PRETTYOLOGIE | Julianne Chai Reviews

17 | Berkeley, CA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for PRETTYOLOGIE | Julianne Chai

Recommended by 100%

17
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

2 User photos

PRETTYOLOGIE | Julianne Chai 1
PRETTYOLOGIE | Julianne Chai 2
Sort by:
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional beauty!

    Julianne is so amazing at bringing out the beauty of her subjects... so much so that my mother who is very critical allowed her to do her makeup twice! (Once for my sister’s wedding and once for mine). She is super skilled and fantastic at what she does. Her makeup tips are also super helpful!

    Sent on 02/07/2019
    PRETTYOLOGIE | Julianne Chai 3
    PRETTYOLOGIE | Julianne Chai 4
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved working with Julianne & Justina

    I loved working with Julianne and Justina for my wedding. I was really nervous about having my wedding hair and makeup done as I don't wear a lot of makeup and wanted to look as natural as possible. When I had a hair and makeup trial with Julianne & Justina, they immediately put me at ease. They both work really hard to listen to what you are hoping for on your wedding day, and take great pride in their work. They both want to make sure you are happy with your look, and do beautiful work. Julianne was always incredibly responsive via email, and I immediately trusted her to give me the look I was hoping for. She is incredibly organized, and the day of the wedding, was a calming presence to my bridesmaids and I. Julianne & Justina made us all look beautiful, and I would highly recommend Prettyologie to any bride.

    Sent on 10/20/2018
  • H

    Heather · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julianne is wonderful! I planned my wedding from another part of the state so I relied on yelp reviews to find a lot of my vendors. In comparing a list of 12 people that actually got back to me about my inquiry.... Julianne was the quickest to respond. She answered all my questions and was very willing to work with me in my limitations. Great prices for the quality you get and I don't regret going with her at all. She was accommodating and good at matching the look I wanted. I got a lot of compliments on my make-up through out the night.

    Her hair stylist, Justina is also a wonderful person that was very accommodating and is very talented in doing hair. I was particularly nervous about my hair because I wanted to keep my natural curls and do I nice updo that had strands hanging off and she even put the left over floral pieces and in my loose bun. Not many hair stylists gained my respect and confidence when they work with my natural curls, but Justina did an amazing job. In my trial run, we tried three different looks and all three looked classy and matched the look I was going for. My hair on my wedding day was comfortable and looked great. She also did my mother in law's hair. My MIL didn't know what she wanted and gave her free reign. It looked very nice. My mother in law is an older Asian woman that doesn't get her hair done often and she loved her look.

    They were both on time and went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable with my final look. I highly recommend going with Prettyologie.

    Sent on 04/01/2017
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so grateful that I found Julianne for my wedding day! Not only did she do an incredible job with my makeup, but also made it such a stress-free and enjoyable experience.

    As for hair, Julianne and her team did up-dos for all seven of my bridesmaids and they all looked fantastic. I actually went to a salon that had been pre-booked for me and was unhappy with the result. While Julianne was doing my makeup she gently suggested I have someone on her team take a look. I agreed and within 10 minutes my hair had been totally taken down and re-pinned to perfection. I actually received the most compliments on my elegant french twist than any other part of my look that day.

    Julianne and her team really went the extra mile to create such a joyful space for us to all get ready. I couldn't recommend this service more!

    Sent on 08/08/2016
  • User5232414 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As someone who wears makeup less than five times a year, I was terrified by my wedding. But, thanks to a girlfriend who recommended Prettyologie, my bridesmaids and I looked our best on the Big Day!

    Charming and humorous, Julianne was everything I needed; she took the stress right out of the situation and allowed me to relax into her capable hands. She's patient and down-to-earth, and if a look isn't working for you, she takes care to listen and meet your needs.

    Sent on 04/24/2016
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julianne did a really beautiful job on my wedding makeup. To begin, she sent an informational email to address some of the common questions people have when they are getting their makeup done and airbrushing FAQs. She also sent a questionnaire about my daily makeup routine and makeup preferences, etc and explained how the info would help her determine what look I was going for. I found all of this really helpful because I like to know what to expect. During the makeup trial (which is required for brides), Julianne was really patient and asked clarification questions to make sure I liked what she was doing. On the day of the wedding, Julianne arrived at the site 15 min early and was incredibly efficient. Everything was done in probably under 45 min, but it was not at all rushed. She already knew what I was looking for from the trial and did an excellent job with my makeup on the actual day. I received many compliments from guests and my husband was really happy with her work. I highly recommend Julianne!

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Prettyologie team did a fantastic job on the makeup and hair for my wedding day! Let me start out by saying that my groom had a terrible pre-wedding haircut, and the team was able to fit him in as well, for an emergency cut and style! He was so stressed out about it, and Julianne made sure we were taken care of. Crisis averted!

