Penguin Wedding Music Reviews

45 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

45 Reviews for Penguin Wedding Music

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

45

3 User photos

Order by:
  • Kathleen

    Kathleen Murray · Married on 01/18/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just what we were looking for!

    We were looking for a really simple and traditional configuration for our intimate NY wedding ceremony and Penguin Wedding Music did a great job. My husband and I are both musicians, so when it came time to decide on this part of our ceremony we were having a really tough time. We had a specific vision for what we wanted and knew we didn’t want to use friends. Chris was really responsive and was completely flexible and open to all of our requests. They were professional and on time and the music was just what we were envisioning. I’m really happy that we found them!

    Sent on 03/15/2020
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent communication, flexibility and skill!!

    I loved working with Penguin Music- my ceremony was late and they kept my guests entertained for longer than anticipated with beautiful tunes we love! They're presence was magical, they were great communicators before and during the wedding, and I'm so glad we hired them!

    Sent on 06/04/2019
  • Jessica

    Jessica Hall · Married on 05/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience!

    Penguin Music were amazing on our wedding day. They created a relaxed atmosphere and kept our guests entertained. The planning process was extremely easy, they gave great song recommendations and were readily available to contact via phone and email as we live in Canada. Thank you so much! 😊

    Sent on 07/05/2019
  • C

    Caroline P. · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Easy to work with + fantastic musicians!

    Chris and Nate are great - both with the music they play and with all of the logistics and arrangement beforehand. We had a low key wedding and wanted to work with people who were responsive, laid back, and thoughtful and Chris absolutely fit this bill. Our guests loved what they played, and they could even roll with the punches on unexpected changes (shorter processional, etc.). We’d highly recommend!

    Sent on 05/06/2019
  • E

    Eugene · Married on 09/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about our experience with Penguin Music. Chris was extremely professional and very easy to work with throughout the entire process. He even gave us some great suggestions around what type of music to pick during certain parts of the ceremony to set the mood that we were looking for. They were timely, helpful, and talented. Most importantly, the music sounded beautiful. We had Penguin Music play through our ceremony and cocktail hour and they were always right on queue with the right song. It was exactly what we hoped it would be.

    Sent on 10/05/2018
  • A

    Ann · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and team made our ceremony magical. We had some very specific requests and they made sure to make those moments heartfelt and unforgettable with their beautiful music. Chris, who handled most of our correspondence, was no nonsense but still sensitive to the occasion and provided guidance as needed. I would recommend these guys for any of your event music needs!

    Sent on 08/24/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Penguin Music was an incredible experience! We picked them for their prices, repertoire, and their specific instruments (guitar and cello). It was an extremely smooth planning process, and Chris was helpful every step of the way. The renditions they prepared for us ("What is Life" and "XO") were absolutely stunning -- in fact, I started bawling when "XO" played as I walked down the aisle. They truly made our ceremony special. Pro tip! Have them play your cocktail hour too! We're so glad we did.

    Sent on 06/04/2018
  • N

    Nancy · event on: 05/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decided a party needed music at the last minute. Chris responded immediately to my email, gave me options, and I dedided on two piece cello and violin for a small private party. Chris was so easy to work with, I would highly recommend him. The music was amazing! It made a huge difference in the ambiance of the party. Cannot say enough good things about Penguin Music.

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • L

    Lynsey · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin Music performed for my sister's wedding four years ago, so when it was time for me to get married the decision to use them again was easy since they are amazing! The whole process was seamless from start to finish. They are very organized and always responsive. We worked with them on picking ceremony songs that represent us as a couple and they totally nailed it! We didn't give them a ton of direction on the prelude choices. We told them that we favored classical tunes and let them run with it. After experiencing two weddings with them it's really clear that Chris & Steven are extremely talented musicians. My sister chose less traditional song choices (their recessional was "Don't Stop Believin') and they were equally as awesome with that genre. Our guests all commented on how beautiful the music was and they really enjoyed having a form of entertainment while they were waiting for the ceremony to start. It really set the tone and kicked the day off on a great note. I couldn't be happier with my experience with them! You will not be disappointed if you choose them for your wedding/event. Thank you Chris & Steven for helping to make our wedding the most perfect day!

