Skip to main content
Weddings

Port City Shakedown Reviews

Port City Shakedown

Port City Shakedown

Wilmington, NC
5.0 out of 5 rating, 59 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
59 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

59
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • R
    Rachel J. Sent on 07/12/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Port City Shakedown is the BEST

    We absolutely LOVED having Port City Shakedown at our wedding! Tim was responsive from the beginning and answered any questions I initially had. They were very professional to work with, on time, and set up smoothly, and brought the vibes! If you're considering having this band instead of a DJ, GO FOR IT and do not look back! They had an amazing presence & had my crowd on the dance floor all night long. Not to mention, their set list was exactly what we wanted- oldies, goodies, and new hits.
    (I'm still waiting on my dance floor photos, so there are only aesthetic photos of their set up attached). Thanks PCS for bringing my vision to life and for bringing the energy!
  • Zahi
    Zahi Sent on 03/25/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding band ever!

    I am 100% convinced that Port City Shakedown was one of the reasons why my wedding was the best dang party ever!!! They had my guests on the dance floor the entire night and was one of the most talked about highlight of the night! 5 Stars just isn’t enough for these guys! Best band in town!
  • Meredith
    Meredith W. Sent on 11/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The BEST wedding band EVER

    I cannot recommend this band enough. If you are looking for a professional band that brings the dance floor to life- this is it! The song choices were amazing and they were great to work with from start to finish. They also were very helpful in helping me organize my event timeline on the front end. As a musician myself I can also speak to how talented and tight their grooves are. They do not miss a single chord or change- it really is incredible how talented they are as a group. The lead singers voices blend together perfectly and they do a great job of interacting with the crowd. My entire wedding party danced the night away and I know for a fact that Port City Shakedown made my wedding a success.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lindsey D. Sent on 09/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I love this band and they will be the stars at every event I ever host

    Listen to me when I tell you to BOOK THIS BAND. I cannot tell you all enough how awesome our experience was with these guys. I literally love them. Let me set the scene: We had a black tie wedding and it was cocktail style (no seated dinner, just fun from start to finish) 200 guest count. Literally people couldn’t leave the dance floor because port city shake down kept bringing the HEAT. My friends and family will tell you they have no idea what happened outside of the dance floor because they couldn’t leave. They even took a 20ish minute break and when the band got back on stage, I kid you not, 100 people were back on the dance floor IN SECONDS. This band made our wedding the most fun wedding. Everyone, and I mean everyone agrees. And (on the record) watching videos the next morning, the band sounded just as good on video, which is telling of how SOLID they were. And they were all so kind and so fun. I love them. AND my wedding hasn't even been over a week and I’m rebooking them for another party!
  • Alyson
    Alyson C. Sent on 09/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing band!!!

    Wow! This band is incredible!!! So much good energy! They made our whole reception- seriously. All of our guests kept coming up to me saying how amazing the band was. Such fun songs- we were dancing 3 hours straight. We didn’t even cut our wedding cake because we were having too much fun on the dance floor haha!
  • Eva
    Eva B. Sent on 06/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Get this band

    Bottom line- if you want your wedding to be a party and have everyone dancing, you need Port City Shakedown. Their energy, the music, everything- it's like your own concert. Our guests couldn't stop talking about how much they enjoyed the music. It was like a fever dream watching my father-in-law dancing with my bestie from high school with my cousin twirling one of my husband's work friends around. BUT PORT CIT SHAKEDOWN BROUGHT IT OUT! Seriously though, I can not recommend them enough. And to be 100% honest- I was a little hesitant about the price but I would not have changed it. They made our wedding unforgettable. And brought our families together- and isn't that kind of the point of the day?
  • J
    Josee Z. Sent on 05/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Port City Shake Down Absolutely Rocked it! May '23

