Pulama Reviews

15 | Albany, CA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Pulama

Recommended by 100%

15
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
15 Pulama Reviews
Sort by:
  • P

    Paul · Married on 10/26/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot more enthusiastically recommend Pulama. Their beautiful performance during and just-after our wedding ceremony set the perfect tempo and mood for the event. Composed/experienced professionals, Pulama performed flawlessly even when faced with playing much longer than expected and needing to adapt to the other (multiple!) limitations of our venue. Pulama was key in helping us incorporate music that had personal meaning to us, even offering to learn/adapt new music for us. I knew we had picked the perfect group when a guest approached me afterwards (an experienced musician) and said, "I've heard a lot of hawaiian bands, but they're VERY GOOD!"

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 08/03/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim and Paula were wonderful! A lot of the wedding guest commented on how much they enjoyed the music. They helped make the day perfect! Thanks again!!!!

  • A

    Alisha · Married on 08/03/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim and Pulama went above and beyond. They came to the venue a couple weeks before the big day just to get familiar with the area, demo different songs to see which ones we wanted for our wedding, they even added/learned new songs to their set because they had sentimental value to us. These guys came to the rehearsal and practiced the timing of the music with the ceremony and first dance. Their professionalism is the best I've ever seen. The quality of their music is amazing. They had us crying with the purity of the vocals and instruments, they set the exact romantic under the sea mood we wanted. They made all our guests feel like they were on the islands, one of our dear friends whose actually Hawaiian royalty said he felt like he was home. We can't thank you guys enough! You truly made our wedding unique and amazing and filled with so much love!! mahalo nui loa :)

  • B

    Brooke · Married on 10/29/2011

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim and Paula are an amazing team. They were pleasant and friendly and their Hawaiian music was just perfect for my Hawaiian theme. They went above and beyond for me by allowing my dad to play music with them. Thanks guys! You are the best!

  • leeshoshgettingmarried

    Shoshana · Married on 10/10/2010

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give them more than 5 I would. We absolutely loved them. From beginning to end, they were the best. They just made us feel at ease. They worked with us, and did such an amazing job. I would recommend them to everyone. I just cannot say how WONDERFUL they are.

  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 07/24/2010

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Pulama if you want high quality Hawaiian style music. Jim and Paula were very professional. About 2 months before the wedding they met with us to look at the wedding venue and talk about the songs we wanted played. We must have spent two hours with them. They brought a possible list of songs and played and sang for us. It was a wonderful experience. The day of the wedding they came early to set up. Everyone at the wedding and reception loved them. If you use Pulama, you are in for a truly exceptional experience.

  • R

    Robin · Married on 07/31/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The music was fabulous. My husband's family is from Hawaii, and they were very impressed with the performance, thought it sounded quite authentic. Soon after booking (within weeks), I received a folder containing song lyrics in both Hawaiian and English and a CD of music, both vocals and instrumentals. We picked out the songs we liked, decided on the order in which we wanted them performed, and emailed the info. Everything was handled conscientiously and professionally; Jim even came to Sacramento a week early to meet with our onsite wedding coordinator and confirm technical details (electrical hookups, equipment placement, etc.) for our outdoor ceremony. And did I say the music and vocals were fabulous?

  • C

    Cambria · Married on 05/30/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pulama performed absolutely beautifully for our wedding. They have so much love and aloha running through their music, it was so special to have them play. They are also a joy to work with. Jim and Paula learned a song to play especially for our wedding and were exceptionally accommodating. We really enjoyed every aspect of having them play. Mahalo Pulama!!

  • D

    David · Married on 07/22/2008

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pulama was the best. They were on time and very professional at all times. We felt very comfortable with them, all most like they were family. I would recommend them over and over to all of our friends and family.
    I want to Thank them with all of our hearts.
    I would also like to say that Pulama came with everything that they needed to play and sing with so there was no drama.
    Set up and take down was fast and clean and that is the way you want your engagment party to be.
    Mahalo

    Ps we would love to have them back for our 5th anniversary!

  • L

    L · event on: 09/26/2009

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pulama performed at a large community event I help organize, Spirit of Japantown, in San Jose. They were a central part of the entertainment on the Hawaiian Stage; I received excellent feedback on their performance from both the audience and organizing committee. Paula and Jim are lovely to work with - they love what they do and it shows in the aloha spirit they share in their music. I would definitely recommend them and look forward to working with them again in the future!

  • C

    Christine · event on: 07/21/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I contacted Pulama for my mom's 70th surprise party. I was looking for an authentic sounding Hawaiian band (since my mom was born and raised there) and came across their website. Paula was so quick to respond and their communication was great. Jim plays the steel guitar so beautifully and the harmony between Paula's and Jim's voices were amazing. Their sound is so soothing and authentic. There is such peace and purity about them. I wanted 3 specific songs played that night and they played them all. I have not seen my mom hula in many years and it brought tears to my eyes to see her hula that night. I cannot say enough about them and would definately recommend them to anyone!! Mahalo again Paula and Jim for helping make the day so special.

  • P

    Phyllis · event on: 07/28/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was such a wonderful experience with Pulama it is hard to know where to begin. They offered to come a week early to meet with us and discuss all of our special requests and also check out the site to judge how to set up. The night of the event they came hours early to ensure they would have everything in place and working properly. They managed to learn multiple song requests from as far back as 1932! and performed them so sweetly for our honoree. Jim and Paula could not have been more accomodating, flexible or wonderfully musical in all details. TX to Pulama our event had a very special dimension.

  • A

    Adrienne · event on: 07/28/2012

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pulama played at my father's birthday party in July and was WONDERFUL. Everyone commented on their talent as well as them accommodating our special requests. I would highly recommend Pulama.

  • C

    colleen · event on: 07/20/2013

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We asked Pulama to play at my husbands 40th birthday luau and they were perfect for the event. They provided beautiful hawaiian music for people to enjoy, but not too loud where our guests could not hold a conversation. Jim and Paula arrived on time on the day of the party, set up their music, and took any requests from the guests. Throughout the process, Paula and Jim were very responsive in getting back to me on the details. They were excellent.

  • M

    Maureen · event on: 06/12/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This group was one of the most beautiful musicians we've had at events. They played beautiful, traditional Hawaiian music that was more beautiful than what we've heard on the Islands. I would hire them again in a heartbeat

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review