    Sent on 05/23/2016
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Penguin Wedding Music to perform the music for our wedding ceremony. They had to learn two new songs for the event, and did not disappoint! They sounded absolutely beautiful and really added to the special day. Our guests did not stop raving about their performance. I'd definitely recommend them to other couples looking for live music for their ceremony (and even for the cocktail hour). We did not need them for the cocktail hour, but if we did we definitely would have used them.

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The duo of guitar and cello sent to our wedding by Penguin Music did a wonderful job! They were very professional and played superbly. I had many positive comments from our guests regarding their music. And Steven was a delight to work with-very prompt and helpful in aiding us choose music for the wedding ceremony. I would recommend Penguin Music without reservation.

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • User3782086 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin Music played for our ceremony and cocktail hour at our wedding on 5/24/15 at the Dumbo Loft in Brooklyn, NY. They were absolutely amazing and our guests continue to rave months later! Steven was our main contact and he was extremely responsive and professional. They even learned how to play my favorite song, "Home" by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros for the ceremony. It was extremely meaningful. My husband and I both loved during the cocktail hour how engaged they were in the music--truly having a blast-- the guests enjoyed every second of their music! They were by far the easiest vendor to work with during the wedding planning process and I highly recommend to anyone!!

    Sent on 02/10/2016
  • User4178127 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Penguin play while guests arrived, during our ceremony, and for the first few minutes of cocktail hour to allow a seamless transition to our DJ. We could not have made a better choice- they were absolutely incredible! We were looking for something beautiful and timeless, as well as something that would make our older family members happy while still having the music reflect our personality and tastes. Penguin did incredible custom arrangements for Talking Heads and Smashing Pumpkins songs, and we received nothing but raves from our guests (and other vendors). My father, who is a professional musician, could not stop talking about how great they were. They were easy to coordinate with, very friendly, and put me at ease throughout the entire process. I cannot recommend them highly enough!

    Sent on 10/20/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved Penquin music! We had a cello and guitar for our ceremony and it was amazing. They were great to work with and responsive and helpful. The music on the day was better than I could have imagined. We'll dressed performers who were also very nice and willing to move around for photos after the ceremony. Extremely happy!

    Sent on 07/19/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Penguin for our wedding day ceremony music. They played beautifully. They learned the 2 new songs we had selected that were very meaningful to us. They were professional and responded to all emails in a timely manner. I would 100% recommend them to anyone getting married!

    Sent on 12/22/2013
  • C

    Cameron · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could go on for pages about how wonderful Penguin Wedding Music was to work with, but I'll stick to the highlights:

    - Their cello/ guitar combination was beautiful, and guests were raving about them to us the entire evening.

    - They played their own assortment of music while guests were being seated, then played three songs that they had learned specifically for us during the ceremony - "Lovers in Japan" and "Reign of Love" by Coldplay and "You Make My Dreams Come True" by Hall and Oats. All of it was fantastic, but their renditions of the songs we requested were especially impressive.

    - They were very professional and easy to reach in the months of planning leading up to the wedding, and were completely self-sufficient during the wedding itself. No hand holding or directions of any kind were required, which was really appreciated.

    Overall, I'd recommend Penguin Music to any family or friend without any hesitation. They helped make our special day that much better, and we can't imagine the ceremony without the beautiful soundtrack they provided.

    Sent on 12/27/2013
  • A

    Adam · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin music were GREAT for our wedding, we initially planned only to hire a ceremony musician but after doing our research we decided to also have the guys play our outdoor cocktail hour. The ceremony went off beautifully (my wife was ecstatic about their rendition Spoon's "I summon you" which is what we asked them to play for the recessional) and then they provided wonderful music for the cocktail hour. Overall they were a huge hit.

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • M

    Martha · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could have not been more pleased with the musicianship and professionalism of the duo that provided the music for Grace and Adam's ceremony at Leamings Run Gardens in Cape May, NJ. Everyone who attended commented very positively on the quality of the music. These guys were so fun and flexible. We appreciated them VERY much!!