    I was also dealing with a bad breakout from all of the stress. Julianne worked her magic and covered everything up! My skin looked radiant in all of the photos. Even through multiple bouts of happy tears, my eye makeup stayed on all night. I also absolutely loved the MAC lip gloss color she selected for me - my new favorite!

    The makeup and hair for my bridesmaids, mom, and grandma also looked stunning! They all received multiple compliments from the other guests.

    Sent on 05/20/2015
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am SO happy that I found Julianne!!

    We first met in person when we did my bridal trial which I also used for my engagement photos. I was nervous because I tend to steer towards the more natural look with makeup. But Julianne listened to what I wanted and the photos ended up looking amazing! Also, Julianne was spot-on when she recommended going darker with the eyes and fuller with the lashes on wedding day.

    On wedding day I didn't worry at all what I would look like because I knew that she would make me beautiful. Having been a bridesmaid multiple times, I knew brides who were nervous & hesitant on wedding day because they didn't entirely trust their makeup artist. I didn't feel any of that at all. Julianne knows exactly what to do.

    My makeup lasted ALL DAY for my entirely outdoor wedding too! She put together a touch-up kit, which my bridesmaid used on me once. But that was it!

    Working with Julianne for hair is Justina. She did my hair for both the trial & wedding day. We tried two hairstyles for the trial, a full up-do and a half-up/half-down style. I originally was going to go with the up-do for my wedding hair but decided last minute to do the half-up/half-down style. Oh, an I also cut 5 inches off my hair 3 weeks out from wedding day... Didn't phase Justina at all. I loved my hair!

    Julianne & Justina also did makeup and hair for my bridesmaids and mom as well! They all looked super beautiful, basically perfected versions of their beautiful selves.

    Working with them is a dream. Julianne's rates are also super reasonable for including travel, airbrush makeup, and false lashes!

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really did not know what I wanted for my wedding makeup except that I wanted it to look good and look good the whole day without rubbing off or getting greasy. I also did not know where to start looking for a makeup artist! On the recommendation of my photographer friend, and thanks to yelp, I was fortunate to find Julianne.

    With dry skin that gets oily throughout the day, a fiancé that didn't like makeup, and no knowledge or background in makeup, Julianne worked her magic. She took into account all the details of my wedding including the location and my dress and did my makeup so that it matched perfectly. She also worked within my budget and was very flexible. The day of, the makeup wasn't caked on, stayed perfect the whole day, and looked amazing in photos. I literally am amazed that it is possible for me to look as good as I did! In addition to my face, Julianne took the time to make sure everything about me was flawless. She covered up tan lines on my shoulders, and even knew to cover up the unsightly mole on my neck, which is my least favorite feature of myself. I almost cried when I had to take it all off. In addition, Julianne was a joy to work with. She was sweet, fun, personable, and quick! Even though we did not have that much time to get me ready before the wedding Julianne never made me feel stressed. I throughly enjoyed my time with her and felt comfortable and relaxed with her.

    I HIGHLY recommend Julianne for any makeup needs you might have. I have her number ready for myself, the next time I want to look fabulous!

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • C

    Corinne · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julianne did my makeup for my wedding, along with four bridesmaids and my mom. She did an AMAZING job on everyone! I was really nervous about having my makeup done, as I don't wear a lot of makeup on a daily basis. Julianne definitely listened to what I wanted (something natural), but also gently encouraged me to go a little darker with the eye makeup. In the end, she was right and I was beyond thrilled with the results. Julianne brought Justina to do everyone's hair and Justina is hair genius! Justina is very talented and creative! Both Julianne and Justina were warm, friendly and true professionals!

    Sent on 06/27/2013
  • S

    Sue · Married on 11/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Prettyologie didn't JUST help me with my wedding makeup, she had a vendor referral for every wedding related need I had! I have never seen such a comprehensive array of wedding knowledge that Julianne possessed. Due to having the wedding in Nor Cal when I lived in So Cal was a difficult and timely process, especially with the ton of research to find QUALITY vendors. I had used 90% of the vendors she had referred to me and I was impressed with each and every one. My absolute favorites was her photographer referral, we loved him and the photos he took...AND her officiant referral, he was hilarious and made the ceremony more upbeat. She even helped look over my wedding itinerary and gave her professional opinions on changing some aspects of my timeline!!!! I almost want to remarry so I can work with her again. lol. jk. I plan to use Julianne and her team for all my beauty and event planning needs. Thank goodness for advent of internet so I can rant good and bad things about the vendors I have worked with in the past and future clients have comments to read from REAL BRIDES. Thank you WEDDING WIRE & the team at Prettyologie!

