Portrait by Tony Reviews

35 | San Jose, CA
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Portrait by Tony

Recommended by 100%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing team of photographers! Would hire again!

    Tony and his associate were incredible! They were so easy to work with and personable. He made me feel comfortable every step of the way and his pictures are incredible!!! He gets your pictures back to you so fast and you get to re-live your special day all over again.

  • T

    Tina · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved our experience with Tony and Melinda at the San Jose Rose Garden!

    Tony was extremely polite, professional, and willing to make us happy :)
    I received a small batch of photos today (rush-since we are having a banquet in Taiwan as well and need some pictures to decorate) and they look wonderful!

    On the day of the wedding, Tony and Melinda were great to work with. They constantly communicate with each other (and us) to try and get the best picture from the best angle. They came up with so many fun ideas in addition to the usual wedding photos!

    The small batch of photos I received a week after the wedding (I know! Tony is VERY accommodating) look great! I already have some favorites.

    Can't wait to see the rest of the photos when we get back from our honeymoon!

    Thank you Tony!

  • User4523452 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not be happier with tony q!! He was easy to work with and most importantly wants to capture the moments of your special day that mean the most to you. He truly loves his work and this is evident in his dedication to get all the shots that he thinks are important for you and in the end product of amazing pictures and photo albums. Not only is tony a wonderful photographer but he is also an easy going person that we would love to hang out with even outside of work for our wedding. Thanks again Tony q for capturing beautiful moments of our special day!!

  • S

    Supriya · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tony and his team did a fantastic job for our wedding weekend in May. From the outset he was responsive, open to negotiating (we needed a photographer for our Mehendi on Saturday afternoon rather than a rehearsal dinner, and Tony was able to make that happen), and so very pleasant to work with. His prices are fair, his work product is fantastic, and his personality is so calming and pleasant to be around. We couldn't have been happier with our experience with TonyQ Pro!

  • Haley

    Haley · Married on 05/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honestly, It’s hard to put into words just how talented & wonderful Tony Q. and his wife were to work with & the end results just topped it all off! Our pictures were simply amazing! I am a photographer myself, so probably a tougher critic than most and they surpassed any expectations I ever had. I researched many wedding photographers in the area and Tony was by far the best overall for his creativity and for his very affordable rate! Tony Q. has a true eye for photography and the people skills that need to go with it. We are so happy we choose to work with this dynamic team to capture our wedding day.

    From the very beginning, Tony was so easy to talk with over the phone & especially in person. He is such a great guy & makes you feel very comfortable right away. Our elopement took place in the very remote area of Big Sur and included a lot of hiking in very steep & rocky areas and they were all for it 100% of the way. Just goes to show that this team is up for any challenge.

    The "Q" team both took photos so they could capture our elopement from a variety of creative angles and perspectives. After looking back at all the great photos, I can say it really paid off to have them both there. Not to mention, Tony's wife is a such a sweetheart & was a huge help for a bride who was without her maid of honor & bridesmaids. At times, she helped me with my dress, my hair, and even carried a small pack for me during our hikes...Thank you Mrs. Q again for all your help..Much appreciated! Our whole elopement experience in Big Sur wouldn't have been the same without them. Also, I really must mention their incredible turnaround time on our wedding photos, which surpassed any other photographer I've ever know. Thank you again for capturing our day so beautifully!
    Best, Haley & Matt

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Tony for our wedding recently and were very impressed by his professionalism and enthusiasm to get great pictures throughout the night. Even in our initial meeting we liked his personal touch to his photo services. Tony definitely works very hard to capture all the important and memorable moments - my friends even commented that they had never seen a photographer stay so involved throughout the entire wedding since some tend to disappear during the reception. Despite being so involved, he was able to accomplish all his shots while staying very much in the background so that we could focus on having fun in the wedding. And in the moments where we wanted to find him because we felt a good shot was present, he was already there - great photo intuition.

    I was moved by the fact that he was even willing to get dirty and lie down for shots - but also screamed because it was a Tom Ford suit.

  • User2399804 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tony is an exceptional photographer. In addition to this, he approaches the entire event process as a true professional, taking hold of the minute details (both in the wedding planning process and the wedding day itself) and making them feel like they're not overwhelming or complex.

    Even though Tony has a steady stream of business, we never felt like he lost the vision for our event amidst everyone else's. Throughout the entire planning stage, we never felt like we were just another gig--we felt like all focus was specifically on our wedding--there was never any confusion or lack of communication--but there was never a feeling of overbearing contact, either.

    When it came to doing the engagement photos, Tony took us to a very scenic public place and within half an hour, we had a set of incredible shots. Both of us tend to be somewhat nervous in front of the camera, but it was easy to relax with Tony at the helm. His guidance put us at ease, and this sense of relaxation and lightheartedness really came through in the shots.

