Skip to main content
Weddings

Prince George Ballroom Reviews

Prince George Ballroom

Prince George Ballroom

New York, NY
4.9 out of 5 rating, 15 Reviews
View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 15
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • K
    Katie Married on 01/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    These are stunning photos and an amazing venue. My favorite place to buy wedding gifts and decor I always go to www.5thavestore.com. Check them out they are amazing!
  • S
    Sandra Married on 08/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a unique and beautiful venue! We worked with Karen and Valerie, who were professional and wonderful throughout the entire process. Their expertise and efficiency made the planning and execution of our wedding so easy for us...our many thanks! Highly recommend this gorgeous NYC spot for any event.
  • J
    Joe Married on 06/29/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    PRINCE GEORGE BALL ROOM IS SIMPLY AMAZING!
    ONE OF THE BEST KEPT SECRETS IN NYC!

    My fiancé and I were one of the unlucky couple who lost our venue, Angel Orensanz, 8 weeks before our wedding date. We were so lucky to be recommended to the The Prince George Ball Room by our caterer.

    From the start Karen was a breath of fresh air to work with.She help calm our nerves and was extremely organized, helpful, and a joy to collaborate with; she made the entire experience a wonderful one. The venue itself is simply breathtaking. It combines "new new york " the gallery room with "vintage new york" the Tea Room and Ball Room its self.

    We were truly blessed to be able to have our wedding here. I would recommend this place to any couple.

    Diana & Joe
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Megan Married on 10/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was such a joy working with Karen, ballroom manager, Prince George Ballroom, NYC, for our October 5th wedding. Throughout the entire process, Karen was extremely organized, helpful, and a joy to collaborate with; she made the entire experience a wonderful one. The venue itself is stunning, but it's Karen who makes the venue truly special.

    Karen is highly knowledgeable and provided terrific suggestions in multiple areas, from liquor and decor to lighting. Karen allowed Marine Lane to truly personalize the cocktail hour, resulting in the event winning a Print Celebrates Design Award from Print Magazine.

    I would highly recommend Prince George Ballroom for its historic, beautiful space, but as importantly, the space's phenomenal manager, Karen Jimenez, is the enabler.

    Megan and Tim
  • User964040 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just got married at this venue, and it is a hidden gem. It worked amazingly well with my colorful Indian wedding. The site fee goes to a non-profit called Common Ground, which helps homeless in New York. We had our ceremony in the tea room (tiffany blue with mirrors), the cocktail hour in the gallery space which is very modern with art pieces, and our reception in the ornate colorful ballroom. It is an absolutely stunning venue - all our guests were blown away. Also, Vicky and Jonathan were incredibly helpful and accommodating! Can't say enough about this amazing space - go check it out
  • Judy.Chien
    Judy Married on 07/23/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They were awesome. We had an issue with the wine list they provided and Jonathan made it work last minute. They are fabulous. My guests loved the ceremony in the Tea Room, cocktails in the Gallery and were awed by the reception in the ballroom! At the Prince George, they even had our stuff that we left there the night of! We were able to pick up everything we left behind. ANd yes you will be forgetting lots of things and to have them put aside waiting for you when you regain your senses is great.
  • L
    Linette Married on 09/04/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This place is beautiful.. I was breathless when I raked in with my husband...tears came into my eyes and I knew this was the place I wanted to hold my reception! Jonathan was a pleasure to work with, he was always helpful and professional.
  • User1883975 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding ceremony and reception here, and everything about it was fantastic. The staff, Karen especially, were extremely helpful all through the planning process and on the wedding day, with all of the last minute things that came up.

