Playback Dj & Decor Lighting Service Reviews

103 | Palmyra, VA
See photos, pricing and details

103 Reviews for Playback Dj & Decor Lighting Service

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

103
Sort by:
  • User2686111 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was fabulous to work with - he was flexible and played an integral role throughout my wedding by keeping track of the time and making sure the events of the evening progressed as planned. I paid for him to set up a microphone on the officiant and provide speakers during the ceremony, which was perfect! The music was great, and was a nice blend for everyone from my college friends to the grandparents!

    Sent on 09/30/2012
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was the perfect DJ. He had every single song we wanted to play and he put together a playlist that kept our guests on the dance floor the entire night. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis followed through on everything we discussed previous to the wedding. He kept things on time and moving throughout the night. Most importantly, he knew how to play to the crowd on the dance floor to keep them there having a good time. We highly recommend him for a wedding or an event.

    Sent on 08/29/2012
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr. Payne was the perfect emcee for our reception. His announcements kept things on schedule, but he was not hammy and let his music do the talking most of the time. The playlist he designed was great and kept everyone dancing all night long. It was also very easy to make special requests. Mr. Payne was always easy to reach and pleasant to deal with. As a bonus, his services are less expensive than other DJs in the Charlottesville area.

    Sent on 07/29/2012
  • I

    Ian · Married on 07/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis provided excellent DJ service with true professionalism. He was more than willing to work with our budget and was always responsive to our emails/calls. He tailored our song selection seamlessly with his own to create a fantastic experience for our guests. It was a pleasure to have Dennis as part of our wedding. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 08/13/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was fantastic!! The music was great and he even helped us work on our reception timeline. Very professional and easy to work with. Can't say enough about him :)

    Sent on 06/26/2012
  • User2511143 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was fantastic! He played an awsome night full of music!!

    Sent on 06/28/2012
  • P

    Paige · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis Payne was great! He was very on top of the schedule and the wedding went very smoothly. His online planning forms are really helpful and make getting together a playlist a cinch. We also got lighting through him, which was beautiful -- he matched the LED lights exactly to my color coral - and was a great value!

    Sent on 06/17/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis did a wonderful job of making our wedding as comfortable and stress free as possible. He was always very easy to get in contact with if ever there were any questions. He also was great at introducing each part of our reception and did a fantastic job of making sure to pronounce everyone's names in our bridal party correctly! Most importantly, he kept the dance floor filled to the max, which included family members that I had never seen dance before! It was quite the party!

    Sent on 06/08/2012
  • S

    Si · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis Payne was AMAZING for our wedding--very professional and understanding of our needs. Every meeting we've had was well planned and informative.

    His website was very helpful: the song request function and event planning was crucial in helping us make our special day just the way we wanted.

    He has a wealth of DJ experience and it really showed on the day of the wedding. Our ceremony was outdoors and the reception was indoors, Dennis provided music for both settings. His timing and execution was impeccable--great transitions and song placements during cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing.

    During the reception, we had a last minute change for the father & daughter dance song, Dennis was quick to act and helped us pick a song in his list that worked out perfectly.

    We can't say enough good things about him. We would definitely recommend him for anyone who is looking for a DJ.

    Sent on 06/16/2012
  • T

    Joan · Married on 04/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a great time working with Dennis. The first time we spoke to him he provided us with a great overview of his style and explained in detail the quality of his equipment and his back up systems. He was so thorough in his presentation, he answered many questions before we could even ask them. We met with Dennis before our wedding and he was very easy going, listened well and was detail oriented. His first priority is to make your day exactly what you want it to be. It was great to create playlists via his website and he follows any timeline or requests you provide. We found Dennis to be a very reliable and professional vendor; we highly recommend him.

    Sent on 05/07/2012
  • R

    Regina · Married on 02/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were absolutely thrilled with the services from Playback Productions/Dennis Payne.
    Our guest danced the entire time and didn’t want the reception to end. The up lighting was spectacular and the letter monogram on the dance floor was over the top! The reception was so much fun and everyone was laughing, dancing and the guest are still talking about the reception.

    It will be an event that people will always remember. The planning from the beginning to end was flawless and Dennis has a great sense of humor and was super easy to work with and gave us many great suggestions. You were so helpful and professional and we are so grateful that we had you to help us make this day so beautiful. We would definitely recommend you to our friends.

    Thank you again for everything!
    Regina Dodd (Shifflett-Abel Wedding)


    Sent on 05/18/2012
  • J

    J · event on: 02/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great DJ! Professional, organized and lots of fun!

    Sent on 02/05/2012
  • J

    Jess · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was a wonderful DJ and I would highly recommend him to other couples. He was very easy to work with, and he even went so far as to create an MP3 of our wedding song from a youtube video when we couldn’t find the version we wanted anywhere else. We have very strong musical opinions and he did a great job of playing all of our “must plays”, avoiding all of our “do not plays”, and perfectly reading the crowd to fill in all the rest. Our dance floor filled up during dinner hour (when we didn’t even intend for people to start dancing!) and was never even close to empty. He kept the party going until the very end of the night, but was very non-obtrusive. He got on the mic only to make certain announcements (father daughter dance, toasts, cake cutting, etc) but did not try to be too involved or be a part of the party. I did not have a wedding planner so I depended on Dennis to make sure everything went according to our timeline, and he made sure that the entire reception ran very smoothly. Overall, Dennis made our wedding reception incredibly fun. I would recommend him to any couple looking for a fun reception filled with music and dancing.