    My husband and I were recently married at Bakery 105 in early May '23. One of my husband's requirements for a wedding was a live band. We had prioritized food, open bar, and live music. To be completely honest we had booked PCSD before we had ever seen or heard them live - and it was one of the best decisions we've ever made. We came across their promotional video in our search for a band and I was blown away by their professionalism and attentiveness from the beginning - even over a year out. Tim Meyer is so easy to correspond with on email and I felt like I had known him, but never actually met him until the day of. We had caught one of their live shows at the SeaWitch the summer before the wedding (2022) and could not believe how much energy they were pumping out into the crowd. They also provided the sound equipment for the ceremony and emceed the reception. From start to finish on the day of the wedding they were seamless to work with. I'm from western PA and a dollar dance is a tradition up north and they even helped coordinate that! Our guests repeatedly said to us how awesome PCSD was and that it was an unforgettable experience. I cannot say enough good things about this amazing group of performers!
  • A
    Alex R. Sent on 04/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best band ever! They made our wedding

    Port City Shakedown was absolutely fantastic at our wedding reception! They had everyone on their feet dancing the night away, and we received so many compliments from our guests about how much they enjoyed the music.

    From the moment they started playing, it was clear that Port City Shakedown was the perfect choice for our wedding. Their energy and enthusiasm were infectious, and they truly knew how to read the crowd and keep the dance floor packed. They played a great mix of classic and modern songs that had everyone from our grandparents to our younger cousins dancing and singing along.

    We would highly recommend Port City Shakedown to anyone looking for an outstanding wedding band. Their talent, energy, and professionalism make them a true standout in their field, and we are so grateful to have had them as a part of our special day. Thank you, Port City Shakedown, for making our wedding reception unforgettable!
  • Danielle
    Danielle H. Sent on 04/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing band!

    As a wedding planner we work with lots of DJs, bands, musician etc. I must say Blue Satin Bee was not disappointed!
    A live band with that kind of power and sound is a statement piece at any event! They made such a difference in the vibe of the evening and went with the flow the whole night!
    We have already recommended them to other couples we are working with and we really look forward to working with them again.
  • S
    Sarah G. Sent on 12/18/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mother of the Bride

    Tim and his band members were a joy to work with. Our venue (Crystal Pier and Oceanic Restaurant) on Wrightsville Beach, was a bit of a logistical challenge but they figured it out with no problem. As soon as they started playing at the reception, our guests hit the dance floor and never stopped! Even over a month later, our guests are still raving about Port City Shakedown! They are THE BEST band in the South!
  • L
    Lauren W. Sent on 12/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made the night!

    PCS was awesome. Our wedding guests loved the band and the dance floor was full all night. They also provided DJ services for wedding, cocktails and dinner, so they assisted in every minute of the night.
  • M
    Maggie K. Sent on 12/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Port City Shakedown is Incredible!

    Tim and his band were absolutely fantastic! During the planning process, they were very responsive, which made scheduling a breeze. They were incredibly flexible and quickly jumped in to help with an unplanned music need during the ceremony. The band even let the groom get up on stage and “jam” to Brown Eyed Girl. We felt that their only priority was making our day as special as it could be. Our guests still talk about how great the music was at the reception. Thanks Port City Shakedown!
  • M
    Matthew M. Sent on 01/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    THE BEST band for our wedding reception!

    We could not have been more happy with Port City Shakedown! They were on time, professional, catered to all of our requests, and BROUGHT THE PARTY to our reception. As a musician myself, this band is absolutely dialed in...tight, fantastic sound quality, and great stage presence. From even the early stages of the planning process, Tim was great to work with. The google docs interface made it easy to plan out our reception and even allowed us to select our favorite songs. The energy they provided to MC our introductions/entire reception was perfect, and was overall very well organized. Our wedding ceremony featured a vocalist with a string quartet and Tim was able to provide audio equipment to meet our vocalists needs as well as mic our officiant. Overall, we had a great experience with Port City Shakedown and would highly recommend them to anyone!
  • D
    Danielle T. Sent on 12/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Will not disappoint!

    The group was very easy to contact, book, and secure. They made sure to play our top songs! Everyone danced all night long and we did not want the music to stop! Great vocalists and musicians. 10/10 recommend!
  • Delaney
    Delaney M. Sent on 03/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The absolute best!