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • U

    Una · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin Music was fantastic to work with. I hired them for a client of mine and the bride, groom, and their families were all so happy with how wonderful the ceremony & cocktail music sounded. On top of that, as an event planner, it's always so great to work with vendors who are not only great at what they do but are responsive and accommodating- Penguin Music definitely fits in that category. They were a pleasure to work with and would certainly recommend them again.

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • J

    June · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin music provided an elegant and beautiful musical backdrop for our wedding ceremony. We worked with Steven to arrange the details leading up to the wedding, and his level of professionalism surpassed what I could have hoped for. Steven made planning simple, easy and fun -- he was a bright spot in the midst of the wedding planning chaos.

    We knew we wanted a cello and guitar to set the mood for our guests -- and we found the right talent!

    What we heard and shared was beautiful, deep, resonating, emotional -- our duo was talented, caring, involved and engaged with what they set out to do. We couldn't be more appreciative - and we highly recommend this team to you if you have high expectations and want your guests to experience the beauty and grace that a heart felt musical performance can render.

    Sent on 07/24/2013
  • M

    Michele · Married on 05/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin Music was a great choice for our ceremony and cocktail hour. They were accommodating and created a beautiful set that flowed nicely.

    Sent on 05/19/2013
  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    (Note: my name is Jordan and I am writing this review under my wife Emily's account): My wife and I were married on April 20, 2013, and Penguin Music (Chris and Steven) played our ceremony. We couldn't possibly be happier with what they provided: excellent music, very quick responses to emails, and a willingness to work with us to make sure that the song that my wife walked down the aisle to -- "The Story" by Brandi Carlisle (which was something that Penguin learned specifically for us!) -- was perfect. On the day of our wedding, the ceremony started a little late on account of a flower girl bathroom emergency, and Steven/Chris weren't fazed in the slightest, adjusting quickly on the fly to make sure that the music kept coming and guests didn't start shifting in their seats.

    In short, we are so thrilled that we found Penguin Music's website, and highly highly HIGHLY recommend them to anyone that wants classy but fun cello/guitar music at their wedding. Thanks to them both!

    Sent on 04/25/2013
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin Music played at my wedding this past October and I think it was one of the best decisions I made in all the wedding planning. Penguin played absoultely beautiful music for the pre-ceremony, ceremony and the cocktail hour. We received so many compliments on their arrangements and their music added such a special touch to these parts of the evening.

    Steven was a pleasure to work with and was very helpful in organizing the various pieces of music we needed for different parts of the ceremony. I had a special request for the song I walked down the aisle to ("The Book of Love" by Peter Gabriel) and they far exceeded my expectations in pulling this together. I was almost brought to tears when I heard them hit the first note- it was exactly want I wanted. For the rest of the evening we provided a list of songs we wanted and a general tone we wanted and they did a masterful job with all the song selections. Everything sounded so beautiful.

    They were also on time and impeccably dressed on the day of the wedding. I could not recommend them more highly.

    Sent on 11/05/2012
  • L

    Luke · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First off, I'm not the bride, I'm the groom. Second, 5 out of 5 is not a high enough rating for Steven and Chris. My wife and I were looking for a string quartet for our wedding in PA and came across a youtube video of these two playing in Central Park. My (now) wife fell in love immediately after the second song, because Blackbird by the Beatles is her favorite ever. We didn't get chance to meet them until the day of the ceremony because we live in Arizona, but from the professionalism and flexibility of Steven, you wouldn't have known we were over 2500 miles away. They showed up on time, had arranged two very difficult to find pieces, played them perfectly then were a complete hit with all of our guests.

    They played the pre-ceremony, the ceremony, the cocktail hour, and our reception until the last 30 minutes or so. They are polite, very easy to talk to, and feel like family. I guarantee whatever fee you pay for this incredible performance will be a steal.

    Sent on 11/08/2012
  • User2699674 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Penguin music was the perfect touch of ambiance I was looking to add to my wedding ceremony. Our ceremony was held in a small Catholic church in NYC and the priest was very particular about the type of music that he would allow. Penguin music had a huge repertoire, which made choosing songs easy. The cello/guitar duo is the perfect blend of classical and modern. They were ultra responsive and even made time to meet with my husband and I in person to discuss our needs. All in all, they were perfect.

    Sent on 10/07/2012