Weddings

Photo by Chana Reviews

Photo by Chana View more information

62 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 62
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

72 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kristy
    Kristy G. Married on 08/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Chana is the best!

    Unfortunately, Covid happened and we had to postpone the bigger celebration for next year but we decided to still have a small ceremony on our original date. We had already booked Chana for our June 2020 wedding but when we had to postpone she was extremely flexible, supportive, and accommodating! She offered to photograph our small ceremony and even made it a point to get photos of us on the beach because she knew that was important to me! Chana is the sweetest and the photos turned out amazing! Can't wait to have her photograph our wedding scheduled for June 2021!
  • Nancy
    Nancy B. Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic photographer - book her now!

    Chana was fantastic to work with! She definitely knows her stuff! We booked her for our engagement shoot in December 2020 as well as our wedding this past July 2021. She is so passionate about her work, we loved it! At our wedding, she did a great job getting guest shots and action shots. Her turnaround time of getting us the pictures is so fast! You will not be disappointed for booking her at all! We highly recommend Chana! Easy to book her services and she responds to questions/concerns efficiently. Thank you so much Chana for capturing our special day so beautifully!
  • G
    Giovanna L. Married on 03/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly Wonderful!!

    Chana is such an amazing photographer and the most beautiful person! She has stuck by my husband and I through the cancellation of our original wedding in March of 2020. She went above and beyond by photographing our elopement that same week amidst Covid shutdowns and made us feel so special and important on our big day! To say we are grateful is an understatement! Chana has been by our side for almost a year and a half now and just this last weekend she was there for us to capture our renewal of vows at our original wedding venue- this time around with a very pregnant bride! She is talented beyond belief and such a lovely person to work with! My husband and I would recommend her to anyone looking to capture a special event! Chana is amazing and we are so very grateful for her!!
  • Jahara
    Jahara Married on 02/23/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome photographer!

    Chana is AMAZING to work with and we are so happy that we found her at wedding wire! I only banked on the online reviews but they are spot on!! Extremely organized, helpful, and an incredible guide throughout the whole process. Thank you so much Chana for capturing our special day!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer B. Married on 10/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Worth every penny!

    I am speechless at how wonderful my wedding photos turned out. I don’t particularly think I’m very photogenic and neither is my husband and these photos turned out beautiful. Not only that, but Chana was helpful through the entire process even helping with a timeline for the photos and events. This was priceless as I was planning my wedding by myself. The day if she was early, never stopped taking photos and my guests remarked how subtle and unobtrusive she was. Within 2 days after the wedding she had a preview of some of my photos and by the next week all of my photos were ready. This turn around was incredible as I know she is very busy and we ended up with over 500 photos. She is worth every single penny. She is professional and having been in the business for years, she already was familiar with the venue, knew the DJ and the caterer so everything went seamless. I had to do nothing the day if but enjoy myself. Book her!
  • Amanda
    Amanda P. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best choice for your wedding!

    Amazing! That is the best way to describe the entire process of working with Photo by Chana. From booking to the wedding day to getting the photos back (incredibly fast) the entire experience of working with Chana and her other photographers was great. Everything was so stress free because she was very detail oriented and on top of things so I never had to worry about her not being reliable. The photos are amazing and we could not be happier with them. Definitely a very reasonable price for all services. Thank you so much Chana for documenting our special day.
  • Cindy
    Cindy G. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding and engagement photos

    Chana did photos for both our engagement and wedding photos and we were very pleased! She took advantage of the beautiful settings of La Jolla and the Catamaran in Mission Beach! She had some great ideas for photos and was open to suggestions as well. She took so many great shots and it was a quick turnaround when we got see them! I highly recommend!
  • Gabby
    Gabby F. Married on 08/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Wedding Photos!!

