Weddings

Port City Shakedown Reviews

Port City Shakedown

Port City Shakedown

Wilmington, NC
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 43 Reviews
View more information

43 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 43
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
Sort by:
  • L
    Lauren M. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Time Ever!

    Port City Shakedown definitely made our reception the blast that it was, and they were such a pleasure to work with. They were extremely organized and made the planning and choosing of the set list so easy. I don't think our guests left the dance floor all night! They were even kind enough to let a friend of ours come up to perform a song. It was such a memorable surprise! Truly had the time of our lives, and would absolutely recommend!!!
  • Lauren
    Lauren F. Married on 03/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Get your party started!

    We could not have asked for a better band to celebrate with at our wedding. The party started and ended with them- what great energy! Our guests loved their song choices and sang & danced the night away. The Port City Shakedown exceeded our expectations and we can’t wait to find another reason to work with them again.
  • B
    Beth L. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Band Ever

    WOW! If you're looking for a band to celebrate a special occasion, look no further! Tim and the band had our guests up and dancing the entire night. They are talented, fun, personable, and easy to work with. We has so much fun and hated to see the party end. All anybody talked about was how awesome the band was. Don't hesitate a minute to book this outstanding group of musicians and vocalists! Port City Shakedown was the bomb! Just wish I could do it all over again!
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    Port City Shakedown was absolutely amazing to work with. Tim was so responsive and on top of things throughout the whole planning process, and that really helped to keep me calm! Everything went seamlessly from beginning to end. The set list that they put together was so perfect and FUN!! The dance floor was packed the entire reception, and all of our guests commented on how great our band was (and actually keep continuing to tell us how much fun they had dancing to the music). My husband and I danced the night away, and we could not have asked for better entertainment for our big day! If you are having any hesitation, DON'T and book them ASAP!
  • Ryann
    Ryann Married on 11/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Part of Our Wedding

    We cannot say enough wonderful things about Port City Shakedown! They had every wedding guest on the dance floor the entire night, and everyone could not stop telling us how amazing they were. The band is so fun and easy to work with. I would recommend them to absolutely anyone. They were the best decision we made!
  • Abby
    Abby Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best. Wedding. Band. Ever.

    If you are looking for the most entertaining group of musicians, look no further. Port City Shakedown is the BEST wedding band I have ever experienced and were so wonderful to work with! Our guests never stopped dancing. The music selection was perfect and the sound was out of this world. I cannot recommend them more highly!
  • M
    Mary J. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome Wedding Band!

    Port City Shakedown was the perfect party band for our beach wedding! They were awesome to work with, super responsive and flexible. We and our guests had a blast dancing to their fun party music. Highly recommend!
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Worth Every Penny

    Port City Shakedown was one of the most hassle free aspects of our wedding. They were easy to work with for booking, are an amazing value, and kept the dance floor full all night! We loved their repertoire of music and whole heatedly recommend them!
  • Mollie
    Mollie S. Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing and fun band!

    Port City Shakedown played at our wedding reception on May 4, 2019 and they brought the house down! Not only is this band so musically talented but they are so professional and SO FUN. We actually realized last minute we had not chosen to have the band play our first dance songs and they learned all 3 without any hesitation. This band read the crowd and kept the party going. Family and friends who regularly refuse to dance were out on the dance floor having the best time. They were wonderful to my husband and me and all of our guests. They were also so organized and reliable when planning for the reception with them. They made all the details easy, and their performance was unforgettable. I highly recommend booking this band for your wedding or any celebratory event!
  • N
    Neil Married on 11/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Port City Shakedown brought the house down!

    They absolutely killed it! From the first song to the encore that the entire room begged for, everyone was up and dancing and having a blast the entire time. Would recommend Tim and Port City Shakedown 10/10 times!
  • A
    Amy S. Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great wedding band

    I used port city shakedown for my ceremony music and reception band at my wedding. They were incredible. They were professional, on time, and well worth the money. They kept my guests dancing and smiling. They had a wide range of songs to choose from and they nailed the Mcing. A band is a super nice touch to a wedding if you are wanting your guests to get out of their comfort zone and dance. I would hire them all over again!
  • Cynthia
    Cynthia Married on 10/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding Band, for the BEST Value!

