Poppies Reviews

21 | South Bend, IN
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Poppies

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

21
Order by:
  • Carolyn

    Carolyn Brown · Married on 04/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Polly was the MVP of this wedding!"

    We can not recommend Polly highly enough! There are not enough words. When we first met with her, she took the time to truly "get" my daughter's vision for her wedding day and then Polly made that vision become a reality. Whatever you decide to invest in flowers for your big day, it will appear as if you spent ten times more by the time she's done. I've worked with a lot of floral designers over the years and Polly's talent and commitment to detail are beyond match. Multitudes of guests told us Polly's creations were the most beautiful flowers they'd ever seen. Be sure to ask her for suggestions and listen to her ideas because her artistic eye is genius! We showed Polly a picture of a floral drape and asked her to make something similar. Her's was spectacular! So much better than the photo. I was delighted the day of our wedding. Polly added so many little touches we didn't discuss, but she saw the need for as she was setting up. They were the exact details I would have asked her to do if I was standing next to her while she was working. Absolutely delighted! We are so thrilled with the beyond gorgeous florals in the chapel and the reception for our big day. As my daughter accurately said, "Polly was the MVP of this wedding!" Amazing! We are so appreciative!

    Sent on 06/03/2019
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Creative - Beautiful - Exquisite - Unique

    I just can't say enough about Polly from Poppies. We simply gave her some ideas of what we liked and turned it over to her. At the end we had about 4 tables less than we expected so I asked her what else we should do in the venue rather than taking the money back on those tables...she made wonderful candle suggestions which just made the venue perfect. So many people commented about the bride's unique white floating orchid bouquet...My guests literally tapped me on the shoulder to say "WOW" quietly.... upon entering the reception ballroom with the unbelieveable flowers at the rehearsal and the wedding reception...we used all of her suggestions on lighting the flowers and... even the table linens/napkins were based from her recommendations. She gave us great advice --- on chairs as well...she was an unbelievable partner in how the entire room should look....not just the flowers. She is worth every penny and I believe she is very reasonably priced!! The mothers/grandmothers/groomsmen all loved the lightweight orchid boutinieres and corsages. Just trust her...she is magnificent. 2 days before the wedding the bride and I were getting our nails done in a local salon (we are from out of town) and another customer asked about the venue and the church then she asked if we had used Poppies as our florist. We emphatically said "yes!" She said "you have engaged the BEST!"

    Sent on 10/19/2018
  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was absolutely amazing! She was receptive to everyone's opinions but she ultimately wanted to make sure that she was providing exactly what the bride wants(which she did!). Our bouquets, centerpiece's and boutineers were beyond beautiful. I cannot rave enough about how Beautiful the flowers were and how personal Polly was.

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • User4869917 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful to work with!! Beautiful arrangements were created exactly as I had envisioned

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • M

    Melody · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Poppies owner, Polly McCarthy, did a phenomenal job with the floral and candles for my son’s wedding. As I first entered the ballroom where the dinner and reception were, it was an “AWWW moment” – a breath-taking, emotional, overwhelming magical moment – created by Polly! The flowers were all absolutely gorgeous: at the ceremony, from the floral pomanders on the chairs, the petals on the aisles to the beautiful Chuppah, the bridal nosegay, the bridesmaids bouquets, the boutonnieres, and at the reception, from the amazing tall floral centerpieces, the floral vases, the flower-filled glass cylinder vases, the floating candles, the candlesticks and votive candles, to the flowers on and around the wedding cake. We received so many, many compliments! Polly is a true delight – she is very cooperative, creative, sensitive and diplomatic, and such a happy, positive person. We talked often and a lot over the months, as I appreciated her honest advice on numerous wedding planning related topics, not all floral. I highly recommend Poppies and loved working with Polly!

    Sent on 08/13/2015
  • User5230815 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly McCarthy who runs Poppies floral is an amazingly talented florist. She knows how to put plants and flowers together in a way I would have never thought of.

    Seriously, leave the ball in her court and she can work wonders! Thanks for the yellow chrysanthemum bouquet, and I encourage everyone to use the tea light tree branch decor she puts together.