    It is an absolute pleasure writing this review and sharing our experience with Chana Photography! We married in August on 2019 at the Bali Hai and had a PRIDE reception with close family and friends. We obtained her name as a reference from both the Bali Hai venue and our wedding planner Best Wedding for You. We compared her services with other referrals and her pricing, products, and customizable packages were best in class. Chana is well organized and incredibly responsive. Our wedding photos were AWESOME!! Chana made sure to capture our “must haves” for group pictures and did an amazing job with us and our guests! Her energy and professionalism were so welcomed and she worked very hard without breaking a sweat and maintained her positive and energetic demeanor throughout the event. Our guests loved the pictures and she captured so much from us preparing for the big day, getting ready pics, ceremony, formals, everything!! We kept all pictures (no watermarks) and purchased an album. We recommend Chana and Don Photography to our family and friends and would absolutely use her services again!! THANK YOU for making our special day unforgettable!!
  • Caitlin
    Caitlin C. Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional, Quick, and Easy - 10 out of 10

    Chana was wonderful! She was enthusiastic throughout the entire process. Starting from our initial contact, she took the time to get to know what was important to me and worked with my budget. She provided guidance for the services I would want to focus on and the places I could save, and her advice was spot on! Our photos are amazing! She captured so many moments of real happiness and emotion. Chana is a machine when it comes to wrangling a big group together in a timely manner. She was so organized and fast! My family and wedding party appreciated moving through the formal photos quickly so we weren’t standing around for hours. I even got to enjoy cocktail hour! Chana was so sweet and easy to work with. I loved the whole experience - her chill attitude, the reasonable price and how awesome my photos turned out.
  • M
    Mackenzie Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing photos, great price, fast turnaround

    Chana was amazing!!! We did both our engagement shoot and wedding with her as our photographer. She is very reasonably priced as well. The photos are amazing, great variety. I know some people who wait WEEKS maybe a month or two to receive all of their wedding photos, but we got our "sneak peak" (50 photos!!!!) a day later! INSANE. We got all of our photos within a week. The only thing I would change, is that I wish I would have paid her to stay later to get more dancing photos. Our wedding timeline was way behind schedule so the dancing was late as well. After she left, a lot more people started dancing (that is not correlated to her leaving though. It probably had more to do with the drinking helping people let loose). Thank you for our amazing photos Chana!
  • S
    Shelly Married on 06/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Experience!

    Chana is just the absolute greatest! Having now had her at 3 of our events (engagement, elopement, and then wedding/anniversary), we’ll be finding more excuses in the future to have her capture our big moments!

    She’s so sweet and also professional, and her pictures are beyond amazing! She does a great job at not just capturing the moments that count, but at making you feel comfortable in front of the camera.
  • C
    Cameron Married on 06/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    Chana did a great job photographing our wedding. She did the right amount of prep work leading up to the wedding. The day of she was on point with all of the photos for all the groups there. After the wedding she was able to get us a batch of photos within a few days and the rest followed shortly after. All of our guests really enjoyed the photos too. I would definitely recommend Chana to anyone looking for a great wedding photographer!
  • April
    April G. Married on 02/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional!

    Chana & Don take THE best photos.
    They also make it easy and fun, not awkward. They are the first people I called upon getting engaged to make sure I got my dream photographer. I promise you will not be disappointed!
  • V
    Vanecia Married on 11/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Photographer Award!!

    Chana was the BEST!! I am very picky with photos and she captured the day perfectly. Even though things were running late on my end she was there early and staged everything perfectly. It was so nice to just take simple directions from someone who knew what she was doing! Another great thing was how FAST we got our pictures back. All my friends and family were shocked at how soon we got our sneak peaks (1 week) and our entire wedding album (less than 2 weeks!). I printed a family portrait (24"x36") on canvas and I expected the image to be a bit blurry because of how much we were enlarging the photo but all 43 faces were super clear! I HIGHLY recommend her and hope everyone else can have such an easy experience as we did!!
  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing wedding photographer!

