53 Reviews for Professional Makeup Artistry

5.0
out of 5.0
53 Professional Makeup Artistry Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Maria is beyond just a make up artist. She goes above and beyond and actually stays with you for most of the day. She is there to lend a hand to the photographer, she is there to do touchups, she is there to give you words of encouragement, she is simply amazing. She carries an arsenal of emergency supplies and is there to fix last minute stains, tears, rips, anything! As a makeup artist, she is beyond phenomenal. She can take her time and use the fake lash strips, but instead, she takes her time to put on individual lashes so her brides look more natural. She also airbrushes the makeup on so it lasts and looks natural and not caked on. She really knows her craft and does it exceptionally well. A bride who has Maria will feel incredibly lucky to have her there.

Profile Picture Jessie, 8/2/17, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria and the entire PMA team are absolute angels! I cannot speak highly enough of their talent, professionalism, and grace under pressure. Do yourself a favor and book PMA for your wedding day.

Starting with my trial a couple of months before the wedding, I knew I made the right choice in hiring PMA. Maria took so much time helping me create my dream look during the trial, going way over the time allotted so we could perfect my hair and makeup.

When the wedding day came, I had no worries that my girls and I would look exactly how I imagined. Because I wanted my bridesmaids to all have braided up-dos, Maria made sure to have a stylist who specialized in braids. This is just one example of how Maria goes above and beyond to make her brides happy.

The team made the (very early) morning fun for all of us. They were friendly, positive, and made sure to stay on schedule so I didn't have to worry about it. When I did start to get overwhelmed, Maria was the one who calmed me down and helped me refocus. Seriously, I can't express how grateful I am she was there with me - having a professional like her was so comforting and reassuring. Her #1 priority was my happiness, which is exactly what I needed.

Maria stayed with me the ENTIRE wedding day, constantly touching up my hair and makeup so it stayed perfect for every picture. Once again, she made it so I didn't have to worry about a thing! I got to enjoy every moment of my wedding day thanks to amazing people like Maria.

Hiring PMA was one of the best decisions I made for my wedding. Maria and her team went above and beyond to make sure I was happy, calm, and completely taken care of. Plus, they are all incredibly talented artists, creating gorgeous looks for my entire bridal party. Believe me, you want PMA by your side on your wedding day.

Profile Picture Hannah, 10/10/15, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria is exceptional! She made my day better than I could have imagined! She's worth every penny and more!

I booked with Maria and she was catering to me from the beginning. It was first hard to schedule a time with her to do a trial because I'm from out of town but she definitely worked with my schedule and met up with me during her off hours.

On the day of the wedding, she was very prompt and of course, finished me right on time! She was such a sweetheart that for my other girls, she fixed the disaster that happened with the other MUA that wasn't with her. I should have just booked with Maria's team for the BMS. That was definitely my mistake.

She definitely goes above and beyond your expectations for her. She stayed with me throughout the ceremony and helped me with not just looking good but also helping me on how to pose for my photos! I don't know what else to say except she's completely awesome, wonderful and a must have for your wedding!!!

Profile Picture Natalie, 12/8/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
4.4

Melissa Hoffman at Professional Makeup Artistry more than exceeded my expectations. She had such a calm, professional demeanor the day of my wedding and it kept me perfectly calm on my big day. She also made me look my best and I can't recommend her enough!

Profile Picture Kate, 10/27/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
4.5

Melissa H did a wonderful job. She's good at what she does and comes off very sincere and personable. Someone you want on your wedding day. She not only made me looked beautiful, she also made me feel good and relaxed on the big day. She's constantly looking out for me.

Profile Picture Lea, 10/20/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Words can not express how grateful we are to Maria Chang for EVERYTHING!!! I just heard the reviews of how amazing she was but she completely delivered beyond on all my expectations. She made every effort to make my husband and I look beautiful in our pictures but she was also an amazing calming presence on our wedding day which is a joyous time but can also be a bit nerve racking. The best part of her services is she stays with you all day! Our wedding day was jam packed with two ceremonies (Catholic mass and Chinese tea ceremony), venue changes, several dress changes, and hair and makeup changes. Maria was with us every step of the way - from helping hang Chinese signs of good luck on our hotel door in the morning to scouting out locales for photo shoots at all our venues. She was by far our most favorite vendor to work with!

To be honest, when I told my husband how much the makeup artist I wanted was he thought it was way too expensive BUT on our wedding night we walked into our suite and all he could do was praise her work. He kept saying how helpful she was and how our wedding day wouldn't be the same without her. Though grooms don't often praise the work of make up artists he is Maria's number one fan!

