Skip to main content
Weddings

Puma Hills Reviews

Puma Hills View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
10 Reviews
92% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating

Awards

10
Weddingwire
4.6/5 10 reviews
Google
4.6/5 85 reviews
  • E
    Eileen V. Sent on 08/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and unique wedding venue that allowed us to have a whole weekend to celebrate with our loved ones!

    My husband and I decided to have our wedding at Puma Hills and I’m struggling to find all the words to describe how absolutely WONDERFUL our weekend was and how grateful we are for everyone at Puma Hills. Puma Hills was the first and only wedding venue we went to look at! We absolutely fell in love the first time we stepped foot on the property and thought “we either need to get married here with everyone or we need to elope cause we can’t get married anywhere else” we decided to have a wedding with our families and loved ones at Puma Hills and looking back we wouldn’t change a thing! Bison Peak Lodge was the most wonderful place to have our special weekend- like I said, it’s hard to even put it all into words with how wonderful it was! Cristina, Myrna and Lily were so accommodating for any and all of our ideas/wishes for how our day would go and they truly made everything happen in the most beautiful way! It was even more beautiful than we could have hoped for! We know our day was as magical as it was because of the utter beauty of Puma Hills, the surrounding area and the beyond incredible staff that was so accommodating and kind. We had 124 people at our wedding and about 110 people stay on site- many of which were from the east coast and had never been camping! The staff went above and BEYOND for every single one of our guests to make them feel welcomed and comfortable. There was so much for our guests to do on site and nearby (hiking, ATVs, horse back riding, kayaking/canoeing, bon fires) that everyone was able to find something to do that made them happy and it was so special having everyone together for a whole weekend and not just a few hours for a ceremony and reception! The accommodations are all wonderful and most importantly comfortable!! Tipis, tents, cabins and the lodge rooms are all different but equally amazing and comfortable. Our guests were a little worried about the shared bathrooms with everyone getting ready for the wedding but there were plenty for everyone to use and get ready the whole weekend and they were also very nice and clean! The food was also great!! We really enjoyed every meal that we had the entire weekend and they were so accommodating with each individual dietary restriction which with 110 people was quite a bit! So many of our guests could not stop talking about how much they enjoyed the weekend!
    The ceremony itself was held at the most beautiful look out and the cocktail hour/reception was under the most beautiful sail cloth tent. The decorations that puma hills have compliment the beauty of Mother Nature so well and are simple, elegant and stunning and the ceremony/reception looked so beautiful even with the minimal additional decorating that I did! And best of all it is all on site and so close so people were able to walk back to their tipis and get their dancing shoes and be back on the dance floor in no time!
    It was such a unique and special experience for us and our guests! And it was so special having everyone together, away from cell phone service and the chaos of daily life, and just spend time together celebrating in the beautiful Rockies. If you’re looking to have a wedding weekend with your guests all in one area- Puma Hills is absolutely your place! We are so looking forward to returning for our anniversary- if not sooner! We absolutely love Puma Hills :)
  • J
    Jan M. Sent on 10/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Service

    Our experience with Puma Hills was excellent.
    Staff made every effort to accommodate what ever needs came up.
    I enjoyed our experience and I believe others will as well.

    Puma Hills's reply:

    We so enjoyed hosting your wedding celebration with your family and friends. We look forward to planning your one year reunion!
    The Puma Hills Team
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Laila
    Laila F. Sent on 09/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Spectacular place with a fabulous team!

    We loved it! Every person on staff is so positive and helpful. We could have asked for anything better.
    The lodge is luxuriously comfortable and so welcoming. The tipis, wagons and geodomes were glamping at a totally different level that we have ever experienced. It’s no wonder it’s ranked top 10 in the US. To top it off the food was absolutely delicious. We are already planning to come back for a family reunion!
  • Joann
    Joann A. Sent on 09/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was one of those weddings you will never forget

    Family had a wedding here. From the views, venue experience, food and staff everything was amazing.
  • M
    Matthew A. Sent on 12/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue! We were treated like family!

    We had an amazing wedding weekend at Puma Hills. The Bison Peak lodge was the perfect setting for our group, and the property grounds are stunning. Our family and friends enjoyed every activity offered and the service was outstanding. Thank you John and Lily for making our weekend so special!
  • Sam
    Sam M. Sent on 01/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unforgettable!

    Puma Hills pulled out all the stops for our wedding. They made our day unforgettable! Hospitality was great, service was top notch, views were spectacular. Our mountain wedding was beyond anything we could have hoped for; from the lodge to the ceremony site to the event tent for the reception. And our guests had a great time!
  • A
    Andrea H. Sent on 12/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nothing but smiles😄

    We contacted Bison Peak at Puma Hills, in love with the property after being recommended from ought friends. They weren't even accepting weddings yet because construction wasn't complete. They were nice enough to let us improvise and came up with a proposal on the spot, then figured out all the little details along the way. The owners of the place, Lily and John, are such great people and really have a great vision for their vision and their impact on the world as supporter of disabled vets. These two and the rest of their family/staff really went above and beyond to make our wedding day one to remember. The teepees were just like beautiful rustic hotel room with cosy heaters and made us feel close to the wilderness with maximum comfort! The views to this place were another factor in making our special day unforgettable. Thank you Bison Peak Lodge at Puma Hills! We will come back again to enjoy this place for years to come❤
  • H
    Heather Sent on 12/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Venue!