    Sent on 07/18/2015
  • User4687036 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. We were married at the Basilica and had our reception at the Morris Inn. I (bride) did not go to Notre Dame, nor was I from the area, so a knowledgeable vendor was key. Polly had worked at both venues plenty of times and even gave me some tips. When we sat with Polly her passion for flowers, knowledge of Notre Dame, and impressive photobooks made it clear to us she would be perfect.

    Polly had my fiancé and I flip through photobooks of floral arrangements she had done and point out colors, designs, etc we liked. From that she sketched out 3 of 4 centerpieces and we both immediately liked them. She is very intuitive, professional and one of the kindest people you will ever meet! Throughout the planning process she was accessible and professional. We connected about a month before the wedding to go over logistics. It was very helpful and allowed me to feel very confident that our flowers would be great.

    As it turns out the flowers were one of my favorite parts of the wedding I received countless compliments on not only the centerpieces, but also our bouquets. Polly added personal touches on the place card table and guest book table and it looked fabulous. She is truly a pleasure to work with and I would definitely recommend her!

    Alyssa & Mathew

    Sent on 01/11/2015
  • User3662377 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly did SUCH A GREAT JOB! She read me like a book the first time we met when picking out flowers. You can tell she truly loves her job and the flowers! The centerpieces and bouquets were just so beautiful and worth every cent! We never had to worry about any kind of transporting of flowers or setting up- she did it all and it was done PERFECTLY!!!! I had TONS of compliments and was so happy with how it all turned out! THANK YOU, POLLY!

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is a shame the ratings stop at 5......Poppies is a 10!
    Every time Polly is in charge she hits a home run! This is the second wedding Polly has done for us and once again she managed to take everyone's breath
    away with her beautiful floral arrangements. She listens to the bride's vision and then delivers exactly what she promises. Thanks again, Polly, and please do not retire until our youngest daughter ties the knot! You really are the best.
    (PS. Kudos to your hubby for the "doors!" )

    Sent on 10/01/2014
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't even begin to articulate just how amazing Polly is and the wonderful work she did for my wedding. Everything was flawless and she created an atmosphere in both the chapel and the reception venue more beautiful than I had imagined possible.

    I didn't know much about flowers and was planning my wedding from a distance, but Polly took the time to thoroughly go through my likes and dislikes to create a vision for the day. She was very prompt in returning messages and ensured no decor details were forgotten. I felt so comfortable with her work that I even asked her to do what she thought was best as my wedding got closer and a few changes were needed. I couldn't have been happier with the bouquets, the centerpieces, and all her other touches here and there.

    I strongly recommend Polly to any bride! She is a wonderful person and an equally talented florist.

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • Aubrey

    Aubrey · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Polly was so amazing. She is the most talented florist I have ever seen. The flowers and the decorations far exceeded any expectations I had. We had our wedding at Willow Harbor Vineyard and Polly made everything so perfect. Not only was she great to work with, she was incredibly easy to work with. Her creativity blew my mind.

    Polly, thank you for being so wonderful!

    Aubrey D

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • User3051690 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly is extremely talented, the flowers and centerpieces were beautiful and we recieved dozens of compliments. She is very easy to work with and was able to turn my vision into a reality!

    Sent on 08/26/2013
  • P

    Peggy · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was such a delight to work with on the flowers for my daughter's wedding. The receptions hall looked amazing with just the right mixture of beautiful flowers and candles. The reception was in the Grand Hall at the Century Center. She had the perfect vision on placement of the flowers in the tall clear glass vases with dangling crystals. Stunning!! Polly will go above and beyond to make your day perfect.

    Sent on 06/13/2013
  • Carolyn

    Carolyn · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would recommend Poppies by Polly McCarthy to ANY bride getting married in the South Bend area! She is professional, knowledgable and resonably priced! I had a great time shaping the flowers for our wedding and everything turned out better than I would have expected!

    Sent on 06/09/2012
  • Ren

    Lauren · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was amazing! She took my ideas and pictures from the knot and pinterest and turned it into something cohesive and beautiful! Really professional. She believes in the value of her name. Everyone asked me where I got the flowers, I proudly said Poppies!!!

    Sent on 05/29/2012
  • T

    Tilt · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly obviously found her calling in becoming a florist. She is very knowlegable and provided many creative suggestions for the bridal party bouquets and the reception. The flower arrangements were absolutely gorgeous.