    Sent on 09/06/2013
  • J

    Jess · Married on 10/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julianne is SO GREAT! I needed make-up and hair for three events. Engagement photos, engagement video, and WEDDING DAY! The schedule was crazy! Julianne was so easy to work with and so helpful. She even found a hairstylist for me! Julianne did my make-up and Michelle did my hair for all three events. They also did my Mom's and two bridesmaids on the wedding day. Everyone looked so amazing! And I have never felt more beautiful=) My photos and video turned out so great! My photographer even commented how well the make-up that Julianne used photographed. It was so natural! I couldn't be happier!!!! If you need make-up and hair for a special occasion.....CALL JULIANNE!

    Sent on 07/01/2013
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't rave enough about Julianne's work! She was the makeup artist for my best friend's wedding last year, and she made us (the bride and bridal party) look beautiful without caking on the products. Julianne is a master at applying enough makeup to look great in person, as well as looking beautiful in photographs... no small feat if you really stop to think about it! I received so many compliments about my makeup on the wedding day, and later when the professional photographs were shared. I absolutely loved working and befriending Julianne. Every bride deserves to have an effortless and wonderful experience with their makeup artist for their big day, and Julianne provides just that, as well as years of experience in mastering her craft. Thank you, Julianne, you're a rockstar!

    Sent on 07/07/2013
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about Julianne! I don't even know where to begin.
    I live in Austin and traveled to SF in July 2012 to have my wedding. I was really nervous about choosing a makeup artist because I wasn't there to meet her in person and try her out well beforehand. Then...we called Julianne. Instantly we felt very relieved! We knew just from talking to her on the phone that she was a truly great find. She was always so prompt in responding to my emails/phone calls and was never frustrated or rude in the slightest! (And I'm sure I must have driven her, at least, slightly crazy with all of my questions and concerns and change of plans.) She let me send her ideas and helped by giving me her professional input on several different occasions. She was extremely professional all the way through.

    When I finally got to meet her in person, I felt like I had known her for years! She's one of those people that you are just instantly drawn to. She has a magnetic personality. She did my makeup for my engagement pictures and for my wedding day and I was in total awe. I have never felt so beautiful--glamorous, even! She calmed my nerves and was the perfect person to talk to leading up to the wedding. My makeup was flawless. It lasted all day and I have received nonstop compliments--even up to this day!

    Julianne is really something special. REALLY. I'm so grateful that she was there with me on such a special day!
    You will not be making a mistake if you choose to go with Pretty by Julianne! SHE'S WORTH EVERY PENNY!

    Sent on 07/02/2013
  • User2056930 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julianne and Audrey made up my make up team for the Big day. They were timely, worked efficiently, and made everyone look beautiful. From the first email I sent Julianne to the touch-ups after the ceremony, she was always so friendly and easy to work with. She truly is gifted at highlighting a persons’ best features and this is evidenced by the different varying people she put makeup on. Between me, my three bridesmaids, and my mom, we all have different skin tones, hair color, eye color, eye shape, lip shape, and everything in between, but we all managed to look like the best versions of ourselves.

    Sent on 05/16/2012
  • W

    winne · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Going through vendors for our wedding, I wanted vendors who I could trust, relate to and overall, feel like it was an extension of the party. Julianne was extremely responsive - which seems no-brainer to some but when I was first looking for make-up artist, there were some folks who took a week to respond to my initial inquiry and never followed up again - which is odd to me in a customer centric industry. She worked with me on the look I wanted - listened to my concerns, answered questions, gave suggestions leading up to my wedding day in regards to beauty regime and more than delivered on the day. I felt absolutely gorgeous and stunning on my wedding day. But I wasn't the only ones - she also single handedly worked on my mother, sister and 2 nieces by herself! We all felt pampered and beautiful for the day. Thank you Julianne. If I could re-do the day over and over again, she would be my go to person to beautify the group.

    Sent on 10/11/2010
  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/27/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I think I told Julianne "thank you" about 50 times the day of my wedding for making me look so beautiful. She and one of the hairstylists from her team showed up at my venue and made me and my 2 bridesmaids look stunning. I don't wear a lot of makeup and so I was worried about looking mask-like, but she just made me look like a dressed up and better version of myself. After she had finished me and the bridesmaids, my Mom loved it so much, that she asked Julianne if she would mind fitting her in last minute and do her makeup as well!
    Through it all, Julianne was so friendly and bubbly - she just fit in as one of the girls in our dressing room. She was on time and had set up the whole schedule for us ahead of time so we knew who was getting done at what time, etc. So helpful since many of our friends were helping set up the wedding as well and the girls knew when they needed to "turn into a pumpkin" and come back into the dressing room to get ready.
    I will absolutely recommend Julianne to all of my friends when they get married!

    Sent on 09/05/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review