We just received our professional photos from our photographer a few weeks ago and I almost cried to see how stunning we both looked. Maria helps enhance your looks without you looking too made up where you don't even recognize your own face. Maria is the BEST at what she does! She is worth every single penny! Even after the wedding, my friends and family kept asking me who our make up artist was because she was so involved in making each detail of our day amazing!

Profile Picture Sara, 9/8/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria was fabulous!! She was great to work with and very professional. I was very specific in regards to my hair and makeup and she did a wonderful job making me perfect for my wedding day!

Profile Picture User2683067, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria and her team were absolutely amazing. They worked efficiently and were very patient and understanding with all of my bridesmaids, mother, and mother-in-law. Maria went above and beyond just hair/make-up - she stayed with me throughout the day - including the photo sessions, helped me with my dress, and made sure I looked my best at all times. She even did some touch ups on my husband as the day went on. All the ladies loved her and her team. They were so professional, but still fun and kept the day light and enjoyable. I would recommend Maria to anyone!

Profile Picture Seema, 8/25/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria and the PMA team are simply the best! As soon as I met Maria, I knew I wanted her to do my make-up and hair. Maria is warm. funny, caring, and extremely professional. Also, of course she does excellent make-up and hair! She made me feel very beautiful on my special day. Every person at my wedding was very impressed with Maria and PMA. Thank you so much Maria!

Profile Picture Jillian, 7/27/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria is AMAZING!!! She went above and beyond with everything! I would definitely recommend Maria in a heartbeat!

Profile Picture Sandra, 7/22/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Amazing! Awesome! Fabulous! These are just a few of the descriptive words that come to mind when thinking about and talking about Maria Chang and the team at Professional Makeup Artistry. My daughter was married in the most magical and glorious setting in gorgeous Napa Valley last month. As an east coast family having a destination wedding across the country is so very exciting and stressful. Maria and the women of PMA took away any stress right from the start. Not only are they true professional artists in their field they were so very warm and friendly and all the while transforming all of the bridesmaids and me into picture ready perfection. But of course the real test came when my daughter the bride sat down for her session and the results were A++++++. She looked beyond magnificent and was so very happy. PMA get 5 stars plus and I would highly recommend this team for any of your makeup needs. Thank you so much PMA for everything!

Profile Picture User2549211, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I couldn’t have been happier with PMA on my wedding day and leading up to it. Maria and the other stylist were absolutely amazing and everyone was truly in awe of their setup, their energy and of course their work. They worked extremely well with everyone and did whatever was necessary to make each person happy. They were also such an added joy to have there the day of. We all spent the afternoon talking and laughing! Maria then stayed with me throughout the photos and the ceremony doing touch ups and whatever else was necessary to make the day go by smoothly. She even helped bustle my dress! My only regret is that I didn’t have her stay with me the entire night. Working with Maria and PMA was one of the best decisions that I made for my wedding and I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. Maria, thank you so much for creating the wedding look that I always dreamed of for all of your extra help that day.

Profile Picture Melissa, 6/15/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

PMA is the best!!! I have been a loyal fan of Maria since years ago and knew she would be THE ONE when my big day comes (and I just got married last month)!! Her service went way beyond my expectations!! She and her team were very professional and easy to work with. In addition to making you look beautiful, they also offer personal assistance throughout your wedding day. I gave Maria a piece of veil fabric and she only took a few minutes and created a beautiful & classy veil for me!! I love them and would highly highly recommend PMA!!

Profile Picture Katherine , 1/14/12, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Wow, I don't even know where to start. Maria Chang is the absolute best, best, best -- I would recommend her services to anyone, not just a bride. But, brides, she is the secret weapon on your wedding day!

To start at the beginning, you'll have a trial session with Maria where you will discuss your vision for your look on your wedding day. I didn't know how to describe what I wanted to look like, but after chatting for about 5 to 10 minutes Maria helped me figure out what I wanted but couldn't put into words. And the best part of all of this, she is so incredibly nice. Maria has a very calm nature and she just immediately puts you at ease. So, the trial session is so much fun and I left so excited about my hair and makeup. For those of you who are really into makeup, she only uses really high quality products: Creme de la Mer, Bobbi Brown, and the like. And, oh, the eyelashes, serious swoon. I wish I could have them every day of my life!