    With the wedding, Tony and his assistant were everywhere at all times, but never in the way. We ended up with an incredible spread of shots, and the only difficult task was choosing which ones we wanted to display in our album--there were so many great photographs, that the choice was not easy. But if that's the worst case scenario, then the situation is overall fantastic.

    We would highly recommend Tony to anyone and everyone having a large event that needs to be documented. As stated earlier, he has an incredible eye for photography, and is also extremely professional and pleasant to be around. Top notch, all the way around.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tony Q.pro formally known as Portrait by Tony is an excellent photographer and if given the chance to choose a photographer all over again, we still would have picked Tony. He was recommended by two former co-workers of mine and after one meeting with him, we knew he was the one!
    During the meeting, he explained how he worked and had more examples than we had time to go through. My husband and Tony had fun geeking out over camera equipment too. We found him to have a great, engaging personality and that really helped us make the final decision to choose him. Tony was the only photographer we interviewed since we decided on our drive home that he would be the one to photograph us on our special day.
    In my first inquiry email to Tony, I asked for pricing information. He sent us a PDF that clearly explained his packages and pricing. He was always very prompt in replying to emails, and has a modern business model that I appreciated. I was able to use PayPal to pay him, which was quick and easy and saved time on having to send him a check.
    Our wedding was on August 10th and a couple weeks before the event, Tony arranged to meet with us to have a mini photo shoot so we could really get a feel for how he works. Tony offered poses, but stressed that we keep it natural.
    On the big day, we had Tony from the early afternoon hours of me getting ready, right till the end of the wedding celebration. While I was away from the hotel getting my make-up done, Tony arrived at the hotel and started taking pictures of the details such as my dress, shoes, flowers, etc. He also coordinated with my husband, on a different floor, to take photos of him getting ready.
    Tony was never in the way at the wedding, but got photos of all the special moments. He seemed to know where to be that was out of the way, but still a great spot for coverage.
    Of all the great vendors we had for our wedding, Tony was easily our favorite and the most worth it! We couldn’t recommend him more.

  • M

    Marian · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I researched many different vendors online through various sites before I came across Tony's website and reviews. I was really impressed with the quality of photos and the many positive reviews. We decided to go with Tony for our engagement and wedding day photos. This was a great decision as the photos turned out wonderfully and we are extremely pleased!

    I would highly recommend Tony as he was easy to work with and very flexible. In addition, he is very professional and prompt in email responses.

    Overall we had a great experience and are thrilled with the photos we have received.

  • N

    Natalia · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just looked back at our photographs from our wedding six months ago, and our appreciation for Tony's work prompted us to write a review. Tony was amazing!
    My husband and I immediately noticed two things about Tony: he genuinely cared what we wanted, and he loves what he does. In our consultation, Tony was kind and patient with us. He showed us lots of examples, which we found incredibly helpful since we felt a bit overwhelmed trying to figure out how to tell him what we were looking for. It was great to hear him tell us that he wanted us to have exactly what we want, and if we didn't think he was the right fit it was ok- it was most important to him that we found a photographer that would capture our wedding the way we wanted.
    On the day of the wedding, Tony was there for all the important moments, and he took some dynamite photos! We have some really unique shots that people absolutely love. He did a great job with both candids and posed pictures. I should say that our wedding took place outdoors in over 100 degree heat, and somehow, he made everything look beautiful. He captured the essence of the joy of the wedding, and he had a blast the whole time. Tony was excited and enthusiastic, and he made everyone feel comfortable so they could be themselves. You will definitely not be disappointed if you work with him!

  • P

    Peggy · Married on 03/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tony was wonderful. We were able to take our engagement shots with him before the wedding in a lovely park in San Jose. He answered all of my questions and emails and phone calls immediately and was always professional. When I interviewed him he told me I should interview 5 other photographers, so I really knew what I was getting. I did it and every time he came up as the best. I was on a very tight budget, I was an older bride and he was flexible and we always felt like we got the premium package although we could only afford the economy package. I love the book and I love that I get the photos at the end to make my own book. Thank you Tony.