    The ballroom is gorgeous and felt just the right size for our 130 guests (though it holds up to 300), and we held the cocktail hour in the adjoining gallery space, which we could decorate as we liked. The space was originally built as a five-star hotel and now is a supportive housing building owned by the nonprofit Common Ground. This is a truly amazing venue doing great work in the heart of Manhattan, and we were glad to be able to support it through our wedding rental.
  • J
    Jillian Married on 07/21/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Prince George Ballroom was amazing! My husband and I fell in love with it from the first time we saw it- actually he saw it first, having attended a charity event there. He insisted that we go check it out, and I was blown away.

    We first worked with Jonathan, who told us of the ballroom's awesome history and Common Ground's mission. As our wedding approached, we worked with Karen Jimenez. Karen was WONDERFUL.

    Funny, easy-going, and organized, she really led us through everything. She helped us customize our alcohol list to accommodate our kosher wedding, and helped us work with our other vendors, including flowers and lighting. She was so kind and helpful, a real friend and asset as the wedding came closer.

    The venue itself is so beautiful and unique - see the other reviews for more details. It is a true NY secret, you would never know how awesome it was inside if you were walking down the street.

    It is somewhat of a raw event space, where you rent tables and chairs and everything and bring in a caterer. We ended up renting about half of our decor from the ballroom itself, half from the caterer, and draping for the ceremony from the lighting company. Karen was great in coordinating all of this and working with the vendors - everything ran extremely smoothly on wedding day.

    Plus, the proceeds support Common Ground, which was like the cherry on top of the sundae. I am so glad we got married there!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 12/01/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What an incredible experience! From the initial meeting we fell in love with this fabulous venue and it's cause. Jonathan Rieves was such a pleasure to work with and was so responsive to our requests (there were a whole lot within the 10 month wedding planning process!) He is a man of his word and really went above and beyond to make our day perfect as he assured us from day 1. We were so happy to find such a cool venue in a prime NYC location. Our guests have been ranting and raving about how beautiful the wedding was for weeks! This is a great venue for a bride/groom who do not want the cookie cutter wedding venue that everyone has been to over and over again!!
  • D
    Diahann Married on 10/15/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding here on October 1st. This place is an absolute hidden gem, I'm amazed that this isn't a better known venue. The ballroom is gorgeous, it’s really like nothing I’ve ever seen before. The ceilings and walls are made of ornately carved wood and the room contains a very large fireplace which can be filled with candles to provide a one of a kind look and atmosphere. The room is large – we comfortably sat 200 guests. One of the great things we found is that the room is so beautiful that we didn’t have to spend any additional money for lighting or additional rental upgrades (colored napkins, chair covers, plates with design/trim). It also permitted us to save a LOT of money on flowers because we could get away with very simple flower arrangements. We held our reception in the ballroom and then guests moved into the Gallery space for our cocktail hour. The Gallery provides a great contrast to the old-world style of the Ballroom. Most importantly, we loved the fact that the ballroom is owned by Common Ground, a non-profit organization that provides affordable/supportive housing and job training programs for homeless, disabled, elderly and low income individuals. As we were spending so much money on our wedding, it was nice to know that some of the money was going to support such a good cause. Jonathan and Vicky were both a pleasure to work with.
  • L
    L Married on 08/27/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our reception at the Prince George Ballroom, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The ballroom itself is absolutely gorgeous, and the gallery space is such a fantastic contrast to the ballroom. But best of all was the service, helpfulness and kindness of Jonathan and Vicki at the Prince George Ballroom. They were super! I highly recommend the PGB for anyone who wants a spectacular NY wedding in a location that not only looks amazing, but IS amazing because it's part of the Common Ground non profit that helps rehabilitate the homeless. So in the end, your money is even going towards a good cause!
  • T
    Stephanie Married on 05/30/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a place for the ceremony, but we needed a site for the reception. I'd checked out quite a few places and they either just weren't aesthetically pleasing, or we needed to guarantee numbers in order to book. That wasn't the case here. Downside is that you do have to get rentals, but they have some on-hand, which we were able to use and kept our rental costs low.