    I am SO glad that we found Puma Hills during our wedding venue search. We really wanted something VERY Colorado. Like Sex in the City goes camping. This was exactly that venue. The accommodations are amazing, they have so many options for various events as well as locations for your wedding ceremony, cocktails and reception. And their new barn is spectacular. Not what you would typically find in Colorado. We were able to bring in our own caterer and alcohol, which was important to us and once we checked in, we never left the Ranch. There was SO much to do. We had such an AMAZING wedding with the BEST vendors and we cant say enough. This venue is DEFINITELY one of the best in Colorado. You must check it out.
  • Caroline
    Caroline G. Sent on 08/23/2021
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    A good start, but they have lots of room to grow to become a truly proper wedding venue.

    Edit as of 11/7/2022:

    It has been over a year since our wedding took place here, and we still have not received the refunds we are owed for pre-paid cabins that were unavailable when family members arrived on our wedding day, despite monthly check-ins with the venue. I really do not recommend hosting an event here.

    We hosted our wedding here on August 5th, 6th, and 7th, 2021. The views and scenery of this place are breathtaking! The reception tent and ceremony space are set up nicely. But sadly, that is the only thing I can currently recommend them for. During initial talks with the venue, we received timely returns to our phone calls and were able to set up a tour quickly and easily. But after our contract was signed, communication was extremely lacking. When the time came for our big day, the staff failed to carry out some important aspects of our event. For example, we had planned to have a champagne brunch on the morning of the wedding -- so that our wedding party could enjoy light drinks and some food while we all got ready. Instead, we ended up eating a good breakfast (the chefs were actually great, even if they did have their children in the kitchen with them) and there was no sign of the champagne and red beers we had paid for until the next morning when everyone was packing up to drive home.

    Putting communication and the forgotten elements of the wedding day aside, Puma Hills still has room to grow on the campground side of things as well. One of our groomsmen was injured when an unsecured staircase leading to the outdoor restroom gave way underneath him. The only response from staff was an offer of a Band-Aid (which he never got) and an “out of order” sign on that bathroom trailer. This left us with a total of two working bathrooms for 100 people, since 3 were already marked “out of order” upon our arrival on rehearsal day.

    During our tour and at every step along the way, we mentioned to the venue Manager Cristina that our elderly grandparents would need help getting to the ceremony space from their lodging. It’s a long walk in formal clothing and especially for an elderly grandmother. We were assured this was perfectly fine and nothing to worry about. Upon arrival, we were happy to see that a large party bus was available to shuttle guests and wedding party members to and fro. However, this ended up being one of the most disappointing parts of our time there. Guests needing rides were never able to find the driver, and when someone was finally able to hitch a ride, there was no air conditioning in the bus and the windows did not open. The groom’s grandparents waited 40 minutes to get a ride to the ceremony from their cabin, while several wedding party members saw the driver and other staff standing around, not apparently busy with anything. Our grandma was physically unable to walk down the large hill their cabin was on, which was actually a backup accommodation for them, since we were told one week before the wedding that the original cabin they booked back in April would be unavailable for the wedding.

    If you love the views and glamping aspects of this venue, my only advice is make sure you get everything in writing, down to the small details. This will probably be an uphill battle due to the lacking communication from the staff, but you will need emails as backup if they change policies suddenly on you. In our experience, most decisions discussed over phone calls were ignored or forgotten. If something is important to you, you'll want it in writing for sure.

    There are many more things I could say about the execution of our wedding here, but this is getting really long! Simply put, I just cannot recommend this venue in its current state.

    Puma Hills's reply:

    Hi Caroline and Kris,
    We always appreciate feedback and yes, your wedding was truly beautiful! Customer service is our priority, and we did our best to make your wedding all that you dreamed of. We are sorry that we fell short of this in your eyes, and we are always striving to improve and do things better It was unfortunate that one of the eight restrooms broke on your wedding day but thankfully there were seven others to accommodate your 80 guests!
    We were glad to hear from your email communication to us in which you stated, ““We did enjoy our wedding day, but some things could have gone smoother for sure. Sorry if there were miscommunications, but we'd like to put all the stores behind us for good. Our guests did find it beautiful, and many of them plan to be back as campers. Puma Hills Resort is certainly on its way. We really do hope future bridal couples enjoy their weddings with you guys!”
    We, at Puma Hills, wish you much happiness and blessings for a long and prosperous life together!
Responds within 24 hours