And then, the wedding day. Maria and her team arrived right on schedule and proceeded to make my bridesmaids, my mom, and my grandmother look and feel their prettiest for the wedding. We had so much fun that morning and it was so relaxing to be together and just sit around and chat and have fun with each other and Maria. The people she works with are just as professional and lovely and friendly as she is so the whole process is very comfortable. But then Maria is also there to help out with things like strapless bras that need extra tape (for a few of my bridesmaids) and to touch up your hair and makeup before AND after you walk down the aisle. And she was there for the post-ceremony photos putting lip gloss on me, giving me water to drink, and wrangling the crazy groomsmen. She went above and beyond her duties on my wedding day. Every time we went to go snap photos she was there with a smile on her face ready to help out in any way she could. At the end of the night I stood in the bathroom forever trying to avoid washing my face because I didn't want to wash all of the beautiful makeup off. It was just as pretty at the very end of the night as it was when she put it on (and I'd been through sweat, tears, hot sun, and cold wind at that point). The day after the wedding my matron of honor commented that Maria "is worth her weight in gold." My grandmother even told me that she didn't wash around her eyes for two days after the wedding because she wanted her eyes to stay made up. I would hire Maria Chang again in a heartbeat!

Profile Picture Jessica, 9/17/11, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria is AMAZING!!! I never wear makeup so finding the best makeup artist was extremely difficult for me. I had trial sessions with three other makeup artists and was either disappointed or just thought they were ok. A friend recommended Maria Chang but warned me about the hefty price tag. But because I wanted to look and feel amazing on my wedding day, I went for it and booked the renowned Maria Chang. When the trial session came, I was completely blown away! Maria uses a professional camera to take pictures of you so you are able to view your makeup in photos. I was so impressed I booked her to do my hair and makeup for my engagement photos. Oh and for all you ladies who have big frizzy hair….Maria works wonders. She managed to control my hair to last the entire 5 hour engagement session…and it was sprinkling for the last hour. On the wedding day, she was not only fantastic with hair and makeup but also a life-saver. The morning of my wedding day I found a pimple, right in the middle of my forehead (can you believe it?!!!). She covered it up with makeup and adjusted my hair so it wouldn’t be noticeable. My husband was hugged by our photographer and his boutonniere broke off. Maria took one of the flowers from my bouquet and made a new one, right then and there. I stained my wedding dress with something yellow (right in the middle and front of the dress) and she very quickly removed it. My sister’s fake lashes were falling off (btw: she did not have her makeup done by Maria) and Maria fixed it. One of the buttons from the groomsman’s jacket fell off and Maria was there to fix it. The night before the wedding day, I wanted to sew on a blue “M” (the initial of my husband’s last name) on the under skirt of my wedding dress. I mentioned to Maria that I didn’t get a chance to do this and her assistant very quickly sewed one on. I had my first look with my future hubby, I was balling so hard she basically had to redo my makeup. Maria stays to retouch your makeup for 8hours…a must for the criers out there. So…ladies, if you are looking for just any old person to do your makeup and hair, I think there are plenty out there to choose from. If you want a professional, prompt, TOP-NOTCH makeup artist who is EXCEPTIONAL at hair and makeup and EXTRAORDINARY in solving the unforeseen hiccups that all weddings may encounter…then book Maria now! Plus…I did the math, the price for Maria’s services is only a little more than others out there when you factor cost of hair, makeup up and the 8 hours or retouch services. Finally, Maria has a great personality who genuinely cares to make you look gorgeous and feel incredible on your wedding day.

Profile Picture jeanna, 7/23/11, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I cannot say enough great things about Maria and her staff. She is absolutely wonderful to work with; she and her staff made me and my family look absolutely perfect on my wedding day. Having her there the whole day made such a difference! I didn't have to worry a second about my appearance because Maria was right there for touch ups and kind words of encouragement. If she is available the day you are getting married, please don't even think twice about booking her. It will be one of the best decisions you will make for that day!!

Profile Picture Ghazaleh, 4/30/11, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

PMA is freaking amazing!!! If you are a bride in the Bay area and beyond run not walk to booking Maria of PMA!! She and her team are absolutely awesome!
Where do I begin?.. First, when I had my trial with Maria she was prompt and dedicated. She was welcoming and just a charming personality. After the trial she studied my pictures and made adjustments where she felt it was needed.

On the wedding day, Maria and her team got there on time. I was actually at brunch with my Husband (LOL first time I called him my HUSBAND) and they started working on the Bridesmaids. By the time I got there things were in full swing and popping!!!
When it was my turn to get it the chair I was so relaxed because I was sitting there talking with Maria and having a great time. She was mazing with my hair and makeup! And oh very patient when I get phone calls. She worked seamlessly with the videographer and photographer to make sure they had the best shot. She was like my Aunt making sure everything was perfect for me on my special day. After my hair and makeup was done (which was on time and on schedule), she was there to fix up the girls and cue the video and photographers on when shoots with will be at its best.
She followed me to make sure that my hair and make up was perfect. She made sure the girls were looking their best and helped my groom out. My mother and mother in law loves her and her team. She carries around this gear with any and everything to help should something go wrong! What an amazing woman!