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly is an absolutely amazing florist and definitely went above and beyond our expectations. Polly provided direction, guidance and her expert opinion to make sure that everything was exactly how we wanted it to be. She was never pushy or made us feel that we were required to go with an idea even if it didn’t fit in our vision. On several occasions, she took the time to meet with us to make sure everyone was on the same page and offer any new ideas that she had to make our flower selection even better. Everything was absolutely perfect from the bridal boutique to the center pieces to the cake topper. Her team even helped us set up our candy bar, which turned out to be a highlight of the night. At the end of the night, our guests were “fighting” over who would take home the blooms. I would highly recommend Poppies to any bride. Polly truly went above and beyond our expectations and made our vision a reality!

    Sent on 09/14/2010
  • K

    Karey · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was truly amazing!!! I first saw her flowers on a table for a gift shop at a bridal show and asked about them - they were the most beautiful flowers I had ever seen. I was told about Polly and then sought her out at another upcoming bridal show where her flowers were even more beautiful! She works out of her house after years of managing a local flower and greenhouse so her costs are way less than what you'd pay for her services if she was still working at a florist. Polly goes above and beyond on everything that she creates and is so much fun to work with. She was just as excited to do the flowers for our wedding as I was about the wedding. She added many extra details that were a surprise to me that day. She added her opinion and helped guide me on things but was never pushy or overbearing. It truly was a pleasure to work with her! I heard rave reviews of our flowers the entire event and still hear them from guests. I have been repeatedly asked who did our flowers and I have proudly recommended Polly to all of them!

    Sent on 08/18/2009
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 08/12/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly was wonderful to work with. It's obvious that she truly loves what she does, and makes beautiful work. She's a bit old school--hence no website, no facebook page. I showed up to my initial appointment with her and she pulled out stacks and stacks of 4x6 pictures! Since I'm not a big "flower person," I think she had fun seeing what I chose as she flipped through the pictures rapid fire. (She sat opposite me so she could gauge my reaction, so she appreciated my lack of a poker face!) We received SO MANY compliments the day of our wedding on the bouquets and centerpieces. Polly did just an amazing job of not only setting up the flowers, but also adding extra flourishes to gift tables, card tables, and more. As long as you can get on her schedule , book her!

    Sent on 09/29/2017
  • User3551008 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly did the flowers for my wedding and I highly recommend her! I live out of town, and planning for the wedding was really difficult, especially in terms of finding reliable vendors. Everywhere we went, when asking for recommendations for flowers, everyone said Poppies by Polly McCarthy was the best in town. We were so happy with the work she did and are glad we chose her! The flowers were stunning and her pricing was very reasonable.

    I am not especially informed or opinionated about flowers, but after meeting with Polly and showing her pictures of things I liked, she was able to create beautiful bouquets, boutonnieres, and center pieces. Many guests commented on how beautiful the center pieces were. I also loved how she took care of the details - including buying candles so we didn't have to worry about it. My bridal party appreciated how Polly sends a worker to the location of the ceremony to help the men with their boutonnieres and to drop off the bouquets. One less thing for us to worry about!

    The only drawback is that Polly does not have a website. I had to flip through many physical albums to look at pictures of varying quality to point out flowers or looks I liked or didn't like which could be tough for out of town brides. I wish that process had been a little easier, and I think if there was a website with more pictures of past events available online and different varieties of the flowers she uses by color, that would have been very helpful for people like me who don't know much about flowers. For example, since our flower girls were not allowed to throw petals, Polly suggested flower wands. She didn't have many pictures available of flower wands she had created, and that wasn't a concept I was familiar with, so we had to trust her. That said, they were adorable and perfect for the girls. I'd also recommend contacting her via phone rather than email.

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • D

    Devin · Married on 07/20/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Polly is an AMAZING florist. I absolutely loved my bouquet as well as every centerpiece she did. I do not live in the South Bend area nor was I very knowledgeable about flowers. I knew what I wanted the room to look and feel like and Polly made that happen. It was very difficult planning a wedding from out of town so I really had to trust my vendors. Polly not only has style but she is very reasonably priced. My only complaint is that it was a little hard to get ahold of her when I had questions. She did tell me that she has to give her full attention to the weddings she has coming up so her responses can be delayed.

    Overall HIGHLY recommend especially is you are like me and just want someone who can come in, match colors, and make your reception look fabulous.

    Sent on 08/04/2013