    Port City Shakedown performed at our October 2018 wedding in Wilmington and they ROCKED IT!! Not only were they amazing live, with a great selection of current and older songs, but they were also extremely professional and responsive in the weeks leading up to our wedding (as we dealt with some last minute changes caused by Hurricane Michael.) We were a bit (but only a bit) skeptical since we booked them without ever seeing them in person, but we all had the BEST time and our guests were commenting for the rest of the weekend about how awesome our wedding band was. I think everyone was sad when the wedding ended... if it were up to us we would've kept dancing into the wee hours of the morning. :) I would definitely recommend Port City Shakedown to anyone looking for a lively band that will keep the party going! And the value for the money cannot be beat! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, PORT CITY!!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They were absolutely amazing the night of the wedding and were so easy to work with the entire time!

    Everyone is still talking about how great our band was! They kept the dance floor full the entire night and no one left early! They were the highlight of our reception for sure! :)
  • D
    Denise Married on 09/30/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great band, professional, goid range of songs, welcomed requests. Everyone was up and dancing all night, guests loved them
  • E
    Eric Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were great and everybody at the wedding loved them
  • M
    Melanie Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Port City Shakedown offers you all of the fun and songs you can imagine to make your wedding a big success for bride and groom as well as for the guests. Each member is friendly and ALL are on the same goal- To Make You Happy. !!! They did just that, made all happy. As the wedding planner, I enjoyed working with the band- it was all about the TEAM and flexibility and an awesome outcome !!!!!! Thank you - Kindred Spirit Events
  • J
    James Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!

    Port City Shakedown was outstanding. They had every single (capable) guest at our wedding dancing from their first song all the way to their last song. The band members and their talents complement each other perfectly. I can not imagine having another band for our wedding. They were freaking awesome.
  • M
    Mike Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired the Shakedown for my daughters wedding on Memorial Day weekend. I was totally satisfied. They are very professional musicians and the lead singers voices were great. Many of our guests commented how nice they sounded. Tim was great to work with and was very flexible. They hit it out of the park and made everyone enjoy the reception and get up on the dance floor. Thank you Shakedown for making our daughters wedding very memorable for all.
  • C
    Cameron Married on 03/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I had the Port City Shakedown band for our 30th birthday; wepicked this band after seeing them at a friends wedding. They were awesome, kept the whole party going all night and played all genres of music! We were really glad that we picked them for our party. I highly recommend this band for your event; I promise you won’t be disappointed!
  • A
    Anne Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Simply AMAZING! I cannot thank the band enough for making our daughter's wedding the most perfect night! They were entertaining, energetic, and so into the crowd! Our guests loved them and stayed on the floor the entire night. Best money we spent on the reception. HIGHLY recommended. You will not be disappointed!
  • A
    Anja Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These guys know how to read a crowd, play the right music and keep guests dancing! They were able to switch songs in live time and even had my "I don't dance" guests up and grooving. They were absolutely incredible and I would recommend them to anyone having any kind of an event! You will not be disappointed with this group. We ended up choosing horns to play as well, and it really set the band off. I want to get married all over just so I can hire these guys again!
  • B
    Blaire Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This band was amazing! They got the party started and kept it going without even taking a break!! Excellent party band for a wedding reception!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Port City Shakedown was amazing! They totally got the party started :) Everyone was on the dance floor all night. Tim is so responsive and easy to work with. I want to have another party just so they can be the entertainment.
  • T
    Tammy Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These guys show your guests a great time. Awesome vocals and musicians! So many compliments from our wedding guests. We had an awesome time. I highly recommend this band! Thank you Port City Shakedown!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 05/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired this band a year before our wedding. While we did hear them in person once shortly after hiring them at a local bar, we never ended up meeting in person until the day of the wedding. They recently hired a new male vocalist. Those two things made me slightly nervous but Tim was always great with email and other local vendors had nothing to say but great things about Port City Shakedown. Our wedding this part weekend was amazing - everyone LOVED these guys! They have great energy and we all enjoyed ourselves. Thank you so much Port city shakedown for making our night so memorable!