Skip to main content
Weddings

Pennington's Cakes Reviews

Pennington's Cakes

Pennington's Cakes

San Marcos, TX
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 129 Reviews
View more information

129 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 129
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

32 User photos

  • R
    Rachel R. Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    I had a great experience with Pennington! My guests raved about how tasty it was, and we overheard lots of Mmmms!

    We ordered chocolate with raspberry filling. Sometimes there’s not enough filling, but this was the Perfect filling to cake ratio! So moist - and the presentation was exactly what I’d asked for! So happy with it

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you, Rachel and congrats again! We are thrilled to hear your cake was a hit! Many blessings to you!
  • Wendy
    Wendy A. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply gorgeous

    The wedding cake and cookies at my daughter’s wedding were beautiful and delicious. The guests are still raving about them. I highly recommend this bakery.

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that the cake and cookies were a hit. Thanks for letting us know. Congratulations to you and your daughter and husband!
  • S
    Susan H. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend Pennington's Cakes

    Pennington's Cakes baked two fabulous cakes for our daughter's wedding. Pennington's made the cakes perfectly to our specifications and both cakes were beautiful, moist, and delicious! The cakes were delivered and set up just like we wanted! We highly recommend using them for your wedding!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you Susan! We are thrilled to hear the cakes were a hit! We loved being a part of your daughter's big day!
  • C
    Courtney M. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing

    Pennington Cakes went above and beyond our expectations. They delivered a stunning cake that tasted absolutely amazing. The owner was extremely flexible and customized our cake exactly the way we wanted it. We also ordered sugar cookies from them that were a major hit with all of our guests. As an added bonus they are extremely affordable. Highly recommend for all your dessert needs. You won’t be disappointed!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Courtney! And congratulations!! We are thrilled the cake and cookies were a hit! Wish you and husband many blessings and a long and happy life together!!
  • E
    Erika L. Married on 04/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!

    Our wedding cakes were so BEAUTIFUL and tasted AMAZING! We had a three tier almond bread cake with two fillings, as well as a grooms layered cookie cake and we have had so many compliments on them! Not only were the cakes so delicious but the service was even better! Pennington’s cakes always took our calls and made the process so easy and fun! We are beyond thankful and so happy with how everything turned out! Thank you all so much!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Congrats, Erika! And thanks so much for your kind words. We were thrilled to be a part of your big day!
  • L
    Lyndsey V. Married on 07/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious and Easy

    We used Pennington for our wedding cake and it was absolutely amazing! They were so easy to work with and we received so many compliments on the cake. We went in for 1 easy meeting with them where we described what we wanted for our cake, we tasted and picked our flavors and that was it! They coordinated the rest with our venue and we couldn't have been happier with how it turned out visually and the cake was DELICIOUS! Thank You so much Stephen, Sara, and Wendi!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks Lyndsey! We loved making your cakes. Hope to see you again soon. Many blessings to you and Frank!
  • A
    Aspen E. Married on 11/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Cake

    Wow! Our cake turned out EXACTLY how we were visioning! We have absolutely nothing to complain about, only everything to be happy and satisfied with!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Aspen! We are thrilled you are pleased with our services! We had fun making your cake. We wish you and William a long and happy life together. Congratulations!!
  • L
    Laura Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best decision for cakes!!!!

    Pennington’s was a fantastic choice for my husband and I for our wedding! They were very friendly and responsive to all of our questions in person and through email making working with them a breeze. Pennington’s worked with my gluten allergy at a very affordable rate and incredibly tasty cakes (and cupcakes) with fresh berries!!!! We shopped around a lot for cakes through San Antonio, New Braunfels, and San Marcos area. They were the best by far in both price and quality!!!! Best choice to top off an absolutely perfect day!!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks Laura! Congratulations to you and Adam! We are so pleased that you loved your cakes. Many blessings to you and a long and happy life together.
  • O
    Oscar A. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding reception

    Thank you for making our wedding so special...