    I'm fairly picky about photography styles - and I couldn't be happier with how our photos turned out! Everyone looked amazing and there were such a variety of shots. I'm thrilled with how many perfect moments Chana and Don captured. They were fantastic to work with - from the initial request for information, to our preliminary phone call, Chana was always up front, transparent and timely in her responses. I was so grateful for her attention to our wishes and her ability to translate them into beautiful photos that we will cherish forever. Thank you Chana and Don for helping to make the day even more magical!
  • M
    Mariko Married on 08/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chana and Don are a fantastic photography team! They are a duo that you do not have to worry about whatsoever in your planning process and during your wedding. Chana is incredibly responsive and provides tailored guidance that helps with everything from engagement photos to the details of the wedding day. I did not worry once about their travel, schedule, capturing all of the right people or moments, and had photos in my email before we even left for our honeymoon (which is such a sweet treat!). Our guests commented on how wonderfully engaged Chana and Don were throughout our ceremony and reception and the photos give credence to their ability to capture to small but meaningful moments along the way. During our ceremony, they overheard some friends talking about how much they wanted a group photo and made it happen without skipping a beat!

    The quality of work by Chana and Don is top notch and the turnaround time to get our photos was so incredibly fast--both qualities that were noticed by all of our family and friends. If the level of joy and ease of the wedding is any indicator for the marriage ahead, Chana and Don are the right people to have on your team to set you up for a wonderful life!

    Photo by Chana's reply:

    Thank you Mari!!!!!! We hope to see you guys soon again!!!! Your wedding was unbelievably gorgeous and we are ready to go back!!!
  • C
    Charlotte Married on 06/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chana was our photographer for our wedding and her work is truly beautiful! She captured all the special moments throughout the entire day and I love that we have these amazing photos for forever!
  • The OGest OG of All OGs
    Lindsay Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chana was recommended to me by a friend of a friend, who had some stunning wedding photos. Being diligent, I got quotes from several different photographers, painstakingly read all their reviews, and narrowed my search down to two possibilities - Chana and another local photographer, who was slightly less money. I showed my husband (then fiance) both photographers' portfolios and asked him which he liked, and he immediately chose Chana. He said he could tell the photos were just better and didn't need photoshop to look good. I told him the price difference between the two photographers and he said to definitely go with Chana. So, we did!

    Chana was early for both our engagement shoot and our wedding. (You do not know how amazing this is until you are a nervous bride looking at the clock, wondering if you'll have enough time to get everything done.) She was excellent at getting my husband and I to look natural. We had our dog for both shoots and she got some incredible pictures of him, too! She knows the good spots to go to get awesome pictures. Our most breathtaking photos were at places she suggested. She is also very flexible and willing to work with you - for example, we postponed our engagement shoot two days before and she was totally cool about it, and quick to offer up new dates.

    Chana also was excellent about keeping in touch just enough, so she wasn't bombarding me, but I also wasn't worried she had forgotten about me. She's also very quick to respond whenever you email her.

