Ray the DJ Reviews

348 | Tempe, AZ
See photos, pricing and details

348 Reviews for Ray the DJ

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

348

20 User photos

Order by:
  • Allison

    Allison M. · Getting married on 10/04/2024

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!

    Riding Tandem had the pleasure of working with Ray this past weekend for a wedding and man does he bring the excitement! Highly recommend hiring Ray!

    Sent on 04/24/2021
  • Danny

    Danny I. · Getting married on 12/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James @ Ray the DJ was GREAT!!!

    We would like to say a special thank you to our wedding DJ, James Mennes! James was extremely professional, and after our first zoom chat, I knew we were in the best hands. He not only was a pro at formatting and itinerary, James was familiar with all of our music and made it a point to customize the playlist to Merril and I, from start to finish. You went above and beyond for us James, not only the icing on the cake, but the cherry on top! If you are looking for a DJ, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND James to make your big day truly amazing!

    Sent on 01/11/2021

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    James said that you and Merril were easy to work with, very relaxed and fun! He especially enjoyed the wide range of music that you and your guests liked and had fun reading the crowd to keep everyone happy. Your guests were very kind and hospitable and wanted to dance! It was nice to have such an enthusiastic and loving group that wanted to have fun in the face of the Covid situation.

    James also said “We should all be so lucky to have family and friends like theirs…”
  • E

    Elizabeth H. · Getting married on 06/03/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best!!!!

    Ray was AWESOME!!! Everything ran so smoothly and we received so many compliments on how good he was!! HIGHLY recommend!!!!!!

    Sent on 04/23/2019
  • Kirsten

    Kirsten · Married on 03/14/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hire Jeremy immediately!

    Hiring Ray the DJ was one of our very best decisions when planning our wedding! Jeremy was the very best DJ we could have asked for--he was communicative, helpful, efficient, and he had the absolute BEST music choices throughout our Sunday brunch wedding! We had no idea what type of music to play at a brunch wedding, and he really stepped up and could not have done a better job. He even found great acoustic covers of some songs we'd put on our recommended list! Plus, we were SO appreciative of how he kept the entire ceremony and reception running smoothly without being too talkative or over-the-top. Thank you for making our wedding so fantastic, Jeremy!

    Sent on 03/17/2021
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Married on 02/27/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THE BEST! Professional, yet personable!

    Working with Ray's team was super smooth and easy. We were able to get the contract worked through very quickly, we were dealing with crazy covid times, so they were super flexible with payment options. The system that Ray uses to prepare for the wedding (i.e., wedding party names, timeline, song lists) is super user-friendly. Not to mention Ray was just the most personally, relaxed person the day of the wedding. We had some changes to our wedding party the day of (yay covid) and Ray worked with us to figure everything out on the spot. He was just the sweetest and most professional person. My sister sung our father/daughter dance and she was able to warm up and rehearse with Ray before the reception hall opened up and he even snapped a picture of my sister singing while my dad and I danced. Overall, the full package. Great music, he really read the room when it came to picking songs, and great person to work with.

    Sent on 02/24/2021

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Stephanie, Thank you for the sweet review! Ray so much enjoyed being part of your day and being with your family and friends!!!
  • Kristen

    Kristen · Married on 11/21/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ around!

    We were lucky to have Ray DJ our wedding. Not only was he helpful in the planning process but his website has a planning portal for all of your favorite songs and what you want played during different parts of your wedding. It was so much fun to hear the songs that we picked out throughout the night. He kept the dance floor going and lead the night’s events smoothly. The sound quality for both the ceremony and reception was amazing, we had no issues and our guests really liked him! I’d highly recommend working with Ray!

    Sent on 03/15/2021
  • M

    Michael N. · Married on 11/14/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray the DJ was Excellent

    We hired Ray the DJ at our Wedding in November 2020 and he did a great job. He is very professional and did an excellent job helping us move through and announce the various phases of our wedding. (Cocktail hour, Ceremony, Dinner, Cake Cutting, etc.) We provided him a list of songs we enjoy and wanted to hear, and he took the list and built out a great song selection that made the evening very fun and memorable. We would highly recommend him.