    Sent on 11/03/2011
  • M

    Kim · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kept getting compliments through the reception about our DJ. Dennis was extremely helpful through the planning process and I couldn't have been happier with the choice of music he played. He did an excellent job announcing us also, highly recommend.

    Sent on 10/08/2011
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 08/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was four months ago and we are STILL getting compliments from guests about how great the music was. Dennis was great to work with and an expert at getting people on the dance floor! I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 12/15/2011
  • W

    Will · Married on 08/06/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was fantastic DJ at our wedding last weekend. We were hesitant to get a DJ for reception music, in fear that we'd end up with cheese-dick who spent more time on the microphone than he did playing music... Dennis couldn't have been better though! He came highly recommended and was an excellent addition to our party! He has a huge music selection, and was willing to make last second changes to music selection for the reception. When we booked him, we were unaware that the cost included lighting for the dance floor, which was a nice surprise the day of the wedding! We had very few song requests, but rather asked that he feel out the crowd and play music to make sure everyone had fun... needless to say, he had people dancing throughout the night. I'd highly recommend him when you are looking for a DJ for your next party.

    Sent on 08/15/2011
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis Payne did everything we asked him to do & our wedding ceremony & reception was wonderful! He came to our rehearsal to make sure we were all on the same page, and was very accomodating on all of the songs we wanted played for our ceremony, as well as during the reception! We were able to tell him what types of music we wanted played during the ceremony as well, so that even our guests' requests would be limited (one of my cousins tried to request a song that had inappropriate wording to it, and it was stopped by dennis before it ever got in the speakers and embarrassed us and our parents!) We felt even more comfortable knowing he also brought back-up equipment with him, just in case anything should go wrong. This was one of the main reasons we went with him because this wasn't something we found many other DJs did. Overall, he was WONDERFUL & we would recommend him to anyone in the Charlottesville area looking for a DJ! He was recommended to us by our wedding venue, Shenandoah Crossing Resort, and we are so glad they did! :-) THANK YOU DENNIS!!

    Sent on 08/10/2011
  • C

    Cody · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis Payne is a true professional, arrived earlier than expected, set up and got the party started! He is a lot of fun and his equipment is state of the art and affordable.

    Sent on 07/18/2011
  • F

    Sheila · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thanks to Dennis, our daughter's reception was a blast! His professionalism leading up to and during the event was without a doubt flawless. His ability to speak with us and know exactly what we wanted made us very confident from the beginning. Dennis' ability to be flexible and handle last minute changes without any conflict was exceptional. He is very upbeat and has the personality needed to work a crowd. He takes total control of the night and makes everyone want to kick off their shoes, let their hair down, and have a good time. In all honesty, I do not believe we could have found anyone else who could have created the smiles and laughter on the faces of our guests like Dennis did. More importantly, the smile on our daughter's face and total satisfaction she expressed was PRICELESS! Thanks Dennis for an amazing job in creating a lifetime of special memories.

    Sent on 06/27/2011
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis was amazing. My family and friends danced all night - there was never those lulls on the dance floor where people empty out. In fact, a lot of people didn't even stop to eat their cake! Dennis even mixed in some of my husband's favorite songs from hypem.com during the dinner background music as a surprise. He also downloaded many songs for me that weren't in his list (for free of course). He made the garter and bouquet toss a lot of fun for my friends too! I have had several people contact me after the wedding just to tell me that Dennis was the best DJ they have ever heard at a wedding, that they had an amazing time dancing, and that our wedding was one of the most fun they'd been to. Dennis also added colored dance floor lighting that really added a fun atmosphere to our dance area (he made it one solid color during dinner to not be distracting). Did I mention he also spotlighted our cake? That really helped for pictures! Everyone had a great time, Dennis stayed in the background and delivered an amazing experience.

    I researched a lot of DJs before choosing Dennis and lets be honest, the rest are VERY overpriced and want to control the whole show, talk a lot, and be the center of attention. Dennis was right in my budget but delivered better than I could have ever expected at our Keswick Hall wedding. Kudos!

    Sent on 06/16/2011
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 05/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is good to work with, and his online tools make it easy to have as much (or as little) input as you wish.

    Sent on 07/13/2011
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 04/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis' website was easy to navigate and allowed us to craft a very personal playlist- including the all important "do not play" list. As a dj he was a very natural fit to the evening. Like a great waiter he had perfect timing without ever seeming to get in the way or take over the evening. In addition, his lighting, which is included in his package helped our relatively small event fill a fairly large venue. We were completely pleased with every facet of his service and would recommend him to anyone looking for a great DJ.

    Sent on 05/30/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 03/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On my behalf of Niki and Jomo, thank you so much for being a part of their special day and making it so memorable. The services you provided from music, lighting effects, and also playing MC was first-class and beyond exceptional. I will definitely refer your services to others in the future…. It was great working with you again!

    Warmest Regards,
    Jennifer

    Sent on 03/16/2011
  • M

    Michael · Married on 11/06/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis Payne is a wonderful DJ for weddings. His selection of music is vast, his website is easy to navigate and helpful but more importantly, he does a great job without being intrusive. Further, Dennis is approachable, helpful, professional and will work with you to make sure you have a great event. We highly recommend his services.

    Ellie and Joel Voss

    Sent on 11/10/2010