guests. Also, the musuem provided a complete list of highly qualified professional vendors right down to the DJ. Let me tell you....the museum was a'rockin'!!
    It was an incredibly fun and grand evening!!
  • M
    Michelle Sent on 02/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved the planetarium. My guests said how amazing the light show was during the ceremony and during the reception when we were dancing. We were able to take pictures around the museum too. I wouldn't have changed anything.
  • E
    Emily Sent on 02/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married in the planetarium in November. The entire experience was amazing. Laura (event coordinator extraordinaire) and Mark (planetarium director) went above and beyond for us. They helped us with everything from planning where to put our gift table, to hanging our decorations, to putting up a slideshow and monogram for the reception. Laura even went out of her way to MAKE a card box for us when she realized we didn't have one! There are not enough great things to say about the team at RPM. I would not have changed a thing about our day and I really believe that it was made even more special because of the care and love Laura and Mark showed to us.
  • H
    Heather Sent on 10/10/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with the Reading Public Museum for our wedding was so easy! The venue is gorgeous, and I knew we would be in good hands when we met Laura. From the planning to the day of, she was always extremely responsive and helpful. Our guests loved having an interactive cocktail our in the museum, and dancing under the stars in the planetarium is something no one will forget. I highly recommend it!!
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 06/14/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had our ceremony in Trudy's garden and our reception under the tent. It is such a beautiful location. Everything was absolutely amazing. Laura and the entire museum staff were incredible and so helpful throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend the museum to anyone looking for a wedding venue.
  • User2523253 Sent on 01/31/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The whole team at the Reading Public Museum was wonderful. We started our wedding planning with Margaret, and when she left a month before the wedding I was very nervous! Laura, who helped us from then on out, was AMAZING. She went above and beyond with making us feel comfortable and happy. Our wedding was beautiful, and a large part of that is because of the amazing location of the Reading Museum Planetarium and the amazing staff there who made it all possible!
  • User2664482 Sent on 06/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Every detail of our wedding was absolutely perfect due to the fact that Margaret and Stephanie were amazing to work with. Even with he monsooning rain, the museum worked tirelessly to make sure that our plan B was executed perfectly. All of our guests could not stop raving about how great the Atrium and the Stone Terrace Tent were. I am so appreciative of the location ceremony as well as at amazing staff at the RPM!
  • K
    Kaelyn Sent on 08/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our day was amazing! Everything was perfect and the way we wanted it. The planetarium looked beautiful. The tables, the lighting, the curtains and everything was set up exactly how we wanted and was amazing. The entire staff went above and beyond! The food was outstanding and everyone loved it. All of the servers were polite, friendly and helpful. We didn't expect them to be bringing us drinks and food so that was a nice touch. Everyone from the museum staff did the same as well. Just with helping guide everyone, to the lights and star shows inside the dome for our entrance the pictures on the tvs it was all perfect. We've recommended this location & staff to everyone that we know! We couldn't of been more pleased & satisfied for how our dreams came true!
  • User2191672 Sent on 06/22/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The grounds at the Reading Public Museum are gorgeous, accessible, and secure. This venue is a perfect spot for those looking for a natural yet refined look to their wedding. Our ceremony was in the gardens and our reception was in a tent in front of the museum. The beauty of the site speaks for itself! Checkout the Reading Public Museum's website and Instagram account for pictures. What really made this venue stand out was the incredible customer service from Margaret, an events coordinator for the museum, and the security staff. Prior, during, and after the wedding the whole team accommodated our needs with a smile on their faces. Margaret assisted in answering my many questions about rental equipment and coordinating with vendors for months prior to the wedding and up to the day of. Security ensured us access to locked storage prior, during, and post the wedding day. This is a fantastic venue with equally fantastic staff!
  • A
    Antonia Sent on 10/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved the Planetarium at the Reading Public Museum. The space is a unique and exciting venue and a blank canvas to do whatever you want. And an incredible value as far as wedding venues go. The staff are so helpful and can't do enough to make your event run smoothly. Margaret, Elan, Laura, Dave, Robert and Stephanie! Thank you all so much for making our wedding a night to remember.
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 01/12/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved our wedding at the Reading Public Museum.
    I wasn't sure if planning a wedding from out of town would be hard, but Margaret was attentive and very responsive to all questions and concerns I had during the planning process.