    The space itself is amazing. It can fit up to 299, but you can do so many things to make a smaller room if that's needed (we had about 100). The cocktail space was slick and modern in that NYC sort of way, and the ballroom left folks speechless. We got nothing but compliments on the space and the facilities were up to par. And, the money on the space goes to support homelessness - so you can have your party and be charitable at the same time. On site manager, Jonathan, always answered my emails and he went above and beyond to make sure I could get into the space when needed and that the day would run smoothly.

    Only hiccup - if there will be another event the day before yours precluding early delivery of tables, chairs, etc. (particularly on the weekend), then your rental place will likely have to set up the same day, which may in extra fees for set-up (it did for us).
  • Melissa
    Melissa L. Married on 06/05/2020
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous space!

    What we loved:
    + Beautiful interiors. We wanted a red and gold themed Chinese wedding, and the Ballroom was able to deliver plenty of the gold! The ornate columns made us feel like royals. As one of our guests pointed out, the Western style of the venue's interior blended well with our Chinese decorations, and we loved how the end result seemed to capture our personal identities. Also, the Ladies Tea Room is stunning, though unfortunately we weren't able to find a use for the space in our wedding.
    + Great cause. PGB is run by the non-profit Breaking Ground. Weddings are not cheap, so we loved knowing that our money was going to a good cause
    + Convenient location. Easily accessible by multiple subway lines and a short walk from Penn Station, this venue was easy for our guests to get to. We also loved that it was near Madison Square Park, which ended up being the perfect place to do our first look and take pre-ceremony photos with our wedding party. The day before our wedding, we had our wedding rehearsal at PGB and then walked to the Eataly rooftop for a very romantic rehearsal dinner.
    + Easy to work with. We had no problem scheduling multiple walk-throughs of the space with all our vendors (including the night before our wedding, even though there was a high school prom about to happen!). My husband and I both work late hours, but Serena especially was always available to meet with us on weekday evenings, and she was incredibly sweet and helpful every time. Karen and Serena were both very present the day of our wedding and into the evening to ensure everything went smoothly -- every time we needed either of them, they were there for us

    Heads up / advice to other brides:
    - A very raw production. What didn't register for us until we got deeper into wedding planning was that Prince George Ballroom really is just a space, and that's it. It has a small kitchen, but no tableware/cookware, limited staff, and no special lighting and sound equipment. Ultimately what we saved on venue fees we spent multiples on in audio/visual set up. We had to put all the nuts and bolts together ourselves, which made for more coordination work on our end than had we gone with a restaurant or hotel venue. On the plus side, this meant we were able to customize a lot more to our specific needs (and ultimately got more elaborate lighting options). And thankfully, the staff at Breaking Ground is great to work with.
    - Because there is so much color and detail in the space already, you may feel there are more limited color options for flowers / dresses / tables / other decor. It was hard for us to envision whether things would clash with the room -- we really didn't know until we saw it all come together day of.
    - Limited catering options. Breaking Ground requires you to select a caterer from their list of 6 or so exclusive vendors. While they ultimately made an exception for us because we requested ethnic catering, they still required us to use Breaking Ground's bartenders (so our caterer's waitstaff couldn't pour alcohol).
    - No natural lighting. There are only two small windows but the way they are situated, you get very little to no natural lighting in this space. That was fine for us for the purposes of dinner and dancing, but it would've been nice to have a more sunlit ceremony.

    Overall we're thrilled with how our wedding turned out and so grateful to Serena and Karen for all their help!!
  • Ada
    Ada Married on 06/06/2009
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This is just a gorgeous venue. We used the tearoom for our ceremony, the gallery (with cool art) for our cocktail hour and of course the ballroom for our reception. Jonathan, the manager, is a really cool laid-back guy and I get the sense he doesn't like overly neurotic people, but he will get you what you need and answer every question you have and make sure everything flows as smoothly as possible. Really, just a memorable, really pretty "old-NYC" style venue. Also, the money goes to charity. Gotta love that!