    Mike & Kathi

    Sent on 11/19/2020
  • R

    Rebecca F. · Married on 10/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional and personalable and fun

    Knows the audience, takes time to personalize the event, great repoire with guest. Outstanding.

    Sent on 10/09/2020
  • A

    Alexis R. · Married on 09/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray is the best, truly. He gave us everything we wanted and asked specially for.

    Ray was a joy to work with. He was enthusiastic as we were planning everything and I could tell his goal was to help give us what we wanted for our wedding day. We had specific traditions and festivities that we needed to go a specific way, and not only did Ray plan them to perfection, he executed them exactly as they should have been the day of. When it comes down to having a wedding, the party is what people will remember and when you have someone like Ray essentially hosting and emceeing the party, it will be perfect, and SO fun! I will recommend Ray to every couple I know getting married, and even to people just hosting parties who need a DJ. Ray is one of a kind.

    Sent on 10/08/2020
  • E

    Eric K. · Married on 09/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus Trollmann Is the BESTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    We used Ray the DJ for our wedding and we told them what our style and vibe was and recommended a few of their DJ's and after we read the Bio's on most of their DJ's we were drawn to Marcus. We set up a face time interview with him because it was during the peak of the pandemic and let me say he was amazing. He was so friendly and helpful and answered all the questions we had. From that moment we chose him but they have an amazing team of DJ's we just liked Marcus's energy and style. He came to the venue a couple time prior to the wedding so we can go over some options and colors for uplighting which was so nice and showed his professionalism. He was totally prepared the day of the wedding and all the songs we wanted he played perfectly and kept the show going the entire day. Ray the DJ makes it so easy as you have a portal with a checklist of all the songs you may need and the DJ has access so they know exactly what song you want for each part of the day. Marcus went over this with us twice before the big day and made sure he had the correct versions of songs we wanted. I could keep going on but just have a conversation with Marcus and you will understand what I am trying to portray in this review. A+++++++++ all the way. Last thing don't forget to ask Marcus for his COLD SPARKLERS, those were awesome and throughout the night when he set them off just increased the energy of everyone.

    Sent on 04/08/2021
  • Aubrey

    Aubrey W. · Married on 09/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend Ray The DJ!

    Ray was absolutely the best! The planning platform was super easy to work with as well. I was not confident with the list of music I had chose and talked with Ray about it so he helped me out and had everyone on the dance floor all night! They also offer uplighting and we chose purple. It was the perfect touch! Our wedding/reception was magical and Ray played a huge role in that!
    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
    PC: Ashley Stone Photography
    Flowers: Bobbie’s Flowers

    Sent on 10/14/2020
  • H

    Haley H. · Married on 07/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Experience

    Robert from Ray the DJ did a wonderful job for our wedding! He was professional, responsive and did a great job incorporating our requests. He navigated the timeline seamlessly and out dance floor was always full! I am very happy we chose to work with them!

    Sent on 12/14/2019
  • Breanna

    Breanna · Married on 04/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ in Arizona!

    All the DJs at Ray the DJ are awesome but Ray is the absolute best!! Just poor talent for keeping everything flowing smoothly, people having fun, and everything organized! So much dancing happened and even for a wedding in a pandemic and a lot of normally non dancers!!

    Sent on 10/15/2020
  • Malorie

    Malorie W. · Married on 04/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus from Ray the DJ - 5 STARS!

    Marcus was our DJ at our wedding at El Chorro on 1/4/2020. He was amazing! He did a great job getting everyone to dance, playing all of our must play songs, incorporating guest requests, and filling in all the gaps with songs that complemented what we chose. You will not go wrong if you choose Marcus from Ray the DJ for your event! We had so many guests tell us that he was one of the best wedding DJs they have ever heard! Excellent!

    Sent on 01/22/2020
  • Alex

    Alex · Married on 03/28/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray the DJ Rocks!!!

    You MUST hire Ray the DJ! *Ask for Ray* His company was highly recommended by our wedding venue, so we set up a call and immediately hit it off. Ray takes the time to listen to what you want and even has a website where you can put in all of your requests , "do not plays" as well as special songs. Our March 2020 wedding was delayed to March 2021 and he was able to move his services to our new date! Ray was the life of the party and the kindest guy around.