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    You're welcome! We loved making your cakes. We wish you many blessings and a long and happy life together!
  • Alyse
    Alyse Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My cakes were beautiful!

    Pennington’s did two cakes for my wedding and they both turned out awesome. Anything you can imagine or honestly pull off Pinterest Stephen and his team can pull it off. We did a simple wedding and Star Wars groom’s cake. First off they looked amazing but then they tasted even better! I’m looking forward to eating the top tier of my wedding cake next year already. Great job Pennington’s!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks Alyse! We loved making your cakes. So much fun! Glad you enjoyed them! Congrats and wishes for a long and happy life together!
  • E
    Eileen Married on 10/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome experience

    Stephen was awesome to work with very friendly and professional. Also he was on time and the cake taste amazing.

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Eileen! We were honored to be a part of your big day! Congrats and many blessings to you for a long and happy life together!
  • C
    Christie Married on 10/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So yummy and gorgeous!

    I was so happy to book Pennington because they did my parents wedding cake 37 years ago! We did a deconstructed cake with copper drip and copper paint and it was absolutely gorgeous. I had several people say that it looked like something out of a magazine! We had half white cake with raspberry filling and the other half was white cake with pineapple filling and it was delicious. I definitely recommend Pennington's.

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Christie! We are thrilled you loved your cake. Thanks for being a second generation Pennington's Bride!! Congratulations and many blessings we wish for you both!
  • M
    Monica C. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best cake ever, exceeded my expectation!!

    My wedding cake was everything I could want and more! Not only was it beautiful and exactly how I imagine but it was the best cake I have ever tasted!!! My wedding was over three months ago and people still talk about how amazing the flavors of our cake were. Steve was a pleasure to work with and he always took time out of this day to answer any of my questions and concerns. I HIGHLY recommend Pennington’s to every bride and groom. The prices are unbeatable.
  • D
    Deborrah R. Married on 09/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and Delicious Wedding Cake!

    Pennington’s Cakes was outstanding and profesional to work with in creating the exact Wedding Cake my daughter and son-in-law wanted for their Big Day in September of 2019. The cake was beautiful, moist, fresh, and so delicious! They were right on time for set-up and discreet with all the other happenings taking place at the same time. I would Most definitely and highly recommend them to anyone considering a professional cake for a Wedding, Anniversary, Birthday, Retirement, Holiday, or event party. Pennington’s Cakes are a great value for the price and oh so delicious!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you so much! We loved making your cakes. And we love to visit Fischer Hall! We hope to see you again soon! Many blessings to the newlyweds for a long and happy life together!
  • MELANIE
    Melanie Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Service! Amazing taste!

    Stephen was great from the beginning to end! Scheduling the tasting was simple and convenient and they even prepared a sampling for my children. Stephen was flexible with changes throughout the entire process and did everything with a smile. The day of delivery went smoothly and even though they forgot the stand (I didn’t even notice) everything was beautiful and perfect! And the taste? Oh wow!!!! We chose the pineapple and the chocolate ganache and both were to die for! So delicious and fresh! Thanks again Penington’s! I couldn’t have asked for anything better!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Melanie! We loved making your cakes. We wish you many blessings and many happy years together!
  • M
    Maggie N. Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Weddingcake

    We had a fabulous experience with Pennington’s! We ordered 6 cakes total and everyone LOVED them. In fact, we had none leftover! They captured just what we wanted as far as the design and overall look of the cakes. We would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for wedding cakes out there!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Maggie! We loved making your cakes!! God bless you and congrats!! We wish you all the best!
  • Alison
    Alison B. Married on 10/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    BEST tasting cakes EVER & gorgeously designed!!