    We had our ceremony just outside of Trudy's Garden, cocktail hour inside the museum so that's guests could explore the museum, and reception in the Stone Terrace Tent.

    I highly recommend working with vendors who are familiar with the museum. They knew the ins and the outs of the museums and worked seamlessly with Margaret and the museum staff.

    I felt that the value was on point and the service was exceptional.
  • G
    Gina Sent on 09/30/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Such a great expierence! Staff is so friendly! Loved having my wedding here.
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 06/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    BEAUTIFUL VENUE!! We were very lucky to have such a beautiful wedding day. A few days before our wedding we were hit with a devastating hail storm. So many cars were destroyed as well as properties. I called our wedding coordinator Stephanie at the Museum to check in on the damage to the grounds. She assured me that everything will look wonderful on our wedding day. The day before our wedding we stopped by the Museum to drop off some items off for our reception and all of the workers were out cleaning up from the storm. Come our wedding day you would've never knew that a storm had come through. Everything looked amazing! Stephanie was a godsend. She was so easy to work with. I would highly recommend this venue. It is a place that has so much history and will leave a lasting impression on your guests. I highly recommend The Reading Museum!!
  • J
    Jenn Sent on 01/01/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stephanie (the event coordinator) was amazing to work with while we were planning our wedding. We had our reception at the planetarium and everything went perfect. She was super nice and easy to work with. We were able to get into the planetarium Friday all day to set things up (centerpieces, place cards, etc) and drop off all the bar stuff, ice, beer, etc. Stephanie and Kara coordinated with all our vendors and helped them with everything they needed that day. We were even able to leave stuff there overnight and pick it up Sunday when they opened which was so nice not to have to clean and move a bunch of stuff that night. Our dance floor was packed (everyone was excited to dance under the stars). I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for an offbeat fun atmosphere.
  • Heidi
    Heidi Sent on 12/07/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When we were looking for venues, my husband and I originally thought that the museum only had the 200+ person planetarium available for wedding rentals. I double checked their website and noticed that others spaces in the museum were available as well. My husband and I agreed to see the museum as a wedding venue and we set up a date and time with the coordinator, Stephanie.

    Stephanie was wonderful. She was very personable and answered all of our various questions. When we had all of our questions answered, Stephanie left us alone in one of the spaces to think and talk it all over. With our date available, we knew it was the right place for our 50 person wedding; therefore, we booked the Founder's Gallery for our reception and the First Floor Central Gallery for our ceremony. With both spaces and a few extras, we were less than $100 over our allotted amount for our venue - it was worth it.

    Before the wedding, we had a walk through with Stephanie that helped us to iron out all of the details and the timeline. We left the museum feeling optimistic that it would all be as planned. The week of the wedding, Stephanie learned that there were no longer enough of the chairs we planned on using for our reception. We were upset, but we could not change the lack of chairs. Stephanie substituted one set of chairs with another at no cost to us. It wasn't what we envisioned, but it worked as a plan B.

    On the wedding day, Stephanie made sure all was in good order and then put her assistant Cara in charge. Cara helped to answer any last minute questions and was always nearby in case she was needed. It was greatly appreciated to know that someone was there in case we needed them.

    Stephanie and Cara do a great job and we plan on returning to the museum many more times. It will always hold a special place in our hearts. We love the Reading Public Museum and always will.
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 10/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding/reception at the Neag Planetarium at Reading Public Museum. It was an awesome place to have it. We got so many compliments from our guests on how great it was to be under the stars. It made it such a magical day and the atmosphere was great. Stephanie and Cara were absolutely wonderful in helping with all the details and answering all our questions. It was a rainy day and they were great about letting us take our photos inside the museum and use the bridal suite. It was such a relief knowing they were there to help make things work. This venue was so worth the money spent! A great place with great people
  • L
    Lori Sent on 10/15/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stephanie and Cara were great to work with! They make a great team, who are professional and easy to work with, they went above and beyond. The museum grounds were beautiful for pictures. The Neag Planetarium was a great venue and I am SO glad we chose it. It made for a unique wedding that our friends and family will be talking about for years to come. How many people can say they were married under the stars!

    Thanks for a great day!!
    Lori H
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message