    Sent on 03/29/2021
  • Jody

    Jody · Married on 03/14/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best D.J. in AZ!

    Best D.J. in AZ! Tony from Ray the D.J. was the D.J. for my brother's wedding, which was about a year and a half before mine. My now husband and I knew that we had to book him for our wedding once we were dancing all night at my brother's. We submitted an inquiry through their website and Brenda, their coordinator, reached out to me within hours and was able to secure Tony for our wedding. Both Brenda and Tony were excellent communicators and wonderful to work with. We met with Tony for a one-on-one meeting a few months prior to our wedding to go over a general game plan and what was needed for the big day. He was super friendly and knowledgeable not only about song choices, but about the wedding day in general. They have a great website where song choices can be made, Tony had a printed template for us that was easy to go off of, and another option for getting the songs over to him was by email. Both Brenda and Tony would follow up periodically through email with updates and to check in. This was awesome as the wedding planning goes by so fast! The little reminders of what was left needed definitely helped. The day of the wedding, Tony crushed it with the songs, everything we had asked for was played and the "free dancing" period was a blast. He really knows how to play music based on the crowd and vibe of the wedding. We'd give them 100/10 if we could. Competitive pricing and you can't go wrong with going with them! Thank you Tony and Brenda again for everything!

    Sent on 03/30/2020
  • R

    Reanna A. · Married on 02/20/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic everyone loved him

    Wow he definitely went out of his way for the perfect music play list

    Sent on 03/13/2020
  • A

    Amanda P. · Married on 02/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    James was awesome!

    We had James for our DJ for our ceremony and the reception and the music was perfect! He kept people out on the dance floor all. night. long. He also had some creative Ideas on how to get everyone out on the dance floor form the very beginning of the night. We highly recommend him!!

    Sent on 04/05/2020
  • A

    Amy V. · Married on 11/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus was amazing!

    Our DJ Marcus was fantastic! So experienced, very fun, and kept everyone dancing all night long. The dance floor was never empty! He really helped our wedding feel special.

    Sent on 12/04/2019

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    And that is just how we want you to feel - Super Special! It is your special day after all! Thanks so much for the review!!!
  • C

    Christy · Married on 11/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gustavo - Ray the DJ...Perfect!

    We had Gustavo for our wedding in November. We live in Tucson so we initially chatted on the phone and met up in person the weekend before. He was awesome...so great to work with, very helpful with the timeline (gave us tips, advice, listened to what we wanted, etc), a great emcee, and the dance floor was busy all night!! He even managed to play all of our 'non-traditional' wedding songs we wanted and they fit in perfectly. Brenda was very responsive and helpful. We highly recommend Gustavo at Ray the DJ.

    Sent on 03/23/2020
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 11/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marcus from Ray the DJ

    Marcus was absolutely the best part of our wedding!

    Sent on 12/26/2019
  • A

    Anna · Married on 11/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome DJ

    Tony was amazing! He was very organized, professional and helpful! He went out of his way to make our wedding night special and everyone loved his song selections! So much fun!

    Sent on 11/13/2019
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All hail Jeremy C

    I cannot thank Ray the DJ enough for such a fantastic experience! I decided to contact them after my sister hired them five years ago for her wedding, and I'm so glad I did. Brenda is warm, helpful, responsive, and professional. I had a wonderful time working with her leading up to the event. Then, Jeremy C, our DJ, was a total rockstar. He was able to accommodate our wide range of music selections and really rolled with the punches. Our guests were on the dance floor the ENTIRE night and were having so much fun! He went above and beyond in making the night absolutely perfect and we are so incredibly grateful! We got so many compliments about him from our guests as well. Thank you SO much to Jeremy, Brenda, and the whole team!!

    Sent on 11/02/2019

    Ray the DJ's reply:

    Thanks so much for the kind review Andrea! Jeremy so totally loved being part of your amazing day!!!
  • H

    Hali N. · Married on 09/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!!!

    Ray made us feel so much less stressed about everything. He was on top of everything and more and we were so lucky to have had him there at our wedding.

    Sent on 11/08/2019