Maria stayed well over the time she should have been there and I am forever grateful to her for making me look beautiful on the most special day of my life.
I have gained a friend forever in Maria and for that I am ecstatic!

Thank you thank you thank you!!

Profile Picture User758397, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria Chang, the master behind PMA, made my wedding day AMAZING! She has been recommended to me by many of my friends and I could see her consistent and exceptional work in all of their weddings. So, I had no doubt in my mind that I HAD TO book her. That was among the first things I did when I started planning my wedding!! And as luck would have it, she was free on my wedding day!

I was super looking forward to the trial to see Maria work her magic on me (since I'm only average-looking at best). Maria had already sent me clear guidelines ahead of time so that I can be prepared for the trial session. When I got to her studio, she took the time to chat with me and get to know my preference and comfortable level regarding the degree of makeup that would go on my face. I showed her pictures of the hairstyles I like, and she gave me great feedback and suggestions. Then, she started her work on me. She was very patient and took her time to perfect my makeup and hair. I could not believe my eyes when I next looked in the mirror. I simply looked ENHANCED (and pretty!), which was exactly what I wanted!

On my wedding day, Maria arrived early in the morning. I looked even better than at the trial session when she was done! I especially liked how she put all the fresh red roses into my hair for the morning's events. At the wedding, everyone complimented on how good I looked too!! I was like floating on a cloud the entire day.

Maria had a calming effect on me. She knows what to do and she is definitely very professional. And I know that, so I trust her very much. I was glad to have her around throughout that hectic day, up until the wedding reception. She made sure that I was looking the best I could for our photographer and she even helped out my bridesmaids. If it weren't for her, my wedding gown's bustle will not have been done.

Maria absolutely exceeded my expectations, and was one of the best thing that happened on my wedding day!! I am already recommending her to ALL of my friends for their weddings or any other events they may need professional makeup and hair. Her prices are not cheap, but the service is worth every single penny!

Profile Picture Sonja, 12/26/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I loved working with Maria Chang of Professional Makeup Artistry! She is a true artiste and also very approachable. I originally knew her work through my wedding designer and was so happy to learn she was available for our wedding date. She was one of the wedding vendors that I was 100% certain that I wanted to work with for my wedding day and she still totally exceeded my expectations. She is also a self-proclaimed perfectionist. She even takes photos of the trial so she can study them to see where she would to improve so your perfect for your wedding day.. I was so thrilled with how my makeup trial turned out during my trial that I knew I was in good hands with Maria. It's not just her amazing talent that makes her so great but her personality as well. She goes above and beyond for her brides and was a godsend for our wedding.. I had hired other makeup artist/hair designer for my bridesmaids and flower girls but they were running behind schedule so she stepped in and also did their hair as well. My mother, who has not changed her hairstyle in nearly two decades, also loved the look Maria helped create for her. Lastly, after our photoshoot, we realized one of my small hairpieces fell off. Maria and her assistant thoroughly searched the property for it and found it! Although, PMA may be slightly higher than other makeup artists, my husband and I believe hiring PMA was one of the best investments we made for our wedding. We have no regrets at all and was excited to work with her again for our day after shoot. I think Maria and her team was definitely one of the reasons why I think our wedding day ran so smoothly. Although, make sure you contact PMA early, she books up very quickly!

Profile Picture Denelle, 11/6/10, 3 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria was my favorite vendor to work with. I felt absolutely beautiful on my wedding day. She's a little pricey but definitely worth the money. My makeup looked very natural and photographed very well.