    However, one of the best things about Chana is how fast she works. We had wedding sneak peeks a week just under after our wedding (and a good amount of them, too!), and ALL our wedding pictures two weeks after the wedding. She had our engagement pictures back to us in TWO DAYS. You would never guess she worked that fast with how nice the pictures look. I do not hesitate to recommend Chana to anyone!
  • L
    Lianne Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I first fell in love with Chana's photography when she shot my friends wedding in Balboa Park. As soon as I got engaged she was one of the first vendors I contacted to book. She's so easy to work with. You'll barely notice her on wedding day but she captures absolutely stunning photos. I would highly suggest working with Chana she's hands down one of the best photographers in San Diego!
  • K
    Kim Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We came across Chana at a Bridal Bazaar about 10 months prior to our wedding day. We immediately loved her energy and positivity. Without hesitation, we booked Chana and had the joy of doing our engagement photo shoot with her first. We were so stoked when our photos came back just a few days later - we ended up using one on our "Save the Dates" and received numerous compliments on the photo. Chana was very good at checking in with us throughout the planning, ensuring she had all of the information she needed and that we were on the same page in terms of who's who and day-of timeline. On the day-of, Chana did not disappoint. She tirelessly took photos of us, our wedding party, and guests for 7 straight hours! Most of the time I didn't even realize she was there! Chana's quality of photos and directiveness were essential on our big day. We didn't want to take any posed photos during cocktail hour, so she worked quickly and efficiently to take all of our posed photos before the ceremony. After the ceremony she was all over the place taking candids of all of our guests -- she even got down on the ground and laid in tanbark to catch a shot of us with the sunset - we loved her dedication! We really appreciated that Chana was fun and easy to work with, but also wore her business hat the day-of to make sure the proper photos were taken and that photos take up too much of our wedding night. Thank you Chana for everything!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 04/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chana was amazing. We hired her for engagement photos and the wedding day. She is very friendly, prompt and professional. We had such a great time during the engagement session at Balboa Park. She made us feel so comfortable and got extremely creative with the shots. And on the wedding day she was very organized and made sure to get pictures of all the little details. She was also very cooperative with our wedding coordinator and easy to get ahold of. The best part, she’s fast!! We got our engagement and wedding photos back edited in less than a week of each session. This is rare! Usually wedding photographers take a month or longer to edit the pictures. I would absolutely hire Chana for another party or event. She is a wonderful and talented person. Thank you Chana for making our wedding photos easy and beautiful!!!
  • D
    Debra Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter and I met Chana at the SD bridal bazaar. What a great find! She and Don are professional, punctual, organized, reasonably priced and were able to capture the special moments of my daughter’s wedding day with their photos. These memories will last a lifetime.
    We loved the positive energy Chana and Don had combined with their laid back, no stress attitude. They are a great team and they do great work. I would highly recommend Chana and Don for any special event.
  • J
    Jackie Married on 03/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After spending hours researching about 30+ photographers we were able to narrow my list down to a few that we liked. I had read all the rave reviews about Chana on the various wedding websites and loved what I saw in her gallery on Facebook. My husband was actually the one who suggested that we choose her for our wedding and looking back, I have no regrets.

    She was fun, easy to communicate with (and quick to respond to emails – yay!), energetic and able to go about the day like a ninja while documenting everything. I wish we had more time at the venue, which she had shot at many times before, in order to capture more “getting ready” moments, but she was able to capture the emotions of the day flawlessly.

    Our families were also difficult with various strained relationships that my husband and I were very worried about, since everyone is all at one location for a wedding. Chana was able to handle everyone and still manage to keep everyone smiling for the pictures. We can’t tell you how much of a relief that was, since we hoped for the best but prepared for the worst.

    Our families are also still commenting on how much they love our wedding photos, and we have been married for 6 months now. I fall in love with the day and all over again when I look at the photos. They capture the mood and ambiance with excellent vivid quality. I highly recommend Chana – we had 100 guests at our wedding and she was able to capture everything solo. She was also very quick to post “teaser photos” (within a day!) and we expected to receive our photos two weeks after our wedding, but she was a week early. Can you say “wow!”?
    Thank you, Chana! We were blessed and thrilled to have you be part of our day!
  • A
    Anne Married on 12/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chana was referred to us by our florist, so we booked her and I am sure glad we did. We were married on 12/30/2017 and received teaser pictures on 12/31/2017. We received all of our photos while we were on our honeymoon. I was shocked at how fast her turnaround time was. I was not expecting that at all, what an amazing surprise. We love every single one of our photos and can't thank her enough. Our wedding day was so perfect and she captured all of that. Thank you!!
  • T
    Tom Married on 10/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Congratulations! Your search for a wedding photographer is over! After walking through rows and rows of wedding vendors at a bridal bazaar where we felt completely overwhelmed, we were SO HAPPY to meet Chana. We told her a little bit about what we were planning for our ultra-small wedding at Paradise Point in San Diego and she immediately “got it.” Chana knew the venue well and had some examples of previous wedding photos she had shot there for us to see. On the day of the wedding, Chana was totally on top of EVERYTHING. We planned our pre-wedding photos of the groom/groomsmen and bride/bridesmaids separately that went right up to the ceremony time, but Chana knocked them all out so efficiently and quickly that we all got to the ceremony EARLY! Chana knew exactly what to do and where to go and those pics ended up being some of our favorites from that day. Chana has the best attitude and her enthusiasm comes through when you’re working with her. She totally got the “relaxed, fun” spirit of our wedding and her poses for our pictures reflected that. We love our pictures and are so happy with our choice of having Chana document that special day for us.