Skip to main content
Weddings

Puttin' on the Hitz Reviews

Puttin' on the Hitz

Puttin' on the Hitz

Des Moines, IA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 230 Reviews
View more information

230 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 230
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4 User photos

  • D
    David Married on 04/02/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Michael made the night perfect for everyone who attended. Professional , classy and made sure everyone had a great time.

    I would hire Puttin on the Hitz again Michael made our wedding reception a great time for all. Very professional and delivered everything he promised
  • B
    Brian D. Married on 03/26/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience!

    Michael was great to work with and made the entire experience easy and enjoyable.
  • Haley
    Haley E. Married on 03/06/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Flexible & Amazing

    Michael Scott with Puttin' on the Hitz was AMAZING to work with. 2 weeks before the wedding, we had a phone call meeting to plan out what we were expecting from him as a DJ and made plans on how the night would go. The night of the wedding, we changed just about everything that we had planned out and Michael was incredible and flexible through it all. So glad we chose them as the DJ for our special day! So many compliments on their services!
  • Beth
    Beth C. Married on 10/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly highly recommend

    This DJ was used at a friend's wedding ~10 years ago and we were thrilled to see that he's still in business. We had to postpone our wedding once due to COVID restrictions and Michael from Puttin on the Hitz stayed with us through all the chaos of rescheduling. His communication with us was always proactive and timely and straightforward. He never had me worrying about what to expect. The tunes he played were FANTASTIC, and exactly what we wanted. He was also super flexible when I asked him at the last minute to do something extra (provide sound for the outdoor ceremony when our other sound system fell through). He was so flexible and provided us with everything we needed. He's so professional, fun, and entertaining. My mom even raved about how easily he could be understood when he announced the wedding party entrance! This guy knows how to DJ. HIGHLY recommend all around.
  • M
    Mason P. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great music, great communication, great company, and THE BEST NIGHT

    Michael made our reception into one of the most fun nights of our lives. Our friends and family, young and old, all were dancing and signing along with the music. He also did a wonderful job with the audio for the wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. I would highly recommend him and his company for any and all private events!
  • H
    Hannah W. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    AMAZING! So flexible and fun!! So much fun was had by everyone!

    Michael Scott was so helpful in our wedding planning process! He was so flexible and kind!
  • S
    Seth F. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept the dance floor full!

    Michael did a great job and kept it fun!!
  • J
    Jacob N. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Overall great experience and would highly recommend

    Putin’ on the Hitz was a great DJ for our wedding. Very responsive, flexible, and provided a great service. The selection of music was a great mix as well!
  • S
    Savannah T. Married on 04/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional

    Michael Scott was excellent. He was professional, personable, and fun to work with. He did not miss beat during the ceremony, playing beautiful welcome music and hitting all of the ceremony songs. He was able to keep the reception party going with songs that appealed to a wide range of ages. 100/10 would recommend!
  • Richard
    Richard C. Married on 04/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome job by Michael & Puttin' on the Hitz!

    Michael did an excellent job. The background music for arrival/dinner was at an appropriate volume for the venue. His ability to communicate with us regarding coordination and keep the night moving along was great. He did an awesome job keeping everyone engaged. Finally, Michael's personality and approach are something I have not seen much. You can definitely tell he enjoys putting on a party, dancing to the music, and having a good time. I highly recommend Puttin' on the Hitz and will have them in my back pocket for future events!
  • T
    Tammy N. Married on 02/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Want your event to be a success? Hire Puttin' on the Hitz!

    Michael Scott helped to make our daughter's wedding reception a perfect one. He kept the music lowkey as requested during dinner and played our daughter and son-in-law's playlist, later in the evening. He was well organized, professional and we would highly recommend his services for any event you are planning. 5 out 5 stars! Thank you, Michael!
  • Hannah
    Hannah B. Married on 11/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Puttin' on the Hitz was amazing!

    Puttin' on the Hitz was everything we hoped for and more for our special day. Michael was so professional and responsive. He really was great at moving the party along efficiently. I would recommend him 100x over!
  • C
    Cassie C. Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    Michael was the perfect DJ! He was very professional and easy to work with. He made the reception so fun and our dance floor was packed the entire night. We also had karaoke, and he incorporated it perfectly. I would recommend Michael and his crew every time!!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 10/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best in the Business

    Puttin' on the Hitz was the best choice we made for our wedding! We have a family of dancers so this decision was important, and they made sure everyone was dancing the whole night! They also provided guidance for us leading up to the night that was so helpful. Book them! You won't regret it!
  • M
    Michelle T. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great music flow and mix!

    Best DJ in Des Moines metro! Michael was fun and knew how to keep the party going!
  • K
    Kim C. Married on 10/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing!!!

    Michael was Absolutely Amazing to work with!!! The dance floor was packed the entire evening!
  • M
    Michael Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    It was a blast

    Michael did a fantastic job at our wedding. Would recommend for any wedding or party.
  • T
    Tiffany M. Married on 08/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!!

    Working with Puttin' on the Hitz was so easy - it was a big relief to have a vendor I wouldn't have to worry about responding in a timely manner!

    We hired Ryan for our wedding day and he did a fantastic job! Even though we only had 50 guests, due to being a Covid wedding, there was never a time when the dance floor was empty. I was SO surprised and thrilled! He even got elder grandparents and aunts and uncles out on the dance floor!
    I couldn't recommend Michael, Ryan and their team enough!
  • A
    Alexis Married on 08/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dj Services

    Puttin on the Hitz was absolutely great, Michael Scott was our DJ and who I communicated through the entire planning, we originally had a June wedding but switching it to August due to COVID showed their great flexibility. Aside from communication/flexibility the services provided at the wedding were excellent and truly perfected my ideal wedding.
  • G
    Gwen Married on 08/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Classy Service!

    We hired Puttin' on the Hitz for our wedding and were blown away with the quality and professionalism. Michael Scott took care of every detail and made sure it was a party to remember. Great job POTH!
  • Joanna
    Joanna T. Married on 07/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing! Hire them!

    Not only did we get married during a pandemic but Michael made this our dream wedding! He was flexible, fun and made our reception perfect! They are reasonably priced and we can’t recommend them enough!
  • J
    Josee Married on 02/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding!!

    Michael did amazing!!! So happy with everything that day
  • S
    Susan B. Married on 01/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ Service!

    Puttin' on the Hitz did a great job from start to finish with our wedding and reception! They provided us with microphones for the ceremony which was a huge help at our venue. The music during dinner was perfect. The dance was loads of fun with a variety of music played and they stuck to the list we had provided. Everyone had a wonderful time! Definitely an A+ experience and would recommend them highly!
  • B
    Beth K. Married on 12/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Johnston wedding 2020

    Michael was absolutely amazing!! He had answers to all of my questions and really took charge! Our wedding day went so smooth thanks to him! Music was great and even played "let it go" (Frozen) which really made her night! Can not thank him enough!!