  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is why you should hire Tony to do any type of professional photography:
    1. He is so hard working - he will come early/stay late ... he does whatever needs to be done to get you what you want. He bends over backwards!
    2. He is easy going and has a great personality - extremely easy to work with, and a pleasure.
    3. He isn't going to rip you off. He is priced below market value. Bang for buck, you are getting a steal if you book him.
    4. Last but not least, his photos are amazing! From the sample photos that he put together for our slide show, I got so many compliments from friends and family - Not only do the photos look great, they capture the essence of that moment!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met with Tony and Ian when i began my search for the perfect Photographer, which ended here. They were very real, did not try to push anything on us, and their prices were very affordable. Ian and Debs were our photographers at our wedding in September. They were great, these two work great together and their personalites meshed great with us! I did not have to worry about a thing, they were organized and never got in the way. It was if they weren't even there. I was looking at our wedding photos to (that we just received) and there were some many great photos during the reception that I didn't even remember. They kept making sure that I didn't need anything and I kept making sure that they were taken care of since I feel from the start they went above and beyond!!! I highly recommend Portraits by Tony. Thank you so much for these great memories that you guys captured.

  • L

    Lily · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our search for a wedding photographer started out rough. We met with at least 5 photographers in the bay area, but none of them has all the "it" factors we were looking for: artistic w/ timeless photography style, passionate, personable, and reasonably priced. Well, that was before we met Tony. After looking through his portfolio albums and asking him tons of questions about his work product and style, we booked him on the first meet.

    On the day of the wedding, he was first to arrive and last to leave. His positive and energetic attitude was very contagious and helped keeping everyone in good spirit throughout the long 15-hour marathon wedding. He was there for all the major shots and was really accommodating with the various demands from our relatives.

    Our wedding photos were delivered on-time as promised. Tony did an amazing job! Our wedding photos look great and are exactly what we were hoping for and more. My husband and I got tons of compliments from our friends and family when we showed them our photos.

    You rock, Tony!

  • W

    Wai-Man · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thanks to all the 5 stars reviews, My husband & I made the right decision by choosing Tony as our wedding day photographer!!!

    After reviewing many different photographers' profile, and comparing the packages and pricings, we decided Tony has the most reasonable pricing in terms of services and packages. Besides pricing, the most important thing that we also compared was the work of each photographers. I love how Tony posted thousands of pictures on his facebook page, allowing us to review his work and seeing what he can do. I literally went through most of the pictures that Tony posted and cannot help stop looking through them; they are all very nice!!!

    When our big day came, Tony showed up on time and in good spirit. He turned out to be exactly as what other people on wedding wire described; very easy to work with, communicate well, calm and makes you feel at ease, and have a great personality that comes along with his work. He delivered all the requests that we had and beyond!!

    During our dinner reception, Tony added an extra touch which we did not expect, and our guests loved it!! By the time I want to get one for myself, they were all gone. Besides the extra touch he added, another thing that I love about Tony was he brought out his digital picture frame to show our guests the photos taken earlier at our church ceremony. That just shows that Tony cares to make our special day a little more special ^.^

  • B

    Brendan · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Like the other reviews on this site, I can't say enough good things about Tony. He was easily one of the biggest home runs of our wedding. He is a true professional at what he does and makes you feel like an exclusive client. The photos that he takes are artistic and stunning. He's very kind and feels like he's a friend you've always had. Tony is right on top of things and captures all of the moments of your event. He organizes people in a smooth manner such that you don't feel rushed or anything like that. Tony definitely exceeded our expectations and I would recommend him to anyone looking for the absolute best when it comes to professional photographers. Book him. You won't be disappointed.

  • L

    Lori · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional, creative, personable, flexible, and AWESOME to work with! I would recommend Tony to anyone who truely wants beautiful photography of any event.

    From the first day I contacted Tony he was prompt in responding to questions and very professional. He was very easy-going and willing to work with us from a distance. We had met with a few other photographers before him, but he impressed us the most. The fact that his prices are extremely affordable for the quality of photography that you receive was sugar on top.

    We had booked Tony about a year before our wedding because we wanted the best photographer to be shooting our engagement photos and wedding photos. We had decided not to go with a videographer so the photographs were extremely important to us. After looking at the photos, I know I got the best! I feel like I can relive my wedding day (and even our engagement photo session) through the photos Tony took.

    Tony showed up on time at 7am and stayed with me until the end of the night at 11pm. I know he was there (I have the photos to prove it!), but he and his assistant blended in so well with my party that I didn't even notice him at the reception. He worked with the winds and architecture in San Francisco and captured amazing photos.

    Thank you Tony! We can't wait to see what you come up with for our wedding album!

  • T

    tanya · Married on 02/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had made the best decision of my wedding having chosen Tony to do our photography. He captured us as how we are which we loved.

    He was there setting up on time, and actually at the venue before we even arrived! He was so easy and fun to work with and I couldn't believe how creative he is.

    His photos that I had seen and sold us on choosing him were like works of art rather than just photography. Tony made us feel so comfortable and in our own element.

    You felt more like a close friend than our photographer and we will always cherish our memories with you there at our wedding!!