    I'm absolutely blown away by the taste and design of their cakes! They couldn't have been better to work with - Stephen and team are AMAZING! We told them exactly what we wanted for both cakes, and they blew us away! We found them, but our caterer confirmed we made the right choice (kept insisting she's tasted all & they're the best). Then, other vendors & ALL the guests were asking where we got our cakes! We are thrilled to this day to have used them - best wedding cakes ever! Thank you so much!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Alison! Many blessings to you both! We loved doing your cakes. Thanks so much for the honor of being a part of your big day! Hope to see you soon!
  • T
    Tara Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were very patient with me and my needs changed and kept adding more to the order! Very flexible, the cookies and cupcakes were great. The wedding cake was beautiful and they delivered exactly what I had in mind! thank you all very much!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Tara! We were honored to be a part of your big day. Congratulations and many blessings!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 01/31/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They provided a beautiful cake in a very short notice!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 11/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our cakes were fantastic! They were as we envisioned and discussed. Stephen was wonderful to work with and was super flexible with our changes and responsive to questions. There was only one small issue that I noticed and that is that the fondant was buckling on the back of one of our cakes. I am not sure what was happening, but luckily they were able to put that to the back, therefore, it wasn't an issue. Perhaps it was a bit too humid for the cakes (it was quite humid even with the cakes inside). Overall, we had a fantastic experience.

    The cakes were also all delicious. The tiered cake was strawberry with vanilla buttercream, one side cake was chocolate with chocolate ganache and chocolate buttercream, and the third was white cake with raspberry filling and vanilla buttercream. The chocolate was by far the favorite and disappeared quickly. All three were moist, perfectly baked, and delicious.

    I highly recommend Pennington's Cakes and will be back for future events!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you Jennifer! We are so pleased you loved your cakes. We look forward to many more happy occasions to come!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 10/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They did an beautiful job with our wedding cake! My MIL had surprised with getting our cake, and I couldn't have been happier! We had gotten Almond cake with Amaretto frosting, and it was delicious. I am definitely looking forward to eating it again for our first anniversary!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thanks, Brittany! We loved making your cakes and are thrilled you were happy with our service! Many thanks to your MIL for making sure you had that memory on your wedding day! Blessings to you in your new life together!
  • Vanessa
    Vanessa Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Pennington’s did an amazing job on our cake and grooms cake. Everyone loved it and talked about the amazing taste of the cake as well as the look. My husband and I absolutely loved it and do not regret picking Pennington’s.

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you, Vanessa! We are so happy that you loved your cakes! We loved making them for you. Many blessings in your new life together!!
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I could speak for days about my experience with Pennington's. Just wonderful! You have come to the right place. I booked them for my wedding this past June and worked directly with Stephen. He was amazing! There was one day I stopped by unannounced and he wasn't in, but one of his employees helped me with no issues at all.

    Like most bride-to-be's, I tried several different cake places, but this was the most affordable option plus amazing quality cakes and excellent service. I didn't think you could tell the difference in good quality cakes until I went cake tasting for my wedding and I soon learned the difference!

    Stephen was very thorough from day one and was open to any and all suggestions I had. As our wedding day got closer, I had already paid off the cakes but realized that the serving amounts were much larger than my expected guest count, as that amount changed from my original anticipated amount. Well not only did Pennington's adjust our order to accommodate our new count, but were quick to refund what they owed us.

    The quality of cake can be seen in the pictures (they were even better in person) and the taste was talked about for days with my family and friends. We had two cakes for our wedding with about 4 or 5 different flavors because all the cake was so good we couldn't narrow it down! Thank you Pennington's for being so incredible. We will be back!

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you, Megan! We LOVED being part of your day. We had loads of fun making your cakes, and we look forward to making more for you for whatever occasion you need. Many blessings to you and Juston!
  • User3004063 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Best cake I have ever tasted, and gorgeous too.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 12/29/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I would highly recommend Pennington Cakes! Stephen was a pleasure to work with and we got exactly what we were looking for! The cake and cupcakes that we got tasted amazing! People kept asking us where we got them because they loved them so much.

    Pennington's Cakes's reply:

    Thank you, Sarah! We loved making your cakes and cupcakes. Many blessings!!