Profile Picture User2021988, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Booking PMA for my wedding was one of the best decisions we made! We had a destination wedding in Maui, HI, so it was tough to decide on which vendors to use. I really wanted Maria to do my hair and makeup because I had a few friends who used PMA for their weddings and had nothing but great things to say about Maria and her team. But, I was trying to stay within my budget and knew that having PMA at my wedding would mean additional costs for travel accommodations. After some serious thinking, I decided to go with PMA and my gut told me it was the right decision! I booked PMA 17 months before my wedding and they were the first vendor I committed to, even before my venue and my photographer!
Throughout the pre-wedding months, Maria was very professional, sending me invoices on a timely basis and also information on my hair/makeup trial. I had my trial with Maria in August and it was such a fun experience. She spent 3 full hours with me. During the trial, she talked me through ideas for hair and makeup and created a gorgeous look for my wedding day. My maid of honor accompanied me to the trial and she was amazed at what Maria did. We left feeling so excited about the wedding and even more about getting beautified by Maria and her team!
Fast-forward to September, the wedding day comes. Maria and her assistant Sue showed up promptly at 6:30am. She even called ahead of time asking if I needed any coffee (so sweet). Maria and Sue were serious business. They knew exactly what to do and where to set up and went through the day's timeline with us. The getting ready session was so relaxing and fun. Maria had her iPhone music going and we laughed and joked the whole time. But most importantly, the results were unbelievable. Maria and Sue did makeup/hair for me, my 2 maid of honor/bridesmaid, and my 2 moms. Everyone was beyond happy with their looks and loved Maria's positive attitude and friendliness. Sue even did my little flower girl's hair, giving her these adorable ringlets. Throughout the wedding day, Maria was on top of everything. She assisted my photographer, set up the room for the tea ceremony, helped me into my different outfits, touched me up to make sure I looked perfect, blotted my hubby's face, pinned the boutonnieres on our dads' suits...the list goes on and on! When I changed into my reception dress, I realized I had forgotten my strapless bra and Maria saved the day. She decided to take the bra pads from my wedding gown and sew them to my reception dress. All that in under 15 minutes. What does this woman not know how to do?? She stayed with us throughout the reception and even had some fun with us on the dance floor :)
Sorry for the long review but bottom line is, Maria and Sue were awesome. They went above and beyond what makeup artists normally do and ensured everything was perfect. They made my wedding day perfect and I will forever be grateful that Maria was a part of my wedding. Thank you Maria and PMA!!!

Profile Picture Kathy, 9/25/10, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria Chang is AMAZING!!!!!!!! I Love love love her!!!! She was wonderful from the moment we booked her. During my trial, she took the time to understand my style and work with me to create an amazing look for my wedding. She is amazingly talented, and can can make you look stunning without making you look like you're wearing tons of make-up. She is also super sweet and understanding and will make sure you are 150% satisfied with your wedding look. On the day of the wedding, Maria was like my own mini personal assistant, going beyond just hair and make-up duties, and helping me with anything and everything I could possibly need. There aren't enough words to express how amazing Maria Chang is, and you will absolutely not regret booking her!!!!

Profile Picture Joycelynn, 8/14/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Maria Chang is Superwoman. She is AMAZING. 5 stars don't do her justice.

First of all, she is a wonderful person. She's witty, sassy, kind, smart, focused, and just a joy to be around. Secondly, she is one talented beautician. She did my bridal makeup and hair, as well as hair for all my bridesmaids. Everything turned out gorgeous, and I was able to take away some tips on how to do my own everyday makeup.

Maria was at my wedding from the very early morning, to after the grand entrance at the evening reception. Not only did she work her beauty magic, she also cleaned an oil stain out of my MIL's dress, sewed up my mama's broken shoe strap, showed my bridesmaids how to walk, hold their bouquets, and cry discretely. And, of course, all the usual makeup and hair touch-up throughout the day.

Basically, she's the Chuck Norris of weddings. Highly recommended.

Profile Picture Felicia, 8/8/10, 16 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Beautiful and kind, Maria, or "Saint Maria" as I like to call her, is as professional and talented as they come. I've never had a good experience having my make-up professionally done but Maria made me look and feel pretty without making me look overdone. I can't say enough about her willingness to help out when needed or her amazing ability to take away the worry about how I looked on my big day.

Profile Picture Margo, 7/24/10, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

Not that Maria needs another rave review, but she certainly deserves one! She is simply amazing! If there is one thing that you splurge on for your wedding, let it be Maria! I promise you won't regret it!

The other girls have pretty much said it all, and I wholeheartedly agree with every glowing review of her. I literally would not have survived my wedding day without her. Before the ceremony even started, she sewed two of my bridesmaids into their dresses with broken zippers, and did the same with my dress 10 minutes before we had to walk into the reception! She was there for 12 hours with me, doing touch ups, changing my hair and makeup, helping set up shots for Jen Skog, fixing dresses and hair, taping me into my dress, giving me water with a straw, and so much more that probably even I don't know about, all without missing a beat.

She was my fairy godmother on my wedding day, and everyone could see what a huge role she played. Without her, we would have all been lost! I love love love her!

If you haven't booked her yet, HURRY!

Profile Picture Jenny, 6/12/10, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health