  • seasee132

    Carissa · Married on 07/23/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough rating stars to show how wonderful our experience working with Tony was.
    He was at our wedding site from the moment I got up and was the last person to leave. We loved working with him. He's friendly, professional and our guests are still complimenting how wonderfully talented he is.
    I met with many many photographers while looking for a photographer for my upcoming wedding. When I met with Tony I knew I'd found the one! Tony offers complete packages at wonderful prices and really does have something for everyone.
    I would definitely recommend him to others!

  • C

    Clarissa · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Portrait by Tony for both our wedding and our engagement photos and we couldn’t have been happier with our decision. We first met Tony and his colleague Laila when they went out of their way to meet with us at our wedding location for a consultation. There was absolutely no pressure, Tony actually encouraged us to shop around. We knew immediately that we had found our photographer.

    When we met with Tony for the engagement session it was apparent that we were working with the best. Tony was welcoming to any ideas that we had and since neither of us had ever done professional pictures before we were grateful to also let him direct us. In less than a week we received an email with some teasers from our shoot and we were thrilled. The pictures were amazing!

    A few days before the wedding he asked us when we were going to start getting ready. On the day of the wedding he showed up as we started getting ready, an entire three hours before the ceremony! He ended up staying to take pictures of us after the reception was completed because the light was better at sunset, for a total of over ten hours (and he doesn’t charge per hour). With most photographers you will be lucky to cover the time from the beginning of the ceremony to the end of the reception.

    Tony was also incredibly patient with us and our guests, granting all picture requests while never imposing on the atmosphere of the party. He even enhanced it by creating a slide show of pictures from earlier in the day for people to look at on a table during the reception.

    Of course the most important thing of all is his pictures are amazing. He hand edits hundreds of the photos to touch them up, and every one looks great. Not only do we love all the pictures we have seen (dozens just a week after the wedding) but we have received many comments from friends and family on how beautiful the pictures are as well. And best of all, we receive all the photos he took and edited on a CD within six to eight weeks of the event at no extra charge, freeing us to do what we please with them.

    You will not find a better deal, a nicer photographer to work with, or a higher quality photographs anywhere in Northern California.

  • A

    Amery · Married on 04/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tony YOU ROCK!!!! Everyone just loved you both. You got along great with our family and friends which means alot to us. Your prices are great and many packages to work with. You were both attentive and professional. The shots we've seen so far are AWESOME, cant wait to see more. Attention to detail is spot on which is def. something I key into. Tony what more can I say, you are truly excellent at what you do and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to hire you to capture our special day. We look forward to working with you again for our 5yr anniversary shots.

    With love and great appreciation,

    Amaranta & David
    4/24/10

  • G

    Erandy · Married on 02/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am extremely satisfied with Tony. I consider myself a picky and demanding person and Tony exceeded my expectations in every way. He is very professional and he was always available to answer questions and address concerns in a timely manner. He was fun to work with every step of the way; by the end of the day I felt like he was part of the family :) truly a joy to have around in such a stressfull day. He is very talented and has a very good eye to catch those special moments, there are some pictures that are amazing and I don't even remember seeing him around at that time.
    So if you want to hire a photographer STOP looking already and give Tony a call; you won't be dissapointed

  • aternes

    Andrea · Married on 02/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are a bride looking for the best photographer of all time then Tony is the one you want. Pictures were the #1 item from my wedding that I wanted to be perfect (this is all you have to remember your big day). Tony was the first photgrapher that I met with and when the meeting was over I new he was the photographer I wanted to use. I still wanted to compare other photographers and met with two others, one of them being a very popular photo company. These other two photographers couldn't even compare with Tony and the quality of work that I saw. On my wedding day Tony exceeded my expectations and was so easy to work with. He made my wedding party and I feel comfortable and it felt very natural to take pictures. Then, the best part was when I actually saw some of the pictures Tony took. WOW! They were beautiful! I could go on and on about Tony, how great he is and how superior his quality of work is. I would recommend Tony to all brides that want the best photographer ever! Thank you Tony! Nick and Andrea 2-6-2010

  • C

    Carisia · Married on 11/21/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is not enough that can be said about Tony and his exceptional service! My husband and I reviewed several photographers portfolio's and met with a few before our wedding, but once we met Tony we knew that our search was over. Tony is a true professional and made us feel so at ease. I received so many compliments from friends and family members in attendance at the wedding about both Tony and his assistant. They fit in to the festivities seamlessly, capturing all of our special moments without intrusion. I was blessed with great vendors that helped to make my day go off perfectly and I would not hesitate to recommend Tony to anyone looking for a wedding or special event photographer.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review