    Port City Shakedown brought the house down at our wedding reception and kept everyone on the dance floor all night long! They are so talented and were fun and personable with our guests too. We booked their ceremony + reception package and have no regrets!! Everything was super easy throughout the planning process and went perfectly on the day of! Our guests are still raving about how great Port City Shakedown was and they were truly one of the favorite parts of our entire wedding!! We could not recommend them more!
  • L
    Lauren M. Sent on 07/06/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Time Ever!

    Port City Shakedown definitely made our reception the blast that it was, and they were such a pleasure to work with. They were extremely organized and made the planning and choosing of the set list so easy. I don't think our guests left the dance floor all night! They were even kind enough to let a friend of ours come up to perform a song. It was such a memorable surprise! Truly had the time of our lives, and would absolutely recommend!!!
  • Lauren
    Lauren F. Sent on 04/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Get your party started!

    We could not have asked for a better band to celebrate with at our wedding. The party started and ended with them- what great energy! Our guests loved their song choices and sang & danced the night away. The Port City Shakedown exceeded our expectations and we can’t wait to find another reason to work with them again.
  • B
    Beth L. Sent on 11/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Band Ever

    WOW! If you're looking for a band to celebrate a special occasion, look no further! Tim and the band had our guests up and dancing the entire night. They are talented, fun, personable, and easy to work with. We has so much fun and hated to see the party end. All anybody talked about was how awesome the band was. Don't hesitate a minute to book this outstanding group of musicians and vocalists! Port City Shakedown was the bomb! Just wish I could do it all over again!
  • Katie
    Katie Sent on 12/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!

    Port City Shakedown was absolutely amazing to work with. Tim was so responsive and on top of things throughout the whole planning process, and that really helped to keep me calm! Everything went seamlessly from beginning to end. The set list that they put together was so perfect and FUN!! The dance floor was packed the entire reception, and all of our guests commented on how great our band was (and actually keep continuing to tell us how much fun they had dancing to the music). My husband and I danced the night away, and we could not have asked for better entertainment for our big day! If you are having any hesitation, DON'T and book them ASAP!
  • Ryann
    Ryann Sent on 11/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Part of Our Wedding

    We cannot say enough wonderful things about Port City Shakedown! They had every wedding guest on the dance floor the entire night, and everyone could not stop telling us how amazing they were. The band is so fun and easy to work with. I would recommend them to absolutely anyone. They were the best decision we made!
  • A
    Abby Sent on 10/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best. Wedding. Band. Ever.

    If you are looking for the most entertaining group of musicians, look no further. Port City Shakedown is the BEST wedding band I have ever experienced and were so wonderful to work with! Our guests never stopped dancing. The music selection was perfect and the sound was out of this world. I cannot recommend them more highly!
  • M
    Mary J. Sent on 02/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Wedding Band!

    Port City Shakedown was the perfect party band for our beach wedding! They were awesome to work with, super responsive and flexible. We and our guests had a blast dancing to their fun party music. Highly recommend!
  • Megan
    Megan Sent on 11/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Worth Every Penny

    Port City Shakedown was one of the most hassle free aspects of our wedding. They were easy to work with for booking, are an amazing value, and kept the dance floor full all night! We loved their repertoire of music and whole heatedly recommend them!
  • Mollie
    Mollie S. Sent on 05/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and fun band!

    Port City Shakedown played at our wedding reception on May 4, 2019 and they brought the house down! Not only is this band so musically talented but they are so professional and SO FUN. We actually realized last minute we had not chosen to have the band play our first dance songs and they learned all 3 without any hesitation. This band read the crowd and kept the party going. Family and friends who regularly refuse to dance were out on the dance floor having the best time. They were wonderful to my husband and me and all of our guests. They were also so organized and reliable when planning for the reception with them. They made all the details easy, and their performance was unforgettable. I highly recommend booking this band for your wedding or any celebratory event!
  • N
    Neil Sent on 11/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Port City Shakedown brought the house down!

    They absolutely killed it! From the first song to the encore that the entire room begged for, everyone was up and dancing and having a blast the entire time. Would recommend Tim and Port City Shakedown 10/10 times!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message